Massdrop x Ferrum Forge Gent S35VN Pocket Knife
Massdrop x Ferrum Forge Gent S35VN Pocket Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7.5k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Keys, wallet, phone, Gent: Our third collaboration with Ferrum Forge Knife Works, the Gent is the classiest, most portable, and most affordable to date. Designed by Ferrum Forge, a two-man operation out of San Diego known for producing small batches of custom knives, it’s an exciting new direction compared with the beefy folders they’ve built their reputation on Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
388
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
Mctiger
0
Feb 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wanted the blue knife. After simple pocket carry, I no longer have a blue knife.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Feb 22, 2020
archeion
3
Jan 29, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great knife, weak pocket clip
I love the knife but the pocket clip broke off quickly and no parts are available. Now I never carry it because I don't want it in the bottom of my pocket.
Jan 29, 2020
Heater336
0
Jan 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid value for sure, no complaints at all about performance, great value!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 22, 2020
Dropoff
0
Jan 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice knife, poor delivery experience.
This is a nice knife with a snappy action and the lockup is solid enough for a knife this size. The blade is ground nice and thin behind the edge, so has a good slicing ability regardless of the solid blade stock. I'm personally not a fan of the pocket clip, too shiny and looks like an afterthought on an otherwise attractive knife design, it's also a hot spot for me. Previously, orders for this knife were shipped from the US for $4.75 via DHL and took 12-13 days to Australia. Now Drop has chosen to ship from China via NLpost, still charging the same $4.75, and my order took 38 days to Australia...to add salt to the wound the packaging was just a plastic bag and the knife's box got crushed in transit. Summary - A nice knife with an average clip, and a purchasing experience marred by poor packing and downgraded slow shipping.
search

Jan 21, 2020
Jboomerz
0
Jan 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ahead of everything in its price range. I’m carrying it daily.
My daily carry. And I have many knives at over twice the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 21, 2020
jpauwen
0
Jan 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This knife is pretty good. The S35VN Blade and geometry are great.
For such a small knife, they packed in a decently large blade. The blade is only about 1/4" smaller than on another knife I have that is 1" larger overall. That being said, the small handle doesn't feel that good in your hand and the handle design doesn't have a great hand feel. My assessment is that the blade is awesome, but the handle leaves something to be desired.
Jan 20, 2020
ndrushinin
0
Jan 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect Gentleman's EDC!
Wow! This knife just hits on everything I've been looking for in an EDC. I work in an office, so carrying a huge pocket knife can be too obvious and, quite possibly, tear up my fancy pants. :) The Gent has a sufficient blade length for just about anything you'll encounter during the day. It's got smooth and snappy action. It's made from premium materials. I'm a fan of the forward finger choil. And the pocket clip is ideal (slim and deep carry). I really love this knife! I've been looking for an EDC with all of these features, and the Gent really fits the bill.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 19, 2020
ndrushinin
0
Jan 19, 2020
bookmark_border
Wow, I can't believe how many negative reviews people are giving this knife. Yeah, shipping took a while. But I really do think it's worth the wait. Oh well, to each his own.
Jan 19, 2020
NvrAgain
0
Jan 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Workmanship needs a lot of work
1) I bought this with the "ships next day" premise, under the impression that I would receive it way before Christmas only to get an e-mail telling me it would be 3-6 weeks, thanks for the sneaky redirect Drop. 2) The zippered case was a very nice touch with a well thought out way to put another knife in ( I chose my Benchmade Blackout , All Black Bugout) without them hitting each other. The cloth is a very good quality, the stitching very nice. 3) Scales: Nice, extremely thin, which is what you want for a small folder this size, also helps with weight and size in pocket. 4) Clip: Minimalistic, nice and concealable not to hard on jeans, good tension. 5) Detent: Very impressed with the detent, this thing flies open, good lockup. 6)Blade Shape/Steel: What can I say, perfect EDC size and shape for my line of work. Steel is leaps and bounds better than a lot of knives at this price point. 7)Workmanship: I had the unit a little over 2 weeks and realized (might have been sooner but noticed after 2 weeks) that the blade was way over centered, touching the right side, opposite of the clip. I own a lot of pocket knives and I have never, EVER, needed to service a knife due to bad centering this early in it's lifespan. The centering was good when I got it but in no way did I use it enough to warrant the centering going south this early. I have knives for years (Ontario Rat1,Ruike P801, Kershaw Leek etc etc) that still has perfect centering for a fraction of the price and lower materials. So here I am servicing a product that QC let go without testing properly. Only 1 of the scale screws had blue Loctite on them (4 total) and although I didn't take it apart, rather just tightened the pivot screw, I'm pretty confident the pivot screws don't have any either. The scale screws aren't interchangeable, even though they're the same size (the clip screws are longer) they seemed like they were forced with power tools, very soft metal, 2 of them stripped ( at a point that I don't know if it will come out the next time it requires servicing, which might be sooner than later) and the others are on the verge of being stripped because of the way they were put in. Extremely disappointed at such a good looking/functioning knife on paper, I shouldn't have to fix QC issues this early in it's lifespan, I won't be getting anymore Drop knives if this is how you oversee production.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jan 19, 2020
NTrogdon
0
Jan 17, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stellar piece for the price.
Pros: Top shelf action better than knives twice the price, very functional and efficient design, light weight, great build quality, excellent qpr. Cons: blade finish is fine not amazing, also a finger print magnet. Hidden hardware is attractive but makes tuning/disassembly more complicated, handle is probably thin for some, no steel lockbar insert. Though none of these things outweigh the value provided. Overall fantastic knife and doubly so for the price. Would recommend
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 17, 2020
Bob300131
2
Jan 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth it at $80. Shipping excused at $40
Fair warning - there will be no new information in this review that hasn’t already been discussed. If you followed the original reviews when the knife was priced at $80, you find the same reviews - not possible to find S35VN, TI, and a good fit/finish anywhere near $80. Then it jumped to $100. If I’m honest, I’d probably shop my 100 bones on eBay for something else, just given the sheer number of knives that after a tiny bit of use, will dip that low. HOWEVER. I stole this knife at $40. I have no idea on actual cost, but for what amounts to lunch and 2 beers in an airport - the quality is astonishing. Looker? Most beautiful knife? Nah. But someone thought about this one, and “gent” sums it up. Throwing this into my work pants, it’s damn near perfect. flipper tab maybe could use some texture — but that’s only discussed by the nerds flipping it open non-stop. If you’re only opening for actual use, in a “gentleman’s carry” type scenario. It’s perfectly fine. As in - non-issue. the elephant in the room is shipping. 34 days from order to receipt. And that includes me tracking it down to a physical post office after I wasn’t home at 4pm on a Monday ( shocker) to sign for it. It’s incredibly slow. If they’d have at least pretended that it was back ordered for 2-3 weeks, I’d be better prepared. But radio silence for weeks until the package miraculously makes its way to the Netherlands is somewhat painful for a website that’s positioning itself as been so hip/modern/techie/against the norm. “In Stock” has modern connotations that they did not live up to. then again. at FORTY BONES?! All is forgiven. At $80, with the understanding that it’s $80 BECAUSE it’s shipping from China? Ok, I’ll bite after reading the reviews. At $100+? Pushing it for me. Good product. There shouldn’t be any question about that. Shipping/Exact Pricing are going to sway people many different ways.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 9, 2020
Showing 11 of 463
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
463 OF 463 POSTS
Feb 24, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest