Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones (EU)
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones (EU)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
631 Sold
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature ebony ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, and Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
82
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
HELICOPTERJAMES
35
Sep 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
an instant classic
the best version by far of one of the best sounding headphones available. is there anything else to say?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 9, 2020
LuckyRabbitKing
1
Aug 24, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrible build quality
Ordered this about a year ago and was impressed by the sound quality and comfort, but recently the shaft that holds the cup onto the band broke. I looked online and there are no replacement parts available and little to no available customer service. Contacted Massdrop support almost 2 weeks ago and no answer. Great sound and comfort but not worth it if you're not going to be able to use them for a year. Would not recommend. Very disappointed since I liked other Drop products in the past and this one has basically ruined it for me due to the lack of support
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 24, 2020
dleblanc
223
Sep 20, 2020
bookmark_border
If you’d like to sell it damaged, email me :) thy_ironman@hotmail.com
Sep 20, 2020
LathamTK
1
Aug 5, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth the price
If you're looking for great closed cans without the 1000+ $ pricetag of real high-end gear, these will do it for you. Note that these are not studio monitors nor neutral cans, but have a V-shaped sound signature. I really dig listening to rock and metal on these.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 5, 2020
Johnny.Drama
52
Apr 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very pleased - Awesome sub bass slam!
Super pleased. Most sub bass slam I've experienced. More than LCD2C, ZMF Aelous, HE500. Yum!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 13, 2020
D-Rom
75
Apr 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are absolutely incredible. My friend has the normal version and I can really tell the difference in sound quality. Especially in the Bass region. It is a deeper, richer bass. And it also controls better at higher volumes. If you can afford it, I do recommend getting the Ebony option.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 12, 2020
niqgles
9
Feb 5, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive bass. Questionable build.
First off, I compared these cans to my other Headphones (6XX, Hifiman Edition X, LCD-X). I was looking for a fun and bassy headphone and damn was I impressed with the sound of these cans for only 500$. The wood on the cups is really subtle but nontheless gorgeous. (You can't really tell from the pictures on the website) I do believe in burn in and this headphone was a prime example of that. I didn't like them initially but the more I listened to them, the more they grew on me. Their soundstage is pretty good, considering that these are closed cans. Imaging is ok for the price. I heard from many reviews, that these can hit you with the bass and they didn't disappoint. It's not only super resolving and thick but it also reaches straight down and has great sub-bass extension. It also doesn't bleed into the mid range, which was really surprising. The mids are a bit recessed but the overall dynamics are really good for the price. The song "Mountains" from the Interstellar soundtrack didn't sound as huge and impressive as on the LCD-X (but these are also giant planars and 3-times the cost) but the fact, that they could even go toe-to-toe in some areas, is really impressive. The treble is recessed and gives the headphone an overall warm sound, which personally doesn't bug me at all, because it makes it an overall more enjoyable and laid back experience for me. The only thing that did disappoint me though, was the build (except for the really nice wooden cups). The clamp on these is really light (which I personally don't like) and it gives the headphone a really cheap feel in in the hands. With their pretty significant weight of ~350 grams and almost no padding on the headband I can imagine people having issues with comfort (although you can get custom 3rd party comfort straps, which I would recommend). The comfort was ok for me but I am also used to my LCD-X which weighs almost double (~640 grams). Overall, I am really pleased with these headphones. What they lack in build quality they make up for in sound. When you are looking for a fun headphone with a warm signature and bass, that can hit you in the face (especially in genres like EDM, Hip Hop etc.) look no further than these cans. For 500$ they really hit above their price range.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Feb 5, 2020
passwurd
11
Jan 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Overall! Could be better.
These are nice out of the box, but I have to mark it down because the pads I got decided to rip apart a month or two after. And any pad change makes the sibilance torture-worthy. You can get the Dekoni pads for this, and they're the best option. But they still have a notable amount. Equalizer APO fixes these problems, and I recommend you use someone's to get the best experience out of these. Also...the bass. These headphones probably make you better at Rhythm games.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 12, 2020
antdroid
333
Jan 2, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun, warm and balanced headphone.
First off, I am reviewing a product that is now discontinued, at least at the time of writing this. So, this is going to be more useful to folks who are looking in the used market for the Fostex TR-X00 Ebony. Where to begin – I found myself looking for a semi-closed back headphone to use at the office a few months ago. I had already been using the Sony WH-H900N ANC headphone there and I do love it, but it’s not as comfortable to wear for a long period of time due to the small cup sizes and the tight seal. That, and I rather have some openness to hear when I’m being asked a question by a colleague. I ended up stumbling into the Fostex TR-X00 Ebony wood. This Drop exclusive features removable cables, as well as a limited edition Ebony wood cup. I had read that these were the most neutral of the available Fostex and Emu headphones in this style and jumped on them when Drop had dropped the price down $100 with coupon code. The TR-X00 has a nice lightweight build that is extremely comfortable to wear. The headband doesn’t have a lot of clamping force which is nice for long periods of listening without a death grip on my head. The pads are made of polyurethane-fake-leather and I ended up replacing them with real lambskin leather pads that have the same shape and fit, but offered much better comfort and breathability. The Ebony wood cups look black from afar, but they’re actually a chocolate brown color in lighting up-close, and with lighting, it reveals the nice wood grain. It’s a subtle but attractive look that I really enjoy, despite the giant white Fostex branding on it. One thing to note is that despite appearing to be a closed-back headphone, these are anything but that. They don’t really isolate that well, and allows a lot of outside noise in. At my listening volume, my headphone doesn’t bleed a lot out, but I can hear noises around me, and that actually works well for me at the office, where I am not surprised when someone is talking to me or needs my attention. Sound Qualities The Fostex TR-X00 Ebony edition features a bass-focused balanced signature that is definitely warm, enjoyable and caters to a more consumer-style signature, while still retaining some good mid-range coherency. Putting them on for the first time, I was actually surprised that they didn’t have mega bass as I had read from the other Fostex and Denon headphones that share the same design and Foster drivers. There’s definitely elevated bass pounding through the biodynamic driver, however, it’s generally balanced when compared to the rest of the spectrum. Sub-bass is where these really perform well, as they extend and dig deep. If you know me, I like sub-bass, mostly for electronic-fused music and films. Having that rumble adds character and depth to music and the Ebony does have that. I wouldn’t say that the general bass section is spectacular however. It’s present and surprisingly does not bleed into the midrange, but it doesn’t have as much definition as something above its price bracket, and only somewhat competes with other headphones in the $400-600 range. If anything, it falls short to the comparably priced planar magnetics in bass definition and bass extension. But, the bass is still good, fun and really well done when you look at it on it’s own merit. And that’s because the midrange surprisingly isn’t a bloated mess. It’s slightly recessed, but only a little bit, which keeps this headphone sane for my personal tastes. Midrange is important, the most important, and I think Fostex did a good job here. Again, it doesn’t have the best resolution here, but it’s coherent for the most part. Male vocals are thick, meaty, and rich. Female vocals are slightly recessed, however they aren’t in anyway harsh, piercing or abnormal like they were on the Purplehearts. Treble on the Ebony is a little rolled off, and not extremely extended. It’s laid back and gives this headphone a warm tonality, and that’s a good thing, as I planned on using this for long days at work when I’m just sitting at the computer multi-tasking away, and want a soundtrack that isn’t just keyboard clacks and mouse clicks. In terms of soundstage, I found the Ebony to be a more intimate affair. It’s width and depth was not unlike something like the Sennheiser HD600. Imaging was average, and the Ebony won’t be one that many call airy and light either. Overall The Ebony was and still is a headphone I gravitate myself towards. It’s comfortable, relatively lightweight, and has a nice warm, rich sound that is well made for long listens without a great deal of fatigue. It’s still on the bassier side of neutral, but I was surprised to find it generally balanced. It’s a recommendation in my book, but unfortunately harder to find now since its been since discontinued.
Jan 2, 2020
TostiTostelli
64
Nov 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid cans.
Great sound. Solid bass, slightly v shaped. Ear opening isn't big enough. Will order replacement pads for this reason. Overall very happy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 19, 2019
poopypants77
0
Nov 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very impressive!
The sound is amazing on these. And not just the low end, the mids and highs are just as impressive. Headphones are also very comfortable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 18, 2019
Showing 11 of 157
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
157 OF 157 POSTS
Sep 21, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest