Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
6.8k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
78
search
tkyc
0
Oct 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones
These headphones are really good and I own many other quality phones. Up there with my favorites.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 23, 2019
Kvue
0
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exactly what I wanted.
my first pair of fostex and I like it. It pair really will with the EarStudio es100.
search
search
search

Oct 21, 2019
synexpl0it
0
Sep 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love the sound; very balanced sound profile that doesnt need much at all to drive them decently. I still prefer my Ultrasone HFI-700 in terms of balanced sound, but Fostex knows how to make a comfortable pair of headphones! My only complaint is the gimble design. It has always been a weak point for Fostex. Replacement parts are stupid expensive and makes it hard for me to even give a generous 4 stars. For this price, the build quality should be better. I'd still recommend it, but only for home use where there's proper storage after use.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 28, 2019
SchiitHead024
6
Aug 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice cans with a few drawbacks
4/5 for bassheads who ALSO don't mind using an equalizer or people who just want EDM cans 3/5 for anyone not using an equalizer or SOLELY using this for EDM 2/5 for everyday listeners with no equalizer, at high volumes these hurt the ears in some cases First of all I'd like to preface this with saying I bought a Loki from my namesake to go with these headphones and I'd probably be a lot less happy with them otherwise. The sound is pretty amazing, bass is quite clear, mids sound great, highs are a bit on the brighter side but with a bit of tuning they sound far better. If you're buying these headphones I'm going to assume you're a bass lover so that's really what my star rating is focused on, how good the bass sounds and how much/little it effects or drowns out the other sounds, it performs amazingly in this regard. Mids sound a bit recessed, the detail is good but at this price range it could be better, if you're coming from a pair of 6XX cans this might be noticeable to you but I'd say they are in the same class. It's not that it sounds BAD in comparison, it's just that the mids pop a bit less with the TR-X00. This is again, after using a Loki to tune them a bit. Flipping off the tuning leads to this issue being magnified quite a bit and I'm not sure if I would be able to recommend these for every day listening if you have no way to tune your sound. High end is just too loud for me, my Loki's high end adjustment knob is forever at the 9 o'clock position which isn't a huge change but keep in mind I LIKE a V shape sound and without it I find myself wondering why on Earth every snare drum and cymbal sound hurts my ears at high volume. Take it down a bit and it's a beautiful thing, the bass is still why I'd buy these headphones but the definition in the high ends is a pretty close second too. Now...when it comes to things NOT related to sound (mainly design) these LOOK great and...well that's about it. The hinge on them is flimsy, I fear putting any pressure on them and rightfully so judging by the stories of people breaking them. The cord has begun to twist and the proprietary plug makes replacements a pain to buy. You can always buy from this manufacturer but when they stop making them...well I hope you like to solder and cut 400$ products because if not these are destined for the bin. They also have a large connector, if you add a 3.5mm adaptor it becomes even larger, not sure using your new phone is in the cards even if it could drive these to a decent volume, it'll work but make sure not to hook anything on your 3" long connector or you may lose your headphone port. The earpads are leather and yeah, they make you sweat. The construction uses a fair amount of glue and the screws used a VERY small, screw into plastic, and could easily be stripped so I'd advise against taking them apart often. All in all not very good for 420$ and I've already cannablized my old DT990s ear pads and headband cushion for a marked improvement in comfort. Overall I'd say this is a 4 star pair of headphones IF you have a decent equalizer (software or hardware would be fine), the build quality isn't SO bad that I'd take off more than a star with the hinges being the really iffy thing. The bass is just outstanding and IMO worth it to true bass heads. If you are buying these with no plans on altering the sound or if the idea of using an equalizer sounds like blasphemy to you...you'd probably be happier with a pair of 6XX, at best these are a 3/5 for all day listening without some way to reign in the highs. EDM is going to be the exception of course but even then I feel like a pair of 6XX with a Loki is going to give you 85% of what these can do, the 15% being all in the base where these cans really shine. If saving that 100$ doesn't matter to you these are still very nice cans, just way more sibilant than I'd like and it has a tendency to make high volumes unpleasant.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 19, 2019
Mokkori
0
Jun 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Happy with the purchase
beautiful look- long cable- good bass- comfortable
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 14, 2019
Karimk
48
May 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good bass. Nice clarity. Looks amazing. To me, this was very uncomfortable. I tried every pad there is; if it fixes the comfort, it ruins the sound. Buying a short cable is a must, the cable this comes with is massive and a hassle to deal with. It's a V-shape headphone, so the mids are recessed, and the highsssssss can get painful. If you like EDM, this might be good for you, however, most modern music is very compressed, so the highs on these might be too much. It spent more time on stand looking pretty, than on my head, which is not ideal. Still good overall, but can't say I'd recommend it.
May 28, 2019
coachclams
14
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are great headphones but they are held together by these two tiny screws which are the first components to fail. After 2 years of service, one of the cups fell off because one of the screws had snapped in half, leaving the lower half embedded inside the metal hardware that supports the cup. Massdrop will not provide you with replacement parts and the closest fostex replacement part is sold by some 3rd party at an egregious markup, which needs to be filed down to fit into the massdrop version. All in all, for a $400 headphone it probably should have lasted longer, and for massdrop's usually impeccable customer service to fall short is saddening.
Apr 20, 2019
Fencehopping
7
May 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Mine also failed the exact same way right at the 2 year mark. Very disappointed. Customer supports response was this: "While I can understand your frustrations, thank you for understanding our policies as well. I am sorry that we don't have a better resolution for you."
May 11, 2019
ZZ_UPenn
253
Oct 23, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks for your candid review. I was very tempted to buy a pair with the discounted price, but hold off because of the questionable build quality. In my opinion, it does not matter how great they sound if they will break in 2 years and there is no easy way to repair. Such a deal breaker!
Oct 23, 2019
SmoothDistortion
11
Apr 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So much energy!!! It's like the force from star wars was made into a sound presence. Very fun. Bass is powerful. Pretty damn tight though. Cellos and really any sub bass is awesome. Those biodynamic drivers are something truly unique. Like it a lot. Doesn't bleed into the mid range surprisingly. Mids are a mixed bag. Male vocals seem a lot better to my ears. Female vocals don't really shine or have any smoothness to them. Treble is plenty detailed. Kind of stops there. Sometimes it can get harsh to the point where music feels like it's straight up trying to attack me. Not sharp at least. Sound stage is damn wide for a closed back. Imaging is somewhat okay. To be expected with sound stage this wide. Not like Monolith M1060 wide, but wider than something like an HD 598. All in all a good, energetic all rounder if you're not too much into female vocals or mainly listen purely to orchestra because stringed instruments such as violins don't have a good spotlight here.
(Edited)
Apr 14, 2019
Devmoo
4
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these headphones so far. I came from the ATH-M50x and I also own a pair of HD598's. They have a closed back design, so everything sounds relatively close in terms of sounds and positioning, but somehow they still manage to sound super HUGE. The bass on these as you could tell by other reviews is just awesome, the sub sounds almost real, and the bass is punchy and very prominent, but not overwhelming. I have a FiiO e10k, and I had to buy a 6.5mm to 3.5mm adapter to plug these headphones in. Comparing side by side my friends Schiit Stack, there was barely any difference. Probably cause these aren't hard to drive. The treble gets to the point where it could get a bit too intense, but then cuts off right before that, giving you a really crystal clear sound (female vocals sound awesome). The only thing I'm missing from these headphones are sound stage, but honestly they pull it off in a way that you don't need that sound stage to be satisfied, and the low volume leak keeps my coworkers happy as well. In terms of comfort I'm extremely happy, other reviews made me nervous thinking it was just sub par, or alright, but to me these are really comfortable. They are very light and barely clamp my head. I can wear them 7-8 hours a day at the office. I guess comfort is subjective. Even comparing to the HD598's (the most comfiest headphone ever), these aren't too far behind. No issues so far, feels worth the money and they look beautiful. If your looking for just a general closed back upgrade from something like the ATH-M50x, these destroy them and do everything better. Get them!
(Edited)
Apr 5, 2019
Lectricblue13
2
Mar 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these, I’m an EDM listener and these pair with that music perfectly, I use an fx dac-x6 and a monoprice tube and they sounds great with both!
Mar 25, 2019
Showing 13 of 122
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
122 OF 122 POSTS
Oct 23, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest