Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Last year, we teamed up with AKG on the K7XX, a Massdrop-configured edition of the highly regarded 65th Anniversary K702. Featuring its predecessor’s legendary sound and build quality—with a bass boost, matched transducers, and improved comfort—the K7XX was a big hit with the Audiophile Community Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
249
check
78%
would recommend to a friend
search
SaltWasTaken
2
Jul 31, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable, Durable & Great Sound!
I've had a pair for 3 years now - sound quality is great and they're hella comfy, I can wear these all day no problem, where my last headphones would give me a headache after a couple hours. I'm pretty clumbsy & I've dropped these quite a lot but they're still working perfectly. Right after the 3 year mark there was static and drop-outs on the left side, but after replacing it was fixed.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 31, 2020
ennuisausage
0
Jul 27, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing soundstage
Insanely large soundstage; makes gaming audio a wholly different experience. Clarity is quite good for music, bass can get a tad muddy though. Comfortable and wide head fit. Removed 1 star since 1.5yrs after purchase the left ear stopped working due to one of the wires in the left cup becoming un-soldered, but it was a quick fix (not wholly uncommon among this headphone and the one it's based on from what I searched online).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 27, 2020
char_boy
3
Jul 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Incredible detail retrieval and comparable to k702s
I got a pair of K701s back when they were new. Those headphones, made in Austria, surpassed anything I'd heard from the major players in the $300-$500 price range (e.g., beyerdynamic 880 or Sennheiser 650s), largely because they were so neutral and natural sounding. The sound was incredibly engaging and detailed compared to the 650s that so many swore by back then. More recently, I got a pair of the K702s that were made in China. The build quality is similar, though some details are a little less solid. The detachable cord, however, is a boon. It's easy to upgrade your cable with those. I got a pair of the K7XXes for my daughter when she was heading off to college. After they were broken in--and these Varimotion drivers need to be broken in--they sound every bit as good as the K702s. They're a little less neutral than the K701s, with a small bump in bass that, frankly, I find unnecessary when using a decent headphone amp, like an old Headroom Desktop I have or a Schiit Lyr. They make a great set of desk headphones--they're light and they sound excellent and spacious, much more so than the Senn 650s or 6XXs, which obliterate so much high-end detail that I find it distracting to listen with them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 26, 2020
dewp
0
Jun 29, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, poor quality
I have these headphones paired up with the modi/vali2 for about a year and they have amazing sound staging for games but, the build quality is poor. Maybe 2 months into owning them there was a squeaking noise from plastic on plastic rubbing. After about 6 months in the left driver started having intermittent static about every 30mins and eventually at about a year the left driver all together died.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 29, 2020
FerOfTheDark
7
Jun 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very confortable and great sound
This are my first quality headphones. Extremely confortable. The sound is great.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 26, 2020
asuran83
0
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Sound
Great sound stage, and works well with my laptop without a DAC;w ith the DAC on my desktop sounds even better.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 16, 2020
R1ddl3
21
Jun 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought these in 2016 and they're still my primary pair of headphones. Durability has not been an issue for me, the headband still works fine. While they're open backed, they seem to have less sound bleed than you might expect, which is nice. In my experience they're very good for positional audio in games and have a balanced sound signature with just enough bass for everything else.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 9, 2020
noviceindisguise
23
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent, not perfect
I enjoy these, however there are some issues I've encountered over time. Including the obvious soundstage discrepancies brought up by others. First things first, while the sound is better with the original ear cups, they harden and get nasty pretty quick. You will want to buy something a bit easier to clean and if you have normal/large ears something with more depth. The main major issue I encountered was one of the cans (right I believe) having a wire work loose over time. Luckily I am not afraid of soldering, but for some people this could be a major issue. You also have to take it apart fairly far to fix the connection in question. One other thing actually, the elastics on the head band stretch out fast as well so it will want to sit low on your ears if you don't get some headband pads. Overall, it's a decent quality sound but I am having a hard time giving it a glowing review.
May 20, 2020
Paulee
7
May 15, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent pair of headphones that were more comfortable than any of the Sennheiser options for my fat head.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 15, 2020
chucotownchino
1
Apr 26, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable, fun cans
These are very comfortable out of the box with memory foam ear pads. The build quality does leave something to be desired, but at this price point you usually end up giving up at least 1 thing. The only real complaint I have is that the low end, I'm not sure if it's the lower mids or the actual bass, but it does bleed into the other mids. If you are looking for a comfortable, fun pair of cans then look no further. They are also good at gaming. Better than any of my closed backs for sure.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 26, 2020
Showing 10 of 293
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
293 OF 293 POSTS
Aug 6, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest