Massdrop x Klymit Ultralight V Sleeping Pad

Massdrop x Klymit Ultralight V Sleeping Pad

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.3K requests
·
5.9k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Following the success of the Static V Ultra Light sleeping pad, we’re excited to announce our second collaboration with Klymit: the Massdrop x Klymit Ultralight V. It features the original’s 20d nylon fabric, 60 g/m2 insulation, and V-chamber design, plus a couple of notable updates Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
179
check
56%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
robbymech
4
Jun 28, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I had a little bit of a problem when I first pulled the pad out of the pouch and tried to inflate it. The deflate valve was leaking and the pad would not hold air. I soaped the entire pad to find the leak at the valve. After reseating the deflate valve with a little liquid, it seem to hold okay. I have used it on one backpack trip for two nights and it did great. There is a noticeable difference in the insulative value of the pad versus the Big Agnes air core pad that I was using previously. Also, the Klymit pad is far easier to inflate and deflate which is a huge plus. I'm not sure as to the durability of the pad versus my Big Agnes pad as the material on the Big Agnes is more durable. Only time will tell as to whether or not the Ultra Lite 5 will stand up over the years to come without leaking.
tvtruong
10
Aug 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very light weight for the rated R value. Haven't use it in freezing temperatures yet so I can't comment on the actually insulation. Used it for a few nights backpacking. It's easy to setup and pack down. Very comfortable for a 5"8 160lb guy. Back and side sleeper should be comfortable. My only"complaint" is that it's quite easy to slide off the pad if your move around in your sleep or if you setup on sloppy ground. A lot of people seem to complaint about leak. I notice that overnight, the drop in temperature might seem like a leak, but it's actually not. I over inflate my pad in anticipation of losing some pressure over night due to temperature drop. Update: of the three pads that I purchase, two eventually develop slow leaks. DROP refund my money and pay for return shipment. I am very impress with their customer service.
(Edited)
MrToast
82
Aug 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I would have given this pad 5 stars, and may still if I hear back from Massdrop about warranty. It is warm, comfortable, and compact. Unfortunately, it has developed a slow leak after its fifth use. It is likely an issue with the seal around one of the flat valves. I contacted Massdrop about a warranty replacement but have not yet heard back.
EDIT: changed from 2 stars to 4 stars. Massdrop issued a replacement pad.
theanghv
66
Sep 11, 2018
Did massdrop ever got back to you?
MrToast
82
Sep 11, 2018
Yes, they sent a replacement. I will update my review.
Vaddiszno
108
Aug 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As a backpacking family of four we go through a lot of gear. On our first trip this season we ended up with 3 flat mattresses from other vendors. I had replaced my wife’s mattress with a Massdrop x Klymit V Ultralight prior to the trip and she was the only person comfortably sleeping on an inflated mattress. She confirmed it was the most comfortable mattress she had ever used in the back country. On her recommendation and experience, I replaced the 3 other worn out mattresses with the M & K V UL. I am 6’3” tall and weigh 210#. I have now used the mattress for a season. It is the most comfortable and easy to use mattress I have ever used in the backcountry. I use the Large size. In fact we all use the Large size. Wow! This has transformed sleeping comfort for the whole family. The valve system is great. My 8 and 10 year olds can set up all 4 of the mattresses for all of us and then deflate and roll up all of them with no supervision. We backpack up to 9miles per day and the weight is incidental even for the kids. Four of us and a 60 lb dog sleep in a 4 person tent . . . the mattresses withstand the use and incidental abuse without issue. Mattresses are still comfortable and fully inflated in the morning. Hack: The Large mattresses work perfectly with the Feathered Friends Condor Series sleeping bags and ground sheet coupler. The system using one bag as a comforter and the ground sheet with mattress inserts for two people is relatively luxurious and saves weight for couples versus individual bags for each. The regular and small pad/mattresses are compatible with the Puffin system by Feathered Friends which is also plush and comfortable for folks under 6’. Do yourself a favor and try out the Feathered Friends system if you backpack as a couple . . . It makes all the difference!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
KevinJG
82
Nov 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Tried the pad two nights in a tent. It went flat both nights. I really like all of the features (plus the dimensions of the large pad) of the Massdrop x Klymit pad, so rather than sending it back, I looked for a solution. I filled up the bath tub to check for a leak. I immediately found bubbles coming from the "deflate" valve. I considered replacing the entire valve, but decided to look for an easier solution before tearing things apart. Luckily I found a rubber washer/gasket from a faucet aerator kit. It is just big enough that you have to stretch it over the "plug" and slide it down to the base. I was able to close the valve tightly after the installation. I have had the pad inflated for three days, sleeping on it for two nights and one afternoon nap. NO deflation! It is surprising to me that no one else is trying or reporting this fix. It was so simple. It is also surprising that Massdrop and Kylmit haven't figured this out and offered an easy fix for those with problems. It would have to be cheaper to supply a simple rubber washer/ gasket/ o-ring than to replace entire pads. I would rather have an easy fix than dealing with sending things back, a refund, etc. The way the pad is performing now, I would rate it with 5 stars. But a pad that won't hold air hardly deserves a single star. Luckily this was an easy fix for me.
(Edited)
KevinJG
82
Mar 22, 2019
I hope that this works for you. I have used the pad many times now (as recently as last week in a hammock) with zero deflation problems.
keithtm146
0
Jun 28, 2019
This fix worked for me also. There is a design flaw with the deflate valve where the connecting flap that holds the plug creates tension that pulls the plug and prevents sealing. Simple o-ring or gasket seals the plug and relieves some of that tension. Used multiple nights now with zero deflation after that $1 fix. Seriously, this should be considered from the factory.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poor
I have always wondered why sleeping on this mat ended up being such a cold night - it didn’t make any sense given the high R rating but yet i was cold. I ended up packing it away never to be used again. Now with the standardised R value being updated by Klymit (1.9), everything makes sense. This is a cold mat. Backpacking gear is not a luxury item, people rely on sleeping mats to help them weather adverse conditions which can be deadly. Klymit should be ashamed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Ranger77
5
Mar 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Test yours overnight right away!! The deflate valve on mine is DEFECTIVE. Hissed air around valve, pressing the valve stopped it, releasing pressure it started leaking again. Mattress deflated in under 30 min. Had to repeat all night long in the cold. Second Klymit mat I've had with the same valve system that has this issue. This one sat on the self too long before I testing it and now have to do the return process. Would get a refund if I could. VERY UNHAPPY! May just toss it in the trash, cut my losses, and go back to my original Klymit Static V and pay the weight penalty for a reliable valve system. For this price point and this brand, expected much better! I have two other Klymit Static V mats one with the twist and the other with the push pull valve and had zero issues with them. At least they have a lifetime warranty but that is still a PITA and shipping cost/time to send back. Just want my gear to work first go around, don't you? Test yours overnight right away!!Test yours overnight right away!! UPDATE... So before writing my review I dropped a line to Mass Drop Customer Service and told them how unhappy I was that this sat on a shelf and just this weekend it failed. I GOT A REFUND TO MY PAYPAL WITHING MINUTES!!! HOLLY COW!! And...it gets better I GOT A PREPAID RETURN LABEL TOO!! and an email from what appears to be a real person saying they were sorry about my dissatisfaction. Tears welled up in my eyes, Customer Service this good today!! Are you kidding me!! MASS DROP YOU ROCK!! Thank you!!
(Edited)
jsielski
5
May 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have purchased 2 of these pads. One for myself (regular) and one for my boyfriend (long), they are great! I love the design, the flush valves, and the grips on the bottom are a cool feature. We have not used these yet so I cannot give a full review but from the initial unboxing they seem really great for the price!
**UPDATE 6/11/18** My boyfriend and I put these to use for the first time this weekend. Neither pad stayed inflated for more than 10 minutes. Both pads were completely flat, and upon several inflations later were still flat. Extremely disappointed, we were super excited to use these because they seem to be constructed well. Hopefully i can either return them for new ones and give it another try or I'll be finding a new option!
oneapache
1
Jun 16, 2018
If they don't make this right, they won't be getting a good review from me!! I'll make their name mud!!
KTMN
0
Jun 27, 2018
interesting, i have one and used it for a week in the Boundary Waters with no issue.
bp.springe
2
Jun 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Klymit R-Value is a LIE - Also this pad is awfully uncomfortable
At first I thought this was a great pad. But after actually using it for a season ive decided it better suited in the trash can. Please do yourself a favor and spend a little more money on a pad. This is an absolute waste of money because 1. you are not getting the R-value you are paying for 2. its a sleeping pad dont you think your carrying this to have a comfortable sleep? It does not meet those two basic needs that a sleeping pad needs.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
bodonnell
11
Jul 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cheap materials
Do not buy. This pad bottomed out and lost air on my first night. Piece of junk that it is.
Showing 21 of 197
Related Products