Massdrop x MiTo Laserwave GMK Translucent Keycaps

Massdrop x MiTo Laserwave GMK Translucent Keycaps

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1K requests
855 Sold
Product Description
Styled in the official colors of GMK Laser, these keycaps are a great complement to the futuristic cyberpunk set—or a cool addition to other colorways. Made in Germany by GMK, they’re Cherry MX compatible and made from 1.5-millimeter doubleshot ABS plastic for durability Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
2.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
21
search
close
daddyFOX
258
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For my 1st taste of GMK in LASERWAVE form and aesthetic in Mito‘s vision. Love this art form dystopian factor.
xen0blade
43
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So...Here we go. My immediate first impression was...not good. I could immediately tell that the color was off on the Dusk set. Considering I'm colorblind, I was kind of annoyed by that. I was expecting a much more purplish hue. Wifey (damn her perfect color acuity) showed up a few minutes after I unboxed them and confirmed that while the Dawn was the color shown, the dusk was not. "But wait, xen0blade? If they're so terrible, then why'd you give four stars?" Well, because they're a) actually awesome, and b) they're every bit as cyberpunk as I HOPED they'd be. Cyberpunk isn't about clean lines and pixel-perfect precision. It's about dirt, neon, pain, blood, and terrible people doing the right thing for all of the wrong reasons. It's about grifters, joeboys, hackers, and street samurai. It's nasty enough to embarrass a Class A Sewer Gator. And these keys reflect that perfectly. The only reason @MiTo has lost a star on this is because the original description could have been a bit better. Honestly, I'd give these 4.5 stars.
BlueCrowned
5305
Jun 21, 2018
I love this review
Jaytal
173
Jan 10, 2019
A bit too generous.
ChemicalHalo
17
Jun 28, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
When I initially got this set, I was a little perturbed. The irregular grid pattern lending a 'melted' look turned me off, as did the colors of the dusk set appearing more 'grape' than 'dusk'. The dawn set is a little difficult for me to read, although that may well just be my eyes.
I did, however, warm to them.
After some time, I recognized the 'grape-ness' was less of an issue. The keycaps are meant to be an accent rather than any design-incorporated highlight. This lends a bit more leeway, and the melty character of the keys is a byproduct of using the classic double shot-cherry process, and there is not much one can do about it. For shine-throughs, I think I prefer how exterior lights bounce off the backing material through the translucent shell rather than actual backlights.
I think that the original images should be amended with product shots if this is to ever run again, as that would avoid much of the heartburn some people are feeling right now over the state of the keys.
My 3/5 is an average of the 2/5 I had from when I had just received the set, and the 4/5 I feel about it now.
It's not a perfect set - but it is distinct, well proportioned, and unique. I am glad I bought it. Your mileage, however, may vary.
search
KM1337
1870
Jun 28, 2018
Jelly bout that laser board lol
Bubblez009
44
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow, yikes. Actual product does not look like the pictures at all. I had thought they sent the wrong set of caps at first. These are too embarrassing to put with the rest of my Laser stuff so I will probably be selling. MiTo/Massdrop is seemingly getting super defensive too, and blaming us for not "understanding what we're buying." I just wanted the caps in the pictures. Overall they weren't incredibly expensive so if I take a loss on these it's not a huge deal, but I will definitely be wary of buying from MiTo/Massdrop in the future.
Delmonddi
6
Jun 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very very bad quality.
but very expensive lol
I hate giving this products a 1 star.
ITS 0 STAR PRODUCT.
InvaderSim
6
Jun 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Contrary to the other reviews so far I like the rough look of the grids. I followed the production of this drop and the laser set closely so I knew what to expect. My only complaint is that the dusk set is way more translucent than in the pictures on the drop page, making them look much brighter. It's more of a mix between what the pictures suggested and the legend color.
search
They do look a bit more purplish in person than the photo suggests, but nowhere close to the drop pictures
LunarCheddar
6
Jun 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great idea but...
Don't be fooled by the picture. In person, these look like garbage. Total waste of money.
MiTo
13268
MiTo
Jan 10, 2019
If you look at the numbers on the main page, we sold 822 kits and had a very small share of complaints/refunds on the backend according to the CS team. Another thing worth mentioning is that 21 people reviewed the kits, so contrary to intuition the reviews are not exactly representative of overall satisfaction with a product, given that less than 3% of participants expressed their thoughts. I already explained to you why the final product don't look exactly like the rendered images, why in this case they were less representative (than renders normally are) and also took accountability for that. I guess the final take from your message is that I should work more on conveying my thoughts and public relations - which is a very long and complex road, a challenge that I am willing to take, I am evolving the design aspect but I am not forgetting about the communications side, this is why I previously told you that I value criticism in all its forms so much. Another thing worth mentioning is that this isn't an excuse but also take into consideration that I am not a fluent english speaker (I am from Brazil).
Jaytal
173
Jan 10, 2019
I'm sorry for being so hard on you, then, for something you've obviously done well to improve upon. Again, my gripes were with your old comments, which was unnecessary on my part. I wish you luck on all your future endeavors.
(Edited)
Herp_McDerp
311
Jun 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not what I signed up for. I've read through the explanation provided by MiTO and while I do understand the reasoning behind the caps turning out the way they did there is no way I would have plumped for them had I known they'd look like this and not like the rendered images we were shown.
KM1337
1870
Jun 20, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These keycaps are a one of a kind cherry profile shine through set, made specifically to pair with the MiTo x GMK Laser Keycap set. As such, I think these are an amazing addition to the set. My particular colorway is Dusk.
search
(Pictures dont do much justice to the caps imho, the colors look a bit better in person, but are still a bit off.)
The transparent shell diffuses light nicely, creates a soft glow around the keys and accents backlight or non backlit sets nicely. Very unique design and execution on these. The keys feel nice and as far as doubleshot keycaps go, it's GMK, its some quality cap.
These caps were made using doubleshot moldings that are used to make many other keycap sets, and make them well. None of them however, being shine-through. This is a first. From looking at the caps, it's clear that while these molds used are the best to make doubleshot keycaps, they are maybe not as well refined for shine-through application, such as this. Yet. The W keycap in particular, due to the current molding process, is prone to some plastic/color pooling? which diminishes the aesthetic of that cap, for me at least. It's sadly something that can not be fixed. My only other gripe with these, is that the purple color these shipped as seem to be different from the drop page... but this could be due to many other factors than outright wrong colors being picked (screen settings, method of photography, etc. )
The artist/creator, MiTo, had intended these keycaps to fill a role in the GMK Laser universe, showing off the internal structure, inner-workings and perhaps a more gruesome side of the DIY bit of cybernetics. He succeeded, perhaps a little too well. I wasn't quite prepared for the possibility that this is what they caps had the potential to come out like, based off the renders and product sample images:
search
This really is however, the only issue i've yet to encounter with these keycaps. As I am typing I have them paired up with an OEM profile keycap set and am able to type with them just fine, they feel amazing and just look great when you get them to light up with some color.
search
EDIT: 3 -> 4 Stars... Despite the wonky W and off color of the purple... they are a joy to type on and are starting to grow on me...
Ughh
118
Jun 21, 2018
A very well written review. Thanks!
Lecrow
43
Jun 23, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hopeful I just got a bad set, and my poor quality set wasn't the standard, but 2 of my keys were completed melted underneath and had no line affects at all. I wouldn't really care if they melted around the transparent portions only a bit , but to have keycaps that turn out nothing like the renders is not acceptable. The coloring of the dusk kit was also very, very different from the renders, which once again I don't expect them to match exactly, but the colorways are completely different ...
Showing 20 of 36