Kanemoto VG-10 Damascus Santoku Knife
Kanemoto VG-10 Damascus Santoku Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
425 Sold
Product Description
Made in Japan, this kitchen knife features a blade made by Kanemoto from VG-10 Damascus steel, which is known for its edge-holding ability. The hammered texture on the flats gently transitions to the classic Damascus pattern towards the blade edge Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
12
search
TexasScout
0
Feb 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very well made and comfortable in the hand
I was quite impressed with this knife, my first Japanese knife. The Damascus steel was beautiful. The handle is VERY comfortable in the hand. I like the idea of a Japanese piece of steel with a European style handle. It seems that great care was taken in the fit and finish.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Feb 21, 2020
ArkadyN
25
Oct 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
excellent look and feel!
very sharp indeed!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 4, 2019
SirEbril
0
Sep 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great knife - very happy with it!
I've been cooking for a couple decades but never had the dough to assemble a pretty knife collection, so this is my first. Overall I'm quite happy with it - incredibly sharp and striking - I like the weight and aesthetic. Just gotta remember to take good care of it, hoping it stays sharp for a long time!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 28, 2019
piedrafria
75
Sep 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great looking knife. Legit in every way.
I need to put this through its paces before I give it 5 stars. So it will depend on how it holds an edge and how it sharpens. My impression is, it's beautiful but possibly too light. Feels good in the hand and relatively balanced. But it's not blowing me away. However, for this price, it really is gorgeous and I expect it to be the best purchase at this price. I'll return to review in a few months. Edit. It holds a good edge, well enough that I only need to sharpen it once quickly before each use. I've chopped with it many times, and it's great. You can actually hear how well it sharpens and hones compared to other knives. It's super smooth, and still gorgeous. What I did notice, the handle fit and finish. It's actually slightly off. Not a lot but just enough where you can feel it. Other than that, no complaints. Great knife and beautiful to display.
search

(Edited)
Sep 27, 2019
wekarnesky
12
Jan 15, 2020
bookmark_border
How do you feel 4 months later?
Jan 15, 2020
piedrafria
75
Feb 1, 2020
bookmark_border
It's great. I mean... for the price it's perfect. Fantastic edge but still uncharacteristically light (see picture of another vg10 damascus blade, it weights about 1/4 more). The handle is slightly off. Almost like you want to sand and grind all the way around to smooth it out. It won't bother you, but I'm nitpicking on fit and finish. I've included a picture of it next to a Japanese knife bought in Japan from a local Smith. The one on the bottom looks larger because of the camera angle but they're within a 1/4 inch.
search
search

search

Feb 1, 2020
Sky1
13
Apr 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It’s a very good looking knife. I’m happy with the purchase.
Apr 27, 2019
Shawnf146
9
Apr 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I recently purchased this knife from Massdrop and got it yesterday. It is a beautiful looking knife, very thin bladestock and feels very properly balanced in the hand. The san-mai style blade just looks excellent and it shows offas a shining gem in my kitchen. I enjoy VG10, as it takes one heck of an edge and keeps it for a reasonable amount of time. I will update after using the knife a bit more.
Apr 10, 2019
wekarnesky
12
Jan 15, 2020
bookmark_border
How do you feel 9 months later?
Jan 15, 2020
Shawnf146
9
Mar 18, 2020
bookmark_border
It's still one of my favorite kitchen knives. Food doesn't stick to it, it's lightweight yet well made. It's a beautiful knife in every single way. I did try to sharpen it on my KME and had some difficulty. I tried sharpening it on a 1x42 belt grinder and it came out reasonably well. I can't seem to get any toothiness to the edge for whatever reason. I almost feel as if the soft steel of the san mai has almost dipped down to where the edge is, I could be completely wrong. I may have to give it one last sharpening go on my Wicked Edge 130 to see if I can get the edge that I'd like to have on it.
Mar 18, 2020
djm7845
81
Mar 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought it for my wife, she loves it. She doesn't come after me with the kitchen shears anymore, instead she uses this beautiful, Asian blade carving knife. If she catches me I will let you know how well it works.
Mar 17, 2019
phoenixsong
925
Jan 15, 2020
bookmark_border
HAHA hopefully you'll still be able to do so :p
Jan 15, 2020
NEFLink
3
Feb 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Phenomenal quality. One of the easiest blades I've ever sharpened and maintains that edge for weeks of daily use.
Feb 18, 2019
OrcaK4
3
Dec 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Truly excellent steel. Almost ridiculous sharpness can be achieved with proper honing and maintenance
Dec 1, 2018
Bobjustbob
5
Nov 30, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am a knife lover and bought it for a budding chef. Very sharp. Very handsome and good value. Too early to say more or give it a fifth star.
Nov 30, 2018
nadavsteinberg
27
Mar 19, 2019
bookmark_border
What do you think, 15 weeks later?!
Mar 19, 2019
DMTTAB
86
Aug 31, 2019
bookmark_border
The blade is so sharp, he cut off all his fingers and is no longer able to type. :P
Aug 31, 2019
Showing 17 of 19
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
19 OF 19 POSTS
Apr 2, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest