Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
113k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
If you know audio gear, you know the Sennheiser HD 650. The company’s flagship from 2003 to 2009, this open-back headphone has shown serious staying power Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
4,046
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
pivery
27
Jul 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Top-Notch Experience From Beginning To End!
From the painless ordering process to making sure that the product arrived on time professionally packaged, along with an invoice to the actual product itself - the HD 6XX - Wow! I have been listening to music for over 40 years and have never heard my music like this before. Little nuances that were never heard before come out here. Not like hearing it for the first time, but like hearing a different mix of the same song. Very impressive Drop, please give yourselves a big hand for making these beautiful headphones even more available for all to enjoy!
(Edited)
Kendawg2000
5
Jul 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really great headphones!
Had these headphones for a few weeks now and must say, I absolutely love them. Compared to my ath-50xs, these are much better all around and personally, I have come to actually like the open back headphone idea. As many others say, they do not excel necessarily in any specific area but rather are good all around. I am able to max out the volume now with no limitation from my amp. If you have the money to dish out on a nice pair of headphones, I would strongly recommend giving these ones a chance!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DLNSounds
23
Aug 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing for the price.
I run a mix and master business. And these are a dream for the price. I use these as my final pass on all mix and masters. I pair it with Sonarworks Reference 4 to get them flat. These are perfect and amazing price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
WilliamxAdams
10
Aug 8, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Get every dollars worth
These are exactly as described. High end is incredible and when plugged into an amp the bass is also pretty fun! Lots of great times I’ve had wearing these for hours. It thrives in live music and jazz but hip hop also is very fun to listen to on these cranked up. Hearing sounds like they’re in my room as well, scared the heck out of me the other day hearing a door knock I thought someone was in my house! Great qualty. Exactly as advertised.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TheFieryHaze
68
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
[I'll keep this part short because the rest of the review's pretty long. If you're thinking of getting or holding back on buying the 6XX, I'd recommend getting them. They're pretty amazing. 👍]
I'll start this review by saying that I'm not at all an expert at audio with dozens of headphones and dacs and amps lying around to test with. I'm just a dude with two headphones, a Magni 3 amp, and a Topping D30 dac. Actually, I've been running the 6XX off just the headphone jack for about 5 months now. But I can tell when something sounds good and these, of course, sound good. However, I can't say that you'll agree with me or any other review out there, so take everything you hear with a grain of salt and keep in mind what you want in a pair of headphones.
Now I'll be honest, I expected a spectacular, night-to-day difference between these $200 headphones and my other broken $20 bluetooth headphones. When I first listened through these, I wasn't as impressed as I had hoped. But that doesn't mean they're bad at all, I was just still adapted to my older, closed-back cans. What I do remember was thinking how much clearer everything sounded. Everything just sounded clearer and better, with all the little details standing out.
As I listened through these more and more, I started to get a feel for the nicer sound and clarity of the 6XX. All the frequencies sounded nice when listening, but I particularly liked how these had a more controlled bass than my old headphones. I almost always listen to electronic music, but I've found that I prefer cleaner bass over really powerful bass (I'm not all into kicks that make your head feel like exploding all the time, but I still enjoy a hard kick when appropriate). I think that these can deliver bass with just the right amount of power while remaining clear and sharp. And when listening to or making music, being able to hear the sub bass and other minor details in songs is a blessing.
As I write this, I realize that the review is probably getting long and boring. So I'll just list out some other things I've noticed: -Comfortable. They're light with soft pads. Your ears won't burn up while listening for long times due to the open grills and big pads that your ears go inside instead of being on the pads. -Open-back. You may like this or not, but I like the music being wide and spacious. I also like being able to hear outside noises while listening to music. -Packaging. Comes in a really high quality box with soft foam. I use the box to store my headphones a lot. -Shipping. These came almost two months before the expected delivery and they came safely. Nice. -Everything else. Cable length is great for me. Included adapter is also very nice. I also like how the cables are detachable and the headphones can be taken apart easily.
If you actually read through the whole review, that's pretty cool (you deserve something but I don't have anything to give so sorry lol). I'll just end it here by recommending the 6XX for how great they are. For the price, I do feel like I'm getting very high quality sound and premium build quality. Thanks Massdrop and Sennheiser for this product!
harry501
3
Apr 19, 2019
Hi, I personally think burn in is a myth, but i don't disrespect anyone who feels it helps. My problem though is if it IS real... are the manufacturers selling the sound out of the box or the sound that may change over time? Your review sites which some retailers rely on to sell their products are giving feedback on the out of box experience remember, not the experience after 100 hours. So should we ignore the big tech sites giving their reviews on new gear? If burn in is real, it won't be selective... it would be across the board. Also, I've many pairs out the box that are far too bright with terrible sibilance. Over time i think to myself it's either gone or become a lot less fatiguing... but if i leave them for a while and go back to them it's the same terrible sibilance. i truly believe it's brain burn in and getting used to them. I have over 120 IEMs/HPs... I've never yet been convinced on burn in. Three times I've been able to blind test and got no proof (while others swore the sound changed). In each case i gave the older set 50-100 hrs before blind testing with a new set. I heard not even a slight change.
bristone
0
May 13, 2020
i've not really experienced proof of 'burn in' either, but to each his own. Curious @harry501 of all the headphones you own, which are you favorite(s)? I own these Senn. HD6XX, Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO, and some old Grado SR60's, as well as some other smaller/cheaper Senn's and Koss varieties. Of the two nicer sets - the HD6XX and DT990's - i find the high end/treble to be a bit too bright & fatiguing on both. But i find the DT990s to be more comfortable & enjoyable in general, perhaps due to my large head ;) Not sure if it's just my ears' sensitivity to the trebles, but could you recommend other headphones in this price range that may not be so fatiguing?
raansire7
705
Oct 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Aural honey!
search
search
Guys, my expectations have been exceeded with the HD 6XX, which I avoided like the plague since they came out. But people grow and mature, and I matured, so I decided to hear them with my own ears. While other people are not wowed by them on first listen, I was the opposite. Coming from the Beyerdynamic and Audio-Technica camp of bright sound, I was wowed since the first second. INSTANTLY. I felt cheated on by myself. How could I live without this sound for so many years? I always thought that bright treble was like...the right way to present music. The HD 6XX sat me down for a mature talk like an experienced elder counsels a disoriented youngin'. What did I hear? Reasonably tight, weighty bass that digs deep, smooth, speaker-like mids without being too upfront, and refined, anti-aliased highs that reveal even more detail than they'd suggest on first listen. The stereo image is well outside the head and to the rear of the ears. There is a lot of frontal depth, and every sound is in its own layer on the field. This always depends on the DAC and amp used, but no matter what I use on the HD 6XX, they sound way more open than I've read about them. They do sound the widest, the clearest and the most holographic with the MIYO DAC/amp. The aural image is just more...visual. I came to this world equipped with a mild form of synesthesia , so I apologize if this doesn't make sense. If number four is green to you, then you know what I mean. The HD 6XX just have an unusually clean, clear sound that just makes me smile. Musical and satisfying. Perfect recipe to my ears. As good as most people say they are. What I noticed is that they remove unneeded harshness, making one think they're less detailed on first glance. But listened closely, all the detail is left, allowing one to hear deeper into the music. I produce music for my own enjoyment, so I know my tracks like they're my babies. Every little nuance and detail I've intentionally put in them is presented with clarity on the HD 6XX. While not as bright as my other headphones, I don't consider my pair dark sounding or veiled. If I have to mention darkness, reverbs do sound darker and less open. That's as bad as it gets. Just reverbs. Everything else sounds at the least as clear and at the most, even more clear. As a matter of fact, because of their smooth highs, I can hear some details and nuances way more distinguished here than on my brighter headphones. They're like polarized glasses, removing certain aspects of the visible light to allow you to see better. Compared to my HD 58X, which are my favorite cans for enjoying music, these are the better headphones to my ears. While the bass on the HD 58X is punchier and thumpier, sometimes it's too much to my ears, and I listen mostly to gospel reggae. The bass on the HD 6XX is balanced just right with the mids and the highs. I wouldn't want any more, and I'm a rehabilitated basshead. The mids on the HD 6XX are not as upfront and zoomed-in, presenting a more expansive sound stage. They're not as aggressive, and are so smooth, the Jubilees, which are smooth themselves, sound harsh to my ears when wearing them right after. Same with the highs. I feel relief taking off the Jubilees and wearing the HD 6XX. This is just a comparison. The Jubilees are very smooth compared to most headphones, and I consider them baby HD 650. The HD 6XX are just more refined-sounding, more revealing headphones to my ears. They give me more detail than the HD 58X even if those are funner in terms of dynamic presentation. Although the HD 6XX don't have excessive high-frequency sizzle, all the macro and micro details are evident. I don't consider these cans relaxing or boring at all. To me, they're as exciting as my T90 and SRH1840, which are shoutier and more fatiguing, even if those are on a higher echelon of technical audio performance. I won't deny that. The HD 6XX are on a lower echelon, but that means nothing to me in the sense that they're basically on the border of diminishing returns. The HD 6XX could be the highest end you could go and you wouldn't be missing a lot. They're already up there in objective technical ability. That people deny that to justify spending more money is a different subject. What would I want to be improved on the HD 6XX? NOTHING. I love them just the way they're. The mids are as good as people rave about them. They just dig deep and present music, not just sound. Now I understand why they've attained such legendary status and are considered an audiophile benchmark. They truly give me all the detail with none of the fatigue. Nothing I own has mids as delicious as the HD 6XX. I have to say it. Whatever hyperbole you have read about them is really no exaggeration. The general consensus, and I agree with it, is that the HD 650/6XX are on a category of their own. In my opinion, the Jubees with their similar sound signature cannot touch them detail retrieval-wise and sound signature-wise. Not taking away from the incredible value of the $149 Jubees, spending $50 more for the HD 6XX is worth it. By the way, I don't know if my pair are factory freaks, but the bass is dynamically impressive, the mids are not dark, and the highs are not rolled off. There just seems to be a removal of high frequency harshness, but all the treble detail is there, just with none of the annoying sheen and sizzle. Some trebley tracks still bother me on the HD 6XX. Anyway, if you think about it, real life instruments or percussion are not sparkly or sizzly. Their treble never sounds in person as sharp and tizzy as it sounds with bright headphones. The HD 6XX sounds like real-life treble to my ears. One more thing: Just to test, expecting the worst performance, I plugged them to my Denon DA-300USB, which has the weakest amp of all my gear and the most easy-going sound. WOW...at -30dB, which is the highest I go without feeling cerebral alert, it's plenty of volume and dynamic vividness. I would've never imagined they would sound so good here. The polite, gentlemanly Denon is rocking the HD 6XX with authority. I would've NEVER imagined. Now, with the Asgard 2, the level of performance is higher. They sound brighter and clearer than I expected. That Schiit amp is smooth up top, but still, it managed to open up the Sennheisers way more. The Mimby/Asgard 2 combo here makes everything sound so realistic and alive. I have never heard my Asgard 2 sound so musical before; it is in my opinion a great companion to the HD 6XX . I think for the first time in two years of ownership I get to really listen to my Asgard 2. What an impressive pairing. The depth into the sounds is astonishing me. I'm REALLY hearing the sound of every sound with the HD 6XX. I've never been taken so far with my Asgard 2 before. This is synergy, guys. I never noticed PRaT much before or cared about it, but I'm totally perceiving it clearly with this combo and it's a relevant thing in my opinion. It matters as much as the sound signature, because I'm understanding now why some combinations sound good but boring. It's like a perceivable micro time envelope. Anyway, coming from bright headphones for so many years, I honestly and without hyperbole say that, to my ears and brain, NOTHING is lacking on the HD 6XX's sound, and NOTHING needs to be fixed or improved. They don't leave me wanting to reach for my brighter headphones, and they even reveal a lot of nuances that my pricier headphones obscure due to their high frequency sizzle. For $199, in my entire lifetime, this has to be the highest value to price ratio I've ever experienced on audio equipment. What headphones would I buy next regardless of price? I have no clue. I mean...why keep going? If I wouldn't have bought the HD 6XX last, I think I still would've reached the conclusion that regardless of price, they're on a category of their own. My ears and brain just classifies them as the superior headphones in terms of musical enjoyment. Do I own better headphones than the HD 6XX? Yes. Do they better the HD 6XX? No. So what is better then and why does it matter? Thanks for reading and God bless you! EDIT: [November 18, 2019] A year later, I still agree with every word in this review...AND I haven't purchased any more headphones! EDIT: [January 9, 2020] I got curious about the beyerdynamic Amiron Home and decided to order them. I received them yesterday. They sound amazing, technically better than the HD 6XX, but guess what I'm wearing RIGHT NOW? I know...it's crazy! EDIT: [October 19, 2020] I received a new pair of Focal Elegia headphones a week ago, so after a bit of an internal battle with myself (understandably), I decided to gift my still mint HD 6XX to a good friend of mine/brother in Christ. He's a hard-working young man, so I think he deserves the pleasure. I want him to experience their sound quality and signature, and get as much enjoyment out of them as I did. I will miss them A LOT, since they've become my reference pair, but I have several other good headphones and don't want to accumulate many material things. It has been my pleasure to own the Sennheiser HD 6XX and I wholeheartedly recommend them, as much as before...and even more. They're in a category of their own!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
raansire7
705
Oct 18, 2018
Yup. Totally agree with you. Happens to me too. I don't flinch in those parts with the 6XX even though ALL the detail is there. You're so welcome, friend!
How are the TR-X00? Do they sound closed-in? How do you like them?
Megazine
482
Oct 20, 2018
Thank you for your contributions. I‘ve read that the SRH1840 are reference headphones and why it may sound boring to many people. From my experience, I put the Jubilee superior to the 6XX. I feel the bass tightness just brings all the other sounds together in harmony.
shenan24
210
Apr 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Probably the best headphones you can buy at $200
if you are looking for an enjoyable headphone. One that is pleasant and pleasing to listen to after a long day at work, just get a pair of these. I have had mine since the end of 2016. I was able to jump into the original drop of the HD6xx. I have bought several other headphones throughout this time and I always ended up with these. the 6xx lacks quantity in bass, but it does not lack quality. it has enough for genres like Jazz, not enough for other genres though. I am currently powering my 6xx through the Massdrop Liquid Carbon and it just such a beautiful pairing. There is zero fatigue. the liquid carbon adds a bit of umph on the bass too. these are great headphones for vocals. Male & female After almost 3 years of buying and selling headphones, these are still sitting on my desk, because I have not found a better value than these anywhere
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Metroid
130
Apr 6, 2019
Since I'm not a verified owner here because I don't live in the USA, so I had to use a freight forwarder to buy for me, having said that, my first impression coming from the Denon AH-D2000 and AH-D5000 is, the hd6xx is very loud if an amplifier is used, as the Denons are 25ohm, I myself got used to an amazing clear and yet not loud sound on the Denons I mentioned. Regarding impedance, note that the hd6xx is 300ohm, so, on my tests, at 0ohm to 64ohm the hd6xx lacks detail and everything else that the Denons have to spare as the hd6xx was not meant to be driven around this level, at 64 ohm to 300ohm is what the hd6xx really starts being detailed but as far as I can tell, it is unbearable to listen to on volume 100, you will get deaf if you do, to able to listen to this without getting deaf I had to reduce 30db on foobar 2000, at 300ohm to 600ohm is a just a tad higher but the loudness is not as unbearable as from 64ohm to 300ohm, I would recommend to listen to the hd6xx at 300ohm to 600ohm because that is where is very detailed with a rich sound all around and do not forget to reduce the volume, at 0ohm to 64ohm it does not need to reduce the volume, from 64ohm to 300ohm the volume needs at least 30db to be reduced, from 300ohm to 600ohm 35db. The first 30 minutes listening to it gave me a terrible headache, they are too loud on volume at 100, and even if you listen to it for few seconds, it makes your ears to bleed. I used it always on equalizer off, hi-fi mode, so nothing to contradict my ears. For now lets say that the Denon AH-D5000 is better than the Sennheiser HD6xx by how much will depend on how it will sound on my ears, lets see if the burn-in time makes any difference, it did on my Denons. This review will be updated as it goes.
(Edited)
MeowMeow40hours
1
Apr 12, 2019
watbot a Violist?
alitomr
48
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One word for these headphones: WONDERFUL.
I owned a pair of HD650 back in 2008, in a period where I tried a lot of audiophile grade headphones. The HD650 were by far, my favorite.
In my search for audio nirvana (not really, I was just trying a lot of stuff), even loving my HD650 so much as I did (to the point that I was anxious to get home, to relax and listen to music through them), I sold them in order to keep buying and trying more stuff. I missed them since day one. I should not have sold them.
At that moment the budget did not allow for a solid headphone amp to pair with the HD650, but I had a portable headphone amp that I think is not manufactured anymore, the Headphonia Lyrix DAC-AMP. It was great. I always wanted to try these incredible headphones with something up to the task of properly driving them, making them shine, because most experienced users told me that I was missing out. A couple years ago I decided to buy the HD600 and I paired it with th Schiit Stack. It was terrific, truly great, andthen I upgraded to the Valhalla 2 and it was even better. Even like that, I felt by memory that I enjoyed the HD650 more, and was determined to get one. I had a very clear idea of what I would consider better sound in the HD600: the voices sometimes were overwhelming and the soundstage was very tight. ThenFound out about massdrop HD6XX and decided it was THE time to get it.
WOW. I have a gaming setup with lots of cables and in the center there is the HD600 with the modmic 4.0. Even as great as it is, to listen to music and relax I always grab the HD6XX. It is the HD600 with all the detail and even more, but voices are more laid back, and the sound stage is amazing. Amazing doesnt mean artificially big. You close your eyes and usually can feel you are in the middle of a great bad playing live in your living room.
200 for these HD6XX, 389 for the Valhalla and 150 for the modi 2 uber and you in for a treat and one that would require a lot more money to improve just a bit. An answer for a question that keeps being asked: The extra money for the Valhalla 2, is worth it? It is three times the magni 3 and it is not three times the sound, but it is worth it IMHO.
One important thing about another question that keeps being asked: any of the HD600s sound very nice out of a headphone jack. Sometimes I sit down and plug the hd600 directly to the mixamp pro (which has the output of many portable devices), and the sound is very good. To get greatness from the headphone you need an amp, and believe me, it has almost nothing to do with sound levels. An amp provides a lot more than that.
Grab one and be delighted.
Anthonyedc
3
Jan 7, 2019
I use a McIntosh amp , 2 elac f6 towers a emotiva dac/amp and also my turntables forget the name . But I still love the ermissiveness my cans give.
LuckyLuke575
556
Mar 9, 2019
Great story and review. After listening to my HD6XXs for the first time, I just thought that if I was to only own one pair of headphones in my whole life, these are the pair. Definitely agree on the point about the amp, these headphones really improve a lot with a decent amp/dac.
tengu212
15
Dec 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For accuracy and convenience, 6XX are the best value in headphones
So for my first audiophile-grade headphones I bought the HE4XX, which was really impressive. There was a manufacturing defect, however, and I had to return them. Instead of getting another pair, the recent 6XX sale caught my attention and indecision got the best of me. Out of the box, the 6XX sounds much more accurate than the HE4XX without an amp or EQ. Contrary to what just about everyone will tell you, a high-power amp makes absolutely no difference in sound quality for these headphones (yes, even tubes), and will yield only marginal differences that can be reproduced with different pads, EQ, etc. The optional Drop 6XX pads (I chose perforated leather) are more convenient than the stock velour if you have cats or don't like picking off lint. It'll change the sound pretty dramatically, however. The change in mids is negligible, so if you crave a sub bass/mid bass boost, you can use the pads and boost the treble with EQ so it doesn't sound so dark (you cannot EQ bass too much or it will cause distortion). You will lose a very small amount of detail by doing this, and the legendary HD 650 timbre these headphones are known for. That said, you can get pretty close. Leather pads won't collect sweat like velour, but be warned that the foam on the headband always will. Also, you should know that the cable included is durable, but if you don't use it at a desk, it could be a little unwieldy and annoying due to its length. The 58X, based off the HD 580 and also offered here on Drop, are slightly more dynamic and have more sub bass than the 6XX, except they lose a small amount of treble detail and soundstage in exchange. The less small soundstage on 6XX means instrument separation is better, however imaging overall is going to be slightly less accurate (for most this shouldn't matter). Although they sound arguably too similar to justify spending more on the 6XX, I'm really glad I settled on them over 58X since the claim that 58X are the better choice when you don't have an amp is really nonsense nowadays considering the amps available in post-2016 phones and computers. Near max volume, anyone who wants to damage their hearing should be able to do it freely and without issue. To me, 6XX sounds more natural than the 58X, looks better, and are more comfortable with less clamp out of the box. The consensus should be that instead of buying a 58X when you don't have an amp, buy the 6XX for just a little more. If you do have an amp, and don't mind using EQ, then HE4XX are simply the best value in headphones today. While they can be too bright at times, this is easily remedied with foam inserts or EQ. At its full potential, HE4XX have better soundstage, better comfort, and being a planar magnetic that responds well to equalizing, are more versatile than the 6XX. Like oluv says, something like the Earstudio ES100 is enough to power them, which thankfully has an equalizer built in. I highly recommend his settings for a flat response that rivals the 6XX and much more expensive headphones (search oluv's gadgets and HE4XX for EQ settings in the video description of his youtube review). After my experience with them, I'll probably buy another HE4XX down the road. But if you live in 2020 and just want the most accurate, no-fuss headphones you can plug directly into your devices, this is going to be your bag. At the time of writing this, you'd have to spend $600 to 700+ on the Focal Elex if you're looking to surpass it in that regard (HD 600 aside). Everyone who uses headphones should own one if only to experience how your favorite music and digital content were meant to be heard, and at the best value around.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Machinshin
21
Dec 25, 2019
I cant really agree with you that they dont benefit from a good dac/amp. I used to only use my galaxy s8+ or my yamaha reciever to drive mine. When I finally ordered my nx4, even without the bass boost, the sound got much "fuller" maybe abit smoother aswell. And I can really punish the headphones with super high volume and bass boost without any kind of distortion at all. Cant say I got nearly the same result soundwise from the 2 other dac/amps Ive used, be them of inferior quality.
Brutus64
33
Dec 25, 2019
Oh, they do benefit. I have the JDS LABS Atom and El Dac combo. My buying days are over. The combo powers the 6xx, 4xx, and dt 770s. My needs have been met. Although, I've been wanting a DarkVoice in for ever. It'll have to be a slamming deal before I pull the trigger on that. Happy listening.
A community member
Jul 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are good headphones, but I'm not blown away. Given their reputation, I was expecting more. The tonality is nice. There aren't any annoying colorations, though the midbass is a bit cloudy. But I know what the much ballyhooed "Sennheiser Veil" is now. It seems like the air and space above 10K is missing. Not saying that's the case on a response plot, but rather the perceived quality. I think they are lacking in detail as well. Reverb tails are less defined, for example. I think the biggest drawback is that they are slow. Not just slow compared to planars, but even slow for a dynamic. At $200 they are a good buy, but I like both the Hifiman HE-400S and HE-400i better at the same price point. With the Hifiman planars, I find myself listening more and enjoying more "ooh, aah" factor, whereas the Sennheisers are just OK. Often with audio products, there is some annoying sonic characteristic any given piece of gear possesses that grates on me. These don't have that, but they don't wow me either. I paired them with the Massdrop CTH amp, and with the balanced output on the Hifiman Supermini DAP. These are the first pair of cans that I prefer with the Supermini as opposed to the CTH. Perhaps the extra speed of a fully solid-state amp is a better match for a slow headphone. Bottom line, they are nice headphones but one can do better even at $200.
EDIT: I am beginning to like these cans better after a couple weeks of further use. When paired with a more crisp amp, the high end does not seem as veiled. Furthermore, while I first didn't like the match with the CTH, I tried it again and didn't find it nearly as dull in the top as I previously did. It seems they open up a bit after break-in. I still prefer the HE400s overall at this price point, but I think I should bump the star rating up to 4.
EDIT: Revised upward again. They really opened up after break-in, and they are now my favorite dynamic headphones under $400. They definitely deserve a full 5 stars at the $200 price point.
Vlady
3
Jul 24, 2018
Thank you very much for that detailed review! Definitely helped me very much :)
Chaturanga
126
Jul 30, 2018
HD6xx has more potential than any other headphones I ve tried. Just give time to it and also try different AMPs DACs whenever you find a chance.
Showing 119 of 4804