Showing 1 of 288 reviews about:
RaspberryAntelope
11
Jul 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've been using this amp for the last few months to power multiple pairs of headphones that I own. The three main pairs that I use are the Sennheiser HD598, the HD6XX and the Hifiman HE-560. The amp itself seems to have a pretty low noise floor, as even plugging in pretty sensitive IEMs doesn't transmit anymore than a tiny amount of noise, if any. The 598's do sound a bit more open, and although this isn't a huge difference, it is pretty nice since these are my headphones of choice for playing games, especially positional audio games like CSGO. The bass response of the 598's, which isn't necessarily lacking, definitely sounds stronger when hooked up to the O2. The 6XX sounds pretty amazing with this amp. Obviously this isn't a headphone you'd typically want to run without an amp anyway, but it pairs very well with the O2. Compared to listening to them through a non-amplified source like a phone, the only real way I could describe it accurately would be to say it feels like the 6XXs almost "open up" as if they were removing a shroud that was covering them previously. Everything sounds more clear, more powerful, and the channel separation seems much better too, although that could be placebo or simply the combination of being able to hear more detail. The HE-560s are probably the most power hungry headphones I own at the moment, and despite the O2 amp only putting out somewhere between 300 and 600mW at the 45Ω impedance and 90dB efficiency, it sounds amazing. Bass hits hard (as planars should), the treble is clear and sparkly, and mids are warm and enveloping. As much as I'm sure the 560 could take more power from a bigger amp, I have trouble parting with the money to buy one since it already sounds so good off the O2. Bottom line, this is a phenomenal purchase, especially at <100$, and I'd highly recommend this amp to anyone. I'm actually thinking of getting one to put on my nightstand for use when I don't want to have to sit in my computer chair to enjoy my music!
(Edited)
Jul 5, 2019
tony.c
0
Jul 16, 2019
bookmark_border
Hey I just picked up the hd58x jubilees and I have it paired with this but for some reason the amp is like cutting in and out or popping? Any suggestions?
Jul 16, 2019
AudioJet
308
Jul 20, 2019
bookmark_border
Make sure you try the amp with other headphones so you know its the amp. Does it cut out at lower volumes or just when you try to give yourself tinnitus.
Jul 20, 2019
droberts
0
Aug 27, 2019
bookmark_border
same issue no matter the headphone or what i connect it to. did you find a fix?
Aug 27, 2019
Deuby
0
Sep 7, 2019
bookmark_border
Same issue…
Sep 7, 2019
Evshrug
2252
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Could be a grounding issue? I’m not an Objective 2 expert, but if possible try using different RCA input cables, see if a better connection helps with the popping and cutting out.
Sep 13, 2019
cooolhwip
1
Dec 13, 2019
bookmark_border
What dac did you use when using the amp while testing it on the hd6xx? Great review btw
Dec 13, 2019
RaspberryAntelope
11
Dec 14, 2019
bookmark_border
As of right now I don't have a standalone DAC, though I'm trying to decide between a few good ones to buy soon. For now, I use the DAC chip that's integrated into my Creative SoundBlaster ZxR, which is a TI Burr-Brown PCM1794. It actually works pretty well, although I do get some electrical noise from my PC which is kind of obnoxious.
Dec 14, 2019
Quagga
1
Feb 19, 2020
bookmark_border
Have you tried changing cables? I had a similar problem with electrical noise, which I finally traced to a poorly shielded 3.5mm to RCA cable. But only after buying an external DAC! Upgrading from a €3 to a €7 cable cleaned my signal right up.
Feb 19, 2020
Evshrug
2252
Feb 20, 2020
bookmark_border
Shielding and a ferrite choke can make a fairly substantial yet inexpensive difference.
Feb 20, 2020
nortelc
3
Sep 10, 2020
bookmark_border
Which gain is better ? Medium or standard with the 6xx?
Sep 10, 2020
phoenixsong
976
Oct 31, 2020
bookmark_border
How loud do you listen to your music at? In relatively quiet environments I've never had to select the higher gain, even with the medium gain option on harder to drive open back headphones. Haven't tried 600 ohm Beyers yet though :p
Oct 31, 2020
Evshrug
2252
Nov 3, 2020
bookmark_border
Have you tried with the 50 Ω Fostex T50RP yet? They may be low impedance, but they’re actually “quieter” at the same volume setting as a 600 Ω Beyer DT880 I had, and that’s because the T50 lRP’s sensitivity is low. For most headphones, medium gain should suffice 👍🏻
Nov 3, 2020
phoenixsong
976
Nov 3, 2020
bookmark_border
Oh yeah, insensitive planars are the worst. Good thing nortelc's asking about the HD6XX
(Edited)
Nov 3, 2020
See More Reviews