Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition

Massdrop x AKG K7XX Red Edition

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
9.8K requests
10.3k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Last year, we teamed up with AKG on the K7XX, a Massdrop-configured edition of the highly regarded 65th Anniversary K702. Featuring its predecessor’s legendary sound and build quality—with a bass boost, matched transducers, and improved comfort—the K7XX was a big hit with the Audiophile Community Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
276
check
79%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Errorvator
18
Jun 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable, light, great soundstage
Comfort: With a large head and glasses, most over-ear headphones are uncomfortable for me. The clamping force on these very light, and the build is very lightweight. Unlike pleather earpads, these fabric ones don't melt from sweat after a year, and don't stick to your skin. These headphones are the only ones I've been able to wear more than a few hours. Build: Plasticky, but it's not an issue. Unless you're shaking your head, you're not gonna hear any creaks. The red looks great. Sound: I'm not a true audio nerd, so I don't have many other headphones to compare to. Also, I run these off my computer's audio. The soundstage is great for games. Music sounds better than my other headphones: PC37X, M50.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
willy_ong
4
Jun 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
bad build quality
sound quality was decent for its price, but the build quality was absolute garbage. Solders within the cans broke within 2 months of light usage back when i bought it, it's still sitting in my cupboard spoilt. even had a friend who bought the exact same model back then and had the same problem
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
farligkaffe
15
May 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I guess now is about as good of a time as any to talk about the most unlikely of AKGs ever produced. A warm gentleman that completely goes against the usual bright and forward classic AKG presentation. Truth be told I am also writing this because I made the horrendous mistake of selling off my pair in search of something better...and sadly too late realised that ‘better’ doesn’t really exist in this mad hobby. It’s all about tastebuds and if you like a particular headphone, chances are you’ll have immense difficulty in “upgrading” that exact same presentation. You can get something different, sure, but whether it’s better or not is always in the ears of the beholder. Nahh I made a huge mistake. This is without a doubt my favourite AKG of this design. There’s a warmth and wholly engulfing sensation to this headphone that you simply can’t find elsewhere. It’s like a more well-behaved Nighthawk with a slightly more refined frequency response...and I dig it big time. It’s one of those ‘jack-of-all-trades’ type of things..where you literally can sling any type of album at it without the headphone extrapolating on less than stellar productional values...indeed like most AKGs of this design tend to do. By the same token: fans of the old school AKG sound will most likely hate this badboy like the plague...which probably is a good thing in the end. More to go around for the rest of us for the upcoming round of the K7XX;-) I know this is about the red bandit but I really want the turquoise one. It’s top nice and would make me feel like wearing a hip cartoon dolphin. So pretty please AKG and the artist formerly known as Massdrop...with sugar on top: ‘Get down on it! Get down on it. (everybody) Get down on it! Get down on it’
check
Would recommend to a friend.
aleifr
0
May 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these headphones. You need to stick a thin piece of cloth in the earcup hinge
These headphones are amazing. However, you do need to tweak them a little. Mine (and I think a lot of other people) have an issue where they squeak when the ear cup rotates in its socket. The squeak can be very aggravating. So, I went to Michael's bought some very thin black cloth, cut it into a 1/2" wide 2" long rectangle, and then pushed it down into the cup where the squeak was happening (for me it was towards the top of the hinge socket. I did that about 2 years ago, and I've never had an issue since, and these are my goto headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
LawrenceRhee
0
May 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not perfect but great soundstage
People seem to have issues with QC on this product and I had a run in with it as well. My left headphone had a weird squeak when I talk and it eventually ended up just not functioning. Luckily, through product support I was given a new replacement really quickly and this one has been working for me for over 2 years just fine. Biggest gripe now is just build quality, because the suspension that adjusts the size of the headphones is all held together by rubber string and a flimsy piece of plastic, it's really easy to have those parts break. The strings on mine lost all tension and the flimsy plastic broke through completely. Luckily, I have to wear this thing at it's max size so I can still use it fine, but I can imagine that wouldn't fly for someone who doesn't have a gargantuan head. Quality of sound is nice, and it's really nice if you like hearing every bit of instrument equally, but because of that vocals can get lost. But that doesn't bother me personally, I enjoy instrumentals a lot.
eetlotsgloo
0
May 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound and they may not need an amp depending on what's driving them. I have a slight plastic squeak in one ear (only noticeable when during quieter sections) and they are a bit large for my head. Other people with normal sized heads find them comfortable.
mazino
1
Apr 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Creaks a lot
I chew something? I hear squeaky noises. I look left? Squeaky noises. Look right? Squeak squeak.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
cricket0597
0
Jan 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Long term comfort, with trade-offs
I will start by saying, I do not recommend these for all environments and use-cases. I really like them for what I use them for. I wear these, most days, for 6+ hours when working from home. Feels smooth and spacious at high volumes. Continues to have great clarity as the volume goes down. Open-back lets me hear well enough around me. The air flow it allows for keeps my head from sweating. Same goes for the cloth pads. These are probably closest to the K702. I have been using a pair AKG K514 in the office for 6 years. I had considered replacing them with the K612 when these K7XX came along for the same price (but then kept them at home). The K511, K512, K514 use to be in the $50+/-20 range, but seem discontinued (again?). For the sound, I kind of hate going back to the K514 in the office and may get a second pair similar to the K702/K7XX. However, the cheap ones are super light. At first, that took some getting use to, but because of it, the preasure-style hold, does not press as much on the pads as the K7XX. The K514 has cloth instead of leather for the top strap. It is cheap and I have had to super glue it several times to fix it from heavy use. Assuming the plastic attached to it does not break, the leather of the K7XX will not wear out like that, but is not as comfortable. Well not at first. It may have softened some, or I may have become more use to it. A notable trick for these style headphones, compared to rigid padded ones ones, is that these need to be worn more forward on the top of the head to be comfortable and to make sure they sit still when your head moves. I bounce and sway as I type when jamming to whatever I am listening to. I never feel like these are going to come off of my head. Only complaint is that the joint of the cups squeaked initial as the plastic rubbed when I moved. I thought powder carbon lubricant would work, but when I could not find container that I thought I had, a co-worked mentioned petroleum jelly. That worked fine once it spread around and soaked in. Can only barely notice the a bit of darkening at the edge when known to look for it. In the beginning, I had hoped the rubbing would wear the plastic smooth thereby making the squeak go away. It was maddening though waiting for that. I got a sore neck from subconsciously stiffing myself. I wore them maybe three times before considering returning them or trying to find ways to rectify the squeak. Besides that, I would be willing to pay more for the same design, but some of the thin plastic replaced with metal.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nyxor
0
Jan 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid Reference Headphones
Clean sound, pretty balanced. Im using them with the Fiio e10k Olympus 2. Only complaint i have, is that squeaksound the earcuffs sometimes make when moving your head or while talking.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RickDaCritic
1
Dec 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sounding headphones, used for years!
The only gripe I have with this product is that it doesn't isolate noise. That being said because they are open backed headphones they aren't supposed to. The sound is great and works incredibly well with binaural audio. I've used this headset for over 4 years, however the right speaker is starting to go out so it's time to retire them. edit: The right speaker is not going out because of a flaw in the headphones, I've not been gentle with them. Many times the headphones have been ripped off my head because my cats tried to run through the cable. They've fallen, been dropped, but have survived for a long time all things considered.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 321
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
321 OF 321 POSTS
Jun 24, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest