Massdrop x Klymit Pillow X

Massdrop x Klymit Pillow X

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
813 requests
13.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Driven to make ultralight backpacking more accessible for everyone, we teamed up with Klymit to create a packable pillow with a great weight-to-performance ratio at an incredible value. The result is the Pillow X Ultra Light, made from 20d nylon in a green color that blends in nicely with wilderness surroundings Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
255
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
PsychoMike
6
Aug 7, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A little slick, but otherwise great
I grabbed the large sized one. Received it the other day and I was actually really pleasantly surprised by the size of the package....very compact. I gave it a trial run in preparation for a multi-day even coming up in a couple weeks, so here are my thoughts. Inflation: I'm a good sized guy and it only took 4-5 breaths to get it pleasantly plump. It's made of a typical ripstop nylon, so it's a little "singy" if you slide around a lot and can be a little slick / prone to move around. The valve is pretty typical of most air pads and self-inflating pads. I'm not typically a back sleeper, but for those who do, the low spot locks you in pretty good. When trying it on the back, I put a bit more air in to give it maximum depth. As a side sleeper, I don't think it is ideal for going straight to the sleeping mat...chances are it will be a bit thin to give great support by itself....but don't forget, it's an ultralight pillow, not a super deep base camp pillow. For me, I like side sleeping with an arm up, so with a little less air, it locked beautifully onto my arm/shoulder and gave great head support. I actually found it surprisingly comfy for such a compact pillow . On the tummy, I sleep with my arms up and crossed under my head. In this position, my arms trapped the pillow nicely, so no movement there. I ran the pillow a little softer and found it quite comfy without bottoming out on my arms at all. Overall, if you're packing light, but still want a pillow, I'd say this is a very good option.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
WilliamOakley
9
Apr 3, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The "x-pattern" of the pillow helps keep your head on it in which makes it great for travel as well. I took this on a 6-hour flight and slept the whole time; woke up in the same place I fell asleep. I also use it as a lower back pillow at work which is nice.
It's a little difficult to roll up once you've inflated it, I'm not sure if making more paths in-between each chamber would help but rolling the air out of it can be quite a challenge as is. Otherwise it's an excellent product.
SabotenBeer
18
Jan 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Light, moderately comfortable, but too slippery
First try with it was during some winter camping in early January. I had planned to slip it into the pillow cover part of my bag liner, but that put it in an uncomfortable position. So, it ended up on top of my Massdrop X Klymit ultralight sleeping pad. While it was better than a pile of clothes in a stuff bag, and all in not bad to sleep on, the damn thing was too slippery and worked its way out from under my head a few times in the night. Think some double sided Velcro or something is in order for the next trip.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MatchaLatte
12
Mar 14, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My "go-to" pillow! Pack this on every single trip I've taken, whether tent, hammock, or open air. So small the weight/space is honestly negligible. Big neck saver the next morning when you wake up!
ZacharyRobbins
27
Dec 4, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really don't like this pillow. I've always used stuff sacks with clothes or my down jacket in the past. I thought I'd take the plunge buying this as my first pillow due to its low cost and weight. The only people I can see liking this pillow are back sleepers who fall to sleep easily. Otherwise the deep X indentation is very uncomfortable for side and stomach sleepers since it forces your mouth and nose to get somewhat buried in the middle of the pillow. Even when I covered the pillow with a shirt I often found the middle of the X moist from drool and condensation. I wouldn't recommend this pillow for most backpackers, you can buy better pillows from Exped, NEMO, Cocoon, Therm-a-rest, and Sea to Summit for a little bit more money and weight. I bought a Cocoon HyperLight that weighs only 0.8 oz more and is far more comfortable than this. Pros: Extremely lightweight and compact Easy to inflate Cons: Not comfortable at all Does not work well when under-inflated The X design means you have to place your head in the middle of the X indentation because otherwise your head will slide off the pillow And the X design sucks for side and stomach sleepers because you'll often find your face plastered to the middle of the X with condensation and drool
Shotout
3
Jun 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I’ve made better pillows out of rocks
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
megalonzerg
89
Jun 23, 2020
ouch.
Rassasha
2
May 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hardly can be used without a soft cover. Very slippery otherwise and not cozy..
Screwedover
20
Jan 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome!!!! And in my "To-Go Bag" as my Travel pillow for all the same reasons listed below by other 4 & 5 Star, community member reviews. Regarding “Additional Comfort”, 5 stars were not provided here, as prior to purchase I was informed that the Pillow X would fit into the back pouch of the Klimit Top Down Pillow. The ability to combine the two pillows to create a hybrid with enhanced comfort, while being able to keep them together over the course of an evening’s sleep was most appealing. Problem: Unfortunately the 2 are not compatible in this respect, as the pouch provided on the Top Down Pillow is too small to accommodate the pillow X when properly inflated. Solution: Incorporating a material into the pouch design would allow the pouch to stretch over the Pillow X and solve the problem. Benefit: Stretchy back pouch will provide more flexibility for alterative applications, such as the ability to fit the headrest of a car seat into the pouch. Perfect for times when you’re trying to get a few winks in your Ride! 
KC32
14
Sep 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very light but quite slippery
Overall very light and a decent size and shape (large) but I found it slipped around a fair bit, especially on top of my Klymit sleep pad. Need to find a way to keep it from moving around. Might try putting a T-shirt over it at night.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
KP78
25
Oct 26, 2019
I stuck velcro to the pillow and sleeping pad with super glue. Kinda does the job.
audobon
3
Aug 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
ligth but noisy
Ligero pero ruidoso. Es necesario meterlo en una camiseta, y entonces la forma ahondada se adaptara perfectamente a tu nuca sin deslizarse. Durmiendo de lado es suficientemente grueso para no tener la cabeza caida.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 263
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order