Massdrop x Brad Zinker Dogtooth Liner Lock Knife

Massdrop x Brad Zinker Dogtooth Liner Lock Knife

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.3K requests
390 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Brad Zinker’s designs put emphasis on ease of carry, slender form factor, and utility. So, given the opportunity to make a production version of one of his custom knives, we knew it should embody these characteristics Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
74
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Gman2415
36
Feb 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely spectacular, beautifully made, fit and finish is perfect. The blade opens so fast and smooth it feels like an assisted opener. The edge is one of the best I’ve ever gotten out of the box. This easily competes with anything at twice it’s price or more. The carbon fiber is beautiful and so is the pocket clip for that matter. The quality and design really remind me of something William Henry would put out. This is really a fantastic knife.
(Edited)
OldFederale
27
Feb 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
a perfect gentleman
Very similar to the Ferrum Forge Gent. Blade is about 1/4" longer and handle is about 3/8" longer. Weight is almost exactly the same. Like all WE knives came razor sharp. Great detent, pretty snappy opening but still easy on your finger tip. I like the jimping on the frame/liner lock it's a nice touch. I got the G10 scales because other reviewers said the rosewood and carbon fiber grips were too smooth. The G10s are just grippy enough. Pocket clip is a good length but would be more attuned to this knife's style if it were thinner. Over all I have no buyer's remorse, well worth the money.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
OldFederale
27
Apr 9, 2020
I certainly agree with you. The blades are very different and I actually prefer the Gent. My comparison was meant to show similarity in size and pocket ability.
stoutdog
307
Apr 9, 2020
Both are excellent choices and I'm happy with mine. I was going to get a CF and G-10 version but decided to stay with my frame lock.
reswright
3763
Apr 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
There’s a lot to like. The comments about being a gentlemanly pocket knife are apt. It is compact, it has a lovely flat grind pattern and it is, of course, quite sharp. Great design, but I can’t give five stars. Whoever ground the edge warped the S35VN. The large left flat buckles along the shoulder of the grind, though, and they still used that blank, which is kinda bush league and did not meet my expectations. The warping isn’t glaring but anyone holding the knife and seeing the way light reflects from it can see the warping. The right edge is perfect by comparison but they should have started with another blade blank. If there’s pressure not to waste any knife blank in a small run like this, fine - but sell it as a factory second. First Massdrop knife.
reswright
3763
Dec 14, 2020
As a follow on: this is probably my favorite of the Massdrop branded knives and I've ended up customizing mine a bit. And I struggled for quite a while to get this knife any sharper than it was out of the box -- it just seemed like whatever I did, the edge felt like it was tearing things as much as cutting them. I'm not sure if the blade edge got cooked while final grinding and it ruined the steel a bit, but it kind of seems like it might have. 40 edge strokes and 40 flat strokes on a Sharpmaker with the diamond triangle rods were enough to get me down to better steel, because after that a normal sharpening session with the Sharpmaker using the regular rods was enough to get the knife keener than I'd ever gotten it before through multiple rounds of sharpening. So if you're having a similar experience with yours or another S35VN knife, maybe consider a quick bit of stock removal on either side to get you down to better steel with diamond or CBN stones or the like. For me, I'm wondering if maybe some of my 'meh' feelings about S35VN knives are due to buying ones with cooked edges.... maybe I'll have to try this trick on a few more supersteels, because I do know they can be easy to 'cook' when you try to grind them. In any case the blade now cuts more in like how I'd expect it to cut, given its nice thin profile and slight bellied edge.
vhpharmer
5
Apr 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is about as perfect an EDC that I have ever encountered, much less had privilege to own. It sits perfectly in your pocket and the flipper tab is as smooth as any(I.e. the fantastic smooth action of opening mechanism) if anyone is in market for a top shelf gentleman’s folder with basically custom feel and features then you need this Brad Zinker Dogtooth!Great job Massdrop, WE knives and Mr Zinker!
NikoToscani
Mar 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
UPDATE 5/1: I've owned the knife for about eight weeks now and it's become one of my favorites. For context, I also own an MBK EZC in S35VN , a Steel Will Cutjack in D2 w/green FRN scales, the Spyderco Chaparral in CTS-XHP with Raffir Noble scales and the Laconico Knives EZE titanium bolster lock w/green micarta scales and S35VN. Of them all, I'd say the Dogtooth has the sweetest, lightest action. The knife arrived dialed in - there was no need to disassemble or tweak the action - and deploys like a dream. I appreciate the low profile flipper tab, which has just the right amount of jimping. Deploys 100% of the time. I love the blade shape, unusual compound grind and the way it holds an edge. Despite the relatively long blade, this is very much a light duty knife and I treat it as such. I wasn't sold on the the black stonewash + wood scales at first but I love it now - the look is unique. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. 3/13: These are early impressions, as the knife arrived only about an hour ago. It appears to be a high quality item. I was initially bummed that you couldn't get rosewood scales with a satin blade - only black - but having it in hand, I really like the look. The unusual combo works - it's a murdered out gentleman's knife. Arrived incredibly sharp and flips like buttah! Compared to my MBK EZC, the action on the Dogtooth is much lighter and easier. The EZC requires a little effort and opens with a solid THUNK! while the Dogtooth is much easier to deploy and has more of a soft SNICK on open.
(Edited)
Shmoke
6
Oct 24, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really excited, then disappointment
I love the design, feel, and action. But it is not a solid lockup. If you hit the spine of the blade the lock will slip, atleast on mine. It also feels like the heat treat is off, I get it razor sharp and within a day or two there are visible flat spots all over the edge. I just cut through plastic wrap and a little cardboard at work. Overall, I still like it, but its not my EDC. I'll stick to my pm2 and 943 for now.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Damn_True
39
Apr 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Do ya like the Leek but find it a little slick in the hand? Here’s your solution. The silhouette of the blade is darn near identical. I’d be surprised if the net volume of the handles wasn’t more than a small % different. The Dogtooth is a little fatter due to the scales and the Leek is slimmer but taller. The Dogtooth though offers improved grip. Just as good looking as a Leek, maybe better if you like the grind, but better materials, better blade steel better grip.
TheUpRoar
25
Apr 18, 2019
This comment is really making me want to get this knife. I own 13 Leeks...
Rockman-20XX
26
Jun 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice petite blade.
The action is nice, the knife is extremely lightweight, but it punches above its class, i've used this as a work knife for weeks and it never failed where several other knives had fixings falling off. The only con is the wooden handled version lacks adequate traction, and your grip may slip if you limp wrist or conditions wet or sweaty ungloved. 7/10, Would recommend to anyone looking for a quality & low profile light or medium use knife, that looks slick too.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
chardham418
8
Oct 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall seems to be a good design
The blade is a nice shape and well made. The opening is smooth. My only concern is the carbon fiber handle is too smooth, if my hand is wet or slick from working on something it may be hard to grip it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
markless
8
May 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I first got one of these with the Rosewood handle scales. I liked the size, shape, and nice deep carry pocket clip. The wood seemed a bit slick and so I picked up a second with the orange G10 scales. I prefer the looks of the rosewood, but the G10 has a slight bit of traction that I think makes the knife more usable.
Showing 15 of 87
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order