Massdrop x Koss ESP/95X Electrostatic System
Massdrop x Koss ESP/95X Electrostatic System
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.5k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A revival of the standard-setting ESP/950 released by Koss in 1990, these headphones bring electrostatic quality into a whole new price bracket. Initially designed for live recording, the ESP/950 came with a large carrying case and a battery pack to power the required energizer: a special amplifier for electrostatic drivers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
134
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
Myxer
0
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is amazingly sounding headphones with a signature similar to sennheiser hd600/650 just without that strange veil of a dynamic speaker, unfortunately unit i have received came with a strange buzzing in right speaker that sometimes turns into whining and back to buzzing. Seeing as a lot of people have same or similar problem it seems very common QC issue and because of that i can't recommend it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Apr 10, 2020
acentre
0
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Time machine
Who would not like to travel backward in time? Miles Davis live at the Blackhawk, Grateful Dead in NY June 76, these headphone reveal and reproduce those live experiences. I hear Jerry’s between songs banter, dare I hear his fingers on the strings! $400 a steal, get them now! Enjoy, hearing you in the past.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 10, 2020
mrsallee
117
Super* Review
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Dope sound, iffy build
Sound is great. It’s a somewhat warm midrange with light bass. Treble does not feel especially forward, but it still stands out with excellent detail and an airiness that belies its warm tune. Headphone is extremely comfortable, weightless on the head. But it’s a product of a lightweight plastic build that just doesn’t feel awesome. I’m not worried about longevity — it’s not that kind of cheap, and in Koss warranty I trust — it just lacks the satisfaction of squeezing into a tightly-formed HD600. The dual volume knob is quite meh, though I’m using my Schiit Vali as a pre-amp which lets me set-and-forget the knob on the ESP box. If you’ve got an amp with pre-amp outputs, I recommend the same.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 10, 2020
Reedo
94
Apr 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Welcome to the rabbit hole
A phenomenal deal for the price. Excellent detail retrieval, that classic electrostatic immediacy, and the fact that you get an energizer and the headphones is an under appreciated perk of the purchase. The ESP/95X plus a cheap DAC is about the same cost as a good set of dynamics/planars plus a DAC and amp, and you'd have to get a much nicer/more expensive pair of traditional headphones to get this level of performance.
Apr 10, 2020
psyco_ninja
2
Apr 9, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great window into the world of electrostatics. These are not the greatest head speakers in the world, nor are they the best electrostatics, what they are is a great example of what the 3rd and more unusual speaker design type can offer in terms of musical fidelity at a reasonable cost. They have very little bass, you know its there its just not impactful, but if you like acoustic guitar music, fast paced string instruments, these head speakers shine in those areas, fast, accurate and airy straight into your ears as quick as you can process it. A mark of great audio reproduction in my opinion, is when you hear a song you know on a new device and you begin to hear things you wouldn't on other setups, these do that with some music genres. If you like music and have a few set of headphones already and want something different, these are a great introduction into a whole new world of music playback.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 9, 2020
realname
1
Apr 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
what a sound!!
sound detail absolutely good!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 1, 2020
PsytruK
6
Mar 28, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sounding but horrible QC
One of my favorite headphones acoustically, but my unit immediately developed a buzzing coil whine like noise after ~30 minutes of play. Was able to get a replacement unit exchanged, but new one encounters the exact same issue. Sound absolutely incredible for a period of time, before the buzzing arrived and gradually gets louder until the unit is powered off for ~2 hours. I've checked for hairs in the drivers with no luck. Volume controls are also a little annoying. My unit has pretty bad channel imbalance, so individual tuning is good, I just wish there was a better way to adjust both sides evenly. Even though this is hands down the best sounding headphone I've heard, with the immediate response electrostatic headphones can deliver, listening to albums I've heard my entire life was a new experience. The rumbling these produced in fear inoculum was something I've never experienced in a headphone before. However, I absolutely cannot recommend these in good faith that the customer will receive a working product. I wish I could use these more.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mar 28, 2020
Rouwish
0
Mar 31, 2020
bookmark_border
The coiling sound will go away after a few months usage, granted i don't know if it will appear again. But I had it before and its completely gone now luckily. Just use them or burn them in with pink sound on YouTube and it will go away pretty fast :)
Mar 31, 2020
awanday
11
Apr 4, 2020
bookmark_border
I am the first batch of this system .because of the buzzing coil sound i put it aside for a year :lol. Cant even stand listening to them with buzzing sound
Apr 4, 2020
Razor74
2
Mar 23, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pure clean fast crisp, music the way its meant to sound.
If you have not already purchased these amazing ear speakers, stop reading this and do so now. At $400 we are all but stealing these, its hard to believe that this 20 year old technology, obviously far ahead of its time, but still relevant today. If you want to hear music as it was meant to be listened to look no further. These have a clear clean crisp fast and pure sound with no role off. They really shine with jazz instrumentals and vocals, though you will not get all you can with just the stock energizer as many have noted the energizer is the weak link in this system. While they still sound good they do lack some bass and overal warmth without a good EQ DAC or even better a good tube amp. Mine have really shined coupled with my Little Dot II, I know not quite the best tube amp, but on a budget with the right tubes these sound simply amazing. The more you listen with burn in time the better they sound. Over time I plan on upgrading my tube amp, but for now I'm completely satisfied. I have many audiophile grade phones HD 700, HD 598, HE4XX, AKG K340, Sennheiser IE 800's just to name a few and these are now my go to ear speakers. Thanks Drop and keep up the good work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 23, 2020
mah_trees
1
Mar 18, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound good, high comfort
They are super lightweight so it feels.like I can wear them for hours on end without fatigue. Sounds like vocals and background instruments are quite sharp. Only one complaint so far but it was user error. These cans are so symmetrical that I tend to not realize if they are on backwards and it messes me up real bad in certain video games. Each can is marked for what ear but only on the back so if you grab them backwards you wont see the markers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mar 18, 2020
Gramblor
40
Apr 1, 2020
bookmark_border
Put a piece of red tape on the cable connecting to the right ear cup. That way, at a glance, you'll know which side is which :)
Apr 1, 2020
mah_trees
1
Apr 1, 2020
bookmark_border
That's brilliant, I can't believe I hadn't thought of that! I've just been extra careful putting them on haha. Thanks.
Apr 1, 2020
v3kt0r
7
Mar 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I think Humanity just have turned wrong (easy) way at some point and went with dynamic headphones instead of electrostatic. I personally compare them to Beyerdynamic T1v2 which were superior for me until ESP/95x I took one star off because of construction quality, which can't be described as "superior", unfortunately. Rest is amazing. Mids to kill for! Wanted to add something regarding bass... I own legendary (sealed) Cabasse Sloop M4 speakers from 80s and they are amazing but not bass insane as nowadays speakers. I think we just spoiled with unnecessary bass which is pretty addicted and keep forgetting how controlled bass line should be.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mar 14, 2020
Showing 14 of 400
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
400 OF 400 POSTS
Apr 10, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest