shopping_cart
Glycine Airman Base 22 Automatic Watch

Glycine Airman Base 22 Automatic Watch

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.1K requests
·
375 Sold
Product Description
Glycine’s 24-hour Airman is an icon of the watch community. Originally designed for pilots, it’s found a wider audience since its release in the 1950s, not only for its unique design—the dial is numbered 1 through 24, with the 12th numeral at the 6 o’clock position—but also for its ability to display second and third time zones Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
lassetjus
353
Nov 15, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely love this watch. It is stunningly gorgeous and feels like high quality construction. It will be my every-day watch going forward. I got the purist version and love the uniqueness of the 24 hour movement. I haven't seen any misalignment issues so maybe they fixed that issue with this batch.
search
search

Hyuj
4
Apr 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When it arrived, I noticed that the hands were misaligned and had to pay 15 bucks to repair. Luckily, the repairs were for free because it was under warranty. Once I got it back, I immediately fell in love with the watch and the automatic movement. The watch has a classic aesthetic that no other watch has, and people complement the beauty of the piece (even though, they never heard of Glycine before). I would have given this 4 stars due to the imperfections once it arrived, but this watch is too damn good to pass up. At the moment, it's my daily wear and I will never leave without it.
(Edited)
Abbs
9
Mar 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So this is a quick review after a few days of wearing the Gylcine Base 22. This is my 2nd Glycine,after owning a 07 combat chrono for a number of years. It arrived in a Glycine box,well wrapped from Massdrop,a day later than expected,but that was probably due to being held at customs..no fault of Massdrop,just one of those things all those outside of the U.S have to live with. Sadly no paperwork,or instruction book,just a hangtag and inner/outer black box. First issue I had was with the Bracelet. Its a case of being a tad too lose or too tight as it sits in between links for me personally,and after trying both opted for the watch being slightly lose on the wrist,sadly no micro adjustment available on the Butterfly clasp,but the Bracelet is of good quality with very little rattle even while not being a perfect fit. Case is good quality,and at 42mm it wears big,probably bigger than all my other watches of this size.I personally like this,most of my watches are over 40mm as a preference,but so may not like how large it looks on the wrist. Uni direction non ratchet bezel is a first for me,locked by a small screw under the winder,a low tech but nice feature I have found.Nice flat crystal,and great Lume also,better than I expected really. No alignment issues with the hands as others have mentioned,which is a relief,or noise issues,quite the opposite,its one of the quietest Autos I have,with a really smooth winder..very nice!. Movement is a Sellita sw 330,which hacks and is nice and smooth,and although I had a few problems with time keeping the first few days,maybe that was down to not having a full power reserve,seems to have settled down a bit,it was losing a bit of time at first but not worn it enough to comment further about accuracy..well,just yet. Overall,Fairly pleased with the watch and will use it for what it is,a tool watch.the 24hr set takes a bit of getting used to at first,but getting to grips with it,slowly.It is a decent bang for your buck tool watch,in if in the U.S is a very good deal,in fact,great indeed,slightly less of a bargain for the rest of us. So to sum up,happy with my purchase,think its worth the price even with the added import cost,but I think buying again from Massdrop will only happen If the watch is an absolute steal or something I really want and cannot source cheaper elsewhere. Again no fault of the service,just because I am outside the States.
jerick70
109
Aug 30, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very impressive watch. I love the bezel and face. Fit and finish are impeccable. I didn't have any of the misalignment issues that others are reporting. I purchased the bi-color GMT and couldn't be happier. The photo doesn't do the watch justice.
search
Sfg57
4
Nov 16, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am very disappointed. I purchased the Airman 1953 Purist on an earlier drop and it's great. I received Base 22 mystery dial GMT yesterday November 15th and the first thing I did was check the GMT hand alignment. Sure enough it's about 20 minutes off. When the watch is at the hour mark the GMT hand is about 20 minutes ahead. You can really see it at the 12 o'clock setting where the minute and hour hand are pointed to the 13, the GMT is halfway between 12 and 1. I reported the problem and received an immediate response about a company in SLC who will replace it. I hope that is the case and not a repair that will take weeks to complete. Too bad, nice looking watch but I'm afraid after the takeover by Invicta the quality control may not be there anymore.
EVENSTEVEN76
23
Sep 25, 2019
I am sorry to hear what you are going through. I have 2 Base 22 GMT watches that I bought pre Invicta and the hands and movement are spot on. The first is a white face with polished bezel and a steel Jubilee band and it cost a lot more than $570.00. The second is a black face with the bronze numbers etched into a brushed stainless bezel with a black leather strap. I actually got that one for close to the price these are being offered at now! They both have the modified ETA 2836 Movement and that is what makes all the difference. I also have an Orange Bezel and Navy Blue faced Combat with the ETA 2824-2 Movement. It has the raised Glycine logo and the actual numbers from 1 through 12 going around it, not the dots! It's my hammer and nail watch, but it's a brute. Once I saw the Sellita Movement in the new ones, I new these are the new Invicta Brand models. Look for the modified ETA versions and you'll get a real Glycine, not one of The Invicta For The Masses Models! Invicta is all about Sellita movements and they act like they are the best movements in the World! They have some decent makes, but when it comes to the workhorse movements, ETA has earned their place. I'm not saying they are the best or most technical, they're simply proven and consistent in quality. As long as they are going to fix it, that's the main thing! No matter what, it's a nice looking piece and only watch nutballs like me are going to notice the differences.
search
search
search

(Edited)
EVENSTEVEN76
23
Sep 25, 2019
I would contact Glycine directly. There should of been a warranty card that's about the size of an index card included in the outer box, underneath the hard shell box inside. You can't miss it! I wouldn't take it anywhere and pay for them to repair a brand new watch! Also, it could easily void your factory warranty. Food for thought! Good Luck!
Chris_D
1
Oct 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Two stars, not one, because I should have known better.
I was super excited about this watch. As a fan of the 24-hour clock, I was really stoked that my first really good watch purchase would also be that of one with a true heritage. These watches were some of the first aimed at a very small market; pilots, who were the first to really have a practical need to be aware of both world time and local time in the time zone they were in. I had read reviews (here, even!) that these watches sometimes ship with an hour hand that doesn't align with the top of the hour when it should. I figured it was noise (these watches are put together in Switzerland with movements that are also manufactured by one of the two big Swiss makers of mechanical watch movements) but mine arrived with a minute hand that pointed at between 7 and 10 minutes after the hour at the top of the hour. I have a dozen other watches, and even a cheap Timex shouldn't ship with this defect. None of my other watches has this defect. Disappointed, I wrote to Drop support, including a detailed description of the issue with photos, on August 10, the day after it was delivered. The very next day, August 11, "Damian A." wrote to tell me that he was "happy to see that your order came with a manufacturer's warranty!" (a six hundred dollar watch that includes a manufacturer's warranty? Insane!) and told me to contact the warranty company, the International Watch Service Center. I did, via email, that very same day. I waited. I heard nothing. I tried to call. I got through to nobody. I wrote again on August 11, again with no response. I waited until September 4, then wrote again, this time copying both the Drop customer service guy and International Watch Service Center asking if one or the other could please respond, at least with instructions on how to return the watch. Here we are, at October 21, and I have still not heard back from anyone. What an embarrassment. I'm not kidding myself that spending 10 times what I should on a watch entitles me to some special treatment, but man, this is sad. Honestly, no matter what Drop or the International Watch Service Center people do at this point, I'm going to be disappointed. I don't want this watch anymore. The watch that I was so enthusiastic about will really never be anything but a reminder of this most frustrating experience. I'm writing this review hoping it will garner the attention that I guess I didn't earn with either of these organizations after repeated attempts to have them rectify their delivery of a defective product. Honestly, I work hard all day trying to get busy people to pay attention to what they're being paid to do. I'm not going to do the same work in my free time for people who I am paying. That's the reality of it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
rubricator
1
Feb 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Eddy-Ginie
39
Jan 31, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Blue airman base 22
Excellent watch, purist mode is really perfect
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Misaligned hand...
The watch is pretty good. Looks good, movement is solid. I didn’t notice any major time drift over the 2-ish weeks that I’ve had it; however, the watch did on 2 occasions stop running about 8-10 hours after I took it off, so it might take a lot more winding to achieve that 42 hour power reserve. The nato strap that came with mine is fraying a bit near the tip (the end that gets inserted into the clasp). My watch came with a misaligned GMT hand, which I could compensate with the outer bezel but it’s not a great solution. Suppose it’ll be a good test for the warranty.
search


bazsy_r1
1
Dec 1, 2019
Is the hand still miss leading when the minute hand at 24 hours? Thats when it should be at the hour mark I believe.
prjetdriveraz
0
Aug 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Watch!
Looks amazing! Great quality, impressive black on black look!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 15 of 35