Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.9k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Following the success of the Massdrop x Fostex TH-X00, we teamed up with another brand that Foster manufactures headphones for, E-MU Systems, to bring you a new pair of purpleheart headphones—this time smaller, lighter, and perfectly suited for on-the-go use. The Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart features handcrafted solid wood enclosures and biocellulose drivers, like its full-size relative, with a more understated aesthetic and a warm, appealing, non-fatiguing sound Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
94
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
sixty4tw
7
Mar 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've only had these for a few days and they are nowhere near burned in yet but I'm very pleased. They look, feel, and sound fantastic for the price. I bought the Denon AH-D1001 way back in 2009 (around $125, I think) and they were my go to everyday headphones for many years. Sadly one of the drivers just gave out on me after more than 8 years of hard use and those have been discontinued for quite some time. I often considered getting the CAL! version of these but they just always looked bit cheap looking to me. Not the case for the E-Mu Purpleheart. They feel very well made and the wood looks great. They have the same fit, and the same sound signature as the Denons, perhaps slightly warmer and mellower but by no means veiled or dark sounding. So for anyone who owned, or tried and liked the AH-D1001 you will not be diappointed. Great detail, nice but never overdone bass, silky highs, nicely forward mids, etc. I have many more high-end headphones, but I personally think it's hard to find anything better at this price. You can still find the E-mu Walnut for around $100 but these are virtually the same at a lower price (and less branding). I use these primarily as a commuter headphone with Hi-Res DAP's and they are perfect for that. Very easy to drive, reasonable isolation. Definitely thinking of buying a few more of these for gifts... Highly recommend!
Mar 8, 2019
CoupeDeBoulder
15
Feb 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm lucky to have choices: HD6XX, HE4XX, Focal Elex. But when I'm just walking around listening to my DAP, these are on my head. If you're thinking about them, just stop and buy them. You won't regret it!
Feb 2, 2019
phrodini
2
Apr 29, 2019
bookmark_border
which dap do you have?
Apr 29, 2019
a_minty_penguin
12
Jul 25, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
tl;dr if you like folk, rock, and podcasts, these are for you. If you like metal and rap, they are not. Comfy. If you have large ears, I'd also look elsewhere. Care has been taken to make these look beautiful, though the cups are not grain-matched.
I am normally one to be pretty sure where I stand when rating a product, but with these headphones I have been very flip-floppy. I have settled with four stars, but this is, truthfully, a 3.5 star review. Here's why:
1) The purpleheart wood is absolutely beautiful, and I love the finish. The cups aren't grain-matched at all though. As such, the grain on one side is curvy, but on the other straight.
2) idk if I just suck at reading the numbers (which truthfully mean nothing to me as someone looking for a good pair of almost student-affordable headphones, not an expensive hobby), but the bass on these things has no punch. I'm not looking to have my head vibrate like people who like edm and such, but I thought you'd at least be able to feel the kick drum, even a little bit. This is not the case. It sounds weak, and makes the music sound weak. Bare in mind that I am a metal head, so this will probably be an atypical complaint. Rock and hard rock sound great (looking at you Nightwish), but if you enjoy any extreme metal, black metal, or death metal, I would recommend you against these headphones. Examples of bands that I am talking about to judge accurately: Dawn of Ashes, Wolven Ancestry, Amon Amarth. Also tried them out with some 2pac and the bass there is also disappointing, so probably not for rap lovers either. Put on some Santana though and boy do these headphones shine.
Anything 'above' the lower drums sounds great though. Podcasts are stellar, and likewise with folk music, atmospheric, and rock. But, again, as a metal head, these are not what I primarily listen to. And, again, idk if this is my error in interpretting data that I don't understand, or an issue with the headphones themselves.
3) Comfortable. If you have large ears, they may be small.
4) I really wish more brands followed suit with Massdrop and E-MU in placing their logos inside the headphones/other products. This alone makes me so likely to recommend them to other people, as care has clearly been taken to making these headphones not only pump through clear, beautiful sound, but to also look beautiful, and to have this beauty be made an important, one might say a defining, feature of the product. You have all the stars in this category*.
Overall, I would highly recommend this product to any one who doesn't listen to metal/rap/bass-y edm, even though I must admit that, though perhaps not disappointed, I am underwhelmed.
Edit: This initial conclusion has felt wrong to me and, as far as I am concerned, is wrong. I would rather convey: Though I may be underwhelmed, I am not disappointed.
*minus the lack of grain-matching
Jul 25, 2018
JayBusch
4
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
How easy are these to drive? I have to use a USB-C adapter on my phone and it doesn't get my T50RP Mk3's loud enough (though I suppose that's almost a good thing so that they don't blow out my ear drums, ha).
Sep 12, 2019
Buanadha
5
Jul 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good phones for the price, IMO
Very easy to listen to with no fatigue for me. I don't really listen from my phone, but almost always from my computer or from my XDuoo X3 II that I carry with me. Haven 't carried it with me on the plane yet, but I've been flying a lot so may try taking them with me once soon. Hearing outside noise isn't a negative for me as I like to be able to know when something's happening around me. I listen to a lot of vocals, strings, piano, and horns (classical, jazz, pop) and not a lot of heavy bass. To mirror what others have said, to me these sound pleasantly warm with a good amount of detail and clarity, but not as much as some others. Despite some nit picking, it's a very pleasant listen for me for my typical music, but with quality and defined enough bass when it needs it. Lisa Hannigan's voice is always lovely, but particularly nice with these ;) Also have Harmon Kardon CL headphones. Those have more impressive detail, but for certain things can be a bit cold, but I like those as well... just different from the Purplehearts
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 7, 2019
BonjourJiff
8
Nov 17, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Feels cheap. Not worth $75. Audiotechnika has older models for less. Should have gone that route. Didn't even come with a case. The sound really isn't that amazing. I'm no audiophile, but the sound didnt blow my mind or anything.
Nov 17, 2018
sveerhoff
20
Feb 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Between three and four stars. These were purchased to replace a pair of ATH-M40X which broke. I was looking for a nice solid closed back design that offered good noise block out. These are not them, but do sound very nice. The Good: these are a nice set of headphones, comfortable to wear, and in a quiet location are OK. They are good at giving a degree of warmth to acoustic Guitar, Cello and String instruments, as well as vocals. The soundstage is good, but not as wide as open back headphones. The accuracy is good as well, although they tend to be a little accentuated on the bass. I especially enjoy using them to listen to orchestral, dub and Reggae. Compared to the ATH M40x that these replaced, they are not as accurate. The M40x is more of a studio monitor, and adds less coloration to the sound. The bad (and reason for the 3 star rating): As initially stated, I was looking for a replacement for my ATH-M40x headphones, a closed back design that really does block a lot of the outside noise. The Purple Heart E-MU headphones do not block as much of the outside sound. For closed back headphones these are really terrible at blocking outside sounds, ad feel more like a semi-closed back design. If this were the only issue, then I could increase the volume and compensate. What really stands out is that certain loud external frequencies appear to resonate within the headphones itself. I noticed this while commuting on the DC Metro, certain external train squeals/sounds became outright painful and louder than if I wasn't wearing the phones. Given the inability to really block out outside sound, I have relegated these to my man cave, permanently attached to my Yamaha receiver, either using them for video games, movies when I don't want to disturb anyone else in the room, or listening to CDs and vinyl while reading or working at the desk. Save your money, and go for the thinksound On2s if you want a nice looking wood backed headphone in the under 120 price range.
(Edited)
Feb 2, 2019
dvisan
0
Mar 2, 2019
bookmark_border
Why didn't you simply buy another pair of ATH-M40X?
Mar 2, 2019
sveerhoff
20
Mar 2, 2019
bookmark_border
The ath m40x has a design flaw that causes plastic failure in the hinge brackets, eventually wearing against one of the wires. I got two years out of them, and my son got 15 months out of his. Kind of soured me on the brand. Both of us wear headphones in excess of 4 hours a day. I thought I would give the E-Mus a try.
(Edited)
Mar 2, 2019
Kayelcee70
6
Aug 28, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are nice entry level headphones. They have a very warm tone. The high end is a little brassy but nothing too bad. The wood is gorgeous but it seems a little strange paired with the plastic which the rest of the headphone is made of. However, it doesn’t feel “cheap” as some headphones do. They are also very comfortable. The earpads are plush and they cover my ears (my ears are small though). If you are beginning your audiophile adventures, this would be a great first buy.
search
Aug 28, 2018
Cheddar
12
Jun 4, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Note: I'm reviewing these being driven naked by a smartphone with streamed music. In other words, as a consumer, not an audiophile.
The first thing I should note is, out of the box, there's a noticeably tubby quality to the bass that required a burn-in to address. Before burn-in, I found Metal, Rap, and Epic genres were lacking punch. After burn-in, I can't point to anything done particularly wrong.
Compared to my $30 Sennheiser HD201, this had a massive improvement in bass depth and presence. Compared to my $120 Grado SR80i, this had a massive improvement for classical piano and violin pieces.
I would definitely say these are a value champion headphone.
Notable tracks that impressed were:
(Piano) Nuvole Bianche by Ludovico Einaudi: Warm and melodic. (My HD201 make this sound like it is being played on an upright piano, instead of a concert grand.)
(Rock) Uprising by Muse: There's a fluttering melody at 3:50 - and the E-MU nailed it. (My SR80i have trouble here; no flutter, and played by a cello.)
Giving these 4 stars because they're solid, competent headphones - easily worth a baseline 3 stars - who gain an extra star for having a few impressive moments.
Jun 4, 2018
inmansx8
6
May 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty disappointed that after the 2nd use the ear piece brok off the headset rendering the totally useless now. I see why it broke so easily, the piece holding it together is smaller than the width of a pencil by at least 1/2. generic head sets have lasted by far longer.
May 28, 2019
thebigo_k
7
Nov 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I enjoy the reletive clarity of them, they come across as a little bass heavy, a fraction to "full" compared to my Sennheiser HD 439's. I prefer the lightness of the E-MU's though, and the isolation they bring with the closed back's. The only actual critism I have is the Purpleheart itself. Being a person involved in woodworking, carpentry and the beauty of wood, I was a little disppointed with the finish, and would have preferred to see actual grain showing through the finish, but I understand that the timber needs to be treated to prevent colour change. The finish is extremely flat, to the point that I doubted that it was timber at all.
Nov 11, 2018
Showing 15 of 108
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order