Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.1k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Last year, we teamed up with AKG on the K7XX, a Massdrop-configured edition of the highly regarded 65th Anniversary K702. Featuring its predecessor’s legendary sound and build quality—with a bass boost, matched transducers, and improved comfort—the K7XX was a big hit with the Audiophile Community Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
218
check
74%
would recommend to a friend
search
KyleJones
0
Feb 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Did not like the headband at all
Ended up buying another pair of headphones and have these sitting in my closet. They sound great, I just can't stand the headband. It slides down and putting plastic pieces to get them to stay in place never worked well.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Feb 6, 2020
kristofpali86
0
Jan 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Compare to my Fidelio X2HR . Better positioining, much bigger soundstage. Better for online multiplayer gaming. No high peaks on the treble . For single player Fidelio, because the better base. Only down side, it is a bit uncomfortable on the pad, at the jaw line. But you can get use to it. Fidelio x2HR is the most comfortable headphone i ever had, even if it is a bit warm and bulky.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 21, 2020
a40701212
0
Jan 17, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This headphone actually need to change the cable. The original cable is so terrible.The 7n copper +7n silver cable is good for K7xx. You can know the different on higher cable and original cable
Jan 17, 2020
banana_lumpia
19
Jan 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent Sound Bad Quality
Right ear cutting out due to bad build quality.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jan 13, 2020
DreadLion
4
Jan 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really good
These have a nice wide soundstage which is what AKG is known for and seem to have quite a linear freq response for the most part. But the mids are slightly recessed and the mid bass is boosted a bit as well. Therefore the sound signature to my ears is warmer than it's predecessor; the K701, which makes sense because the main complaint about the K701 was that it lacked bass and the mids and highs are too prominent. So those issues were addressed and the K7XX is what they came up with. I admit I prefer the Q701 over either of those models but all three are fairly similar, at least to me. And as always the lightness and comfort of these line of AKG headphones is superb. I just prefer a brighter sound signature like the HE4XX planars. If you like the HD6XX then you'll probably like these, although in my opinion the HD6XX sounds more refined. Overall excellent entry level cans. Puts garbage like Beats headphones to shame for about a $100 less!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 12, 2020
Kokiezi
0
Jan 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
GREAT
They are really comfortable and they sound very good. One thing they feel like they were made with cheep plastic
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 7, 2020
Feuna
1
Dec 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The headset is comfortable and light. My only negative thing about it is the squeaky sound from my left earcup when it moves. But it is amazing!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 27, 2019
max1337
25
Dec 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not very good gaming headphones.
I am not sure why people think these are good gaming headphones. The sound stage is wide sure, but the imaging is not accurate at all. Tried pairing with JDS Atom, iFi Micro iDSD Black Edition, Creative SoundBlasterX G6. Did not help with the lack of imaging in game. I am an ESEA Ranked A player for CSGO, but using the 7xx I was more confused about enemy positioning than I was using the 6xx or 58x. These are not good gaming headphones. If you want gaming headphones, you should look into Audio Technica ath-ad500x, ath-ad700x, and ath-ad900x. Music sound quality wise, I think it is a hodgepodge mess of harmonic distortion. Build quality is basically not there, very very cheap plastic, squeaky headband mechanism, etc. Other than the pads being not bad.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 15, 2019
postwarscars
338
Jan 12, 2020
bookmark_border
Awesome! I'm a tad jealous, I love the look of the Avias and really want to give them an audition, but it's right after the holidays so I'm fairly tapped. I'm not surprised they're good for CS. I think dynamic headphones can sound amazing, but their speed isn't the same as a decent planar, which plays a big role in accurate position cues. I also think that the strength of dynamic soundstage (which is usually wider than planars in my experience) can be a downside in a game like CS. It's easier when it's a little more compact and you can tell what surface the player is on. In a game like Battlefield, where there's a lot of noise, the presentation is definitely more fun when it's wider, and sound cues matter less in those scenarios, which is where a headphone like the AKG can really shine. Anyway, glad to hear you found a great pair of headphones for CS. Likewise about the New Year friend!
Jan 12, 2020
max1337
25
Jan 12, 2020
bookmark_border
You are completely right. I wasn't expecting the Aiva to be good for CS going in. And, I can't say the Aiva is a great gaming headphones, since the soundstage is pretty narrow. But, it worked out ok for CSGO, being a bit more treble heavy for details, it might actually quite a bit more details that is kinda distracting. Which is a surprising characteristic for planars, since I thought planars are usually darker, coming from Audeze. Imaging wise, it is great for left/right positioning, decent from the front, but things coming from the back sounded a bit more muddy and unclear, but I think not too much of an issue for competitive play, since most times I am holding 45deg~90deg angles or making aggro pushes, and getting flanked doesnt really happen too often at my level. However, I am a bit torn since, I was debating about returning the Aiva for the same reason, being tapped after the holidays and its recessed upper mid is kinda annoying for some vocals. But now its performance in CSGO and aesthetics are causing me to reconsider. haha.
Jan 12, 2020
C-Jay
1
Dec 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not great
I bought these headphones awhile ago. There is a cheap plastic band helping hold the headphones up off your head, and that band broke within the first month of owning them. The sound quality is average. The velvet cups are really nice, and so is the size. However for the price, this headset should do better than it does.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 9, 2019
Haseeb91
0
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing for gaming...!
After doing a ton of research for a DAC/Amp and a headset, I settled for Schiit Hel with AKG K7xx. I absolutely love this headset when paired with Schiit Hel. The sound stage is amazing for gaming. I can tell exactly where a person in coming from in R6 Siege. Atoms or DTS for headphones suck, please avoid it with this headset. Trust me, the headset sounds way better without the DTS or Atoms.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 8, 2019
Showing 16 of 244
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
244 OF 244 POSTS
Feb 26, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order