shopping_cart
Massdrop x AKG M220 Pro Headphones

Massdrop x AKG M220 Pro Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.7K requests
7.6k Sold
Product Description
The first pair of headphones any aspiring audiophile should own, the Massdrop x AKG M220 Pros have it all: reference sound, comfortable fit, and a price that makes them the best value in full-size headphones today. Inspired by the renowned AKG K240 Studio, they feature the same 30-millimeter dynamic drivers and semi-open design Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
293
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
hhauflaire
25
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are phenomenal for the price, I am hardly a audiophile, but I am pretty picky about headphones and these are probably the favorite set I own - and the cheapest. While not the most dynamic sound (they do get better with time) the sound stage is incredible, they are very neutral and clear, especially in the high ranges. The cups are very comfortable for long listening sessions, and auto adjust to your head. They also sound very good just plugged into your headphone jack, they don't need a separate amplifier. Remember, they are open-backed so people around you will be able to hear what you're listening to.
CmonMD
12
Apr 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm by no means a "true audiophile," but I do like my headphones and desk amps. These are a great pair of lightweight headphones with a pretty balanced sound. With how light they are I sometimes forget they're on my head. Its a worthwhile pickup if you need a pair of cans for listening to music/gaming.
The cable length is a bit much for desk use and the ear cups are a bit harder of a texture and feel. But those are personal gripes that can be fixed.
jquinta
5
Apr 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are my first experience with GOOD headphones. I'd only used gaming headsets up to this point and wow what a difference. I really only use headphones for gaming and listening to music and these kept surprising me. I could hear where everything was and pin point exactly where bullets came from and things in songs I'd NEVER heard before. I recommend these to anyone who's never experienced open back headphones, or really anyone who has 50 bucks to spend, I promise you won't be disappointed..... Change the pads tho, stock ones are garbage lol
awoodbri
19
Nov 1, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are, for all intents and purposes, the same headphone as the AKG K240 Studio/K240 Studio MkII. The vinyl pads on the M220's may be slightly different in that they seem to have a bit more 'give' than those on my K240 Studio's. There are enough reviews of the K240's on the Internet that you should be fully aware that these were designed to reproduce acoustic music with a flat response. If your favourite music features artificially-generated bass effects more appropriately rendered on the car audio system of a 17 year-old, you may wish to look elsewhere. With that out of the way, I have to declare these to be my favourite headphones, and I own many higher-end pairs from Beyerdynamic, Sennheiser and AKG. I tend to listen to real music made with actual instruments, the likes of which can be found in a typical symphony orchestra, and these reproduce every note those instruments could be expected to make (including tympani and double bass), with a flat response. That's why the K240's have been a staple of nearly every studio in the world since the mid-70's, and why organisations like the Vienna Philharmonic trust AKG products, including this headphone, for recordings made at their home in Vienna's Musikverein. The only complaint I have against them is the comfort of the ear pads: they do get rather hot after a while, and my skin has never been thrilled with the feeling of vinyl against it. They’re very shallow. Also, if you have larger than average ears you’re somewhat screwed: the ear pads will rest on top of some portions of your ears and it’s unlikely you’ll get the seal needed to obtain the best bass response. I have tried different pads but the result with all of them has been the same: they move the driver too far away from the ear. The build quality is nothing to scoff at; they're certainly on par with something like a pair of Sennheiser HD 650's, and being designed for studio use you can expect them to hold up very well to intense use. Highly recommended if acoustic music (or anything well recorded, really) is your thing. You won't find a better headphone at this price, and paired with a decent amplifier (you'll be disappointed powering them with a smart phone), you may never need to purchase anything else.
Adaho0
0
Feb 19, 2019
IMO these are NOT the same headphone as the AKG K240 Studio/K240 Studio MkII. High tones vary in the range of 5-8 kHz. There is no beating or heat at the turn of medium and high frequencies.
AnimeFreak0710
3
Jan 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Product not as advertised, the red color is a lot darker and the text on top is almost purple. I do not remember ordering a purple headset. It sounds great for the price, it's just a shame that the picture doesn't match the product.
search
I also got additional customs fees without any warning and the delivery was absolute chaos since I had to call DHL multiple times to find out where my package went. It said "delivered" on the tracking number but appearantly they had to transfer my package to postnl(even though DHL also delivers packages to me regularly) which didn't deliver it to my doorstep but to a postal center near me. Overall not a really good experience but the sound is good enough to keep me from giving it 1 star.
Dcchill
2
Jan 26, 2019
I wonder if there is some color inconsistency. Mine are a lot darker than yours.
Respekwamen
5
Jan 27, 2019
My headphones are just as inconsistent as OPs, it's like a red purplish color. Funny thing is that I didnt notice it till I saw this post lol... It's quite an improvement compared to my Turtle Beach Recon Headphones both in comfort and sound quality.
DRaGZ
303
Jan 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are very nice, neutral headphones for the price, but their usefulness is somewhat limited. First off, they are a bit boring, not because they're flat (I have the T60RPs which are flat, but are very, very fun to listen to) but because they lack detail. It's good for referencing a wide-range of frequencies when you need a reference open-back solution (they sound more open than semi-open), but I'll often reach for my 58X instead because even though the 58X is technically less neutral I still I want that detail. I don't think I'd really ever recommend these to anyone? The mixers and musicians I know would already have other better options in mind, and they sound too boring for casual listeners and gamers. Their low cost might point them towards serving the niche of, say, large group settings where a ton of people need headphones, like editorial pits, recording rooms, or classroom settings, but their open-back nature makes them hard to recommend for these options as well because they bleed sound pretty badly. I'm not sure who these are really for. They fill a niche no one was clamoring for. But hey, I bought them, so it must appeal in some capacity. I don't think you'd necessarily be disappointed if you bought these, I just think that if you're looking for a better all-around headphone, there are better low-cost solutions than these.
diyanko
1
Jan 23, 2019
Could you suggest some cheaper alternatives ?
DRaGZ
303
Jan 23, 2019
For neutral, Status CB-1. They are close-backed, so they don't sound very natural, but they are very neutral and extremely detailed. They used to be $50, they're $70 now on Amazon, which is still a really good deal for how good these headphones are: https://www.amazon.com/Status-Audio-Closed-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B01BDX1IVW For open-back, don't care about being neutral, Koss KPH30. They're more designed for being portable, hence the really short cable and most models having an inline mic and phone controls, but they sound really good for the price, just not neutral at all (more bassy, but open-back keeps the bass from being oppressive, decent amount of detail for their size). Only $30. https://www.amazon.com/Koss-KPH30ik-Headphones-Microphone-Lightweight/dp/B075FBRYM1
consolation
743
Mar 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are some insane bang for the buck. If you are used to bloated bass, they might not be your cup of tea - but; they are pretty close to sounding neutral, reproducing the music as it was recorded. They certainly don't have a problem pushing out low frequencies when asked to. Are they perfect? Nope, but they hold their own against headphones 2x~3x their price. The red colour is so off the website pics it's not funny, luckily, I like it more than what's pictured; PLUS it almost perfectly matches my Red Samurais... and my monitor stand ;-b
search
PS. This is a second pair I got, since the first was commandeered by my gf: comparing the two, these definitely get better with use. In no way do they sound bad new, but they open up and become more rounded with time.
(Edited)
isnor
4
Feb 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm not an audiophile. I don't know what most people are talking about; "impedance", "sound stage", "reference sound", "drivers" - none of it makes any sense to me. I came here because of a Reddit ad that said "studio quality headphones" for $50 and everybody seemed happy with them. So, take what I have to say with a grain of salt; I don't know anything about headphones. I've had mine for about 2 weeks now and I think the headphones are amazing, they sound better than any headphones I've ever owned (again, that doesn't really say much). I've never realized before how many small details are in the music that I like to listen to, because they were always drowned out and overpowered by other instruments, but these headphones are incredible in the way they allow the listener to "search" for instruments in the music. I can hear everything at once but still pick out individual parts of the music. Listen to something really wild, like 1983 (A Merman I Should Turn to Be) or Dogs, or something dynamic like Stairway to Heaven and I think what I'm trying to say will make more sense. If you're like me and you just want a decent pair of headphones, I can't imagine a better value than these. Note: I wouldn't take these into my office; I listen to music about 60% volume, and they are very loud and emit a lot of ambient sound. Other details:
  • The headband is super light, you may even call it flimsy. There isn't any padding on it, it's just a leather band. I do not find it uncomfortable.
  • They are branded as "self-adjusting" - this means that they grow automatically to the size of your head, but they can't be tightened. I have a pretty small head and generally I would wear them tighter than the default, so that took a bit of getting used to.
  • The cups themselves are really big. I know the measurement is there, but I was still surprised; they cover a large portion of my head
  • The cups don't try to suck to your head, and because they are so big, there are some small gaps. I don't really like the feeling of that, but I got used to it fairly quickly because they sound incredible.

Note for Canadians: I'm Canadian, so they aren't actually as affordable as you think when you see "$50+free shipping" in an ad. After the currency exchange, shipping, and duty, they were more like $100. I still think they're worth the price. Just a warning if you're naive like me; nothing against Massdrop itself.
luca_meunier
3
Mar 1, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First off amazing price for these incredible hearing headphones. Best pair of headphones I've ever owned. Screw you Razer and your stupid headphones that don't sound that good at ALL. Massdrop is the real deal.
The_Manic_Geek
74
Mar 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First experience with entry-level Audiophile, and I'm not disappointed. Sound quality is crisp and clear, if not a bit lacking in bass (expected, they're semi-open back). Extremely comfortable as well. For $50 you'll be hard-pressed to buy in to a better set of cans. Side note: I ordered the Blue model. Color seemed to be pretty accurate compared to the images online.
search

Showing 17 of 345