Koss KPH30i Headphones

Koss KPH30i Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.1K requests
15.1k Sold
Product Description
Unveiled at Rocky Mountain Audio Festival, the Koss KPH30i is a lightweight, portable headphone with lots of stylish, retro-inspired appeal. It’s a descendent of the popular KTXPro1 and Pro35, now equipped with modern features like an inline microphone and remote Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
958
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
je.june
102
Feb 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I swapped out the earpads with Yaxi PortaPro Earpads. Super comfy and love the sound and look. Wires have me worried but lets see how long they last.
Amensmasher
27
Mar 18, 2019
Where you land this Gem? its like New Condition! bring back my Childhood memory, I was 13 and my first Job was a Flower Boy (Deliver Flowers). Earn enough $ to purchase this AWIA! it was my first Audio Purchase. What was your first Audio Reward with your Hard Earn $?
AntoineP
119
Mar 18, 2019
Had this one from new, my only “Walkman”. Cost a lot of money (to me) in NZ, but got thrashed and still works 35 years later, so I can’t complain.
aficionado
38
Jan 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hands down The most honest headphones I ever bought. After receiving my first, I purchased 5 more pairs, one for each family member! Everyone loved them! My collection ranges from headphones costing $1000 to these. Honestly speaking, KPH30i might probably be the only ones a teenager would need, and for me the ones I mostly use since I received them. While construction is really flimsy (2-3 star), the sound fully satisfies and compensates. So, please KOSS, develope a stronger version costing reasonably more, slightly improving the mids and you can compete with most of headphones costing $50-100 out there. Well done, heartily recommended.
8bit
159
Feb 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Okay... So, i might be a little too excited that they are finally here! Good sound (not the best in the world... but what were you expecting...?) and definitely much more bass than I had anticipated (not a bad thing). The mids are good and the highs are stretched in a few areas, but, I can understand why some folks use these as their "daily drivers"! They just work! But seriously folks... the look....! And, they are incredibly comfortable! Biggest regret: I should have bought MORE of them! I should have gotten a few for myself and then a few friends who would have loved these as gifts! Bottom-line: It's worth the price. Get 2 of them (or more).
search

search

8bit
159
Mar 30, 2019
yeah, carefully remove the two plastic pieces that are pinning the pads down (i used a small knife to "pop" the pieces out). that's it!
smallbit
1308
Apr 10, 2019
Where are the plastic pins? I do not want to break them and jsut got my yaxis. edit: so there are three pins it looks like you can maybe pry outward once you rip the stock pads off. edit2: figured it out. So you rip the first pads off, they are a loss. Then you have three tabs you need to use a small flat head to angle them out and pull the platform up. Yaxi pads on now and they are super nice!
(Edited)
AntoineP
119
Aug 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive sound quality for not much money.
Like Koss’ other 60ohm headphones, the sound quality to price ratio here is off the scale. They are a bit plasticy, look somewhat fragile, but provide a reasonably detailed, open soundstage that is very enjoyable. Whilst “warm” sounding, the bass isn’t overdone, the vocals are pleasant, and the treble doesn’t get fatiguing. It’s $150 sound for $20. I found the clamping force a bit much at first, but some hot water and a cardboard box fixed that, and more recently I added Yaxi Pads because I found them so comfortable on my Porta Pros. Now they are very comfortable for an on-ear, almost weightless, and as others have said the silicone comfort strap on the headband is a work of genius! They sound ever so slightly duller than a Porta Pro or KSC75, but are easier to take on and off because the KPH30i’s headband stays adjusted where you last put it, this is no small thing. I think it’s the layer of foam and the (mostly solid) cup behind the drivers that take the edge off them as the driver looks exactly the same as the Porta Pro’s. Don’t let that put you off though, they are awesome. 2021 Update: The headbands snapped on both my pairs at the narrow slotted section. They were well cared for and never left the house. I guess Koss used a brittle plastic instead of the robust stuff they make sunglasses frames out of. My PortaPros are still trucking along fine.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
dkc1234
6
Nov 10, 2019
Super huge THANKS!!! I wasn’t sure if I could snap out the three tabs or not. I appreciate you 🤙🏽🤙🏽
cosimo.orlando
14
Mar 2, 2021
As AntoineP, did you mount the yaxi pads over the installed pads? the original pad has been destroyed? Do you think that the yaxi pads could be mounted over the original ones?
(Edited)
con3224
11
Aug 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sleeper Headphones
Intro: The Koss KHP30i is a great product for the price. Key words there: "for the price". I think a lot of reviews compare these to more expensive headphones (headphones that cost 3 times as much if not more) which is really praise for these that their sound quality can punch way above what their price would suggest. Build: The build doesn't inspire much confidence. I feel like I need to be really delicate when handling these headphones. The plastic feels very brittle and prone to snapping. That's definitely the biggest knock against these guys, but it is nice to have the Koss warranty to get them replaced for cheap. But that is also an inconvenience when/if you do break them. Comfort: They are very light which helps them disappear on my head... for about 10 minutes. After that point they get quite warm for my liking. I ordered some Yaxi Pads in hopes of improving the comfort, but shipping on those takes a second since they have to come across the Pacific. Other than the warmth of the ear pads, I can't really complain about comfort. They clamp nicely enough to stay on my head and the head strap never bothered me. Sound: This is what these headphones are about. They sacrifice in most all other areas for this. And I believe that is the winning formula for Koss. These headphones are sleepers. My roommate said that they look like the headphones they give out on airplanes. I tend to agree. But once you hit play, your perception of that changes immediately. There is no lack here of bass. But the surprising thing to me is how low it goes. It is very punchy in the mid-bass, but the lower bass frequencies are still strongly represented which was something I did not expect. I think this contributes the most to the fullness and richness of the sound here. The mid-range frequencies are really nice. I enjoy them. The treble is the weakest point of the sound signature, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I say this because on low end audio products, treble can hurt you. So if Koss couldn't make smooth sounding treble for the price of these, then I'd say it's better of them to roll those frequencies off and sacrifice some detail and clarity up there. Once nice quality of these headphones is that there is imaging. On products at this price you expect them to make sound. But these have the ability to place sound. Not amazingly mind you but well enough to notice. The sound stage is also present. It's not massive, but present. These factors are nice additions that you wouldn't expect at this price point. Conclusion: You should probably just buy a pair. If for no other reason than to see what kind of sound you can get for under $30. If you get a pair and don't absolutely love them, that is okay. I think these are worth it for the entertainment value alone. The fun of anticipating getting these then finally listening to them and being pleasantly surprised is worth it to me. It's part of the fun of this hobby. These are definitely worth it for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
brisket
1
Sep 3, 2019
I love this review. Thank you for this.
slavv
49
Sep 29, 2019
What a review! And that conclusion :D Very thoughtful.
Frederico
38
Jan 25, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely Disappointed. After waiting a few weeks for this drop, I didn’t expect to be blown away, but I at least expected to be satisfied for the price and convenience. Pros — Not Many — Cheap at $22 — Included Inline Controller — Gray version isn’t obnoxiously plastic — very lightweight Cons — Everything Else — Uncomfortable — cord is too short — sound is HORRIBLE Apart from physically pinching and hurting my ears after less than an hour, these sound AWFUL; they sound like possibly good speakers that are covered by a pillow. No brightness (until you crank them all the way up past safety); all muffled tones that rob the very joy of music from both the song and my soul. I didn’t expect top of the line sound for $22, but I also didn’t expect it to suck balls, based on the reviews here. I’ve had plenty of inexpensive headsets, and few have sounded this terrible, but for the times I spent under $10 at a gas station in desperation. Yes, I “burned them in” for several hours, hoping they’d “brighten’, but they haven’t, and that’s just sad, myth-ful thinking, anyway. I wouldn’t give these to a child.
Qwervy
405
May 7, 2020
I think I see what you are saying. Different people are different levels of sensitive, usually if someone says something negative its hard to not offend anyone. What you are suggesting is fair, although I am quite curious to see if the unit he received is actually defective or not.
justincz
5
Jul 21, 2020
i can follow you easily. they are pretty muffled in the high-end, ksc75 are way brighter.
NickMimi
28
Aug 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very enjoyable sound
I managed to get about 2 hours on them, they are stupidly good sounding for the grand sum total of $22. Don't expect miracles but it would be absolutely ridiculous of me to attempt to criticize a product that offers so much at such a modest price. My girlfriend walked by and squeeled in delight at the "cute"white headphones. I expect my pair to arrive in about 8 weeks...
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Everybody should own a pair of these, buy these before any other headphone
Amazing product, these truly live up to all the hype. Especially incredible value for $20. Even from my relatively extensive headphone/iem stash, the get some of the most use of the whole bunch. The sound is smooth and laid-back, with great midbass warmth. There isn't too much sub-bass impact, but I don't miss it. Very punchy low-end. The only con I've found is the clamp force, which is slightly higher than I would like, and can start to be annoying after a few hours of listening. I would highly recommend getting a set of knock off Grado G-Cush Pads if you can afford the $8 price (taghttps://www.ebay.com/i/193461028499?chn=ps&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-117182-37290-0&mkcid=2&itemid=193461028499&targetid=917185845248&device=m&mktype=pla&googleloc=9021565&poi=&campaignid=10454521919&mkgroupid=104612010860&rlsatarget=pla-917185845248&abcId=2146002&merchantid=6296724&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-tuqxOvG6gIVEIzICh1j9AXfEAQYFCABEgIxpvD_BwE). These pads spread out the clamp force over a larger area, to the point it feels like wearing nothing, they are so lightweight and comfortable. If you leave the stock foam pads on with the G-Cush pads, the sound is practically unchanged, but more airy and spacious. If the stock foam is removed, you get a bit more amazingly detailed, sweet treble, but never harsh or sibilant. Add a $9 Apple usb-c or lighting to 3.5mm adapter for a shockingly clear and portable dac/amp. I think this $37 setup, that can be run off a phone, is absolutely unbeatable (even compared to the very impressive chifi iems like Tin T2 and KZ ZSN), and I can fully recommend it to anyone, especially those just getting into headfi/HiFi. These are some insane headphones at any price, but I sure ain't gonna complain about them being so darn cheap.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
SpeleoFool
614
Apr 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The perfect kids' headphones
For background, I own a couple dozen pairs of headphones, ranging up to $4000 Focal Utopias. So why did I pick up the Koss KPH30i, and what makes them worth 5 stars? I resisted picking these up for a while, even turning down an opportunity to get them for free, because there was no way such a cheap headphone could compete with any of my other audiophile headphones. Plus, they look fragile. Plus, I hate on-ears. But eventually curiosity got the better of me, and I got a pair. And I absolutely love them, for what they are. What makes the KPH30i stand out from throwaway headphones is a surprisingly coherent sound signature. From mid-bass to mid-treble, sounds are clean, distinct and balanced. On some bassy tracks they even impart a sense of slam that seems to defy physics. The deepest bass isn't really there, and treble rolls smoothly off as frequencies climb the scale. Nevertheless, the overall presentation is very pleasant; nothing sounds off or missing or wrong. The sound out of these is so impressive that my wife and I took a trip to my local Best Buy to compare them to any headphones they had in stock. The unlucky model was Beats Studio 3 ($200); I found the same track from the store demo ("Natural" by Imagine Dragons) and played it from my phone to the Koss. The Koss trounced them--it wasn't even close. The Beats had muddy bass, uneven frequency response and terrible imaging. We ended up calling over the sales rep for the headphones area and having him listen, which turned into a friendly chat about HiFi for 15 minutes or so. For perspective, the KPH30i doesn't keep up with audiophile headphones like the Drop+Sennheiser 6xx. If you have a budget, start with something like 6xx / 58x / Hifiman 4xx, etc., for a great headphone that's still a very good value. But it's impossible to ignore that the 6xx is ~10 times the price of the Koss. Price to performance is off the charts for these little on-ears. The excellent sound, low price and extremely lightweight build make these an absolutely perfect choice for kids; I've bought at least 5 pair for friends' kids, and they're being put to good use for both entertainment and school work. The KPH30i can be driven from any phone or tablet with a 3.5mm headphone jack, and I have it on good authority that it works great with a Nintendo Switch as well. In general, portable devices won't drive it so loud as to hurt little ears. And, yeah, they'd be easy enough to break, which in a roundabout way is maybe a good opportunity for a life lesson about taking care of your stuff. They're not so expensive as to be irreplaceable, so parent accordingly. :-) With so many pairs of high-end headphones and IEMs, I rarely listen to these, but they still provide good value to me as a reference of what everyday headphones should be. And they're still easy to throw on and listen for hours. They're a very easy recommendation at everyday prices, and at Drop's price they're a no-brainer.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oscar_dziki
35
Jun 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphone are very, very MEH. Sound is not very clear. I wouldn't recommend them for listening to music, but they are great headphones to grab them and connect to laptop. Light, quite comfy, easy to drive. Also there is nothing abusive or excesive about their sound. I really appreciate that. I prefer this approach over creating artificial sense of resolution with exaggerated highs. I also like the retro look, though i expected beige colour to be brighter. To summarize: at this price they are OK. But nothing more.
Oscar_dziki
35
Aug 18, 2019
Yes, you described it about right.
phoenixsong
984
Aug 18, 2019
Well your review was helpful :)
Showing 54 of 1116
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order