Nathan gave you $10 to spend on your first purchase on Drop! Sign Up to learn more.
shopping_cart
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones

Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Mahogany Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.7K requests
7k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature mahogany ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers, and a highly reviewed sound signature Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
109
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Alenotta
4
May 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unique sound
I got these several years back now and I still really enjoy them. They have a very rich sound that doesn't get old. They aren't the most resolving headphone and the dynamic driver / wooden cup combo has a bit of ring to it so there isn't a ton of separation, but you don't really think about any of that while you are listening. Very comfortable and unique. I'd still recommend if the drop happens again.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ChewieSolo
42
Apr 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got these for a bit less at $320 during a sale. They are definitely the best looking headphones I own, the mahogany looks fantastic. The sound is V-shaped and overall pleasant if you are ok with that signature. My only complaint is with the pads as they have a weird feel due to their shape, not uncomfortable but I am usually aware of them while wearing them.
Ash256
12
Feb 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these mass drop bring them back
Extremely dynamic the punch is incredible I guess you can still get emu teaks
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Those are not to run a round with. A bit heavy but still very comfortable for short sessions. I own many headphones and like to switch between them regularly I really like the sound. It is solid and tight with a good amplifier. Overall a good investment I would not like to be without. And they look fantastic!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Robrobro
9
Nov 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound is good
They sound really good, but the comfort leaves something to be desired.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
zekken
123
Oct 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
Fun headphone with a great tonal balance. A little bit heavy for long sessions. In real life looks amazing and the wood finish is really good.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
hyunchong02
19
Oct 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound Amazing, but can't recommend due to comfort
I want to preface if you want fun boomy bass, this will deliver and I wanted to love these, but I can't stand wearing these for more than an hour before finding to uncomfortable to wear. the headband and earpads are terrible. The headband's comfort can be fixed by the ZMF pilot pad, but people with big heads like me will find the headphone doesn't extend quite enough to accommodate the extra padding for their head. However, the earpads are even worse, their opening is too small and they are too shallow. Pad swapping isn't an option either. I find the more distance you put on your ear and the driver, the worse the bass becomes. I haven't had any issues with my TR X00 breaking but that doesn't mean they feel solid. I could definitely imagine the one single metal screw holding the heavy earcup snapping off from a drop any other headphone could survive.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Fries
1
Aug 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only downside to this product is that the cables that are attached to the 2 earcups were not straightened before they were attached. The cables are intertwined with each other.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
rishio
8
Aug 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing headphones
Been using it with the JDS Labs Element II and the sound is fantastic.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
VPD2
5
Jul 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ear cup broke with normal use.
These have been part of my collection for 3 years and I alternate through several headphones including these. I've recently discovered several others onlinewho have experienced the same issues which clearly indicates some serious build quality problems in every set. Even if I did use them every day, they still shouldn't have broken so easily, especially for the price we paid. I've had my Sennheiser HD650's for over 15 years which have had so much use, been through numerous drops and they are still going strong. If these are sold again I you're considering buying these, I strongly suggest use your money for a different set. If you still have them, brace yourself for when they do snap.
search
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 170
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
170 OF 170 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest