Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors

Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
The Planamic in-ear monitors use an entirely new type of driver, designed in-house by MEE audio with feedback from the Massdrop team and community. Combining the benefits of planar-magnetic and dynamic drivers, this design yields a sound unlike any other in our IEM lineup Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
86
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
GeoferyThePig
8
Apr 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are unsettlingly good.
When I say good I am talking from the perspective of someone who likes a fun headphone. These have enough low end to satisfy and have a sound stage that took me by surprise. At high volumes the highs can be fatiguing, but as many have said these are set up in a way that responds well to EQ, I personally haven't played around with it yet so I can't speak too much on the idea. I've ran them off of a phone (oneplus 8 with a generic USB-C to 3.5 adapter) and a Schiit Vali 2 and I will say that while these don't need extra power, they do like it. The build on them is solid. It's a plastic housing but it does feel and look nice. The shape is somewhat intrusive, at least in my ears, but with a little experimenting with different tip configurations you will be able to find a comfortable fit. The included cables are not impressive, but they will work. If you want to upgrade there are plenty of options and I personally got a replacement from LinSoul, they feel and work great and are offered in balanced and single ended. Plus they're only $20 and available on Amazon. Overall quite impressed with these little guys, especially at the price. I was a little hesitant about the new technology that the drivers use, but after hearing them I'm looking forward to seeing more of it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Elvan
23
Nov 22, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
At first wasn't impressed but after using 5 days on different songs, eartips & burn in, I find it sounds much better together with the stock double flange tips.
verifonix
1105
Nov 30, 2018
Same man. Love them!
SoundAboutTown
80
Dec 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones have been with me for a few weeks now. At first I was very impressed. I wrote a positive review here on Massdrop which I took down after only a few hours. After listening to them some more I found some flaws that really troubled me. Then I figured it would be best to take some time with them and get to know them, as is always a best practice with new audio gear. Some of the critical reviews below make some valid points. Then again, as the date stamps indicate, a lot of these reviews were written, like mine initially, within just days of these units shipping for the first time. None of us were taking the time to get to know these headphones. Ultimately the true test of audio equipment is the test of time. So, after having these for a couple of weeks I decided to pick them up again, and finally "listen without prejudice". Here is what I'm finding. In my opinion there are two ways people approach Massdrop and two ways to approach audio gear. Some look to make their dollars stretch as far as possible in a quest to get the best possible single system they can afford while operating on a budget. Others can be so accustomed to shopping for audio equipment they are looking for smart ways to keep costs from getting out of hand as they explore sound by building out a collection of interesting gear. If that seems like a reasonable distinction to you, then I think it is possible to approach evaluating these according to the different demands of these two types of shoppers / buyers. If you are looking to get a single "best" pair of headphones at this price and you want the best sound possible, then these might not be a fit. I write "might" because I don't think they should be discounted entirely. While there are definitely other headphones in the same price range here on Massdrop that are better "all round"ers, specifically the Mee Pinnacle P1, some of these headphones won't produce solid results unless you have gear optimized for supporting them. On the other hand for a listener interested in, or perhaps previously accustomed to a forceful low end sound, these are very easy to drive, and would provide a tremendous leap in quality over usual suspect Beats headphones (in this price range). For those who have written critically about the bass emphasis of the Planamics It's worth considering a headphone in this range that is widely held in high regard is the Shure se215. That's another bass heavy headphone with a dark timbre. I think the Planamics are much tighter in their low end presentation and much much faster overall than the Shure se215. For this reason I would say that just as the Shure se215s often get a good review as an entry level first "serious" IEM, I think the Planamics are worthy of consideration even if one is on a budget and can't afford more than one headphone. In my opinion there *are* more accurate sounding headphones in this price range that I would recommend. BUT, if you are listening from a device, such as a phone, that isn't optimized for audio, and if solid deep low end is your preferred sound signature, I don't think these will leave you disappointed. With that said, if you have a good audio source with a powerful amplifier, I'd recommend the Mee Pinnacle 1s over these in a heartbeat. Similarly, if you are looking for one headphone, and CAN potentially go a bit higher on cost, check out the Fiio FH5, or the BGVP DM6. There are definitely much more flexible IEMs out there that can compliment a broader palate of tastes and music styles if you are open to complimenting them with the right gear. Now, for folks who are interested in having a collection of headphones, I think you might want to take some of the negative reviews here with a grain of salt. I think they all make valid points if they are written for people who are looking to get the most neutral transparent headphone possible. These are not neutral. They are colored. Coloration in audio should not be a dirty word for people interested in having a collection of headphones. In fact, coloration is one of the key reasons to have a collection of headphones. While it is definitely highly desirable to identify a key reference sound and system, and then build out from there when building one's own collection, having different headphones to compliment different needs is not a bad thing. In my opinion, this is a place where these headphones shine. In fact, this is also a place where they arguably represent tremendous bang for buck. As much as a reference sound is super desirable, and *should* come first in building out a system, sometimes it's rewarding to be able to scratch different itches. While colored sound in headphones is sometimes dismissed in headphone circles as being a bit like resorting to an EQ, what makes owning a headphone collection so rewarding is that there is actually more to a headphone than just frequency response. There are other characteristics such as the speed of handling attacks and decays and transients. Adjusting the EQ on Shure se215s will produce very different results than adjusting the EQ on the Planamics for example. This is because the se215s are dynamic and dynamic drivers are usually a bit less quick and responsive than planar drivers. The Planamics are tight and fast in their bass response, and they remain pretty sharp and fast across the spectrum. At their price they are easy to afford as a non bloated, high quality "bass head" IEM for when the mood strikes. In addition to their very welcome approach to emphasizing the low end, they also image extremely well. While not offering the widest of soundstages it is much wider than most (for an IEM). For headphone enthusiasts I would say that not until you get to something like a Sennheiser ie8 will you find a wider presentation. Indeed the Planamic is a very worthy headphone for consideration by fans of the venerable Sennheiser ie8. The Sennheiser ie8 was a highly well regarded bass emphasized IEM. The Planamic is faster than the ie8, and the bass is tighter and more organic. With that said, the highs aren't as lush as the ie8, and the soundstage is narrower. But then, that's because it is a different headphone. While it is a bit darker than the ie8, I'm still glad to own both. For headphone enthusiasts, I think the Planamic is an interesting cost effective very high quality bass head IEM. It is fast and dynamic and images well. It provides a pleasant listening experience even though it can be dark and intimate in it's presentation, and definitely lacks a sense of 'air' on top. Alternately, for anyone trying to get a single pair of IEMs it is worthy of consideration IF one has a very strong predisposition for a bass forward sound signature and is planning to listen on a non music optimized device with a so so headphone amplifier, such as a consumer grade cell phone. When taking these considerations into account, I think the Planamic is a solid performer at its price point.
(Edited)
SoundAboutTown
80
Dec 17, 2018
Thanks for your note. Cheers.
(Edited)
SoundAboutTown
80
Dec 17, 2018
I don't know that HIDIZS piece, but looks super interesting. Re: your impressions of the Planamic, they make sense to me. I don't know that I find the vocals scream for me, but I think that without emphasis on the highs everything else stands out more. I think that's basically the issue. I really enjoy the sound of drum kits and upright bass on these.
fgfgfg0923
6
Jan 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome dynamic but crisp sound, everyone who tells that they're bad just didn't apply enough current amplification
ostalon
2
Jun 26, 2019
How to provide current amplification? Through which portable amplifier? Please reply.
PopZeus
339
Jan 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Apologies for rewriting this review: IEM preferences are often intensely personal for a variety of reasons, so I find it hard to often make recommendations. After having had the Planamic IEM for a few weeks, the tl;dr is they sound uniquely great (especially if you don’t particularly love balanced armature or hybrid IEMs) with one major caveat. The treble drops off way too much, causing the mids to sound too far forward. Tuning preferences are subjective, but I think most listeners would agree with that statement. Detail and soundstage are above average for the price, and the design ergonomics are quite comfortable, so the Planamic IEM is still a really good value. Honestly, it’s so close to perfection that any flaws can come off as a bit frustrating (but thankfully avoidable since this IEM actually takes to EQ quite well). I’ve never heard an IEM like this before, and as the kids say, I’m here for it. Conventional wisdom is that dynamic drivers tend to sound like physical material the driver is made from, and my experience has done nothing to dissuade me from that. But just from listening to it, I can’t tell what material this driver is made from. However, the description from Massdrop is correct. It’s warm, coherent, rich, liquid. The timbre of the planamic is so singular, even from well-considered single dynamic driver designs. And it goes in the complete opposite direction of most BA designs I’ve heard.  I’ve become a big R2R DAC convert in the past year, and it’s because the technology turns digital ones and zeros into something smoother, more analog. Even tube-like on occasion. With that kind of sound coming from my home DAC, I’m free to pair it with the most dynamic, resolving, tight headphones I can afford. The great thing about the Planamic IEM is it allows you to have more flexibility with that sound. When paired with a drier D-S chip DAC, it makes that device sound smoother and more analog. This is perfect for DAPs and other portables, which tend to be delta-sigma designs exclusively.  Once you get the EQ to your tastes, it’s very easy to sit and listen to music for hours, when you only planned on listening for a few minutes. And I think that’s the sign of a great audio product; it gets you back into your music. But the, uh, unique tuning is ultimately the rub. Depending on your source, amping, cables, tips and personal taste, I found boosting the 8k and 16k band of my Shanling M5s' EQ by 4-7 dB puts the treble closer to the same perceptive range as the mids and bass. I’m using a silver-plated balanced cable and spiral dot tips, so my EQ recommendations are based on that set up. SE copper cables, foam tips, brighter DAP tuning, etc will alter the amount of EQ needed to make one happy.
(Edited)
dbsylvia
97
Jun 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but not Great
The Planamic from Mee Audio is a unique IEM. I enjoy it but I don't love it. I find that the build quality is fantastic for the price. The included cables are very nice and the fact that you get two, with and without mic, is a nice touch. The mic works well and I never got any complaints about the quality of the mic. I find the comfort to excellent, I can wear the Planamic for hours on end without fatigue or pain. Sound is a mixed bag. Bass is deep, extended, textured and detailed; I think a basshead would be happy. Mids have a little warmth, especially in the lower region. Mids have good timbre and natural tonality. Upper mids and lower treble, 2k-4k are uneven and have issues with harshness. Treble is extended decently and have average air and sparkle. Detail retrieval is about average for the price point. Soundstage is above average in width and the imaging and placement is great, I really enjoy the soundstage capabilities of the Planamic. Overall, I find the Planamic to be good at most but not great in anything. Here is a link to my video review: https://youtu.be/Xa0vQswvfrs
check
Would recommend to a friend.
exsomnis
58
Dec 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I hope MEE Audio continues to develop these drivers and pushes the performance envelope. As a first try, with a new driver of their own design, it's a good start. There's plenty of dynamics, slam and punch. It sounds like the old LCD 2rev2 - dark, intimate and dynamic and in the same way, requires some getting used to. I don't like bright headphones/IEMs and these are definitely not bright but they are dark to the point of missing some ambient cues and treble information, as well as producing an imbalanced frequency response. This is not something you worry about, if all you're listening to is this because as you're listening to them you get used to the closed in and dynamic nature of the sound. However, if you were ever to touch another pair of IEMs or headphones, you'd realise how unique the Planamics sound. Some can get used to them, others can't. 3 stars because I want MEE Audio to improve them more, not because they're terrible. Edit: 3 stars also because I have a pair of Final E3000C IEMs costing $40-$50 that really put these to shame in comparison.
(Edited)
Bailey2013
189
Jan 30, 2019
thank you for the suggestion. E5000 is definitely on my mind. however, CA comet and Kanas Pro are enroute to me, so I guess E5000 has to be wait, unfortunately.
derbagger22
61
Mar 12, 2019
What if I prefer the E2000 to the E3000?
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good value for the price (50% off)
I grabbed this pair as a cheap add-on item. The comfortableness is top tier and the sound definitely worths 75 dollars. The sound signature is smooth, warm and bass-heavy. However, It does lack some treble. If you prefer bright sound and want some treble, avoid this pair. They're just not built for this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
iamthepresident
11
Dec 27, 2020
cool...
spade38
46
Jan 15, 2021
Comment hidden
help
RekTechNinja
5
Apr 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome sound
It came with some TRRS 3.5mm 2- pin cable, so don't buy the ones that say "complete your setup"
check
Would recommend to a friend.
d_nitemarez
5
Sep 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent buy for the price, love the sound!
This would be my only audio gear that I bought entirely based on reviews and I must say that I do not have any regrets! I love the total package, with more than 5 different sizes of ear-buds, you can definitely find the perfect fit. Glad to receive two sets of wires, one with mic. I'm using the one without the mic for now but when I'll be travelling for work - I'll try the mic attached one for phone meetings. The carry case is alright. This is not my first Planer Driver experience, however I didn't own one before. It has the signature characteristics of a planer driver - fast frequency response and wide soundstage. The base is strong, I'll say one of the strongest I've seen and that works fine with me. I just wish the high frequency section had a little stronger output - using a pre-amp takes care of that. Without going to too much technicality, I'd say that if you love rock & metal, get a good pre-amp and you'll be in good hands. Don't get me wrong, it's great without a pre-amp but you need it to unlock it's last 10% of the potential. One of the best audio gear buys I've made, hands down no question about it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 25 of 125
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order