Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
82.2k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
If you know audio gear, you know the Sennheiser HD 650. The company’s flagship from 2003 to 2009, this open-back headphone has shown serious staying power Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
2,376
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
Appo3736
2
Oct 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First Audiophile Headphones!
These are pretty awesome in there sound quality. Picked up a Schiit Modi and Magni to drive these cans, and I love using them to listen to my music and even play video games. Feels real immersive when I do!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 15, 2019
yardleyjeff
2
Oct 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love them
I got some custom balanced cables made for these and THEY ARE FLAWLESS!! Total Love <3
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 14, 2019
Davidbodego
0
Oct 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simply perfect!
It is a must for a music lover. If you are intesrested just in sound with no color. It needs a heavy burn in (100 + hours).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 14, 2019
georgeghand007
0
Oct 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clean, decently balanced sound
I bought these on the basis of reviews and long familiarity with the Sennheiser brand. Mid and high range are nice and clear, almost like electrostatics, bass is loud enough and clean enough that I don't feel impelled to do serious listening with speakers any more. Aurally comfortable for long periods of time (no nastiness obtruding); the posted frequency response curves bear out what I actually hear. Only complaints: (1) the high impedance makes them less than ideal for walking around (their physical size is no help either), but that's what a decent pair of noise cancelling phones are for. Since these are for stationary listening, (2) a quarter inch phone jack would have made more sense. (I'm thinking of getting a set of HD58X to solve the impedance and jack problems.)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 13, 2019
silentbirdie
0
Oct 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
my favorite headphones yet
These are my favorite headphones yet. I have the version that are made in ireland. These really benefit from a tube amp, I got the darkvoice 336se here. Nice smooth sound where you can tell alot of detail.
(Edited)
Oct 11, 2019
Everynate
0
Oct 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing
Went from 598 to 6xx. Huge improvement especially considering the price difference. The headphones focus on vocals and drums with the rest filling the sound stage.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 10, 2019
nicknacc
0
Oct 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great headset elevated by Massdrops take on it. Black on black looks so clean
Neutral, comfortable sound with a good soundstage. Love this set
Oct 10, 2019
llREADYll
1
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
it is just what the hype is about, marvelous!
This HD6XX is my first pair of audiophile grade headphones, my old pair are the Turtle beach Earforce 11 and they sound pretty darn good compared to most headphones on display in stores such as beats, skull candy and bose, but these HD6XX blows them out of the water even using it on my phone it sounds really good, i just ordered the Soundblasterx G6 and i cant wait to hear how they will sound with that "really good" dac/amp. if theres anything negative about these headphones is that they do feel a bit on the cheap side but i kind of expected it for $200, id expect the original HD650 $300 to feel sturdier than these.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Oct 9, 2019
rev6
0
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
Are yours made in Romania or Ireland?
Oct 9, 2019
llREADYll
1
Oct 10, 2019
bookmark_border
romania, i believe thats where they will start making all of them from now on
Oct 10, 2019
MiSaint
0
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got the grades in my book, buttt
But I found that the building cost behind these things only cost the diaphragms from what my eyes detect. No, I was never one to actually "feel" or HEAR a Sennheiser sound signature... or any sort of Brand iD'd co. ie; ATH, AKG, Sony, aiaiai, etc., for this matter. If you put these headphones on me with my hands tied behind me back, I'd say they are honest, and visually flat--this makes producing with an Apollo Twin MK II literally gold for electronic music. its an honest sound profile that can detect spaces and environment of an audio transient, when you can afford the necessary Ohm Impedance ratings for a pre-amplifer/signal-chain to make it happen lol So I'm siding with the crowd on this being flimsy and exquisite to put it nicely; but then again, flashback to what I was saying, if I went blind and lose my senses, and all I can do is hear, I hear quality. If build quality is like having no oxygen for you, then maybe Silicon/Matte fibers (that also does weigh alot more than what people carelessly define as toy plastic materials) casings and headband are the decals you need. It would cost both Sennheiser AND Mass a whole lot more to invest into a more stronger and ergonomic design; So What Will It be kids? these headphones @ $220? or go full PioneerDJ, and just say it passes one (MIL) shock test and charge ya an extra $150 for a heavier set? I'll stand happy right now at $220 :)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 9, 2019
Conroe
0
Oct 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very clear and warm
Absolutely flat across the spectrum. If you're looking for bass heavy these isn't for you. You do need good quality amp to make the most of it. It sounds really smooth.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 7, 2019
Showing 12 of 2809
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
2,807 OF 2,809 POSTS
Oct 15, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Like I said before, forget about the serial thing. I only asked to see if there is any relevance with my pair. There is no way that your serial may lead you to a conclusion since not Sennheiser nor Drop are providing any production dates or origins. Also please, don't get me wrong, I never said that your pair is definitely defective, it's just that there have been a few pairs let out to the market by Sennheiser that were sounding darker than they should, as proved in the thread I linked above. That makes it possible that you might have got one of these. But then again, it is quite possible that you might not. Also make no mistake to think that it is the 6xx models that were defective. The tested ones were 650s so it is irrelevant whether you got them from Drop or Sennheiser directly. The issue regards any of the 600 series. If you get to find another 650/6xx pair to compare yours with it, this will be the only way to know for sure whether yours is defective or not. , Also, the answer to your question about the possibility of having a defective pair is roughly 0,5%. At least that is what ends up being returned as a Drop representative replied to me in another comment. Considering that Drop has shipped more than 8000 units in the past 6 months, it means that they ship more than 7 pairs that eventually end up being returned every month. As for speakers, I never said or implied that you ever mentioned speakers. Like I said, I only asked out of curiosity because I suspected you might have a pair of speakers at home that fit your demands. That's all...