Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones
Massdrop x Focal Elex Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.2k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Made with Focal’s brilliant engineering and extraordinary attention to detail, the Elex headphones take a fundamentally different approach to dynamic drivers—and deliver a better measured performance across the board than headphones several times their price. A refinement of the $1,000 Elear with elements of the $1,500 Clear, they boast several improvements to the sound, build, and aesthetic, too Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
180
check
91%
would recommend to a friend
search
triggsviola
81
Aug 8, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I just got these headphones and have been listening to them for the past few hours. Maybe it's still the "honeymoon" period, but they are definitely my favorite headphones. I also own HD6XX, Aeon Flow Closed, Ether Flow, and K7XX. I have owned the TH-X00, but sold them recently.
I am not a high-end audiophile, but I am a professional musician who loves listening to all kinds of music. I listen to music on my computer with iTunes, though a Jotunheim amplifier with the DAC module. I'd like to present some comparisons to you. I define "fun" as bass presentation (not necessarily extension) and punchy dynamism. I define "detailed" as being able to hear individual instruments in their recorded acoustical space clearly. When I evaluate "comfort," note that I have a fairly large head, I wear glasses, and I have some neck and shoulder problems from the last 10 years of being a professional violist.
HD6XX are less fun, less detailed, and slightly less comfortable (clamp force too much for my big head and glasses). Aeon Flow Closed are less fun, similarly detailed, and slightly more comfortable (see update). Ether Flow are less fun, more detailed, and slightly more comfortable (see update). K7XX are less fun, less detailed, and similarly comfortable. TH-X00 are similarly fun, less detailed, and less comfortable (if memory serves).
Of all these headphones, the Elex has the best balance of fun, detail, and comfort. The closest competition is the Ether Flow, which have better bass extension, but not as punchy as the Elex. They are "laid back." The Elex also seem more "open" than any other headphones here. It's almost like listening to speakers.
Here are some tracks that used for direct comparison:
Pasadena Symphony: Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances: non allegro (the Pasadena Symphony binaural recordings are some of the most underrated classical recordings out there). John Williams: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: Quidditch, Third Year Daft Punk: Tron Legacy Soundtrack: Outlands, Pt. II Massive Attack: Mezzanine: Angel Yosi Horikawa: Wandering - EP: Letter Blues Traveler: Four: Hook
Elex has very nice build quality. The nicest of all the headphones I've ever owned. I wish the balanced cable was longer.
My dream cans would be something as detailed as the Ethers, but as fun as the Elex. Clear maybe? My wife would divorce me if I bought those just to find out.
Hope that helps. I'm sure lots of people will tell me how stupid and wrong I am, but these are my opinions.
UPDATE: I've had these for a few days now. I discovered how to wear them and they now match the comfort of the Ethers and Æons. I've always worn headphones in such a way that the headband rests at the crest of my parietal bones. This works for other headphones, but for this headphone, I need to place the headband further forward, along the coronal suture. This also makes the ear pads line up better with my ears. Now it's almost like I'm not even wearing headphones. Maybe this is obvious to everyone else, but not me.
UPDATE 2: I've had these for a number of weeks now and I no longer listen to them. I fell so in love with the Focal sound that I ponied up and bought a Utopia, which is what I listen to constantly. I was able to go to a retail store and compare the Elear, Elex, Clear, and Utopia all from the same amp. I may give the Elex to my brother. It seems to me, based on reading other reviews and comments that either you love or you hate the Focal sound. I just happen to love it. It commands your complete attention. Maybe if you're looking for something to play in the background, go for a relaxed planar sound. Now my next purchase will be a nicer DAC/Amp combo. Somehow I get the feeling that the Jotunheim isn't pushing the Utopia to its full potential. The Elex and Utopia are very similar in build and comfort, but the Utopia just has more depth, detail, and focus. Incidentally it's on sale right now (until the end of October 2018) for "just" $3000. And you get a $1000 player thrown in, which you can sell on ebay.
Aug 8, 2018
RK2018
41
Aug 19, 2018
bookmark_border
Thanks for the tip on the Pasadena Symphony binaural recordings 👍
Aug 19, 2018
deathlyHallows
5
Mar 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Where did you find the sale? And hope your wife was supportive of the Utopia purchase :P
Mar 11, 2019
Skylordquasar
43
Jul 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Never heard anything like it
I have owned the Beyerdynamic dt1990s, the Sendy Avias, and the Sennheiser 58x. After using The AAA 789 with all four, I can say that these make all of those sound almost like toys by comparison. The frequency response is perfect, and the separation, sound stage, and imaging are worlds ahead of the other headphones I mentioned. The 1990s are not compatible with a balanced cable, so they can't even come close to competing. Compared to the Aivas, the Elex has much more low end and a little less in the highs. More importantly though, the Elex sounds almost as though you are not even wearing headphones. Once you hear them, it becomes painfully obvious that the sound from every other pair of headphones is coming from a driver a centimeter away from your ear; they have rendered every other headphone I have pointless.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 28, 2019
GiantCardBoardBox
1
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Are you sure about this? Could you provide links or evidence since I honestly never heard that. I'm kinda new here so maybe it's just me.
Nov 11, 2019
Anmol73
8
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border

https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/testing-balanced-versus-unbalanced-headphone-amplifier-drive.2327/ Audio engineering is a well established science. There is a lot of rubbish spewed by a lot of so called audiophile companies. This activity by these companies is driven to get your dollars without significant benefit in measured audio or even proper blind tested subjective tests. We live in age of science not voodoo. Scientific testing needs to measure along with blind human tests. I find audiosciencereview forum credible and is run by former retired recording and audio engineer with a very solid understanding of science behind audio equipment. There are several threads on headphone balanced vs unbalanced cable on audiosciencereview
Nov 11, 2019
Jakob
99
Jul 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Almost perfect.
Nothing really I can say that has not been said by more knowledgeable audiophiles. This is my highest end headphone... by far. I come from the popular $200 range and this just sounds perfect. Perfect sound stage, imaging, mids, highs are there yet never harsh, very smooth sound and balanced. Bass is tight and detailed. The sub sub bass could be stronger if honest and picky which brings me to why they are not quite perfect... clipping. If you like listening to artificial bass in genres like rap or electronica you may Experian e the driver clipping due to its very active design. Apparently this is not a faulty unit rather its just a weakness to its driver design. It only happens during high volume listening but that's how I like my bass heavy tracks. Just a fore warning if those are your primary genres otherwise these truly are stellar. It's dynamics are probably its greatest strength, it's dramatic and speaker like. I just accept that if I want to have some crazy bass Experian e listening to goa trance, I reach for my Soundmagic Hp151 for visceral bass. Fair enough. OH, Hans Zimmer soundtracks are crazy good on these. I listen just because of these headphones, I'm more a metal guy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 3, 2019
disastermouse
17
Nov 13, 2019
bookmark_border
I have the clipping at high volumes, too... It's probably saving my hearing and it's well above what would be healthy. It's not a real limitation for me like a purely phone-driven Oppo PM-3, where the volume and dynamics just can't get there. Luckily, the Earstudio ES100 drives them well.
Nov 13, 2019
PopZeus
288
Sep 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best headphones I've ever heard. They don't need a lot of power but they shine with a top quality source and amplification. Warm but neutral, dynamic as hell, what everyone says is true; they will reveal flaws in recordings but will also make some too polite recordings breathe with life in a way you've never heard. They're incredibly detailed, probably only bested by headphones costing 3-5x this one. It's an almost transparent presentation, if there is such a thing. Besides maybe the bass because of tuning, no part of the Elex sticks out. It's all very controlled, quiet when it needs to be slamming loud when called upon. That intensely dynamic experience sacrifices soundstage width, but separation is not hindered as a result. Imaging is exceptional, despite the intimate soundstage. For most who are obsessed with good sound, this is likely endgame. It is for me.* The negatives amount to little more than a collection of nitpicks. Besides wanting a touch more sub-bass and [edited] smaller treble spikes (which are already fairly minimal), the only thing that stands out is the weight. The Elex aren't heavy but they are heavier than most headphones. They're basically two tiny full-range speakers taped to your ears. Except they're not taped, just gently clamped, and can slide around depending on how far I lean in a given direction. If it's a trade-off, I'd rather they be more comfortable and less clamping, than secure but squeezin' my noggin. Definitely not a mobile product despite that low power requirement. Try the new Beatles remixes, the recent remaster of Purple Rain, some ELO, or even some modern music like Outkast, Radiohead, and Daft Punk. Through the Elex, it will sound less like a recording and more like a performance. * Not including IEMs.
(Edited)
Sep 13, 2018
Saber_Gaurdian
3
Nov 17, 2018
bookmark_border
Music taste is on point! Love me some ELO with these lol. What else you like?
Nov 17, 2018
PopZeus
288
Nov 25, 2018
bookmark_border
One of my favorite HD recordings and also a wonderful headphone album, as cliche as it sounds, is Zeppelin's Houses of the Holy. The stereo remix of Pet Sounds is another great album to listen to via the Elex. Pretty much any of the remastered The Smiths albums works, but I'm partial to The Queen Is Dead. More modern music? I'm into Cornelius, Beck's Mutations, and any of the Blur or Gorillaz records sound fantastic through the Elex.
Nov 25, 2018
ncsMD
43
Feb 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I ended up returning these headphones after experiencing the audio clipping issue some have described here. However, I would not like to touch on that issue and instead review the headphone regardless of the clipping issue. For background, I am a huge Sennheiser HD6XX fan and this headphone immediately grabbed my attention after reading this was the natural upgrade for the 6XX fans. After watching reviews from Joshua Valour, DMS, and Zeos on youtube, as well as reading some pretty phenomenal reviews on reddit, I knew I had found my perfect match. Boy was I wrong. These headphones have one main issue, and that is the treble. There is a very prominent treble spike in the 5K region that is extremely fatiguing and completely overrides the positive attributes of these cans. Within seconds of putting these on, I immediately had a vague headache that would not clear until taking the cans off. While I definitely believe there a many out there who will not mind this peak, I am writing this review to those folks out there who may be a bit more sensitive to the treble. These headphones do several things right. The build quality is phenomenal, the bass in defined, crisp, and rich. The mid range is almost on par with the 6XX in terms of warmth and intimacy, however the Focal trades this off for a significant (but not phenomenal) improvement in soundstage. The detail is definitely a notch up above the 6XX as well. However, the 5K treble spike is a significant issue that makes these headphones not enjoyable. For a price tag of $700, you think Focal would have solved this issue. After returning back to my 6XX daily, I have never appreciated the sound as much as now. It definitely took me some courage to write this review that goes completely against the almost exclusively positive reviews about the Elex out there. However, I want you to know that there is a significant, fatiguing issue with the treble on these headphones. For reference, I had the HD800 at one point and had a similar issue with those as well (not with the HD800S though). FYI my setup consisted of the Schiit Modi 3 -> JDS Atom
(Edited)
Feb 13, 2019
FuckHead-Fi
373
Jun 7, 2019
bookmark_border
too bright for me as well
Jun 7, 2019
oluv
54
Nov 8, 2019
bookmark_border
funny, I get a dip at exactly 5khz, so not sure what you are talking about!
search

Nov 8, 2019
Mothership
37
May 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
The Elex are NOT just the Elear with Clear pads. if you want the Elex but think the Elear + Clear pads is a better deal just know that you are not getting the same headphones, they use the same driver, but the Elex are tuned to be more like the Clears. do the Elex beat the Clears no, but the Clears are also more than double the price. 700 for the Elex, and 1500 for the Clears. The Elex have the most sound stage out of any Focal headphone. its not big but is larger than Sennheiser 600 series Very dynamic headphone. Intimate vocals. Great Imaging. You can tell when a song is poorly recorded, very resolving headphone. You may hear things you've never heard before. If you want to pad swap go with Dekoni's Elite Fenestrated Sheepskin. it doesn't matter if you prefer male or female vocals the Elex do both great Bass is tight, punchy, and surprising the Elex go very low down to 5hz The stock cables are bad way to stiff but you don't buy 700 dollar headphones for the cables. Edit: june 1st - I have had these since January and both cables still work they are just stiff.
(Edited)
May 20, 2019
david_abadia
31
Oct 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I´m really disappointed with this headphones, the quality control seems to be terrible: I’ve purchase a pair in the first drop and when they arrived everything was going good, but I’ve felt really wear with the center imaging so I’ve started to test it head to head with the HD6xx and I’ve found that the lower midrange was unbalance, really obvious with male vocals, this part of the range was a little higher on the left side, so I’ve ask to Massdrop for a replacement and they made it with no problems. When the second pair arrive and I’ve started the burn in process, and what a surprise it has a really terrible clicking noise while play Pink Noise, that is, what I use to Burn in all my headphones, so In first place I thought it was a problem only with the Pink Noise and maybe while they burn in, so I´v started to play some music, and after test a lot of songs I’v found that the clicking still there, for some dirty bass songs, I was shock two defective pairs of two, and taking care that this is a 700 dollars headphones, it´s just nonsense. So I’ve ask to Massdrop for a refund because I was not going to accept a third pair and they made it with no excuse, so a good point for the Massdrop Customer Support, but what the heck whit Focal and their quality control.
On the Sound Signature, I don’t think this it´s a natural upgrade to the HD6xx, in fact it´s the opposite signature to my ears: the very natural and forward midrange of the 6xx it´s almost gone, in a smooth way, all the precise colorful, and snappy midrange of the 6xx, in the Elex it´s really sweet and kind of colorless if that make sense to you, listening to the first 40 seconds on head to head with the HD6xx and Elex of: Read, Eat, Sleep from The Books: Tidal: https://tidal.com/track/19265068 Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/track/5rewzVP4CGXwM7sfRQyk6I?si=kPlq0cc4TwqtuPApyZKJkg this song has a really nice recorded acoustic guitar solo, and with the HD6xx you will hear all the little tones and the fast guitar strumming of it, but with the Elex it´s almost no tone difference, and the guitar strumming are so smooth, that they are almost gone. For the audiophile community the Sennheiser HD6-- family it´s all about midrange natural sound, so an upgrade to it would be even better midrange, but be aware this it’s not the case.
On the other hand, if you think that the lack of top ends on the HD6xx it´s what bothers you, this can be a “better” headphones, the bass and highs on the Elex are really forward in comparison, whit really fast and clean extensions on both sides, the Dynamics on this parts of the range it´s really amazing, so if you are going to watch a movie or play games it can literally hurt: explosions, shots, or any kind of punch, it´s going to make you jump out of your chair, it´s a complete different and intense experience if you come from the HD6xx, the sub bass it’s on another league, and I think it´s the best part of this headphones. The highs are far more present on the Elex, than on the HD6xx, whit fast and great detail, and also a nice and larger soundstage, but this gives to the headphones, some kind of metal feel to the highs. I think on the sound, these it´s really nice pair of headphones, but the terrible quality control, makes it to me very hard to recommend it to anybody. Sorry Focal!!
Oct 9, 2018
Will_F
29
Dec 30, 2018
bookmark_border
I should add that regarding Verum Sonus’ Review of the Lyr3- I suspect he was listening with the stock tube. It ships from Schiit with a basic Russian tube or a new Tung Sol (also made in Russia I believe). The Basic tube sounds pretty much exactly the way VerumSonus describes, with the Tung Sol improving the bass and detail. For $50-$75 there are a lot of tubes that will outperform both tubes with my personal favorite being a 1953 NOS Sylvania. It pairs amazingly well with my AFC, and depending on the music the combo outperforms my AFOs on the same amp.
(Edited)
Dec 30, 2018
adeadcrab
101
Aug 28, 2019
bookmark_border
or an OTL tube amp with capacitors instead of transformers, depends on the tube amp topology.
Aug 28, 2019
memlarry
20
Mar 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well I'm into day three on these bad boys, and all I can say is that these heaphones are devine. Just spectacular. I went down the audiophile rabbit hole back in the seventies, but I've never been a headphone guy. I have tube mono-blocks, a battery powered DC tube preamp, Floorstanders that have two 12 inch servo subs in each speaker with separate amplifliers, Rega Planet CD player, Braided Silver inner-connects and every brand of NOS tubes you can think of. My wife thinks I'm crazy, but she supports my passion. My son got me into THIS sport 4 or 5 months ago, and I'm really having a good time with it. I started with the 6xx's and I really like them. Best word to describe the sound with them is sweetness. Very easy to listen to and they just don't do anything wrong imo. I just wanted a little more. With the Elex, I'm getting that and then some. Until I get them fully burned in I'm not going to give you all of my impressions just yet. I will say that straight out of the gate they were bright and had a bit of an edge, but they're already starting to smooth out. I've probably burned in at least 15-20 sets of speakers over time, and all of them had an edge at first. Just be patient. These sound great at any volume. Surprisingly good at lower volumes. I did however get them to 'clip'. It was on the right channel. I was giving them quite a test ride listening to all genres when it happened on a Deadmau5 track called '4ware'. I was playing them at a ridiculous volume (stupid on my part) and I heard a steady click-click- click once I passe a certain volume. I turned it down just a smidge and the clicking stopped. I for one am glad it clipped so as not to damage the driver(s). Just don't be stupid like I was and you won't hear the clipping or blow your eardrums out. One last thing for now. My son is living with me for a bit and I told him to give them a listen when he got home from work. I'm playing them with a Valhalla 2 amp, ModiMultibit DAC, and a MacBook with Tidal. I was in bed when he got home, so I asked him the next day what he thought. He said; "I hate those headphones". I said; "What didn't you like about them?". He said, now I want to sell all my headphones to get a pair. He has like five pairs of cans which include the 6xx's and Nighthawks etc. He said those Focals do everything.
Mar 13, 2019
rastus
833
Mar 16, 2019
bookmark_border
I did have to replace the Planet’s 🌎 rectifier bridge diodes, known issue btw, otherwise Gaia is singing fine;) The Elex’s certainly are fun...
Mar 16, 2019
DJAT
213
Apr 19, 2019
bookmark_border
Quite right there @memlarry ... I have a Fostex (quite similar to your son's Nighthawk), a Sennheiser, a Hifiman... The Focal surely do everything and it's quite rightfully so to maybe own just the Focal out of the whole battalion.
Apr 19, 2019
Will_F
29
Jan 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Summary: If you can accept the idea that $699 is a reasonable amount to pay for headphones, then these phones are high performance for the price and, with a pad change, my favorite headphones. Desk-top test rig: Tidal HiFi and and HD tracks high bit rate recordings via usb to Topping D50 DAC then Schiit Loki (set to flat) and finally to a Schiit Lyr3 with a Sylvania “Bad Boy” tube which adds a little air and punch over the stock tube options.. Tracks used for testing: https://open.spotify.com/track/u3dZa4cqfnAOm154H601RbY?si=VCTqFU7XSES4zw9dWVrAqg

https://open.spotify.com/track/0uLHdMU2bozs3GYiEiah5i?si=yNO363VYR8CVVc-VHKNNKw

https://open.spotify.com/track/3HUlnkkeg0zaDWarGpARah?si=lrxrqFsgRvGNlnt0W0lUlQ

https://open.spotify.com/track/5ZCgj4sVeVmxlhylwie7fm?si=yP1w_J6EQT6WB3MHYJBrkQ

https://open.spotify.com/track/7nPtDL85Hha0q8jt5M5Dyz?si=3bgOcr1yTKGZZ0LKHoGPpA

https://open.spotify.com/track/1HKFOh7srKFmTX0xDmMy0H?si=gwIu5EYPRr-9-pdtOoQKkA

https://open.spotify.com/track/6mbSut6rumOmnTTAgiNQwX?si=kZonh0PESViClHMJZiKRrQ With the exception of the Elex, every headphone I have considered buying in the last 2 years has been a planar because they sound absolutely amazing. However planars have caused the dynamic driver makers to up their game too and now some are using the same advanced materials engineering that benefited planars. Focal is at the forefront, making dynamic driver headphones that can go head to head against Planar Magnetics at any price point. I bought the focal Elex because its cost competitive with some very respected planars and wanted to see for myself just how good dynamics could be. One of the nice things about the Elex is that they’re much more efficient than planar headphones at 104 dB @ 1mW and a nominal impedance of 80 Ohms. Pretty much anything can drive them, whether it’s an iPhone or tube amp. Some OTL amps may have a little bit of an issue, but they would be outliers. This makes the Elex ideal for experimenting with amplification. I’ll also say that they really work well with the Lyr and seems to synergize well with a little tube sound. Construction and comfort: They just scream quality at you from the moment you see them. If you’ve ever seen Focal speakers, you have some idea of how good they are at design and that carries forward to the Elear / Elex. They are gorgeous with a black on black color scheme that is both very masculine and very sophisticated. The cups are I think magnesium with aluminum hardware and probably anodized stainless steel mesh. They are open headphones in the truest sense with no sound isolation from the environment. Padding (headband and earpads) is microfiber covered memory foam. Comfort is very good thanks to light weight and great breathability around the ears, though not nearly as comfortable as the similarly priced Mr Speakers Aeon series.The pads are firmer, clamping force is higher and my ears touch the inside of the cups, creating a little discomfort after a couple of hours. Also, the suspension headband on the Aeon is just more comfortable. On the other hand, the Focals look a lot better on your head. Sound: The bass on the Elex is a thing of beauty. Meaty and rich with very little bleed or bloat. Just clear, well articulated, and a sense of solidness. The mids and upper mids are fairly prominent and can be a little fatiguing on some tracks. Sonic punch is impressive, adding a lot of excitement to the music. Instruments sound realistic and full bodied. Soundstage wise the Elex is wide and deep with great stability and accuracy. Detail level is better than Audeze LCD-2s but not quite as good as MrSpeakers Aeon series. Comparing specific songs with Mr Speakers Aeon Flow Open (AFO) and Closed (AFC): Aerial Boundaries (Michael Hedges) AFC generates the most detail but Elex creates the best soundstage. WIth the AFC and AFO you hear amazing amount of detail in the notes- every vibration of the string against the fret and slide of the hand down the neck. String plucks come through loud and clear on the AFC and AFO, not so present on Elex. However the Elex pulls more information out of the reverberations and echos making it sound like you’re in a smallish venue listening to a master guitarist. To me it sounds like the difference between what you would hear if you were playing the instrument (AFC and AFO) vs sitting in the audience (Elex). Overall I prefer the Elex for this track. The realism of the Elex wins it. Elisabeth Reed (Allman Brothers) This is a live recording at the R&R club in Los Angeles. On this track the Elex feels more like you’re in the audience, but the sound is fatiguing being somewhat bright and energetic in the upper mids unless using Dekoni fenestrated sheepskin earpads (aftermarket mod). The superior detail of the AFC really shines here capturing the percussive plucking of the strings and interplay between the guitars. The AFO is almost as good in details  and the sound signature really works for this track, being a little recessed in the upper mids and a little warm in the lower mids. I prefer the AFO because it sounds mesmerizing and is capable of hypnotizing you, but the Elex with Dekoni pads is a very close second. Fire the Lazers! (Eoto) Not sure what to call this genre- I guess EDM. Anyway this track really explores what a headphone can do with bass tracks. Not surprisingly the Elex excelled with the bass, but is a little harsh in the upper mids. Dekoni pads solve the harshness though. Soundstage is fairly unimportant on this track and the AFO really sounds great having great bass and a slightly recessed upper midrange. The AFCs do well here as well, beating out the stock Elex thanks to a less fatiguing sound despite less meaty bass. Glory Chords Jam (String Cheese Incident Live) Here is a track that really favors the AFC. The resolution these phone are capable of really comes through and you can hear everything with crystal clarity. Depending on your preferences, either the AFO or the Elex come in second with the AFO being less fatiguing and the Elex providing more realism and better soundstage. Dubai (Mark Whitfield) This is a Chesky binaural jazz recording and one of my favorite tracks. Thanks to it’s imaging abilities, the Elex really puts you in the room with the audience. With the AFC you give up a little soundstage and gain detail and resolution. If you want to hear every breath and subvocalization, go with the AFC, otherwise Elex. The AFOs come in last thanks to their recessed upper mids and less soundstage with the AFC and Elex essentially tied depending on preference. Walking on Sacred Ground (Janice Ian) The treble on this track is a little metallic and the AFO accentuates it, but the sound is intimate and euphonic. The AFOs thicker lower mids give Janice’s voice a rich, slightly husky quality that I enjoy. The AFCs sound similar, though less metallic, more neutral and more sound stage. The Elex does the best to my ears, adding warmth to the vocals and having slightly better imaging than the AFCs. Summary: The Elex has the warmth of the Mr Speaker AFOs, but they also have a great soundstage. The downside is that the sound can be more fatiguing, especially on live rock recordings that have a lot of upper mid range energy. Luckily, it’s pretty easy to address if it bothers you by changing the pads. The level of detail isn’t quite as good as the MrSpeakers AFCs but it’s very close and frankly, I prefer the Elex sound signature especially with changed pads. Hope this helps.
Jan 26, 2019
psmitty77
52
Jan 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Which Dekoni pads? There are a few kind for Focal cans. Which ones did you buy?
Jan 27, 2019
Will_F
29
Jan 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Fenestrated sheepskin. They add a little mid bass, tone down the 5-6Khz peak and smooth out the treble just enough to hit my sonic preferences.
Jan 27, 2019
rastus
833
Oct 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Canned Gravitas… I was hoping for an EH set of cans, endless hours, I think I got them. I have the HD700’s because I wanted no detail left out, yes I have read every review and still wanted everything revealed... well I was hearing it all (almost;),, but not with the depth, clarity and liquid ease that the Elex brings. Blade Runner, Rachel’s Song, Vangelis, DSD 2.8, the whispering airy notes (spacey vacuum noise;) gains detail within itself. Instruments do not fight each other, they maintain their individuality more firmly. Nora Jones, Come Away With Me, DSD 2.8 studio file, a good sibilance gauntlet test, that I feel my older setup with HD700’s passed, it got better,, as though not a recording,, you are present,, and that is the goal. You can push the Elex‘s and they just get better, they blossom, it all holds together and no element gets pushed into the other, room for all. The bass is clean, defined, not a fuzzy hump, but a thump. With the optional Cary PB300, an extra 7200µF plugged in, the driver extension the Elex has, shows it's full capability. Kjling commented here on pairing the Elex with an Audio-gd HE-9; a perfect doppelganger in SS, I would espouse. In fact, something new; left them blasting on the couch, walking away... they don’t sound like cans left running... they sound like speakers... calling you back. The Elex build, look and finish show excellent craftsmanship. Comfort is balanced, the weight is there, but it feels as though they were made for your personal immersion. The Sirens sing now,, I can hear them, current rig; re-constituted extra virgin electrons siphoned from the Sacred fire of Vesta, i.e. a double-conversion UPS > pachyderm power cables > DSD-Audivarna-PC > USB/ Corning Optical-Gemini/LPS > Denafrips Ares > Oyaide AZ-910 > Cary CAD-300SEI w/PB300 > Silver Dragon > Focal/MD Elex's. Every link in the chain... plays...
search

Oct 9, 2018
Showing 71 of 468