Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
Massdrop x Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.7k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
145
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
PApawHiker
1
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding design
The set up is easy. The tent is spacious. I love this tent.
Sep 18, 2019
5hrzns
5
May 31, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My favorite tent yet
search
No tent is perfect, but this one comes as close for my needs as any I've owned. To date, its withstood repeated trips to my local gear-shredding Superstition Wilderness and hours of sustained 30mph+ winds at Lake Powell. The vestibules are so large that during downpours on the Mogollon Rim they held all my gear, with my 70lb Lab mix in one side, while I cooked in the other. On self-supporting, multi-day SUP trips to Lake Powell, I could set up the fly in minutes for bomb-proof shade with views while on paddling breaks. 5 stars+!
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
May 31, 2020
dandurston
3177
Dan Durston
May 31, 2020
bookmark_border
Glad you're liking the tent! Thanks for the review.
May 31, 2020
sadspot
1
May 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Easy to pitch, lots of room for gear
I did 300 miles on the AZT in late winter with this tent. 6'1" 180. Had a fair bit of rain, light snow (<1"), and twice set up in sustained wind 10-15mph, 25 gust. I hate to point out any flaws because overall it's an excellent tent (I have two BAs, a NF, 2 REIs, and a Eureka). The only thing that approaches flaw is that the design is unforgiving with respect to condensation when less-than-perfect pitching. But many other tents are too, so this really can't be considered a flaw. It has two vestibules, and at no point did I need the space of the 'extra' vestibule. The inner tent (living space?) is a little narrow, but more room can be made by angling the poles. I need to say it again, an excellent tent
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 21, 2020
alstorrow
1
May 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding backpacking tent; my new go to
Easy to set up, lightweight, love the 2 doors. Need to get the angle just right, and it is slightly cramped. These are minor issues for an otherwise fantastic shelter. Price is incredible compared to competition.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 19, 2020
wongmein
3
May 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Light weight and good air flow, let me had a good experience of warm day camp
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 13, 2020
Jabcon2
8
May 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent lightweight tent!
Nice and easy to set up and only requires fussing occasionally if you are after a perfect pitch. Large vestibules and plenty of room inside even if you have to spend a day hunkered down.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 12, 2020
Parz7val
1
May 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
May 1, 2019
rlhydn
10
Apr 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So much thought went into this tent
Is it natural to love a tent so much? I love the dual side doors, I love how the vestibules are ginormous on both sides, I love the pale colour, I love how the fabric is not noisy in the wind, I love how oversized the fly is for wind and rain, I love cinching up the toggles everywhere to pull the mesh away for some me-time in the tent. There’s room at my head and feet of the weather got wilder. I love how ventilated it is against cold and hot air, I painted the peg hooks with nail polish to help find them in our Australian bushland. The fly and rigging is super forgiving when you find rocks and roots in your tie out points too
search
I love how quickly it arrived. YES, I’d buy it again. Super awesome valued and priced.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 30, 2020
kenwstr
84
Apr 27, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a great tent for the price and less than half the weight of my previous 1p tent. The inner is a little narrower than my previous 1p but I get to fully sit up to change which is oh so much more comfortable. It pitches fly 1st and has oodles of vestibule space, both of which make for a really comfortable camp in the wet. What's not to like? Haven't had heavy rain and wind yet, so can't comment on that, seems to pitch strong and stable enough though with extra guy and edge peg outs. One of the grosgrain loops was missing from one edge but Massdrop fixed me up no problems. I didn't want to go through the pain of an international return so I asked for replacement loop for me to sew on. They did exactly what I wanted which is marvelous. I noted that Dan strongly suggests taking the time to get the rectangle laid out square. Not sure how important that is but I thought some may be challenged by that, so I came up with a simple and fast accurate pitch method that should work on the 2p or any other rectangular full fly, see https://youtu.be/5aNTuurDEFE Regards, Ken
(Edited)
Apr 27, 2020
DaleA
12
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
May 2, 2019
Showing 11 of 324
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order