Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
468 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The Planamic in-ear monitors use an entirely new type of driver, designed in-house by MEE audio with feedback from the Massdrop team and community. Combining the benefits of planar-magnetic and dynamic drivers, this design yields a sound unlike any other in our IEM lineup Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
49
check
62%
would recommend to a friend
search
mmonks
5
Dec 15, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent bass, low THD, so responds to Eq well. I'm treble sensitive so appreciate the ability to adjust sound signature. Fit & comfort is excellent. Build quality - solid, looks like a quality IEM. Would buy again, and probably will to have a spare set. Also just to mention these respond to a bit of amping very well in fact I tend to listen to them through my Pico Power, Fiio F5 from my LG V20/Hiby R6/iBasso DX150/Fiio x7. Familiar with planar sound characteristics from my Hifiman H400S, H4XX, Oppo PM3, Fostex T50RP, Fostex T60RP & HD650s. A lot of planars in that bunch so guess I've just identified my preferred listening signature.
(Edited)
Dec 15, 2018
blaidan
0
Apr 21, 2020
bookmark_border
As one that has also accumulated a number of higher end rigs trying to find the perfect sound, what are you doing with your older cans? Are you saving them or selling, or gifting even? Thanks for your feedback!
Apr 21, 2020
Elvan
23
Nov 22, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
At first wasn't impressed but after using 5 days on different songs, eartips & burn in, I find it sounds much better together with the stock double flange tips.
Nov 22, 2018
verifonix
885
Nov 30, 2018
bookmark_border
Same man. Love them!
Nov 30, 2018
SoundAboutTown
68
Dec 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones have been with me for a few weeks now. At first I was very impressed. I wrote a positive review here on Massdrop which I took down after only a few hours. After listening to them some more I found some flaws that really troubled me. Then I figured it would be best to take some time with them and get to know them, as is always a best practice with new audio gear. Some of the critical reviews below make some valid points. Then again, as the date stamps indicate, a lot of these reviews were written, like mine initially, within just days of these units shipping for the first time. None of us were taking the time to get to know these headphones. Ultimately the true test of audio equipment is the test of time. So, after having these for a couple of weeks I decided to pick them up again, and finally "listen without prejudice". Here is what I'm finding. In my opinion there are two ways people approach Massdrop and two ways to approach audio gear. Some look to make their dollars stretch as far as possible in a quest to get the best possible single system they can afford while operating on a budget. Others can be so accustomed to shopping for audio equipment they are looking for smart ways to keep costs from getting out of hand as they explore sound by building out a collection of interesting gear. If that seems like a reasonable distinction to you, then I think it is possible to approach evaluating these according to the different demands of these two types of shoppers / buyers. If you are looking to get a single "best" pair of headphones at this price and you want the best sound possible, then these might not be a fit. I write "might" because I don't think they should be discounted entirely. While there are definitely other headphones in the same price range here on Massdrop that are better "all round"ers, specifically the Mee Pinnacle P1, some of these headphones won't produce solid results unless you have gear optimized for supporting them. On the other hand for a listener interested in, or perhaps previously accustomed to a forceful low end sound, these are very easy to drive, and would provide a tremendous leap in quality over usual suspect Beats headphones (in this price range). For those who have written critically about the bass emphasis of the Planamics It's worth considering a headphone in this range that is widely held in high regard is the Shure se215. That's another bass heavy headphone with a dark timbre. I think the Planamics are much tighter in their low end presentation and much much faster overall than the Shure se215. For this reason I would say that just as the Shure se215s often get a good review as an entry level first "serious" IEM, I think the Planamics are worthy of consideration even if one is on a budget and can't afford more than one headphone. In my opinion there *are* more accurate sounding headphones in this price range that I would recommend. BUT, if you are listening from a device, such as a phone, that isn't optimized for audio, and if solid deep low end is your preferred sound signature, I don't think these will leave you disappointed. With that said, if you have a good audio source with a powerful amplifier, I'd recommend the Mee Pinnacle 1s over these in a heartbeat. Similarly, if you are looking for one headphone, and CAN potentially go a bit higher on cost, check out the Fiio FH5, or the BGVP DM6. There are definitely much more flexible IEMs out there that can compliment a broader palate of tastes and music styles if you are open to complimenting them with the right gear. Now, for folks who are interested in having a collection of headphones, I think you might want to take some of the negative reviews here with a grain of salt. I think they all make valid points if they are written for people who are looking to get the most neutral transparent headphone possible. These are not neutral. They are colored. Coloration in audio should not be a dirty word for people interested in having a collection of headphones. In fact, coloration is one of the key reasons to have a collection of headphones. While it is definitely highly desirable to identify a key reference sound and system, and then build out from there when building one's own collection, having different headphones to compliment different needs is not a bad thing. In my opinion, this is a place where these headphones shine. In fact, this is also a place where they arguably represent tremendous bang for buck. As much as a reference sound is super desirable, and *should* come first in building out a system, sometimes it's rewarding to be able to scratch different itches. While colored sound in headphones is sometimes dismissed in headphone circles as being a bit like resorting to an EQ, what makes owning a headphone collection so rewarding is that there is actually more to a headphone than just frequency response. There are other characteristics such as the speed of handling attacks and decays and transients. Adjusting the EQ on Shure se215s will produce very different results than adjusting the EQ on the Planamics for example. This is because the se215s are dynamic and dynamic drivers are usually a bit less quick and responsive than planar drivers. The Planamics are tight and fast in their bass response, and they remain pretty sharp and fast across the spectrum. At their price they are easy to afford as a non bloated, high quality "bass head" IEM for when the mood strikes. In addition to their very welcome approach to emphasizing the low end, they also image extremely well. While not offering the widest of soundstages it is much wider than most (for an IEM). For headphone enthusiasts I would say that not until you get to something like a Sennheiser ie8 will you find a wider presentation. Indeed the Planamic is a very worthy headphone for consideration by fans of the venerable Sennheiser ie8. The Sennheiser ie8 was a highly well regarded bass emphasized IEM. The Planamic is faster than the ie8, and the bass is tighter and more organic. With that said, the highs aren't as lush as the ie8, and the soundstage is narrower. But then, that's because it is a different headphone. While it is a bit darker than the ie8, I'm still glad to own both. For headphone enthusiasts, I think the Planamic is an interesting cost effective very high quality bass head IEM. It is fast and dynamic and images well. It provides a pleasant listening experience even though it can be dark and intimate in it's presentation, and definitely lacks a sense of 'air' on top. Alternately, for anyone trying to get a single pair of IEMs it is worthy of consideration IF one has a very strong predisposition for a bass forward sound signature and is planning to listen on a non music optimized device with a so so headphone amplifier, such as a consumer grade cell phone. When taking these considerations into account, I think the Planamic is a solid performer at its price point.
(Edited)
Dec 13, 2018
SoundAboutTown
68
Dec 17, 2018
bookmark_border
Thanks for your note. Cheers.
(Edited)
Dec 17, 2018
SoundAboutTown
68
Dec 17, 2018
bookmark_border
I don't know that HIDIZS piece, but looks super interesting. Re: your impressions of the Planamic, they make sense to me. I don't know that I find the vocals scream for me, but I think that without emphasis on the highs everything else stands out more. I think that's basically the issue. I really enjoy the sound of drum kits and upright bass on these.
Dec 17, 2018
fgfgfg0923
5
Jan 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome dynamic but crisp sound, everyone who tells that they're bad just didn't apply enough current amplification
Jan 14, 2019
ostalon
2
Jun 26, 2019
bookmark_border
How to provide current amplification? Through which portable amplifier? Please reply.
Jun 26, 2019
PopZeus
319
Jan 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Apologies for rewriting this review: IEM preferences are often intensely personal for a variety of reasons, so I find it hard to often make recommendations. After having had the Planamic IEM for a few weeks, the tl;dr is they sound uniquely great (especially if you don’t particularly love balanced armature or hybrid IEMs) with one major caveat. The treble drops off way too much, causing the mids to sound too far forward. Tuning preferences are subjective, but I think most listeners would agree with that statement. Detail and soundstage are above average for the price, and the design ergonomics are quite comfortable, so the Planamic IEM is still a really good value. Honestly, it’s so close to perfection that any flaws can come off as a bit frustrating (but thankfully avoidable since this IEM actually takes to EQ quite well). I’ve never heard an IEM like this before, and as the kids say, I’m here for it. Conventional wisdom is that dynamic drivers tend to sound like physical material the driver is made from, and my experience has done nothing to dissuade me from that. But just from listening to it, I can’t tell what material this driver is made from. However, the description from Massdrop is correct. It’s warm, coherent, rich, liquid. The timbre of the planamic is so singular, even from well-considered single dynamic driver designs. And it goes in the complete opposite direction of most BA designs I’ve heard.  I’ve become a big R2R DAC convert in the past year, and it’s because the technology turns digital ones and zeros into something smoother, more analog. Even tube-like on occasion. With that kind of sound coming from my home DAC, I’m free to pair it with the most dynamic, resolving, tight headphones I can afford. The great thing about the Planamic IEM is it allows you to have more flexibility with that sound. When paired with a drier D-S chip DAC, it makes that device sound smoother and more analog. This is perfect for DAPs and other portables, which tend to be delta-sigma designs exclusively.  Once you get the EQ to your tastes, it’s very easy to sit and listen to music for hours, when you only planned on listening for a few minutes. And I think that’s the sign of a great audio product; it gets you back into your music. But the, uh, unique tuning is ultimately the rub. Depending on your source, amping, cables, tips and personal taste, I found boosting the 8k and 16k band of my Shanling M5s' EQ by 4-7 dB puts the treble closer to the same perceptive range as the mids and bass. I’m using a silver-plated balanced cable and spiral dot tips, so my EQ recommendations are based on that set up. SE copper cables, foam tips, brighter DAP tuning, etc will alter the amount of EQ needed to make one happy.
(Edited)
Jan 11, 2019
exsomnis
55
Dec 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I hope MEE Audio continues to develop these drivers and pushes the performance envelope. As a first try, with a new driver of their own design, it's a good start. There's plenty of dynamics, slam and punch. It sounds like the old LCD 2rev2 - dark, intimate and dynamic and in the same way, requires some getting used to. I don't like bright headphones/IEMs and these are definitely not bright but they are dark to the point of missing some ambient cues and treble information, as well as producing an imbalanced frequency response. This is not something you worry about, if all you're listening to is this because as you're listening to them you get used to the closed in and dynamic nature of the sound. However, if you were ever to touch another pair of IEMs or headphones, you'd realise how unique the Planamics sound. Some can get used to them, others can't. 3 stars because I want MEE Audio to improve them more, not because they're terrible. Edit: 3 stars also because I have a pair of Final E3000C IEMs costing $40-$50 that really put these to shame in comparison.
(Edited)
Dec 21, 2018
Bailey2013
188
Jan 30, 2019
bookmark_border
thank you for the suggestion. E5000 is definitely on my mind. however, CA comet and Kanas Pro are enroute to me, so I guess E5000 has to be wait, unfortunately.
Jan 30, 2019
derbagger22
61
Mar 12, 2019
bookmark_border
What if I prefer the E2000 to the E3000?
Mar 12, 2019
Calvi
6
Dec 4, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The built quailty on this is excellent imo. Cable is really nice. Comfort is 1 of the best i have tried so far along the nuforce series. Bass is tight and deep, best aspect of this iem. This is a really warm one, very easy to listen for long hours. No ear fatigue from this. Using this to play games on nintendo switch is very satisfying due to the bass. Soundstage and vocal is ok. Comparing to the other iem i have used: fxa2, ie80, edc, fh1, n40... Planamic is the least exciting imo. It lacks the dynamic and sparkles. Listening to billie jean feels veil/dull. I was quite excited about this new driver but really there is nothing special at least to me. Perhaps just the bass and comfort stands out. Overall, i'm still quite happy with this for its built, comfort and non fatigue signature. Update: After using for few more days, i discovered that turning up the volume makes a lot of difference. Listening with the normal volume i listen to (which is 50, within safe hearing level), the planamic sounded kind of veil, but once i cranked up the volume, this thing came alive. Fyi, i'm using LG V30+. It became way more dynamic and engaging, very good quality bass. One thing for sure, the sound doesn't distort at all even at full volume. TL:DR, This IEM shine at higher volume.
Dec 4, 2018
syknetz
13
Dec 17, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This isn't a 3/5 pair of IEM. Those are either a 1/5 or a 4/5, with nice rounding-up thanks to it being well-accesorized (a whole bunch of tops and two cables). If you only want IEMs for listening to people speaking, those are fine, but why are you spending that much money. If you don't EQ them, they sound dreadful. It sounds unnatural, with overwhelming, muddy bass, and a lack of treble. If you EQ them appropriately (look up a parametric EQ profile for them, the one I used was 7 band) though, they sound good. Not great, but in what I'd consider better half of that price range. But you absolutely NEED a parametric EQ, so those are a hard sell for mobile use. Pinnacle PX are much better in my experience.
Dec 17, 2018
verifonix
885
Dec 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After unboxing, I listened to it for 15 minutes and left them plugged in to allow them to burn in. After 50 hours some harshness that was there was gone and the sound signature seems settled. It's a good sound for the $150 price. But nothing amazing. The details are there and the bass is good. But I don't hear much extension in the lows. And not much extension at the top. Not much air either at the top. The soundstage width is average and not much depth. Separation is average or slightly below average. The resolution is also average. This is par for the $150 price range.  They are good for on the road/travel, movies and casual music listening especially for when a full-size headphone is not really an option. They are not as bad as some of these reviews make them out to be. But nowadays there's fierce competition of the likes of blon BL-03 for example, which are cheaper to boot.
(Edited)
Dec 1, 2018
verifonix
885
Jan 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Music. But honestly it doesn't do much and might be in my mind, it's just that when they get straight out of the factory they tend to sound bad? Idk
Jan 17, 2019
Draeftlore
38
Jan 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Ok thanks.
Jan 17, 2019
ccm220
195
Nov 26, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After a week of on and off burn-in, trying different sources, tip rolling and a bit of cable rolling to try and get these to meet my expectations, I must regretfully conclude that these are simply not that good or rather, they have no reason to exist. I love the planar sound. So much that I use the UM ME.1 and isine20 as my daily drivers despite owning much more expensive IEMs. When MD announced the Planamics, I thought it would be a solid middle-ground solution to the typical planar IEM issues (Lack of comfort, isolation, massive UFO appearance etc.) and against my better judgement, I blindly bought them. It turns out, this is more of a middle-ground solution towards the typical dynamic driver issues but at the cost of much higher production costs without the sound to back it up. Let's start with the positives, The build quality is solid yet lightweight, comfort is not an issue at all. The accessories are not premium but adequate. The planamic is a strong bass performer with clean, tight and punchy lows that bare some semblance to planars. Utilizing planar technology to improve THD performance really does shine here as dynamic drivers struggle the most with THD at low frequencies. Annnd that's it. The rest of the sound is in short, disappointing. When you first put these on, there's dark undertone that immediately reminded me of Audeze but it quickly becomes clear that these are not the same warm tuning but a rather aggressive V-shape. Some people will no doubt find these sibilant, but I love treble. The problem here is that the resolution of any frequencies above sub-bass are mediocre at best. The treble has extension but it sounds muddy. Mids are more or less the same and it doesn’t help that mids are highly recessed; especially female vocals which get drowned out by the lows and highs on certain tracks. The soundstage is also quite small. This works fine on certain IEMs that are more neutral and have better resolution (ie. ETY ER4) but here, it amplifies the lack of clarity with too many sounds sounding bunched up together. I want to be clear since I was pretty critical with them. These are not completely awful; you're not getting a pair of beats. However, they are not competitive at all at this price point. Within the same range, you can get entry-level planar IEMs in the Monolith M300 or the isine LX, both are much better in terms of sound. If comfort or isolation is a concern, you can get the BGVP DM6, ETY ER3, TFZ King Pro, iBasso It01, and I can keep going with relatively unknown Chifi brands. Hell, my TFZ Galaxy T2 which retails for $50 has better treble clarity than these. For $150, it feels like you bought a tech-experiment. An experiment that set out to deal with the typical struggles of dynamic drivers which it succeeds in doing but along the way, forgot that headphones are supposed to sound good above all else. I would like to see the tech utilized with better drivers and more attention to tuning in the future but MD & MEE really dropped the ball on this one for me. Sources Tested: Chord Hugo 2 Chord Mojo Woo WA8 RME ADI-2 DAC Hiby R6 with IEMatch Shanling M0 LG V20 VIVO Nex
Nov 26, 2018
Showing 29 of 84