Welcome to Drop! Sign Up or Login to enjoy your $20 Phil De Franco CTRL Promo promotion.
Massdrop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
Massdrop CTRL Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
9.4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
To put it simply, the CTRL mechanical keyboard has it all. Constructed with a solid aluminum frame with a built-in switch plate, it’s stable and fortified Read More
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
405 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
endqwerty
2
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One of the best mechanical keyboards available
Solid frame that doesn't have any of the tiny give that plastic frames sometimes have Solid keys that don't wobble, even with other keycaps. Customization requires a couple extra steps, but works exactly as advertised (Windows 10)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 12, 2019
Gascon
3
Sep 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A little expensive, but good quality
The board and pcb seem very good quality with absolutely no flex, the switches are OK (I got Halo clear) a lot heavier than the cherry browns I'm used to but are fine. I swapped the letter and number keys for kailh speed copper and I'm pretty happy with them. Key switches aside it's a great keyboard, however if you want to use the configure tool the instructions aren't the best, but once you figure it out it's decent, definite room for improvement. All in all I like the customization in firmware and hardware but better switches out of the box without charging extra would be nice, and better easier to use configure tools would help
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 8, 2019
v4karian
0
Sep 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love it!
everything about this keyboard was all i was ever expecting, its the perfect size, solid materias and amazing feeling overall! i came from a razer bw tournament and makes that feel so cheap haha
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 7, 2019
Rumblefish
0
Sep 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great keyboard!! Would recommend!!
Got the CTRL keyboard with MX Cherry Blue switches. The build quality and weight of the keyboard is really nice. Very solid. LED lighting around the frame of the keyboard is okay, not as uniform as I'd like. Also, the plastic diffusor for the LED strip is not flush with the aluminum frame everywhere. Kind of bothers me when I feel the sharp edge. The key-cap texture is a little rough but was going to replace them anyway. Overall, would highly recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 6, 2019
Rumblefish
0
Sep 6, 2019
bookmark_border
No wrist rest, but the frame is pretty low profile so I find myself not needing it as much as on my old keyboard.
Sep 6, 2019
iLostMyToeInVietnam
0
Sep 6, 2019
bookmark_border
Nice
Sep 6, 2019
Dabu
4
Aug 31, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great design, and that's about it
It's a great looking keyboard with nice looking RGB LEDs, I admit. Unfortunately, the Halo clear switches they sell with it have a keychatter problem (double pressing), so I was forced to spend extra money to get new switches. Admittedly, replacing them was pretty easy with the added tool for that in the box, but I shouldn't have to do this. Another huge annoyance is if you want to customize it in any way, you have to flash a new firmware (which means fiddling with the command line, ugh), and either use the very basic online tool (every change needs cmd flashing as well), or... code it yourself in C. Yes, you heard that right. Drop expects you to know C to make custom LED effects. Hilarious. Save yourself a hassle and just stick with bigger keyboard brands. Unless you don't need customization, won't go with Halo switches and really want this design, then why not.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 31, 2019
willricketts
91
Aug 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrible
Nearly every key has keychatter, causing doublestrikes of keys from no fault of my own. I write software for a living, which was why I bought this keyboard. For that, it's totally unusable. I end up getting more compiler errors because of my keyboard than my actual code. Nothing quite like paying a $200 premium on a keyboard, just to have to turn around and replace all the switches for nearly 50% of the board's price.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 26, 2019
willricketts
91
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
That's a false equivalency. A keyswitch is a focal point of a keyboard. A more apt comparison would be this car's axle snapping in half, considering they're relatively important to each. In that case, it's absolutely the car manufacturer's responsibility. A spark plug is a wear-and-tear high replacement frequency item. You're manufacturing a false equivalency to back up your flimsy claim. That's fantastic that there are plenty of satisfied customers who share similar components to those found in my Ctrl, but sadly it's totally irrelevant to quote these figures as a product review is used to convey an individual's satisfaction with a product. In that, your argument is as self-defeating as it is flawed.
(Edited)
Sep 4, 2019
p0okoid
0
Sep 8, 2019
bookmark_border
As it turns out, its not the switches. There's a sticky about it, looks fixable via firmware.
Sep 8, 2019
hkn.ozturk.94
2
Aug 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I ordered my keyboard on the 8th of August and it shipped on 9th. Yesterday, I received my keyboard. Keyboard was protected in the box very well, I was super afraid of damaged product during shipment, but everything is good :) Keyboard itself works and feels really good. No issues so far. I have Cherry MX Blues, they are amazing to type on, except they are a bit loud to use them in the office. The only small issue is the keycaps, they are a bit rough for me. But, anyone tried the keyboard already loved it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 23, 2019
radmedov
15
Aug 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Satisfied!
The awesome keyboard. It looks and feels gorgeous. Pretty happy with Cherry MX blue as well. The only thing I wish it has Mac mods out of the box and optional carrying case.
search

search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 22, 2019
Interplay
4
Aug 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but two things could have made it better
The magnetic legs are now great; they don't easily fall over at all. I had no issue with adding halo clear switches (never bent a leg); I think the hot-swappable pcb was great. My two issues: 1. The drop version of qmk (keyboard software) largely obfuscates the benefit of the open source software. It removes the benefit of the large availability of tutorials and online help, making customizations challenging for the average user. Only by looking at the source code myself (I code for a living) was I able to have the keyboard start with a different preset, and a different level of brightness. 2. It is my subjective opinion that the grey of the keyboard is one of the worst greys. It looks great by itself, but if you're looking for keycaps to look great, you either need very light or very dark keycaps. A lighter silver, or a darker grey would have been a better option. Still, the ctrl fills a gap: a TKL, hot-swappable keyboard, with RGB, and QMK (kinda) for a great price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 22, 2019
TheVapire
0
Aug 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great well made board and great for beginners!
I just got started in the keyboard hobby and this keyboard has been a great starting place for me. The board feels very well made with good materials and it appears the problem with the feet falling off has been solved. It is very handy that they provided a key cap puller and a key switch puller to allow for beginners (like me) to have the basic tools for getting started. The hotswap is also another great feature as it has allowed me to try different switches to find out what I like.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 21, 2019
Showing 26 of 691
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
691 OF 691 POSTS
Sep 16, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order