shopping_cart
Handheld Scientific BT-500 Bluetooth Adapter

Handheld Scientific BT-500 Bluetooth Adapter

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
924 requests
563 Sold
Product Description
Great for traveling, the Handheld Scientific BT-500 bluetooth adapter allows you to connect your USB-equipped keyboard to your mobile device. Simply connect your keyboard to the adapter, pair your mobile device, and start typing Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
23
check
63%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Psyres
Dec 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It works well, though sometimes keystrokes get dropped
I bought 2 of these and they have been working relatively well, though some keystrokes get dropped sometimes. Overall, it has been a great addition that helped clutter-free with the use of the spare short cables I have to plug everything in.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kuroshiro
6
Nov 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The function is satisfactory. But there are times when the response is slow.
Sendrim
176
Sep 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If you type 1 WPM, this is perfect for you.
You have to type super slowly to not lose characters.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Putty202
0
Jul 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not truly cable less as this dangles from device but a good solution
check
Would recommend to a friend.
p_ys
70
May 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bluetooth connection is good
hampusk
148
Apr 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I never got it to work with my Plancks (tested with rev4 and rev5). Keys where dropped during normal typing and some keys never worked at all. I got my money back however.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
lomboan58
39
Oct 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for everyday use of typing.
If you have custom mechanical keyboard and wanted to make it wireless this is the device you need. I received replacement for malfunction unit for free which good support from the vendor. One thing if you like to gaming you might notice a slight delay but not too much. Hopefully they will upgrade to Bluetooth 5.0 for refresh product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ReVanTis
0
Jul 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Usable but not with great performance.
Overall, it works good with QMK powered XD75. Remember to turn off NKRO if you are using QMK powered keyboard, at least that's how I got it work with 32u4 QMK powered board. You can feel it slightly lags even under USB mode and sometimes when typing really fast, some key taps could got skipped. Not sure if it is caused by the USB receiver or the BT-500 itself. But like I said, it is usable. EDIT2: It works with Preonic Rev3 if you disable NKRO during compiling time: https://github.com/ReVanTis/preonic_qmk/commit/4628972c3db9af48ff4ea998fae370f9c2c9312e

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
eeriedescent
16
Jun 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If it works for you, count yourself lucky.
I got this because they specifically advertise on their website that it works with the Model 01 from keyboard.io. It does not. There are no circumstances under which it does. I installed the keyboard firmware they used for testing and tried it myself. It does not work. There are many ways this does not work. It does not work with HID report protocol, which won't send keycodes over a byte boundary, because they're only using an 8 byte buffer as if it's HID boot protocol. If you try to use HID boot protocol on your keyboard, it sends garbled keys, because it's interpreting them as a bit mask (like report protocol) instead of key codes. It works with very, very few of my other keyboards. Given the above, I'm amazed it works with any of them. How does it work? Glad you asked: instead of actually processing USB descriptors like they're supposed to, they instead hard code behavior based on the keyboard you've plugged in (presumably with a boot protocol default if it can't figure it out). You also can't upgrade the firmware in case they ever fix these issues. This is a broken product, shoddily made, and poorly supported. Good thing it's cheap, or I'd be pretty mad. There's basically no other product that does this over Bluetooth LE (there is the USB2BT+ that you can find on tindie, but it's much more expensive and Bluetooth Classic). I ended up learning Arduino, how to solder, and buying a couple microcontrollers to build one myself that actually works.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
handheldsci
152
Jul 10, 2019
Hello @eeriedescent, Thank you for purchasing our product and giving the review. First of all, if you are not 100% satisfied with the Adapter, you can request full refund including s&h. No questions asked and no time limit. Secondly, the BT-500 we sent out in the last drop does work with Model-01 from keyboard.io, at least with the one we purchased. See this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7e-p36ixa94. However, the model-01 has gone through multiple firmware releases, and the BT-500 has problems with some versions. We tried to fix this but was put in back burner a while back. The adapter has very limited memory and speed. It is not able to parse full HID report descriptors, which can be very complex, like a full-fledged operating system. So from time to time we have to do some kludge based on a specific keyboard uniquely identified by USB vendor and product IDs. Unfortunately some of the keyboards, especially those based on QMK including the one keyboard.io, change firmware but use the same IDs so the Adapter can't distinguish different versions. Due to the same resource constraint, the Adapter handles boot protocol better than report protocol (but it does attempt to parse the descriptor). Currently we are confident to say it works with 95% of the keyboards/mice in the market. What other keyboards did you test that didn't work? We would like to know every case of comparability. If you give us the models of the non-working keyboards, for EACH of those that we can verify (and not already listed on our web site), if we can get the adapter to work with it (this is in most cases), we will send you a free adapter. How does that sound? Indeed the firmware is not upgradable by end users. It is certainly technical possible but would add substantial support cost to this low-price product. Nevertheless we do provide free firmware upgrade service, including round-trip shipping if you are in the States. Again, we appreciate your feedback. Obviously nobody likes low rating but every feedback pushes us to make the product better. In this particular case we now know the odd-shaped Keyboard.io Model 01 does have some fans. We better make the Adapter to work with it. Consider this a commitment.
smallbit
1312
Apr 19, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am typing this review via bluetooth on a super oldschool ducky. GRACIAS! This is pretty much epic. I just unplugged it and plugged it back in to see if it would reestablish the drivers and everything and BAM links right up, ready to go!
(Edited)
Showing 11 of 28
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
28 OF 28 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest