Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs
Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.6k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The first in-ear monitor tuned by Massdrop from the ground up, the Plus features a novel sound signature that combines aspects of a number of community-favorite IEMs. With three Sonion balanced-armature drivers per ear, it delivers extended bass, clarity, and a sound that leans toward full and fun Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
166
check
53%
would recommend to a friend
search
Tbone519
17
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've been a personal audio enthusiast all my life, and here goes my first review. I've always preferred IEMs to cans due to my wide head, clamping force has always steered me away from cans. First off the unboxing, I can appreciate elaborate packaging that makes you feel like you bought something expensive, but in the end its all about the music. These come in a very simple package, and in this day and age its very enviromentally friendly. So with the unboxing I guess I will start with the negatives; the cable is garbage. i've received better cables from IEMs that cost much less. lots of microphonics, lots of memory. The pelican case is too small. winding these up into the case the cable remembers it was wound up into a tiny circle and wants to keep that shape when youre wearing them. Also the case is not as water resistant as I would like. I dropped it into a full sink, scooped it out immediately and there was water inside. Fit is always user dependent, but none of the stock tips worked for me. In my never-ending quest for the perfect IEM I have come to realize I have tiny ear canals, and these things go deep, very deep. I bought JVC spiral dots and I would recommend you do the same. The S/M fit me perfectly. Once you find tips that work, isolation is superb. Highly recommended for on the go usage, on public transportation you wont hear anything but the music. Now to the most important part, the sound. I listen to primarily rock and heavy metal, with a sprinkling of electronica and hip hop. Soundstage is as wide and deep as any IEM in this price range, while accuracy, detail and separation are superb. I am not a basshead by any means, but I grew up in an era where everyone had a subwoofer in their trunk, so I probably prefer more bass than the average listener. these do sub-bass better than any IEM ive heard. Listening to Angel by Massive Attack is a revelation. Having only a single BA for both the mids and highs I was worried, especially about the mids. My worries were quickly alleviated as the mids are surprisingly good. Guitar solos by the likes of Animals as Leaders are more up front than I expected. vocals sound fantastic. Eddie Vedder is my usual litmus test when it comes to male vocals, and he is front and center, while sounding powerful as usual. I dont know what it is about female vocals but I find them intoxicating. After purchasing the Massdrop Plus i listened to Dog Days by Florence and the Machine on repeat endlessly. The highs are crisp yet delicate. Extension is great, with no sibilance to speak of. Ive owned the Massdrop Plus for over a year now, and have well over 1000 hours listening with them. They are easy to drive and sound great out of any source with less than 1 ohm impedance. Whether its my Fiio X5ii, Cayin N5ii, Shanling M0, or Samsung S6, these sound fantastic. Having small ear canals and wanting to try a CIEM I recently joined the drop for the AAW A3h (3 driver hybrid 1DD, 2BA). Build quality and fit were superb, but there was too much mid bass emphasis, not a fan of the thump of a kick drum, and I found the highs to be harsh. So I poached the aftermarket Null Audio cable off of them and switched back to the Plus. Other IEMs I own which I prefer them to are the Shure se315, LZ A4. Ultimate Ears 900, Moondrop Kanas Pro, and the Campfire Comet, although I thoroughly enjoyed the Campfire sound and was very impressed with what they did with a single BA. I hope this much longer than expected review helps. I would knock half a star off if i could due to the terrible cable, but I dont think the sound of the Plus can be beat in this price range.
May 17, 2019
Pantomime
11
Feb 10, 2020
bookmark_border
How does these compare to the ER4XR? I am debating between the two.
Feb 10, 2020
NachoMama
13
Mar 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Before the Massdrop+, I primarily used a set of RHA T20i IEMs and occasionally used a pair of Beats headphones.

I didn’t have a good first impression unboxing the Massdrop+. The packaging was no frills, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I expected a little more from a $300 purchase. I was a little worried holding the Massdrop+ in my hands for the first time because they are light as a feather compared to the point where they felt cheap. The wire that comes with the Massdrop+ looks and feels nice but the mircrophonics are pretty bad without clipping it to your shirt. Unfortunately a shirt clip isn’t included, so I used the clip from my T20i’s.

Thankfully, that’s pretty much where the negatives end. The light weight of the Massdrop+ that I wasn’t used to quickly changed from a con to a pro. I find the Massdrop+ to be a lot more comfortable to wear and a lot less likely to fall out due to their weight compared to my T20i’s.

The clarity and soundstage of the Massdrop+ is superb. I was really surprised at how much clearer the Massdrop+ is. The T20i’s I’m used to have great clarity, but while auditioning several songs with both IEMs, subtleties in the audio that I had to pay close attention to pick out in the T20i’s simply presented themselves with the Massdrop+.

The superb clarity can actually be a gift and a curse though. I listen to music primarily from Tidal (HiFi or Master quality), but I happened to play an episode of Rick and Morty on Netflix with the Massdrop+ on and it was terribly obvious I was listening to compressed audio. If things sound really bad, I encourage you to experiment with your audio chain including the audio source.

I did have some concerns with the audio quality at first, but in the end it just didn’t pair well with the Audirect Beam DAC I was listening through. It made the mids sound muddy. Plugging it into my iPhone through the dongle or directly into my iMac or Macbook gave it a sound much closer to the reference sound that I prefer.

I just received an Audeze Cipher lightning cable and am pretty pleased with how the Massdrop+ sounds through its DAC. It’s great because it can be EQ’d with the Audeze app and the settings get written to the DSP.

For anyone interested in using the Audeze cable with the Massdrop+, it’s important to know that it may not physically fit without slight modification. I had to file down the sides of thr plastic part that the pins are connected to in order for it to fit into the Massdrop+, so if you end up ordering a Cipher cable, it may be a good idea to make sure you have a jewelers/hobby file to modify the cable as needed.

Overall I’m really happy with the Massdrop+. It’s expensive, but worth it. Quality is heavily influenced by the DAC and the audio source, and that, to me, says that the Massdrop+ does its job brining out the best (or worst) in the audio chain.

Mar 26, 2019
t3fla
44
Feb 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is my first pair of "good" IEM's and after ~50 hours of listening I'm very happy with the purchase. Background
  • My best IEM's prior to this where RHA MA750's.
  • My normal home listening setup is HD600 w/ CTH amp + Schiit Modi 2 OR Philharmonic Audio AA+ Speakers +SMSL AD18 amp/DAC. Source is FLAC files I've collected over the years.
  • Setup for Massdrop + has been IPhone XS -> apple dongle -> Massdrop Plus

First Impressions: Packaging is super underwhelming. Would've expected better at this price-point and most brands do deliver better. Honestly though, if that's where costs are cut to make the IEM better, I guess I'd rather see them made there. Build quality looked good. Everything felt solid. Cable was robust, included eartips were of good quality, I ended up opting for the small double-flange ones for the best seal. Listening: I don't have a base of comparison in terms of other IEM's in this price range but in a word—excellent. I was most impressed by the soundstage. Obviously no IEM can come close to a mid/high end open-back headphone but the Massdrop Plus comes closer than I realized IEM's could. Clarity is a strong point, I can't say I've done an A/B test or anything but they may just be more detailed than the HD600s, that really impresses me. Sound profile is pretty balanced and neutral. I wouldn't mind more mids but honestly I don't notice anything really lacking here. YMMV depending on your preferences, personally neutral is always my preference so I love these. Comfort: I wear these for 6+ hours everyday at work and I don't experience any discomfort or fatigue. It took a day or two to find the perfect position that created a good seal and was 100% comfortable but now I can wear them all day with no issue. Other details: I'm not jogging or exercising with these but I'm not having any issues with the cable as others have reported. No issues with things disconnecting when they shouldn't or seeming flimsy. Cable microphonics are present, but minimal, much better than most IEM cables I've experienced. 2020 Update: I've subtracted a star due to the poor quality cable. After ~1 year it has become discolored (less of an issue) and occasionally cuts out (more of an issue)--I will need to replace it soon. These headphones are babied and are only used at work for me. Plug them in, sit at my desk and use them, they see very little movement. Definitely a bit disappointing.
(Edited)
Feb 6, 2019
bYtock
624
May 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These were an impulse buy based on early feedback from around the web. I am fully impressed even after having high expectations. The sound is not fatiguing at all, detail is excellent, fit is comfortable with good isolation, and the stock cable is very nice. I got some spiral dot tips and they work great. I use these at work on low volumes most of the time. Massdrop really did their research and it shows.
May 18, 2018
metalmatty
25
Dec 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, garbage build. Dead driver after ~50 hours of use, no support.
First of all, these sound excellent. They punch WAY above their weight for $300. Comfort for my ears with the larger foam tips was outstanding. But, these positives are meaningless when the product doesn't work. Buyer beware, reliability is atrocious and if these go dead for no reason, Drop won't help you. 12 months warranty is not nearly enough for these time-bombs. Maybe with a 5-year warranty I would recommend these to a friend. I used these very infrequently over the 14 months that I owned them. Maybe 1-2 hours at a time, a couple of times a month maximum. They were handled carefully, kept in the case, not exposed to moisture, etc. While sitting in the case overnight, one the low frequency driver on the left earbud went dead. I contacted support and was told that because it was over 12 months since my purchase, there was NO warranty of any kind. No option to repair. No option to pay to replace just the left earbud. Just SOL - thanks for being a customer. After being a regular MassDrop customer, I was a bit stunned by the response. I've not bought anything since and will not buy anything here in the future. It reinforces that one should be extremely careful as an early adopter. Build quality and warranty is a real factor when purchasing any audio product...and these won't hold up.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 12, 2019
Repli
1
Feb 18, 2020
bookmark_border
Can you proof your accusation? I've had nothing but good experiences in terms of repair/refund within the first year for any kind of defects.
Feb 18, 2020
metalmatty
25
Jun 9, 2020
bookmark_border
Yes I can prove this. I too, had many good experiences with massdrop prior to this, which is why it is so frustrating. To be fair, this was NOT within the first year. It was 14 months - 2 months past the warranty. Massdrop had no legal obligation to help me. But, the amount of use was far below what one would normally achieve in 12 months. I have various IEMs ans simply did not use these very frequently. I hoped that massdrop would give me some kind of pay to repair or replace option, but was told they would do nothing for me by support. I have the emails if anyone cares to see such an unhelpful and scripted response. The MD Plus went in the trash the same afternoon and I have not bought a massdrop product since. My TH-X00 and 6XX headphones and many other pads cables etc purchased from massdrop continue to work great. I stand by my review as honest and fair. Drop got my 1500 bucks plus as a customer, but has lost me after this one.
(Edited)
Jun 9, 2020
ignarukih
11
Nov 28, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The good: The earphones sound brilliant. I'm not an audiophile by any stretch, but they leave my Shure SE215s and 425s for dead. To me it sounds like the difference between a very low bitrate mp3 and a lossless format.

The bad: The design of the connectors between the earphones and the cables is absolutely appalling. Every single time I take the earphones out of their case or my pocket, one or both of them have disconnected. This means I can't use them anywhere but at home, and there is no possibly of them being real IEM for professional use - they're a total liability when I'm constantly worrying about losing one of the ears. Super disappointing for such a nice sounding pair of IEMs.
Nov 28, 2018
jsmiller58
677
Jan 18, 2019
bookmark_border
The fix I did was to put a small piece of electrical tape on the cable connector (the side without the raised notch). This makes the connector just a little thicker and then it stays firmly in place. Since the piece of tape is very small it is completely hidden inside the earphone housing that you insert the cable connector into. Shouldn't have to do something like this, but hey, it's cheap and it works!
Jan 18, 2019
ridhuankim
598
Jan 22, 2019
bookmark_border
I thought the cable was alright until, like you say, the cable came off the IEM. So I went through a whole bunch of the cables I had and chose the 2.5mm TRRS cable which I got from MONK IE from VE Clan. I still don't like the MONK IE but the cable worked very well with MD+. The cable does not come off the IEM, feels secure enough.
search
Unfortunately, this cable is not listed on veclan website for purchase. The adapter you are seeing is from FIIO which allows me to connect to 3.5mm when needed.
Jan 22, 2019
PaulWitherspoon
9
Dec 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent sound - horrible build quality
Broke within a year of buying and I am *very* careful with my equipment. Reasonably nice sound profile but wasn't worth the money even removing the quality issues.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 14, 2019
vicferrari
37
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The cable is extremely flimsy
Cable broke very easily despite minimal use.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 21, 2019
ColoradoSpringsbestFGCplayer
13
Aug 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
FRAGILE!!!!! Housed in Plastic
They sound gr8, sure, but they are fragile as all heck. I literally sat on the left earbud on my bed, very briefly in my boxers, and I chipped the bottom part of the connector. I weigh 150 lbs. For 3 BILLS, u would think these could handle a tiny bit of abuse. I was dead wrong. I WOULD BEWARE OF BUYING for the simple fact that you must treat these earbuds unusually delicately. Thank god I have fx ha-850 on spares. This has taught me to never buy IEM's made of plastic. Only steel and wood housing from now on. DO NOT BUY THESE as they are incredibly frail.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 16, 2019
eburhart
35
Aug 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
No, no, no...
I was looking for some replacement for my Etymotic ER3XR. They sound amazing, but they are very uncomfortable. I thought the Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs could be it, but…NO…First of all, these are not really in-ear “monitors”. The in-ear monitors at this price range should sound natural/flat, or at least close to flat, but these sound far from this. How to describe the sound of these? They don´t sound like 300$ IEMs at all. They sound like 50-100$ better mid-range focused earphones with good imaging, but without any soundstage. I don’t understand why have these earphones so many good reviews. If they cost 50$, I would say: "OK, worth it." But 300$?! Are you serious?! Because of the 6 Sonion balanced-armature drivers? I don´t give a sh*t about drivers, if the tuning is far from good. Chinese Moondrop Aria for 75$, without any special alien technology, sound much much better and they are not made of plastic... And the cable...wow…it’s some 5$ chinese junk.  Pros: the imaging of the sound is OK, they are very comfortable… I’m very disappointed and I don’t recommend these at all. Waste of money, especially my money.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Aug 19, 2019
Showing 16 of 305
Recent Activity