Massdrop Mega Mystery Box
Massdrop Mega Mystery Box
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
620 Sold
Product Description
You don’t throw the word “mega” around for no reason. And believe us, we aren’t Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
138
check
59%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
m0ro
131
May 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
Over $1700 of stuff in my $250 box. Kinda nuts. Most will be gifts or trades. Biggest disappointment is not buying more boxes. I considered removing a star or two because I didn't get a boat, but decided against it as I wouldn't be able to afford the mooring fees.
m0ro
131
Jun 5, 2019
Sony a6000
Sapphirinia
0
Jun 5, 2019
Sick
Cohbalt
13
May 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It was a pretty fun experience to say the least. I got one of those inflatable X pillows, a Faber Castell pen that I have no idea what it is. I love writing utensils but this one is... different... to say the least. There's no markings on the box or the pen to indicate what it might be except for a manual that has literally every single type of pen/pencil they make in it. The only ones I've seen like it are $500+ models so I don't know if I got lucky or what. I got a pretty nice keyboard in a box that just said APT on it and from what it seems it has pretty bad reviews. Its lighting is amazing but I don't understand how one side of the spacebar has more resistance than the other side. I also got a battery of some kind; don't know what it does though. Very nice cooking equipment. Underwear too big for me, looks comfy though so it's gonna be a father's day gift. Zippo lighter, wallet, decent ink. I was hoping to get some more tech related stuff other than this keyboard that I'm typing on right now, but it's all good. Everything I got in this box I can use except like two things that don't cost too much from what I've read, so it didn't take too much of a chunk out of the value of this box. Needless to say, I really liked this box and the experience that it gave to me so I'm inclined to do something like this again in the future. I'd honestly recommend this for anyone who has some money laying around for whatever reason (I actually don't know if there's a warranty on this type of stuff, so if it breaks your mileage may vary), or you're a serious gambler that has nothing better to do than blow their money on lottery tickets and the like, because at least you'll get to use a lot of the stuff that you get out of this box. Just remember, all this is dependent on IF they (Massdrop/Drop) ever want to do something like this ever again, because the profit margins on this really can't be great at all. I'm pretty sure I got well over the $500 value I was supposed to get out of this box.
(Edited)
Theroc
2190
May 16, 2019
Oh and BTW it's a Graf von Faber-Castell, their premium brand. It's a fountain pen BTW 😄
(Edited)
Cohbalt
13
May 16, 2019
Sounds good, thanks for the info man!
Surafoxkusu
70
May 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Massdrop, you have some serious problem with your staffs...or either this is an intentional scam. I got the ISO3002 Isobrite, great, huh? It is only the box, there is the impression mold of the watch inside the box, so it wasn't supposed to be just a box. Where did the watch go? I guess it is on someone's ebay or arm. But definitely not where it should be. NOT COOL, Massdrop, or Drop. I am attaching a photo of proof. Please don't tell me they sell used box with manuel of a watch in it, because we know that would be nothing but a lie. I purchased the 250 box and this watch has seriously weight down the quality of other item. I can get all of them with less than 200. Seriously, this is unacceptable.
search
search
Update: 5/18/19 Massdrop or Drop has worked this out for me, I am satisfied with the outcome.
(Edited)
inperson
24
May 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great experience. Had fun conversing with other buyers. Thanks Drop!
Jasonwdonnelly
4
Jun 12, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hated everything about it.
There was nothing in my box I wanted at all. No electronics. Nothing that was the right size. Some card thing that I'll never use. It was a waste of money.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
MarkNJP
10
May 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Big mistake buying the $250 box. All stuff I have no use for: a Hubsan drone (selling on Amazon for a little over a hundred bucks) when I already have a DJI Spark that's quite a bit better; a travel steam iron (and I don't travel much, and definitely don't iron clothes when I travel); an extra small pair of women's socks (that don't fit); an extra large pair of men's socks (that don't fit); what looks like three big bundles of fabric remnants presumably used for quilting or scrapbooking that I have zero use for; a Zippo lighter that I have zero use or desire for; a pair of 32"-waist Keb Gaiter Trousers (whatever those are, and I'm 36"-waist); two different kinds of inflatable, solar rechargeable lights that I'e. m pretty sure I'll never use; some collectible figurine for a game I've never heard of (Zombicide); a small pair of boxer-style underwear; an off-brand, Chinese-made small stereo amplifier that I have zero use for; a few other items. I thought by getting the expensive box I'd get a watch or multi-tool or knife or flashlight or *something* I actually like or at least find interesting. Nope. I'd say it was a big waste of money, but I guess I paid for the education of how to get rid of a bunch of crappy stock that no one wants to buy AND get some dumb sucker (me, in this case) to pay $250 for that pile of crap. Well played, Drop. Can I at least get a diploma? I can assure you that I will *not* be buying another of these. The experience has really soured me on Drop as a whole.
sasawang
3
May 28, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I ordered it on 4th May, and it should be shipped on 20th May. Today is 28th May but my box still not been shipped. And now it asked me to review my experience,So I would say F**k you.
Linkodin7
3
Jun 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not worth what was paid. Also all of the clothing was XS.
Theroc
2190
Jun 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Originally rated 1 star out of 5. This rating is based on my own personal experience as a whole. I ordered the $250 Mega Mystery Box. On May 29th, 9 days after the order was supposed to ship, I finally got 3 tracking numbers: one for a 1.0lb package one for an 11.0lb package, and one for a 27.9lb package. A week later: The 1.0lb box is delayed in transit, the 11.0lb box arrived today (more on that below), and the 27.9lb box still hasn't left the warehouse. Turns out the 27.9lb box doesn't exist and the 3rd tracking number was an error. NOT a good omen. The 11.0lb box I received contained about $130 worth of merchandise. Half of it apparel.
search
According to the packing slip there was also supposed to be a Pioneer VSX-LX303 AV receiver (which alone weighs 20.7lb) in this 11.0lb box. So the only item of significant value is missing from my box.
search
Surprisingly, the quick response of customer support has been the only positive so far, and they did promise to "escalate". I am however, drained by this whole experience and have little hope for an improved outcome. That is not to say I'd never join a mystery drop again. I just want people to know that things can go very wrong. I would probably join today if this drop came back. After all lighting doesn't strike the same fool twice. Or does it? UPDATE The 1.0lb package arrived today. It had one more pair of briefs and one pack of socks in it. Why they were shipped in a separate box beats me. there was plenty of room in the other box.
search
So the final tally: my much-delayed $250 Mega Mystery Box contained 10 items (60% apparel) worth $160. One item on the packing slip is missing and of course it had to be the only item of significant value. And I have yet to get an answer on that matter. As it stands my $250 box does not even fulfill the promise of a $100 box. UPDATE 2 Drop.com gave me a partial refund that fulfilled the value promise of the box. And while I got mostly underwear, I am happy with the final outcome. I still deduct one star because of the delays, the lost merchandise, the back and forth with CS (albeit very friendly and professional) taking all the fun out of the process. If it comes back I will join again for sure.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
KevlarBond
28
Jun 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
Love and Hate here. 1) The anticipation for a loot crate was fun, as expected 2) The delays in shipping were bad 3) Communication as to what/when/how were bad 4) The algorithmic model they used to fill the boxes with [stuff] was suspicious and could be improved based on order history and other data they already have. 5) Contents of the box were of good value to the purchase price (some crap some good), as expected I'd be surprised if they did this again, but it is a bad-assed-way of generating community at the risk of brand loyalty.
(Edited)
Hozay
0
Jun 3, 2019
Damn they gave you flowers too for the delay?
Showing 19 of 179