Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Showing 1 of 46 reviews about:
Shredder
39
Jan 8, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Open Planars!
These solid planars really evoke an image of "solid walls of sound." The bass slaps, the detail is great, and I gave it a little mod to make it look and feel like its brother the Ananda.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 8, 2020
Muscle_Cow
927
Jan 10, 2020
bookmark_border
ShredderWhere did you get the headband of the Ananda? I have an Arya and I like the Ananda headband more :]
Jan 10, 2020
Shredder
39
Jan 12, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowI just contacted Hifiman for a replacement head band for the Ananda, say you just want to replace it, not use warranty. They are just hybrid headbands with different yokes $125+shipping.
Jan 12, 2020
Mendy770
76
Jan 23, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowHey, I see u writing about an Arya. I was wondering, do u have the edition xx too (or at least heard it) to compare between the 2? If yes, how much better is the Arya from the edition xx?
Jan 23, 2020
Muscle_Cow
927
Jan 23, 2020
bookmark_border
Mendy770I do not have the Edition XX no so I can't compare from a personal standpoint but from what I have gathered, the Arya is on another level than the Edition XX and is superior in soundstage/imaging/spaciousness of sounds and high end resolution. Edition XX is a warmer sound. I can tell you that the Arya is like nothing else I have hear. It is an experience to listen to one when driven properly, especially to high quality recordings and music like bits from Yosi Horikawa will blow your mind. I get shivers listening to it all the time.
Jan 23, 2020
Mendy770
76
Jan 23, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowWOW, sounds amazing!!!!!! One more thing regarding the Arya which I wasn’t sure. People are saying that the edition xx has great bass, and that it goes real deep etc., does the Arya have good bass too? Bc if I were to get the Arya, there needs to be good bass. To clarify, I’m not looking for bass heavy, I’m looking for clean, deep and enough, there has to be enough!!!
Jan 23, 2020
tuga45
31
Jan 24, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowHi muscle_cow. So you bought the Arya, i´m looking for a HP to complement my ZMF Aeolus that i got for christmas. The Arya is 1.200€ in a local store, but i was always afraid to buy Hifiman because of poor built quality. How are they in that department? i aws looking towards the Clear, i want a more neutral/bright HP to complement the Aeolus. Do you think the Arya´s will be a good choice. Thanks for your help everytime.
Jan 24, 2020
Muscle_Cow
927
Jan 24, 2020
bookmark_border
Mendy770I find it to be very good.. what is a song that you would listen to? Tell me and I will listen to it on Tidal and let you know how the bass comes through. @tuga45 The Arya is a very resolving in the high end, but I never find it too much or too bright to the point that it bothers me. If the Clear takes on any qualities from the Elear, I would say that the Arya sounds much more open and spacious with excellent layering of sounds and finite details that can be discovered within the music, where the Elear (possibly Clear) sends the Vocals more directly at you while still being spacious and retaining good imaging, just not nearly as much as the Arya. The experience I have with the Arya is that I can listen to the same songs back to back and each time, 'search' for more sounds within the field of sound being presented to me... it's almost like I can always find more details the more I look and I absolutely love that... it is like Where's Waldo in the headphone world! To both of you @Mendy770 @tuga45 ... I will be expanding my existing YouTube channel which up until now was focused primarily on gaming where I plan to do some of my own spins on audio reviews and sound demos... I am waiting on some more gear to arrive but I want to try both a Binaural mic and paired condenser mics using Ear Replica placement to try to best capture the experience. I will let the Drop community know when I am ready to go :]
Jan 24, 2020
Mendy770
76
Jan 24, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowOh wow, to hear a song specifically for me, that’s very kind of you!! To be honest, because I’m Jewish, I listen mainly to Jewish music. I listen to sooo much stuff in the music world. If you can do one song for me it would be on YouTube. Avraham fried Sholom aleichem. It’s a relatively new version of this old song, it was sung in Israel with a massive orchestra. Tons and tons of details, something that you can prob Listen to forever with the Arya and not finish getting all the details!!!! Specifically in this song, the bass isn’t crazy. It’s like the regular concert bass reproduction. If you can listen to one more song for me that’s actually on tidal and would be a better judgement for bass that would be greatly appreciated!! It’s called “miracles” from the king of Jewish music, Mordechai Ben David on his cd called “the double album”. he has another cd called “the English collection” which has the same song, but on “the double album” the song is much better, much more instruments, much more rich etc. This song is on tidal if you can do that for me, that would be much appreciated!!!!
Jan 24, 2020
tuga45
31
Jan 24, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_CowThanks Muscle_Cow, let me know, us know when you are set with the channel. :)
Jan 24, 2020
Mendy770
76
Jan 26, 2020
bookmark_border
Muscle_Cow“Tonality was off (“plasticky, hollow”). Especially noticeable on wooden instruments like strings. Highs were in some areas quite peaky. As a result, some tones and voices sounded borderline to become harsh, however not on HD800 level. Vocals sounded subjectively worse in tonality than HD600 and “s” “t” sounds were sometimes a little bit edgy. However, tonality is an issue for almost all headphones here except maybe for the STAX SR L300.“ this is a copy for a review that I was reading on head-fi.org. Do u have the same experience?
Jan 26, 2020
brandonwhm
6
Nov 13, 2020
bookmark_border
ShredderHey, I know this was posted a while ago but I just wanted to know if it's just as simple as unscrewing the hex screws holding the cups on and screwing the new headband on ?
Nov 13, 2020
Shredder
39
Nov 17, 2020
bookmark_border
brandonwhmHonestly, be careful with unscrewing the original screws, it might be safer to open the chassis and support the brass back on the inside. One of mine stripped out internally and I had to jury rig it with the new screw. As for the disassembly of the headphone itself, the routing of one of the wires is a little tricky, but otherwise a rather uneventful reassemble. Just be clean about it: minimize any dirt/particulate in the driver. As you can see, it turns out just like an ananda.
Nov 17, 2020
brandonwhm
6
Nov 17, 2020
bookmark_border
ShredderThanks for the reply! Doesn't sound like it's really worth it for me then. Don't really wanna risk anything
Nov 17, 2020
Timwillhack
25
Feb 9, 2022
bookmark_border
Shredderwondering if you still have these?
Feb 9, 2022
Shredder
39
Feb 26, 2022
bookmark_border
TimwillhackYeah, they are fun to listen to. Especially when I want darker sound.
Feb 26, 2022
See More Reviews
Related Products