Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Massdrop Vast 35-Inch Curved Gaming Monitor

Massdrop Vast 35-Inch Curved Gaming Monitor

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
35.7K requests
·
3.3k Sold
Product Description
Here at Massdrop, we love to game—and we know that many of our members do, too. We also know that gamers can be tough to please, so our first venture into gaming panels had to be top notch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
228
check
70%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
43percentemo
48
Apr 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent product for the price. I recommend against using the included displayport cable. With the included cable, every couple days I would see small white dots flickering on the screen with the occasional blackout. Haven't had these issues with a new cable.
search
43percentemo
48
Aug 26, 2018
Yeah I was really worried I had a bad display but when I noticed that happening it was usually fixed by reseating the cable in the monitor's port. I received mine in January and haven't had any flickering issues since I bought a new cable.
skytz
47
May 2, 2019
Can confirm the displayport cable sucks. The included cable didn't work out of the box, so I had to use my own.
WhiteGravey
12
Jan 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome pickup for the price, takes some tinkering to get the color reproduction just right but overall...... Cant complain about the value!!! BUY ONE NOW... actually, BUY 2
search


G34Mt
10
Dec 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I ordered this monitor on nov 26th 2018 and the tracking number said it was delivered on nov 30th and it never arrived Massdrop gave me a refund but since I bought it on sale I only got 480 of the 550 so because of Massdrop/ fedex messing up I have to pay the extra 70 dollars to actually get a monitor 🙄 thanks Massdrop and fedex UPDATE After having a long email conversation with one of the reps that wouldn’t give me the same cyber Monday price I had to ask for a supervisor and he only gave me 40$ credit for the new monitor. I was thankful for the $40 but because of some mishap I was still $30 down so I ended up paying $510 which isn’t bad but considering I’ve been watching the price of this thing for MONTHS I’m still kinda butthurt. UPDATE I finally got the monitor 5 weeks ago and since then I will say this is a great monitor! 1440p really the best resolution! I’ve had no issues with the included cable so far and no issues with the monitor. The only concern ld say is that the bottom bezel of the monitor gets really warm but that’s not exactly an issue so after the whole mass drop-fedex issue I will change my rating and recommend the product but also warn that massdrop and or fedex CAN be a pain. The monitor gets a 4.5 from me but customer service gets a 3. UPDATE 4/14/19 Ive still has no issues with this monitor and I was able to overclock it to a stable 118hz! There is one thing that is kinda annoying with the monitor though. The one thing is that this thing is literally a space heater. The bottom bezel on the monitor get so hot you can only hold it for a few seconds before you fry your fingers. No joke I’m gonna get a thermometer just so I can see exactly how hot it gets but it’s kinds scary how hot it gets but it hasn’t affected its performance yet.
(Edited)
maxmaxmaxmaxmax
24
Dec 12, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
How have I not written a review yet? This has been a strong centerpiece of my desk and computing environment for going on two years. Essentials: 100Hz AU Optronics 3440x1440 VA panel, 3 HDMI inputs, 1 DisplayPort input The big plus/minus: Pixels have been perfect, colors great, response exceptional. In very dark rooms and low-light scenes, some backlight bleed in spots (but this is 0% noticeable in most conditions), and mostly some nitpicking for what I would like to see in a Version 2 of this monitor. The ramble: The monitor has been so great, it's almost literally unremarkable. It's replaced a 2x24-inch setup, and I don't think I'd even do 2x27-inch now. Being able to have one field of view centered in front of me is great. 3440x1440 has been a great amount of space. The VA panel with its lower brightness actually has been great on my eyes. IPS displays are shiny but omg ouch sometimes. I mostly connect over DisplayPort to ensure I get the full 100Hz and 3440x1440 resolution, but I wish I had noticed sooner that the HDMI 2.0 port (I think HDMI 3 ((Edit: nope, it's HDMI Input #1)) -- please mark this in future versions somehow) also supports 3440x1440x100Hz over USB-C. I do occasionally get blips of distortion when FreeSync over DisplayPort crosses around 47-48Hz - might be my software or cable, unsure. Since January 24, 2018 (delivery date) I've moved from a gaming desktop setup to a laptop station, and I'm amazed that my Chromebook can pump the full resolution at 100Hz in stellar detail. I use the j5create brand USB-C to HDMI cable, which I got from BestBuy, and I recommend getting a dedicated cable if you are connecting USB-C, because you might go nuts trying to figure out why your display doesn't connect just to figure out it was an inferior cable. Not only screen real estate, but desk real estate is nice, with a good amount of clearance left under the monitor. Tilt is only vertical, but it's light enough to adjust the feet if you need to angle this monitor horizontal for some reason (why?). The display does rotate, and it's nice to go from ultra-wide to "ultra-tall" from time to time. I would get another. If editing is allowed, I will update this review soon to test if HDMI 2.0 over USB-C (or otherwise) seems to support FreeSync. That would be a nice find. Oh, and Picture-in-Picture modes can be fun for managing multiple devices. Gamma and low blue light settings adjustments have been nice features while I'm glad that by and large the OSD settings are minimal. Also future list for updates that would be nice in a new version. Initial list: better quality control for viewability in dark rooms with dark scenes - would not currently recommend as a movie/media display for this reason. Would love to see the next version maybe get up to 144Hz and 10-bit color, but I do love that the current fit is more realistic to a larger set of source devices. That gets to be a loot of bandwidth. Maybe all ports in the future version support 3440x1440x100Hz-FreeSync, but one port supports 144Hz-HDR? Also, optical passthrough and/or HDMI ARC would be great in addition to the 3.5mm TRS connector, for those of us connecting to soundbars.
(Edited)
Tortelett
153
Apr 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty much the best ultrawide monitor you can get for the price. There are a couple other options available with comparable quality in around the same price range but this seems to the the only one with a really nice stand. The monitor itself has been pretty good. I have no stuck or dead pixels and freesync works glitch free on my gtx 1060. With freesync disabled I can also overclock it to 119hz. The motion blur is definitely noticeable in some situations and backlight clouding can be seen in dark environments but that's the only negatives I could find.
search
(One minor suggestion for future revisions is to include just a dot as one of the osd crosshair options. The current ones are unusable.) ONE YEAR UPDATE!: I've had this monitor for nearly one year now and I still have no issues. I have packed it up into its box to ship to and from college four times so far and nothing's broken! The Nvidia freesync update just happened and I can confirm that freesync through a Nvidia GPU works completely fine on this monitor. (ALMOST) THREE YEAR UPDATE!: Still no issues, I don't think the value for this monitor exists anymore for the price. It was good when it came out but there are better options available now.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
CarryFisher
3
Apr 18, 2019
live Free in the NC
babingepet
1
Aug 15, 2019
(Edited)
nuked24
17
Jan 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Okay for when it launched
I got this at the end of July 2018, and at first I was SUUUUUPER happy with it, coming off a Dell U2414h business display. Taking it out of the box was amazing, first display I had actually gotten new, in actual packaging. A monitor in a metal frame, with a properly solid base that keeps it positively anchored was something I hadn't experienced before. Putting it together was a piece of cake, and having one DisplayPort and three (3!) HDMIs felt awesome. Tried Freesync immediately and it had weird flickering issues, tried different cables and GPUs but it remained, so I just left it off. It ran absolutely beautifully for about 9 months, then the DisplayPort input died. The HDMI can still push 3440x1440@100Hz, and I wasn't using the Freesync to begin with so it didn't REALLY affect me, but it IS definitely annoying. About a month ago, however, a single vertical red line on the far right (about ~2 cm from the panel edge) started appearing and disappearing at random. It's not too bad when gaming, but for movies or anything where I actually do need that to be a normal working display, it's annoying at best. On to more basic issues with the display after having it a long time.. The VA panel is slow. Really slow. On something like Borderlands 3's 3D map, where you have a white/blue movable 3D world map on a black background, there is insanely bad ghosting. White text on a black background means that when you scroll up or down, you get a block of black that the text reappears out of when you stop. The panel gets what looks like deep blacks during normal use, but for an all black screen, the display isn't uneven, it's blotchy, like a banana starting to develop brown spots. All in all, for the price I paid when I paid- keep in mind, this was bought in March of 2018 and delivered in July 2018, back when 3440x1440@100hz was very uncommon, unheard of at $500USD- I would buy it again. That said, I will probably be getting a new ultrawide soon, both as an upgrade and to get rid of the issues this panel is starting to have. If Drop brought this back, I would be wary of it. They would have to demonstrate they're using a better panel, as that's my biggest issue with the VA one- it's slow. In 2020, I would not recommend this to people at the original $500- there are better panels out now for only a little bit more, and if you go downmarket a bit you get a bunch of nicer, slightly smaller, 2560x1080 panels to play with.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
EWUJoe
14
Dec 31, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am very unimpressed. The craftsmanship and functionality on my unit are both very poor. The frame around the panel is coming apart at the bottom. The power plug in the monitor is loose and any contact with the power cord or any adjustment of the monitor whatsoever turns the monitor off. You can feel how loose the socket is inside the monitor and I fear i will break it off whenever I reset the cable. I also have some pretty significant backlight bleed through and white spots all around the panel and in 2 places in the middle. Freesync has not ever worked regardless of multiple cables and games. I am running a Vega 64 which has no problem staying in the freesync range, but i get lots of white video static and lines through the panel whenever freesync is on. I have run multiple versions of AMD drivers, but the phenomenon is consistent, so it seems to be more related to the panel. I would take a hard pass on this. I contacted months ago and had no response. I didn't want to write a review until I saw what customer service was like, because stuff happens, but this is ridiculous. I would not recommend any massdrop manufactured item due to the customer service and difficulty getting issues resolved.
skytz
47
May 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Important to know before you buy: Order cancellations are only available 2 hours after joining the drop. Returns are only offered "for items that arrive damaged, defective, not-as-advertised, or are missing components" within 30 days of delivery. I owned the monitor for about 20 days, and I ended up returning it due to 3 dead pixels that appeared over time. Other than that, the monitor seemed pretty average for the price, but it's a good pick if you are looking for a high refresh-rate display for gaming. Coming from an IPS display, the VAST's VA panel color accuracy felt a bit lacking and were a bit subdued. However, when doing standard productivity work, it's not a huge issue and can be overlooked. Though with color-sensitive tasks, I would highly recommend a different monitor. The 100Hz refresh rate is nice. But as others have mentioned, there is a noticeable ghosting issue that shouldn't be a huge dealbreaker for most people. As for smaller quirks, I really wish the stand was able to position the monitor lower. Also, the curvature is more aggressive compared to other ultrawides. Overall, I think the monitor is pretty average for the price. There are more productivity-focused monitors within the price range, so I would recommend those if you aren't planning on doing much gaming. After getting a few dead pixels, I decided to return the monitor and shell out a bit more money for a nicer IPS display. I ended up getting an Alienware AW3418DW, a 120Hz IPS ultrawide monitor with G-Sync support. It's a lot more expensive — about 50% more, in fact — but it's well worth it in my case.
StephanK
12
Dec 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow. I have never had a monitor with such severe backlight bleeding. It resembles a Dalmatian more than a black screen when running the test. The size is good, functionality of the monitor is good but this is rediculous. I truly wish I would have read more reviews because I would have seen the constant complaining of this issue. I contacted support & hope they get back to me. I want to replace it but I’ve seen so many people report that all their replacements were just as bad. I was going to do a review for this monitor on my YouTube channel and I really would like a better product. If the review is just as bad then it will just have to be a HUGE con in that review. That being said....if you don’t care about this issue, then the monitor seems fine for the price.
search

Jaytal
173
Jan 9, 2019
Almost makes me feel better about my own monitor's incessant problems. It seems we can't have nice things.
StephanK
12
Jan 13, 2019
Nah, I’ve had multiple VA’s but this is by far the worst
m_suts
40
Mar 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This monitor has truly awful, extremely noticeable ghosting. I cannot reliably capture a picture of the ghosting, but it is making virtually everything on the monitor, from regular Internet browsing to gaming, nearly unusable. The ghosting is noticeably worse than my old Monoprice Zero-G 35", which uses the same exact AUO panel. Also, there is noticeable backlight bleed on the monitor in even moderately dark scenes. I'm going to try exchanging the monitor for a replacement, but I think I might just opt for a full refund instead and try something else... while the build quality of this monitor is very nice, the picture quality is extremely unimpressive. Something is very very wrong here. UPDATE: Got a replacement and the replacement monitor was somehow worse than the first with respect to ghosting. Before the replacement arrived, the first monitor developed other issues, most noticeably a "split" in the brightness directly in the middle of the monitor. Panel defect, not backlight defect. Returned both monitors for a refund.
(Edited)
Showing 26 of 322
Related Products