Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
HELM Audio DB12 AAAMP THX Amp

HELM Audio DB12 AAAMP THX Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
500 requests
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
Massdrop x Koss Porta Pro X Headphones
Product Description
THX’s AAA™ amplification has earned an esteemed reputation among audiophiles for its ultra-low distortion and linear sound. Now, that amplification technology is available in a portable, palm-sized amp Read More

Customer Reviews

3.9
(31 reviews)
5star
(17)
4star
(5)
3star
(2)
2star
(2)
1star
(5)
80% would recommend to a friend
search
close
Vansant93
18
Aug 24, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Works great, most of the time.
Works great, sounds great, gives the extra power boost I needed to run my hd6xx off my phone, but it gets a little glitchy sometimes and the audio will cut out completely until I unplug the headphones from the amp and plug then back in, but it only happens with one of my phones, the one with the built in headphones jack, the other one (which requires a USB c to 3.5mm dongle) never cuts out, but I need to max the volume out, there is no headroom at all. Overall a great product, that could be a little better.
Recommends this product? Yes
TankTop5
0
Jul 20, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Looks good out of the box
Just plugged it in to charge so I will update later with how it works. Purchased to run my HD6xx better off my iPad mini. note: description is correct, but the photos are not. Photos show TRS but product is TRRS
Recommends this product? Yes
JTMoney
23
May 2, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Nice little portable headphone amp, but not perfect
I am very happy with other Helm products like the Bolt DAC/Amp and the F2 hybrid IEMs. This portable amp integrates well with them, but it has some annoyances that you just have to live with:
  1. The input cable is too long for me and isn't replaceable.
  2. It much be recharged periodically.
  3. If I have the Bolt DAC/Amp, do I really need MORE amplification? Usually no, but maybe in public or loud environments. I haven't tried the DB12 in the car yet, as the Bolt is usually sufficient.
  4. Only comes with a 3.5mm plug. For compatibility it would be nice to come with a 2.5mm and maybe a 4.4mm adapter.
Having said all that, I still use it from time to time, and I haven't run into a case where it ran out of power in the middle of a track or something. And it's really cool that it has bass boost.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
kamiyoshi
4
Apr 10, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
picks up noises.
An empty USB port picks up noise, and the sound quality deteriorates. The problem before talking about the quality of sound.
Recommends this product? No
BigTurtle
6
Feb 7, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Charged once, used once. Now dead.
search
The item arrived around February 7, on low volume you could hear alot of static on some of my devices. But I disregarded this at the moment, as I normally listened to music from mid to high and the static was not noticable on the sennheiser HD 6XX. I played it for the first time for about half an hour, and it did exactly what it was supposed to. I then stored it for next time. Upon taking it out of the imitation leather storage pouch and using it for another 15-20 minutes, its now completely dead. Won't charge or anything. Deeply disappointed. I've contacted Drop for a return and am now awaiting a response.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
Toledo5600
1
Feb 4, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Welcomed surprise
I've had the Helm DB12 for 2 months now and it's made all the difference. I carry it in my messenger bag for school an work. Gives life to any hard-wired connection (computer or phone) I hook it up to. In the Lab at work, I connect it to my portable blue tooth Amp/Dac to make it work with my wireless IEMs. No question 12 Db makes a big difference esp, on blue tooth devices and the THX amp does a good job of cleaning up low-grade sources. My only gripe is I would like if it wasn't made of plastic an maybe aluminum. Just the feel of it in the hand feels cheap. But let me be clear it hasn't broken or let me down at all. Great product and price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Chrisgrooves
3
Dec 9, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
WHAT! HOW!
I opened the box, the plastic around the Male input wore off and just made the plastic fell off! (received yesterday) Okay I let that go... so far the product is delivering technically. On my way home from the gym... just decides to stop working. Was fully charged. Uuhmm... okay.
ChrisgroovesWe apologize about the issues you're experiencing with your amp. You may request a replacement or refund within 30 days of delivery. This amp also comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty.
bloodfart
16
Nov 16, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Love the bass boost, large buttons, convenience of plugging into headphone jack as opposed to USB. Just don't expect it to work with all headphones, and especially not all IEMs. More sensitive cans will give you problems like background noise and something akin to clipping. Works well with Sennheisers, but since this is meant for portability, I wanted it to work with my closed-back Focal Elegia. It didn't... at first. Miraculously, something has changed, and I use this with the Focals all the time without issue. Still picks up some weird electronic background noise, like when I'm just scrolling through UAPP or Qobuz... but that doesn't bother me and I don't hear any issues once the music starts. So it does what I want, which is provide much more power than my phone's amp.
(Edited)
DodgingBullets
0
Nov 8, 2022
bloodfartI'm totally amazed that a company can make a product that is highly rated but doesn't function or meet anybody's expectations but still buy it and afterward make excuses to buy it even though it doesn't meet the basic definition of quality and Audiophile.
bloodfart
16
Nov 9, 2022
DodgingBulletsIt functions and, again, does what I want. I wrote the review so prospective buyers like you could know what you're getting into. It's obviously not for you. I'm not begging you to buy it, and I was never so attached to it that I wouldn't return it if it didn't work for me. Then again, I'm still trying to figure out the basic definition of audiophile...
Sandyfry
1
Oct 17, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
So far, so good!
Only had this a few weeks but so far I haven't had it not drive any headphones I have. I have a lot of digital music on my phone and on a separate DAP and it is awesome being able to use my Hd 600 or 650s or any other full size cans and not have to turn the volume to maximum just to get a little sound. Great little unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
oO_..-33-.._Oo
21
Jul 3, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
love this little thing
super convenient kick in the pants when your HPs want a little extra something something. and that bass boost sure is fun.
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 13 of 50
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
50 OF 50 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order
Related Products