Showing 1 of 17 reviews about:
MichaelAnda
110
Jun 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This amp pairs incredibly well with Massdrop's Sennheiser HD6XX. Pushes that headphone into another league, IMO. Adds dimension to the transparency/detail champ Sennheisers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 28, 2019
nick_t
216
Sep 19, 2019
bookmark_border
End game tube ?
Sep 19, 2019
MichaelAnda
110
Sep 19, 2019
bookmark_border
Not to my way of thinking. Perhaps for HD6XX users. I recently acquired a Bryston BHA-1. Not tubes, but boy does it make my Focal Elex's sing. Haven't tried my HD6XX just yet with the Bryston. The Bryston lists for $2,200. I bought an open box unit for $1,400. My year long plus headphone quest has taught me two things. #1, I'm crazy. #2, headphone/amp synergy is everything. What headphones are you using?
Sep 19, 2019
nick_t
216
Sep 20, 2019
bookmark_border
Why asking me which headphone am using ? HD6XX. Let me get this straight you have audio equipment that cost similar to my car ? My car cost 4 grand.
Sep 20, 2019
MichaelAnda
110
Sep 20, 2019
bookmark_border
To answer your question. I highly recommend the La Figaro amp pairing with your HD6XX headphones. I think the pairing is HIGHLY enjoyable and very capable. The pair together costs $820. Pretty good value based on their performance level, IMO. The other Massdrop pairing I find super appealing is the THX AAA 789 driving the HiFiMAN Edition XX. Two items available from Massdrop with a combined price of $1,000. Again, super value, IMO. At $1,100 I like the Cavalli Liquid Carbon X amp doing duty with the Focal Elex. Three pretty talented combinations in my view. If I couldn't afford all three but could afford just one right now I would select the HiFiMAN combo given my particular preferences. I believe you are likely to be VERY happy with the La Figaro/HD6XX pairing. I know I am. I am also VERY pleased with the Massdrop O2+SDAC AMP/DAC with both the Sennheisers and the HiFiMAN headphones. The O2+SDAC pushing the HD6XX headphones is crazy good value. I'd say go with the La Figaro if you want to make the most of your Sennheisers.
Sep 20, 2019
MichaelAnda
110
Oct 28, 2019
bookmark_border
I recently purchased some Level 3 power cords from AntiCable for use on the La Figaro that has changed my opinion here. The La Figaro with good quality power cables like those from AntiCable surpasses what I get from the Bryston amp. Grace Balanced SDAC into La Figaro into Cardas Clear Light into Focal Elex is truly glorious. Perhaps a hint of fatigue still present. I'm thinking substituting Massdrop's Airist DAC will fix that. The bad news is the extra money involved deviating from stock. A pair of AntiCables Level 3 power cords cost $660 by themselves. Money well spent, IMO.
Oct 28, 2019
See More Reviews