Massdrop Minimic

Massdrop Minimic

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7K requests
9.9k Sold
Product Description
Modular microphones have become popular in recent years for a few reasons. For one, they allow you to use your audiophile headphones as a gaming headset, making the transition from music to in-game sounds as smooth as possible Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
2.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
350
check
48%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
rstaton162
12
Nov 29, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Works well! Definitely the best mic for the price on the market.
DrTechnologyMan
5
May 23, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Surprisingly good, beyond for the money. I typically use a cad m179 with a compressor, EQ, noise gate and limiter when I play games. However recently I was faced with a situation where I needed to be portable, so I decided to get this mic for my M50x headphones. Attached to my Asus Xonar U7 Mkii running the noise gate and perfect voice effects, no one can tell the difference between this mic and the other. Monitoring the sound I can see why, it's bright and very audible without picking up too much background noise. Even without the effects run on it it is loud and clear, with no issues hearing me while gaming on anyone's end. It also never had a problem staying attached, which I believe was a common problem for other people.
The only knock against the product I have is the boom for the mic. It doesn't stay in place well until you figure out how to bend it right. You can't just bend it in one place and it stay, you need to bend the entire thing to support the placement. Certainly not an unfixable problem, but they should make it a little thicker to support the weight better.
Brandonandon
11
Mar 14, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The audio quality is superior in my opinion to similar products like the mod mic mini (based on audio samples I've listened to). When I started using it (upgraded from a gaming headset, the G35 and also the Senheisser Game One), my friends immediately noticed that I sounded far better without me telling then I switched mics. They still joke that it sounds like I'm recording a podcast because it sounds so good. I think the quality is outstanding for the price.
The reason why I take a star off is because the velcro-like material used to attach the mic is decent, but the mic will easily fall off if I bump it too hard, if the cable gets caught somewhere, etc. It can be a pain. However, because of the quality of the mic and the price, I am still very happy with my purchase.
PowerWaffles
68
Nov 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had this for a year and never bothered to open it. Have a pair of condensers and a mic'd headset on my desk already. I'm sure I'll use it someday, but right now the box looks nice on my desk.
Poblopuablo
340
Feb 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The 3m pads suck. My mic falls off all the time.
(Edited)
toazt
8
Mar 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After owning this mic for close to a year, i can easily say that the mic is very below average in quality. And that's not sound quality, but build quality. When working properly, the mic sounds incredible, but that's the minority of the time spent using it. almost immediately, the mic fell of of my headset and the cable tore in half. i had to contact the massdrop support and(thankfully) they sent me a replacement. when the replacement arrived two weeks later, it also suffered from the same problems. either way, i decided to get a new cable to replace the old one and that worked fine until now. the reason i have chosen to write this review is because the mic itself has broken. any audio is violently overtaken by a sharp hiss and after hours of testing, i have concluded that it can only be the mic. It is actually unusable and I want to make this a warning. !!DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! it is one of the flimsiest things I've seen from a brand as well respected as Massdrop and though it's low price point may seem attractive, it is much more effective to just opt for something more expensive that actually works.
Typicole
10
Feb 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Falls off all the time
Korinoken
2
Oct 3, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It doesn't work.
Murp
3
Jan 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First microphone I got had a constant loud buzzing noise which made it useless. It was a problem with the microphone itself, not the cable or anything. The replacement one worked, but the adhesive on these things barely sticks so it constantly just falls off every few minutes. The build quality is terrible. There's a plastic cylinder part that slides over the 3.5mm connection on the microphone, which falls off every time you try to plug it out. This happens on both the first microphone and on the replacement. If you like spending money on things that irritate you instead of being useful then this microphone is perfect.
(Edited)
JoeyDaPanda
3
Jan 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Yeah, the audio quality of the microphone is very good when you take price into account. That's probably the only good thing about it. The hook and loop is atrociously bad, and will only stick the first time you attach it. On top of that, the cable is super thin and not resistant to chair roll-overs. That's how I killed my mic; a single chair roll-over. I'd replace the cable but as others have pointed out the connector it uses is "proprietary" and would be hard to find a working replacement. I will be purchasing an Antlion ModMic to replace this.
Showing 10 of 375