Massdrop x AKG M220 Pro Headphones
Massdrop x AKG M220 Pro Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7.4k Sold
Product Description
The first pair of headphones any aspiring audiophile should own, the Massdrop x AKG M220 Pros have it all: reference sound, comfortable fit, and a price that makes them the best value in full-size headphones today. Inspired by the renowned AKG K240 Studio, they feature the same 30-millimeter dynamic drivers and semi-open design Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
262
check
71%
would recommend to a friend
search
blourk
0
Sep 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound okay, but very uncomfortable, and feels cheap
Within the audio space, you get what you pay for to a point, then you get diminishing returns. These headphones sit at the low-end of getting what you pay for. For $50, the headphones are *okay. I find I can only wear for an hour or two before they get too uncomfortable. The plastic material on the ear pads has no breath-ability and suffocates my skin. The plastic piece on the top of the head is also very rigid, and gets uncomfortable with longer listening periods. The sound quality is okay. It wont blow you away, but it is above average when comparing to consumer grade audio. I wouldnt buy these again, because I believe there are much better headphones that can be purchased for slightly more money. Ill consider this a lesson learned, and cut my losses.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Sep 25, 2019
Kingaustin42
0
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Better than the non-massdrop m220's
Great sound stage, great clarity, but it requires a bit more power out of your DAC than the average headphones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 14, 2019
Tacanacy
32
Sep 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I use Audeze LCD-2 Classic (w/ Dekoni Elite velour pads), Focal Clear, HiFiMan HE500 (w/ ZMF Ori lambskin pads), Sennheiser HD650, HD800, and ZMF Auteur as my main headphones for music.  For gaming, I've been a heavy user of AKG Q701, Audio-Technica ATH-AD700X, Beyerdynamic DT990 (600 ohms), Philips Fidelio X2, Sennheiser HD700, Sennheiser HD800 and Superlux HD668B (w/ Brainwavz velour pads). For under $100, the M220 sound great for soul, blues, jazz, classical, folk and soft rock music. They're fairly clear and detailed with decently natural timbre and a spacious soundstage. While the bass is fast, tight and punchy, it rolls off already at the mid-bass. There's no oomph and nearly no rumble. I don't recommend these headphones for electronic, hip hop or rap. I thought they were good for hard rock and heavy metal, but the mid-bass was muted and the treble tended to sound too crunchy. For online/competitive shooters, the M220 are for good for hearing and locating footsteps and other sound cues. To complement the M220, I recommend getting Monoprice Modern Retro for $25. I replaced the pads with Beyerdynamic DT770 pads which are deeper, softer, silky smooth, breathable, and of much higher quality. I replaced the cable with a generic one for $12 on eBay. Low20101020 is a reputable seller there and I recommend them. The rest of the build quality is fair for the price. It's mostly made of plastic, with the housing made of metal. It's very lightweight and fairly durable. It doesn't rattle and has no squeaky parts. It has a nice finish all around. The cups tilt and swivel, so they should adjust to anyone's head. The strap has great weight/pressure distribution and doesn't create hotspots on top of my head. The self-adjusting system works perfectly for me, the headphones don't rest on my ears and they don't push my ears upward. The clamping force isn't loose or too tight. I have an average sized head and average sized ears. I liked the M220 so much that I bought them in white (can be found on Amazon) because they look beautiful with the silver-gray DT770 pads. I like keeping a collection of budget gems, like these along with Creative Aurvana Live!, Koss Porta Pro, Koss KSC75, Philips SHP9500, Monoprice Modern Retro, Sivga SV007, Superlux HD668B and HD681 EVO. For gaming, I recommend getting a 3-pin mini XLR to TRS 3.5 mm adapter from mimic-cables.com to turn them into a headset with V-MODA BoomPro.
search

search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 8, 2019
RicardoCabesa
17
Jul 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great cans for the price
Great cans for the price, used daily. Recently had to replace the cable, which failed at the xlr plug. Found one online for 16USD with braided cable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 12, 2019
413X
0
Jul 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Alright.
Build quality honestly isn't all that great, sound is not as good as other headphones at the same price point like the audio-technica M20x, having a removable cable is nice but the quality of the cable itself left me wanting more. The outside part of the right earcup came loose and I had to glue it back. Would not suggest to buy. Stick to a safer more comfortable option.
Jul 11, 2019
LG23
8
Jun 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not nearly the quality of, say, the HD58X, but for the price it sure as hell shouldn't be. That said? Still sounds great. A good deal wider than the 58X, yet obviously lagging behind in detail and overall "fullness." Oddly enough, I kind of prefer the AKGs for some games since I get a better sense of distance. Comfort is a definite issue. Those stock pads are just abysmal. Replaced them with some perforated BrainWavz and was good to go. Wire is too long too and that mini xlr sticks out quite a bit so I'd be a little careful with how you store the thing. Replaced it with a shorter cable, but that still remains a potential point of breakage/failure. No padding on the strap, but it's so damned light that it's really not a problem and hours long sessions were perfectly manageable. As for how well they can be powered? Eh. Oddly enough, it requires about the same juice as the 58X. Hell, I'd say the Sennheiser was easier to drive.
(Edited)
Jun 24, 2019
Alexever17
6
Jun 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They have some negatove aspects but the sound is exceptionally worth it for their price. I have missed akgs headphone after they stopped producing budget headphones and this pair is perfect and with a familiar signature. They can easily beat most of those bluetooth crap other reviewers demanded.
Jun 7, 2019
LaceyC1993
0
Jun 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not worth it. Even with the low price tag, these headphones aren't bluetooth compatible, the cord will easily get in your way constantly, and the "headgear" looking design is clunky and awkward, without helping hold the headphones on your head whatsoever. I'm constantly having to catch them from falling off my head, and Drop support has been anything but helpful in the return of this product. Maybe specify that these headphones aren't up-to-date with the 21st century and will leave you tripping over it's bulky cord, while playing acrobatics to try and keep the huge design off your head. Never purchasing from this scam of a website again. Just go to Amazon, where you'll at least have a money-back guarantee and much quicker shipping times.
Jun 6, 2019
dominiccdj
14
Jun 8, 2019
bookmark_border
It says right here on this website that these headphones have a 3 meters long cable and no bluetooth capabilities.
Jun 8, 2019
Jackman220
6
Nov 6, 2019
bookmark_border
Terrible review lmfao it says in the description exactly what you're paying for... just delete this review.
Nov 6, 2019
SkittleSteve
0
May 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I enjoy them. I’m not exactly the intended use case because I don’t have all the audio equipment to fully make use of all of the abilities of these headphones, but they’re a great addition to my recording studio especially with the length of the cord making it so I can be anywhere in the room without loosing the headphones (nothing to be said about tangling however). They sound good, though I’ve only ever had cheaper ones before this so that led not exactly the opinion of some seasoned hobbyist. Definitely a good starter set for semi-professional use
May 28, 2019
sixty4tw
6
May 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good value for the money. I like these a lot more than the K240's I've tried in the past. I'm mainly using as a back-up studio monitor but also for some late night TV viewing from the headphone out of my NAD Intergrated Amp. These have excellent detail, very nice soundstage, and the bass response gets better as they break in. I would only recommend these for studio use or home use with an amp, probably not a good choice for portable use although you can purchase a shorter aftermarket cable if needed. Comfort is great as they are extrememly light and very minimal clamping force. Self-adjusting headband works well. Other reviewers who feel like these might be fragile could be incorrect as I have a pair of VERY lightweight German Maestro GMP-160 that I've been using for 5 years and they've held up beautifully. Great headphone!
May 21, 2019
Showing 12 of 312
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
312 OF 312 POSTS
Nov 20, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest