Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
103
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
hyunchong02
10
Oct 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound Amazing, but can't recommend due to comfort
I want to preface if you want fun boomy bass, this will deliver and I wanted to love these, but I can't stand wearing these for more than an hour before finding to uncomfortable to wear. the headband and earpads are terrible. The headband's comfort can be fixed by the ZMF pilot pad, but people with big heads like me will find the headphone doesn't extend quite enough to accommodate the extra padding for their head. However, the earpads are even worse, their opening is too small and they are too shallow. Pad swapping isn't an option either. I find the more distance you put on your ear and the driver, the worse the bass becomes. I haven't had any issues with my TR X00 breaking but that doesn't mean they feel solid. I could definitely imagine the one single metal screw holding the heavy earcup snapping off from a drop any other headphone could survive.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Fries
0
Aug 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only downside to this product is that the cables that are attached to the 2 earcups were not straightened before they were attached. The cables are intertwined with each other.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
rishio
4
Aug 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing headphones
Been using it with the JDS Labs Element II and the sound is fantastic.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
VPD2
0
Jul 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ear cup broke with normal use.
These have been part of my collection for 3 years and I alternate through several headphones including these. I've recently discovered several others onlinewho have experienced the same issues which clearly indicates some serious build quality problems in every set. Even if I did use them every day, they still shouldn't have broken so easily, especially for the price we paid. I've had my Sennheiser HD650's for over 15 years which have had so much use, been through numerous drops and they are still going strong. If these are sold again I you're considering buying these, I strongly suggest use your money for a different set. If you still have them, brace yourself for when they do snap.
search
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
TigerChan
6
Jun 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great headphone
the price is cheap with great sound, really good
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Devourmsi
4
May 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds amazing, but with comfort issues
the sound is amazing as what Fostex wanted to deliver, but heavy and stress to listen to if wearing it for long hour.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Leeminzhe
17
Apr 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
Connect to my thxaaa789 and sounds awesome
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Lifelesslump
25
Apr 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best headphones I have ever owned
Everything about these headphones are 5 star, but the weight is my complaint. they are a bit heavy due to the wood. BUT the wood ads such an amazing look, so I am fine with it. They are very comfortable. great for music and videos games. For video games I use a sennheiser gsx 1000, which is in 7.1 surround sound (simulated). For music I was using my echobox explorer in mahogany. they looked great together until the echobox stopped working. So now I am waiting for the opus #2 to be delivered. The sound quality is phenomenal. I don't have any complaints about the sound at all. I highly recommend these headphones!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
cdcooper
11
Apr 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only issues I've really had with these headphones has been around comfort which was easily solved with some Dekoni th900 elite velour pads. Also running these balanced made a real difference for me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MrTheBud
18
Apr 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Wood Cup headphones
These are for my use and line up of headphones that I have being mostly a Bass headphone and being closed back (They are certainly a bass headphone in them self despite comparing it to my other line up) . I do like it a lot and I do think it sounds really good for a closed set of cans. I do see some of the highs being a little too much as others said, but it does not bother me as much as I have seen other people discuss before (comparison being DT 1990 on MD THX-AAA/S.M.S.L Stack). It is for sure a fun headphone. I find though that I wish the headband did have a bit more padding for my head, though it does not bother really. The build quality I have seen to be the biggest problem with the headphone and I can see why when I look at them. I just hope they will stay together as long as they can, so be aware of the build quality of the headphone.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 164
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
164 OF 164 POSTS
Oct 28, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest