shopping_cart
Massdrop Flex Task Chair

Massdrop Flex Task Chair

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.8K requests
1.9k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Whether you’re working, gaming, or just relaxing, chances are you spend a lot of time sitting down. So why not make your time sitting down more comfortable, more productive, and more enjoyable? Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
166
check
55%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
joshea
45
Aug 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loving the chair after a couple months. The base and wheels are really, really solid--not the plastic I'm used to from other chairs I've had. I love the headrest--I'm 6'1", so most chairs aren't quite tall enough to have head support for me. Armrests are easily adjustable. I literally just found out I could move the lumbar support vertically, which removes the largest gripe I had about the chair.
Minor improvements/gripes: the mesh material isn't particularly soft or comfortable, but that's no problem if you're wearing long enough clothes. For some of the vertical adjustments (headrest, lumbar) I wish there were a locking mechanism. They seem to hold just fine, but personally I like the reassurance--with the cost being a little less convenience when adjusting.
For $200 this is a steal.
JZStudios
66
Aug 17, 2018
Think it would hold up to someone a few inches taller?
joshea
45
Aug 17, 2018
Yeah. The headrest is adjustable, and I don't have it on the highest setting. Same with the rest. I could see it being a problem for someone like 6'8" or taller maybe, but under that I imagine it would still work well.
Mr.Len
13
May 2, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall, this is a solid purchase. Having a headrest is really great. I have a similar version by Herman Miller in my office, and that is $800+ new, and without a headrest, lumbar support and adjustable arm rests. Some of the components are not as solid as the Herman Miller, but it's a quarter of the price and doesn't justify the $600 price gap. So far it feels comfortable and solid. Totally worth the $$.
windows2000bug
5
Aug 1, 2018
Which HM chair do you have in your office?
Nicuzn
7
May 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely comfortable chair. At 6' and 170 pounds it holds my frame with room to spare. The adjustability makes it possible to set it up as a task chair or a relax chair. Many times I will just lean back, put my feet up and read a book or play a game, but when it's go time it snaps right back to where it needs to be.
Reasons it's only four stars: The detachble headrest isn't great; it does not stay in position very well. If you rely on the headrest you will be adjusting it a lot. The chair arrived with two left armrests and no right armrest - I had to disassemble one of the armrests and flip the components around to convert it to a right armrest. There are no instructions to do so, luckily it wasn't very difficult. But it is something I should not have had to do at all.
allmeads
19
Aug 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well engineered and represents great value
My expectations for the chair were mixed based upon other reviews; let me share my thoughts: Shipping box - typical packaging that you have come to expect from an Asian company. The cardboard is not structurally heavy cardboard but rather very pliable and very fibrous. Great for the inside packaging, but not so great as the shipping box. Expect rips, tears and perhaps a hole or two. I was concerned that something pierced the box in shipping that arrived to my home, but everything was ok. The chair itself is well made and engineered. Extensive use of plastics with brass threaded inserts for where you need to use screws in the assembly is used. Assembly instructions are OK if you're a visual learner otherwise not the best but adequate. I'm 6'1" and weigh 190. The chair fits me well - the arms can be fastened to the seat base as close to the seat edge as possible and there's still plenty of room for my butt - the chair does not "feel" too big. The head rest fits the height of my head perfectly and is also easy to adjust. I have no issues with the arms which are adjustable, but not overly so. Seat adjustments work fine.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
oeghan
0
Aug 27, 2019
is there any higher adjustments or do you use it maxed out? for reference i’m 6’4
allmeads
19
Aug 27, 2019
i do not have the height maxed out for myself. but i'm 3" shorter than you. I also prefer my seat height such that the bend in my knees is 90 degrees or a bit more. I think it would fit your frame - definitely width wise and the head rest would also fit. But remember, the chair costs $200. So I think the weakness if there is one, might be durability as the person's weight increases? At 6'4" you could be 215 or so. That's a consideration. But the price is such that it's worth a flyer.
Kiretsu
22
May 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Big & Tall need not apply. I'm not more than a little overweight, but I am 6'5" (196.5cm) and my butt covers the entire seat side to side. There is ZERO cushion on the sides! This makes for very uncomfortable unassisted sitting for long-term use. It lives up to its name "Task Chair" and really I should've known better to be honest. It legitimately cuts off circulation in my legs if I sit in it for more than a few hours. Fortunately a third-party cushion provides enough lift to offset the sides bearing more weight than the seat mesh can handle. I would NOT recommend if you are a B&T build or over 225lbs (102KG). Anyone smaller than that should find it very comfortable and usable.
Assembly was easy enough instructions weren't needed; fully-featured adjustability; blah, blah, blah... Oh and there are cushioned-seat versions of this chair on Amazon for the same or less. Some even have foot-rests.
Bineary
44
May 1, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had my Flex chair for slightly over a year now, normal office use (I telecommute). While durability is mentioned as a point several times the tilt-lock mechanism for the chair back stopped working this morning (so the back reclines freely no matter which position the lever is in). After flipping the chair over and examining I found that the actual stamped metal "base" that the seat/back/arms attach to broke at a weak point. I'm still able to sit in it but with effectively no backrest (since it reclines as soon as there's any pressure on it). The part that contains the locking mechanism is now attached on just one side and bent away from the rest somewhat which I'm sure is why it no longer works. Because it has been (barely) over a year (I got it in April last year) Massdrop told me the warranty is expired and they will not do anything other than offer a $20 discount on another drop. Additionally, because of how the drops work they are unable to sell any replacement parts for these chairs so repair is not an option. I bought a different brand with a far better warranty to replace it, yes the $200 price is attractive but paying under $400 for a chair I'll still be using in 5 years is a far better long-term deal than paying $200 for a chair I'll have to replace a year down the road. Pictures of the break here: https://imgur.com/a/rcNViUr
NoLoMo
0
Mar 21, 2020
Any update with the replacement chair?
Bineary
44
Mar 23, 2020
I'm very happy with the Kaiser. Haven't noticed any wear and tear and it's still very comfortable. The structural frame on this thing is steel and pretty beefy, I'll be surprised if there's any issue with it.
TheSQLGuru
14
Mar 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not very happy with this chair unfortunately. 1) The seat has a slight wobble because the tubing that supports it isn't as well fitting as it needs to be. 2) The head rest is useless for normal usage (i.e. sitting upright) because the upper part of the seat leans away from the back. So if you sit fully upright (good for the posture) then the headrest (and upper part of the back of the seat) is no where near your head/back. Even if you lean fully back into the locked-upright chair you have to let your head fall back about 3" to contact the head rest. I suppose for those that recline for a nap this would be useful, but that isn't what I bought the chair for. 3) The worst thing is the lumbar support, which is the single most important thing I was hoping to get from the chair. It is poorly padded and has a sharp curvature to it, so it is very uncomfortable. Tall people may also find that it does not move up vertically enough. 4) The arm rests are quite adjustable, which is nice. But they are set too far apart for a thin person and the only thing I can get on them is my elbows. Again the padding is insufficient here too. I suppose this is a case of you get what you pay for, and for those on a budget this is probably a big jump up from really cheap chairs. But I am going to start saving my money to get a more adjustable and padded chair.
Nice review, thank you.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have had this chair for less than a year and it has already broke on me. I used it as a computer chair and didnt put any unnecessary stress on the chair and im not over weight. The chair has broken underneath around the metal base on one side. So now when i try to sit back against the backrest it slumps back on one side and is very uncomfortable. I paid 200 dollars for this chair and for the price it was not worth it.
skavousi
15
Oct 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Terrible customer service. I bought the chair a few days ago which arrived without instructions on how to assemble it. I kept emailing customer service, without any luck. I am so fed up. Will never buy anything from here again.
tombaker
12
Feb 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It took roughly 4 months for the chair to break at the bit where you can lock the back in place. I bought this because I was tired of the poor quality of "executive" chairs from office supply stores, but it turns out those were more cost effective as they last multiple years for a fraction of this price.
search

Showing 22 of 202