Massdrop Vast 35-Inch Curved Gaming Monitor
Massdrop Vast 35-Inch Curved Gaming Monitor
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.1k Sold
Product Description
Here at Massdrop, we love to game—and we know that many of our members do, too. We also know that gamers can be tough to please, so our first venture into gaming panels had to be top notch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
176
check
81%
would recommend to a friend
search
Jazzverso
0
Dec 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love this monitor!
Couple issues, there is no option to update firmware and PIP has black bars on 16:9 content
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 28, 2019
Panzozo
0
Dec 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Display port stopped working after 2 months. Using HDMI. Not the end of the world but quality could be better.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 18, 2019
maxmaxmaxmaxmax
20
Dec 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Going on 2 years strong - great quality still
How have I not written a review yet? This has been a strong centerpiece of my desk and computing environment for going on two years. Essentials: 100Hz AU Optronics 3440x1440 VA panel, 3 HDMI inputs, 1 DisplayPort input The big plus/minus: Pixels have been perfect, colors great, response exceptional. In very dark rooms and low-light scenes, some backlight bleed in spots (but this is 0% noticeable in most conditions), and mostly some nitpicking for what I would like to see in a Version 2 of this monitor. The ramble: The monitor has been so great, it's almost literally unremarkable. It's replaced a 2x24-inch setup, and I don't think I'd even do 2x27-inch now. Being able to have one field of view centered in front of me is great. 3440x1440 has been a great amount of space. The VA panel with its lower brightness actually has been great on my eyes. IPS displays are shiny but omg ouch sometimes. I mostly connect over DisplayPort to ensure I get the full 100Hz and 3440x1440 resolution, but I wish I had noticed sooner that the HDMI 2.0 port (I think HDMI 3 -- please mark this in future versions somehow) also supports 3440x1440x100Hz over USB-C. I do occasionally get blips of distortion when FreeSync over DisplayPort crosses around 47-48Hz - might be my software or cable, unsure. Since January 24, 2018 (delivery date) I've moved from a gaming desktop setup to a laptop station, and I'm amazed that my Chromebook can pump the full resolution at 100Hz in stellar detail. I use the j5create brand USB-C to HDMI cable, which I got from BestBuy, and I recommend getting a dedicated cable if you are connecting USB-C, because you might go nuts trying to figure out why your display doesn't connect just to figure out it was an inferior cable. Not only screen real estate, but desk real estate is nice, with a good amount of clearance left under the monitor. Tilt is only vertical, but it's light enough to adjust the feet if you need to angle this monitor horizontal for some reason (why?). The display does rotate, and it's nice to go from ultra-wide to "ultra-tall" from time to time. I would get another. If editing is allowed, I will update this review soon to test if HDMI 2.0 over USB-C (or otherwise) seems to support FreeSync. That would be a nice find. Oh, and Picture-in-Picture modes can be fun for managing multiple devices. Gamma and low blue light settings adjustments have been nice features while I'm glad that by and large the OSD settings are minimal. Also future list for updates that would be nice in a new version. Initial list: better quality control for viewability in dark rooms with dark scenes - would not currently recommend as a movie/media display for this reason. Would love to see the next version maybe get up to 144Hz and 10-bit color, but I do love that the current fit is more realistic to a larger set of source devices. That gets to be a loot of bandwidth. Maybe all ports in the future version support 3440x1440x100Hz-FreeSync, but one port supports 144Hz-HDR? Also, optical passthrough and/or HDMI ARC would be great in addition to the 3.5mm TRS connector, for those of us connecting to soundbars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 12, 2019
silvereclipse
1
Oct 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Freaking love this moniter
while its not my main monitor at my computer, it is my main secondary. and when it comes to reading comics, and manga, put it in portrait mode, and its freaking amazing. i love the color on it. i love the fact that you can switch it from portrait mode, and regular mode(?) so easily. if it wasn't for the fact that i usually keep it in portrait mode it would probably be my main monitor.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 4, 2019
ChasingResonance
2
Oct 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not bad, but definitely a "professional" monitor that fits the stereotypes of "budget".
The monitor still works decent for me after 6-ish months, and it's a great value for the price. Of course, with that comes several trade-offs. The VA panel is nowhere near as nice as it's made out to be, and I'd much prefer this have an IPS panel. Backlight bleed is pretty bad, so don't expect to hit anywhere close to true black. My particular monitor has horrific ghosting issues, so it's not good for any kind of competitive gaming experience. When it comes to productivity, this monitor is exceptional. Plenty of room for multiple on-screen displays, nice resolution, and a refresh rate that isn't too crazy or gimmicky. As the other reviews have said, this monitor does run rather toasty on the back and a little on the front bottom frame. In all reality, my biggest gripe is the monitor control scheme. The "button" for changing monitor settings is extremely difficult to use and could have been simplified to just regular buttons, instead of this awkward joystick-esque flat controller. Colours aren't super bad, but it is definitely noticeable how washed-out some colours feel with this panel, and no effort on my part has managed to fix it. So if you plan to use this monitor for professional work where colour accuracy is important, you're probably best skipping this monitor. In all reality, this monitor does have amazing specs for the price, and it fits the "budget" category pretty well, but it definitely doesn't defy any stereotypes there either. If I were to recommend this monitor to anyone, it would be to musicians, coders, low-requirement productivity users, and casual gamers who don't care about needing high-end specs.
Oct 2, 2019
pochobradsky08
0
Sep 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Broken
Stopped working after 3 weeks.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Sep 26, 2019
Dooomba
0
Sep 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Over all it is a good monitor
It had good color and the 100 refresh rate is nice. The included stand is pretty stable as well, just wish it had swivel. Love the design of the monitor itself, easily fits into a professional environment. It does run hot and the included power cord is a bit short especially if you are using a sit/stand desk and or a vesa mount. Speaking of a vesa mounting this could use improvement since accessing it not easy. @Drop, I would recommend making the stand remove fully when the screws are removed for the vesa mount instead of having remove the entire plastic back shroud and screws. I ended up braking two of the lock tabs for the shroud while I removing stand for a vesa mount.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 26, 2019
Biscuitsandcrazy
22
Sep 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Budget performance
About a year in and the monitor seems to be holding up. My gripes are the displayport port itself seems loose after a lot of rotating, moving, and unplugging. The product itself does as described and at the time was hundreds less than any other monitor of spec, at the time. Highly recommend.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 19, 2019
killyridols
0
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love this thing so much
I've managed to overclock mine to 119hz and it works perfectly. Occasionally flickers when I've left it on for too long, but turning it off and then back on always gets it running smoothly again. I find that people look slightly overly pinkish in color in some of the higher res youtube videos, but other than that the color is fantastic. It looks great for gaming!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 18, 2019
kp412
1
Aug 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Value at $401 but I do have gripes
So the main thing is this is a BUDGET FRIENDLY beautiful minimalist monitor with great resolution-to-size (ppi) ratio, mostly metal construction, and the worst on-screen menu system. The metal is nice to see in a monitor in this price range but the glossy plastic on such a large monitor is prime target for fingerprints. (fr though) BUT this particular monitor I bought does have some SERIOUS PROBLEMS with backlight bleed and can NOT maintain flat black across the screen whatsoever (Several fairly noticeable bright areas along the edge during dark scenes in movies, games, etc) Also this model (or maybe just the one I have) could cook eggs on the back it get so hot. All of this being said, while I was disappointed in the quality of the picture, I will say its substantially cheaper than a lot of other all-metal monitors of this resolution. I had some bad problems with freesync throttling my speeds (running off an AMD 5700 so should have no problem) In any game I had enabled it in I had less than half the frames as when I turned off the monitor's freesync. @MassdropCustomerSupport Is the backlight being that noticeable and the freesync issue normal or can I get a replacement because the rest of the monitor is great and I'd like to keep it but the light grey spots and no freesync are really not good. TLDR: This monitor has problems, quite a few. BUT if you can deal with the gripes at this price point you're getting a lot of FPS and a truckload of PIXELS for your dollars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 28, 2019
Showing 10 of 262
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
262 OF 262 POSTS
Jan 19, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest