Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors
$49
$150

Massdrop x MEE audio Planamic In-Ear Monitors

bookmark_border
$49
$150
Color:
1.8k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Members who purchase earn
147
Drop Rewards
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
176
check
79%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Rambone
93
May 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Important update and edit: I scoured the reviews for this IEM to see where things went wrong and why there were such polarizing reviews including my own at first which was absolutely negative. As it turns out changing tips, specifically to the double flanged tips that came included with the Planamics was all it took to clean up this IEMs sound along with some ample burn in time. I dig it, this was a game changer. The bass is now tight, has punch, vocals got some heft and are clean. Treble for the most part felt just right but depending on source there was very rare circumstances where certain female vocals could sometimes become piercing at louder listening volumes. Overall I am very very pleased with the presentation of this IEM, super easy to listen to without being subdued or lacking to much detail. This is not a neutral or analytical IEM but is on the colored end of the spectrum that caters towards fun and musicality. I did not like these on anything connected to the Topping D10s. In conclusion, I can't say that I would pay the original asking price of these IEM's at this point since the IEM market is really really competitive right now but I have no regrets about doing so since merging a Planar and Dynamic Driver is a novel idea. $30-70 dollars I think is a fair price to add this unique IEM to your collection if you absolutely have to have them. If you are looking for a reference or monitoring IEM, these are not it. Please allow time for them to burn in, give it a week and absolutely make sure to try out ALL of the tips that come with it until you get one that works best for your preference. For me the double flange made a titanic difference shifting my view on this IEM from disgust to enthusiasm! It is completely possible these will continue to get better with more time spent. At the original price it would put it in competition with the Shuoer S12 which is a Planar. I thought the bass on the S12 and Planamic were both pretty fast, punchy and addicting however the S12 was more detailed. The S12 has better imaging/resolution however this tends to make the vocals a bit more lean sounding, so I really appreciate the Planamics take on them. The S12 had a wider sound stage. In the end they ended up being two very different pleasurable experiences. Why not both?! I am updating my score from a 3/5 to a (4.5) 5/5. I feel ashamed of myself for not switching tips when Mee Audio provided a VERY VERY ample collection of stock tips of all shapes, flange variety and sizes. Shame on me! Please forgive me! ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- My original review with the stock installed tips: Review Score 3/5. When I first got these, I put them on and listened to them and thought they were absolute trash. Any of my cheap KZ's, Tin's and whatever smoked these things. The tuning on these were all messed up, vocals sounded several shades of jacked up and not very detailed. Bass was not quality at all. Doesn't matter which of the 8 different dac/amp and phones I tried with them. I decided these were hot trash and tossed them in a drawer to forget about them. Fast forward a few years, I came back to them as I was curious about how they sounded again. Of course they sounded like the hot trash I remembered. Decided to try burning them in as this has done wonders with some other sets I have, plugged them into a spare iphone and played music for a week straight non stop. They now sound like a normal IEM however they are still not very detailed but at least the vocals aren't all messed up sounding. I can kind of see the planar trait with the bass at this point but it feels kind of a hit or miss. Reading over some previous reviews it sounds like these had dropped to $30? I'm not sure that I would reach for them still at that price. Way too much work for little return. I might change my mind after some more burn in but I feel like the $30 dollar (give or take) market is really really competitive these days and there are plenty of great options and this doesn't feel like one of those. ------------------------------------------------------------ I paired the Planamics with the following: DAC/AMP combo: Monolith by Monoprice (THX 788 version) Sound Blaster GC7 Sound Blaster G6 Lavaudio DS600 HiFiMAN EF400 iFi Zen DAC Air (added to combo list due to inclusion of built in amp) DACs Topping D10s (ES9038Q2M) iFi Zen DAC air: (Burr Brown) HiFiMAN EF400 (Himalaya R2R) Monolith by Monoprice ( AKM 4493) Amps: Schiit Magni 3 Schiit Vali 2 (several tubes, favorite is any year Reflektor silver shield) Schiit Asgard 3 Monoprice Liquid Spark PC: Onboard Realtek of my Alienware R13. Phones: Samsung Galaxy 8+ Iphone SE Edit 5/30 + Zen DAC Air + HiFiMAN EF400 Zen DAC Air is a fantastic pairing. This $100 dollar DAC also has a amp, this thing absolutely wrecks face. The bass boost super charges this IEM even further. Very impressed with this DAC+Amp. Your DAC will make a big difference with this IEM. The Topping D10s was just trash and this caused any amp connected to it to sound the same. Guess it doesn't like Sabre's. HiFiMAN EF400 pairs well with everything and sounds top notch all on its own.
(Edited)
ritaban
51
Jun 6, 2022
RamboneHow do they compare against the PX? PX is supposed to be similar to P1 which is kind of flagship from Mee Audio. but Planamic is more expensive compared to PX.
Rambone
93
Jun 6, 2022
ritabanI unfortunately only have the P2 to compare to at this time. I prefer the vocals and the bass more on the Planamic. The vocals on the Planamic were a little more standout and fuller, the bass also had a little more oomph to it.
leftyflip
7
Jul 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A little detail changed the WHOLE THING.
The first thing is that I didnt buy this IEM for dedicated listening. More than anything to have an IEM that is easy to pack and take everywhere since the plastic case of my FH3 is not very portable, to say the least. Also, the fact that it has a microphone, so I can easily connect it to the Xbox controller and use it like that. Take it to the office do zoom calls etc. First impressions with the intermediate silicone tips. VERY COMFY. Light. Listening to Over the Rainbow by Ella Fitz… I was surprised by the tone of Ella's voice, you feel the coloring. When a lot of instruments come in she feels a bit of distorded and 'disordered'. Then I listened to Daydream Believer, and it sounded incredibly muffled, like the sound was coming out of a tube. But it's an old song, so I changed to a more modern song, better equalized. Open Arms by Prettymuch. It feels like it needs burning. The mids don't feel clear at all, they feel muffled. That song has a bass punch in the middle of the song that surprised me in terms of power and punch. But low voices, they also sound... muffled. So far, if these IEMS are all I've seen so far, and I wanted them to scrutinize music, they would be a huge disappointment. Let's keep listening. At times when there are middle voices at the same time as the bass, it seems that the voices are coming from behind a fan. A very annoying sound. AaAaAaAaAa. We switched to The Weekend, After Hours. A song with a very well produced. The bass hits sound weird, a bit exploited. But the bass notes do have a good tone. It's just the bass beat that sounds battered. We turned up the power on the DAC a bit and turned down the PC sound, and it sounds a little better. Could have something to do with the 91bd sensitivity. A slight improvement in The Weekend's voice. We switched to Hypotheticals, a jazz that I know very well. The singer's voice sounds muddy. Not too clear. It's not a sound you say, wow! How clean, the opposite. So far listenable. Without changing tips, without burning, and with tidal music. If I don't pay attention to the music, they feel good. I don't feel tired. But I would really like a little more clarity. Switching to Rock, You're My Melody by Arion. Again, muddy voices. Listening was impossible so I turned on the EQ, lowered the bass and raised the mids. Better. It was time for the solo and I got goosebumps. I don't know if it has to do with the earphones or with the incredible solo of the song. What is true is that, on this occasion, they did not get in the way of the experience of the song. Lots of instruments together and definitely the EQ setting makes a lot of difference. You don't hear the noise we had before. In fact, I play Hypotheticals again, and now it's something else. Lower the highs a bit and even better. Adele - Easy on Me. The truth is that right now we have other hearing exp. You can feel the colorization and the warmth of the headset, but raising the mids a little took the cover off the microphone and lowering the bass allows it to not get in the way of the song. Switching to FLAC. They are all the problems described above but reduced. I wanted to feel the bass a little more and see how it behaves and I put Doin' it right by Daft Punk. Not bad. ---------------- Okay… the pads. Replace silicone pads with FOAM pads. I even turned off the eq. Now if we have something interesting. I don't understand, nothing I wrote before is happening now. I'm listening to the same songs. The only difference is the ear tip. ......they weren't terrible, but now they sound amazing. I can't believe it. I tried L'enfer by Stromae... What the heck is this? These IEMs are SOMETHING ELSE. I'm speechless. What a change. They are still fun earphones that should not be for dedicated listening, however. They got a lot more detailed with the foam ear tips. Conclusion. For $150 there is better IEMs for dedicated listening. My Picks. Fiio FH3, Kato, and with a bit more money, Ikko OH10. Less than 200. Now, for 60, which is what I got them for, and for fun and casual listening/portable IEMs/comfy portable bag/casual gaming. These... are a steal.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
SoundAboutTown
85
Dec 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones have been with me for a few weeks now. At first I was very impressed. I wrote a positive review here on Massdrop which I took down after only a few hours. After listening to them some more I found some flaws that really troubled me. Then I figured it would be best to take some time with them and get to know them, as is always a best practice with new audio gear. Some of the critical reviews below make some valid points. Then again, as the date stamps indicate, a lot of these reviews were written, like mine initially, within just days of these units shipping for the first time. None of us were taking the time to get to know these headphones. Ultimately the true test of audio equipment is the test of time. So, after having these for a couple of weeks I decided to pick them up again, and finally "listen without prejudice". Here is what I'm finding. In my opinion there are two ways people approach Massdrop and two ways to approach audio gear. Some look to make their dollars stretch as far as possible in a quest to get the best possible single system they can afford while operating on a budget. Others can be so accustomed to shopping for audio equipment they are looking for smart ways to keep costs from getting out of hand as they explore sound by building out a collection of interesting gear. If that seems like a reasonable distinction to you, then I think it is possible to approach evaluating these according to the different demands of these two types of shoppers / buyers. If you are looking to get a single "best" pair of headphones at this price and you want the best sound possible, then these might not be a fit. I write "might" because I don't think they should be discounted entirely. While there are definitely other headphones in the same price range here on Massdrop that are better "all round"ers, specifically the Mee Pinnacle P1, some of these headphones won't produce solid results unless you have gear optimized for supporting them. On the other hand for a listener interested in, or perhaps previously accustomed to a forceful low end sound, these are very easy to drive, and would provide a tremendous leap in quality over usual suspect Beats headphones (in this price range). For those who have written critically about the bass emphasis of the Planamics It's worth considering a headphone in this range that is widely held in high regard is the Shure se215. That's another bass heavy headphone with a dark timbre. I think the Planamics are much tighter in their low end presentation and much much faster overall than the Shure se215. For this reason I would say that just as the Shure se215s often get a good review as an entry level first "serious" IEM, I think the Planamics are worthy of consideration even if one is on a budget and can't afford more than one headphone. In my opinion there *are* more accurate sounding headphones in this price range that I would recommend. BUT, if you are listening from a device, such as a phone, that isn't optimized for audio, and if solid deep low end is your preferred sound signature, I don't think these will leave you disappointed. With that said, if you have a good audio source with a powerful amplifier, I'd recommend the Mee Pinnacle 1s over these in a heartbeat. Similarly, if you are looking for one headphone, and CAN potentially go a bit higher on cost, check out the Fiio FH5, or the BGVP DM6. There are definitely much more flexible IEMs out there that can compliment a broader palate of tastes and music styles if you are open to complimenting them with the right gear. Now, for folks who are interested in having a collection of headphones, I think you might want to take some of the negative reviews here with a grain of salt. I think they all make valid points if they are written for people who are looking to get the most neutral transparent headphone possible. These are not neutral. They are colored. Coloration in audio should not be a dirty word for people interested in having a collection of headphones. In fact, coloration is one of the key reasons to have a collection of headphones. While it is definitely highly desirable to identify a key reference sound and system, and then build out from there when building one's own collection, having different headphones to compliment different needs is not a bad thing. In my opinion, this is a place where these headphones shine. In fact, this is also a place where they arguably represent tremendous bang for buck. As much as a reference sound is super desirable, and *should* come first in building out a system, sometimes it's rewarding to be able to scratch different itches. While colored sound in headphones is sometimes dismissed in headphone circles as being a bit like resorting to an EQ, what makes owning a headphone collection so rewarding is that there is actually more to a headphone than just frequency response. There are other characteristics such as the speed of handling attacks and decays and transients. Adjusting the EQ on Shure se215s will produce very different results than adjusting the EQ on the Planamics for example. This is because the se215s are dynamic and dynamic drivers are usually a bit less quick and responsive than planar drivers. The Planamics are tight and fast in their bass response, and they remain pretty sharp and fast across the spectrum. At their price they are easy to afford as a non bloated, high quality "bass head" IEM for when the mood strikes. In addition to their very welcome approach to emphasizing the low end, they also image extremely well. While not offering the widest of soundstages it is much wider than most (for an IEM). For headphone enthusiasts I would say that not until you get to something like a Sennheiser ie8 will you find a wider presentation. Indeed the Planamic is a very worthy headphone for consideration by fans of the venerable Sennheiser ie8. The Sennheiser ie8 was a highly well regarded bass emphasized IEM. The Planamic is faster than the ie8, and the bass is tighter and more organic. With that said, the highs aren't as lush as the ie8, and the soundstage is narrower. But then, that's because it is a different headphone. While it is a bit darker than the ie8, I'm still glad to own both. For headphone enthusiasts, I think the Planamic is an interesting cost effective very high quality bass head IEM. It is fast and dynamic and images well. It provides a pleasant listening experience even though it can be dark and intimate in it's presentation, and definitely lacks a sense of 'air' on top. Alternately, for anyone trying to get a single pair of IEMs it is worthy of consideration IF one has a very strong predisposition for a bass forward sound signature and is planning to listen on a non music optimized device with a so so headphone amplifier, such as a consumer grade cell phone. When taking these considerations into account, I think the Planamic is a solid performer at its price point.
(Edited)
SoundAboutTown
85
Dec 17, 2018
Thanks for your note. Cheers.
(Edited)
SoundAboutTown
85
Dec 17, 2018
I don't know that HIDIZS piece, but looks super interesting. Re: your impressions of the Planamic, they make sense to me. I don't know that I find the vocals scream for me, but I think that without emphasis on the highs everything else stands out more. I think that's basically the issue. I really enjoy the sound of drum kits and upright bass on these.
GeoferyThePig
12
Apr 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are unsettlingly good.
When I say good I am talking from the perspective of someone who likes a fun headphone. These have enough low end to satisfy and have a sound stage that took me by surprise. At high volumes the highs can be fatiguing, but as many have said these are set up in a way that responds well to EQ, I personally haven't played around with it yet so I can't speak too much on the idea. I've ran them off of a phone (oneplus 8 with a generic USB-C to 3.5 adapter) and a Schiit Vali 2 and I will say that while these don't need extra power, they do like it. The build on them is solid. It's a plastic housing but it does feel and look nice. The shape is somewhat intrusive, at least in my ears, but with a little experimenting with different tip configurations you will be able to find a comfortable fit. The included cables are not impressive, but they will work. If you want to upgrade there are plenty of options and I personally got a replacement from LinSoul, they feel and work great and are offered in balanced and single ended. Plus they're only $20 and available on Amazon. Overall quite impressed with these little guys, especially at the price. I was a little hesitant about the new technology that the drivers use, but after hearing them I'm looking forward to seeing more of it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
PopZeus
355
Jan 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Apologies for rewriting this review: IEM preferences are often intensely personal for a variety of reasons, so I find it hard to often make recommendations. After having had the Planamic IEM for a few weeks, the tl;dr is they sound uniquely great (especially if you don’t particularly love balanced armature or hybrid IEMs) with one major caveat. The treble drops off way too much, causing the mids to sound too far forward. Tuning preferences are subjective, but I think most listeners would agree with that statement. Detail and soundstage are above average for the price, and the design ergonomics are quite comfortable, so the Planamic IEM is still a really good value. Honestly, it’s so close to perfection that any flaws can come off as a bit frustrating (but thankfully avoidable since this IEM actually takes to EQ quite well). I’ve never heard an IEM like this before, and as the kids say, I’m here for it. Conventional wisdom is that dynamic drivers tend to sound like physical material the driver is made from, and my experience has done nothing to dissuade me from that. But just from listening to it, I can’t tell what material this driver is made from. However, the description from Massdrop is correct. It’s warm, coherent, rich, liquid. The timbre of the planamic is so singular, even from well-considered single dynamic driver designs. And it goes in the complete opposite direction of most BA designs I’ve heard.  I’ve become a big R2R DAC convert in the past year, and it’s because the technology turns digital ones and zeros into something smoother, more analog. Even tube-like on occasion. With that kind of sound coming from my home DAC, I’m free to pair it with the most dynamic, resolving, tight headphones I can afford. The great thing about the Planamic IEM is it allows you to have more flexibility with that sound. When paired with a drier D-S chip DAC, it makes that device sound smoother and more analog. This is perfect for DAPs and other portables, which tend to be delta-sigma designs exclusively.  Once you get the EQ to your tastes, it’s very easy to sit and listen to music for hours, when you only planned on listening for a few minutes. And I think that’s the sign of a great audio product; it gets you back into your music. But the, uh, unique tuning is ultimately the rub. Depending on your source, amping, cables, tips and personal taste, I found boosting the 8k and 16k band of my Shanling M5s' EQ by 4-7 dB puts the treble closer to the same perceptive range as the mids and bass. I’m using a silver-plated balanced cable and spiral dot tips, so my EQ recommendations are based on that set up. SE copper cables, foam tips, brighter DAP tuning, etc will alter the amount of EQ needed to make one happy.
(Edited)
dbsylvia
109
Jun 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but not Great
The Planamic from Mee Audio is a unique IEM. I enjoy it but I don't love it. I find that the build quality is fantastic for the price. The included cables are very nice and the fact that you get two, with and without mic, is a nice touch. The mic works well and I never got any complaints about the quality of the mic. I find the comfort to excellent, I can wear the Planamic for hours on end without fatigue or pain. Sound is a mixed bag. Bass is deep, extended, textured and detailed; I think a basshead would be happy. Mids have a little warmth, especially in the lower region. Mids have good timbre and natural tonality. Upper mids and lower treble, 2k-4k are uneven and have issues with harshness. Treble is extended decently and have average air and sparkle. Detail retrieval is about average for the price point. Soundstage is above average in width and the imaging and placement is great, I really enjoy the soundstage capabilities of the Planamic. Overall, I find the Planamic to be good at most but not great in anything. Here is a link to my video review: https://youtu.be/Xa0vQswvfrs
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Shaiy007
2
Jul 7, 2021
dbsylviaIt was your video review that made my mind up to give them a try. I got them during Prime week and love them!!!!!
dbsylvia
109
Jul 8, 2021
Shaiy007Awesomeness. Glad you enjoy them 😊
exsomnis
60
Dec 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I hope MEE Audio continues to develop these drivers and pushes the performance envelope. As a first try, with a new driver of their own design, it's a good start. There's plenty of dynamics, slam and punch. It sounds like the old LCD 2rev2 - dark, intimate and dynamic and in the same way, requires some getting used to. I don't like bright headphones/IEMs and these are definitely not bright but they are dark to the point of missing some ambient cues and treble information, as well as producing an imbalanced frequency response. This is not something you worry about, if all you're listening to is this because as you're listening to them you get used to the closed in and dynamic nature of the sound. However, if you were ever to touch another pair of IEMs or headphones, you'd realise how unique the Planamics sound. Some can get used to them, others can't. 3 stars because I want MEE Audio to improve them more, not because they're terrible. Edit: 3 stars also because I have a pair of Final E3000C IEMs costing $40-$50 that really put these to shame in comparison.
(Edited)
exsomnis
60
Jun 22, 2021
They do need an amp to play well.
paulosilva8200
7
Jun 23, 2021
exsomnismp3 player nw sony a55 with 33mw is not enough,for sure.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good value for the price (50% off)
I grabbed this pair as a cheap add-on item. The comfortableness is top tier and the sound definitely worths 75 dollars. The sound signature is smooth, warm and bass-heavy. However, It does lack some treble. If you prefer bright sound and want some treble, avoid this pair. They're just not built for this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
iamthepresident
12
Dec 27, 2020
cool...
RekTechNinja
7
Apr 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome sound
It came with some TRRS 3.5mm 2- pin cable, so don't buy the ones that say "complete your setup"
check
Would recommend to a friend.
fgfgfg0923
8
Jan 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome dynamic but crisp sound, everyone who tells that they're bad just didn't apply enough current amplification
ostalon
2
Jun 26, 2019
fgfgfg0923How to provide current amplification? Through which portable amplifier? Please reply.
Showing 33 of 237