Massdrop x NuForce EDC3 In-Ear Monitors (EU)
Massdrop x NuForce EDC3 In-Ear Monitors (EU)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
7 Sold
Product Description
Following the success of the Massdrop x NuForce EDC, named The Absolute Sound’s 2017 Earphone of the Year, we’re excited to announce its big brother: the EDC3. This new IEM swaps the original’s single dynamic driver for three balanced armatures per ear, and the lightweight housing is entirely translucent to showcase the drivers within ... Read More
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
238 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
Julian_Hughes
0
Jun 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All the reviews commenting on poor build quality and product failure are very relevant. It's hardly unusual for a product to have problems when first manufactured and then be improved, but it seems that the Nuforce EDC3s have all the same faults now as when they launched a couple of years ago. My EDC3s arrived with a faulty right side earpiece out of the box. Fortunately Massdrop's customer service and warranty is excellent and I received a replacement pair very promptly. The replacement pair works but I can't help wondering for how long. Anyway, to comment on the working pair: The comfort is excellent. These are a really snug and comfortable fit for me, very much like Shure SE series. The cables are fine in terms of length and lack of noise. I like that there is a sliding keeper as well as a velcro tidy. However on one side the earpiece has a good snug fit with the cable but on the other earpiece it is *amazingly* tight, being difficult to remove and terrifyingly difficult to fit, with bent pins always seeming likely. The accessories are good. The small hard case is excellent, offering genuine convenience and protection. The foam ear tips are very good. It's good to have a cable with a mic/control button and another plain cable with a bit more length. The sound is decent. The lack of bass that many people criticise is apparent. A flat bass response is good in a loudspeaker. In an IEM it is maybe reasonable in theory but pretty unsatisfying in practise. Live music and loudspeakers move air; the bass isn't just a tone, it's also a physical experience. Headphones, especially IEMs, can't do this so a small bass boost is a very good way to give the same impression. In my opinion the totally neutral and flat response is a mistake because it offers an unnatural experience. Fortunately the EDC3s are easily capable of benefiting from equalisation. I use a parametric EQ to give a Low Shelf 3 dB boost at 90 Hz with a Q factor of 0.7, and this restores a little bit of feel and there is zero added distortion. The rest of the frequency range needs no correction. Aside from the bass issue I feel that the EDC3s are very nice to listen with. They grow on you. They commit no crimes and offer a very detailed and enjoyable sound. I think the soundstage is fine. Probably this depends on how well matched the left and right side drivers are so I suspect the variety of impressions offered on this subject in other reviews says as much about Nuforce's quality control as anything else. These are never going to sound rich and vibrant like a really good headphone or dynamic driver IEM, and I don't think they are quite as good as the (dual balanced armature) Shure SE425, but the Shures cost twice as much. The EDC3s are more easily driven to good volume levels by a smartphone than any other good quality headphone or IEM I've tried. Assuming you get a pair that works and continues to work then I think the EDC3s are very good value, very easy to live with and a great buy. But I'd hesitate to recommend them due to the numerous complaints of defects, including my own experience of the same.
Jun 1, 2019
studiorat
1
May 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Product is Very uncomfortable and replacement tips do not fit as it's a smaller size Nozzle, The sound is not Flat multiple sources present a complete lack of Spatial Imaging and a very Narrow Soundstage, and little to no Bass response in fact it's not a studio quality Device at all as it was advertised, But what can u expect fo 100 bux,.....
May 28, 2019
wwboyer96
1
May 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing sound quality, very disappointing build quality. These headphones barely lasted a year of light usage (generally about 1 hour of usage a day) before the right earbud completely died on me. While the sound was fantastic, I expect a pair of earbuds to last more than a single year, especially if I'm dropping $100 on them. I'm being generous with a 3-star review at this point only because the sound quality was that good; however, I cannot, in good conscience, recommend anyone purchase these earbuds with durability like this.
May 26, 2019
keith.f.kelly
4
May 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These don't sound quite as good, or seem quite as durably built, as my Logitech Ultimate Ears UE900s... but they're plenty close enough given the price point (less than half of what the discontinued UE900s are currently going for, and about 25% of what I paid for the UE900s when they were new and still in production a few years ago). I just wanted a decent set of IEMs for one of the guys in my band to use (rather than the super-lousy Shure 215 IEMs that are the same price), and these deliver, especially when paired with Comply sport foam tips.
May 25, 2019
WGkeon
3
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unexpectedly surprised by the quality of the build and all the accessories included. I wont review on the sound since its subjective. Overall, its more than worth the money.
May 17, 2019
4Forethought
3
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really enjoyed the NuForce EDC so when Drop offered this 3 driver version I jumped on it. But, when I plugged it into my Galaxy S8, I wasn't impressed. While I'm not a fan of overemphasized bass, my first EDC3 listen was not pleasant! The sound was muddy and lacking in detail across the frequency spectrum. Then I swapped out the silicone tips for the included foam tips - wow, what an improvement! The bass came alive and highs began to sparkle, but I still preferred the original EDCs. Then, I connected the EDC3s to the FiiO BTR3 and the sound blew me away! The soundstage expanded, vocals moved forward and instruments from cello, to violin, to guitar, and percussion were all distinct and accurate. It appears the EDC3s needed the extra BTR3 power to really show their stuff. I did replace the OE tips with Dekoni foam tips for a better fit and isolation - the wife now has the original EDCs. 😉 Samsung Galaxy S8 Android 9.0 FiiO music app FiiO BTR3 Dekoni foam tips Original NuForce braided cable (no mic)
May 15, 2019
Himas
1
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm no audiophile. I love music, and good amount of music I love is available for me only on low bit rate. I listen to music on shanling m3s, my phone and laptop. Before this my daily driver was RHA 750i This is a very comfortable IEM. This is one of best IEM in comfort among IEMs i used. They sound very nice. Non fatiguing is right way to describe. Most of IEMs I cannot listen for long but this I can just leave it playing for hours straight. This is neutral sounding IEM with enough punch in lows and not too bright of highs (atleast when I compare this with RHA 750i). I'm not a bass head. I have custom art ei3, those sound bass heavy when compared to EDC3. Tight seal may be one cause but CA Ei3 IEM has a powerful low end when compared to EDC3. Vocals are clear, clean and crisp which I really like. Though the cables feel bit cheap, them seem sturdy. But they tangle very easily. Better cables might be one ask, but who am I kidding for this price. For the price, this I would say is on of the best Bang for Buck. I really like the construction of this IEM and option of two cables. Mic is pretty decent for calls. I'm not giving 5 because this did not wow me, but these are definitely growing on me.
(Edited)
May 15, 2019
MobiusPi
4
May 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
*TLDR at the end I was extremely excited when I first received my new EDC 3s, but after a few weeks the right side started to no longer work due to the way the connector between monitor and cable was designed. I was getting a signal only when the connector was rotated in just the right way which was easy to dislodge and the connection was loose enough for the monitor to easily come free of the cable if the monitor was not in use and dangling. Luckily, these do have a one year warranty and I was easily able to get them replaced. But now, a similar issue has started to occur on the same side (looseness, and not sound . . . yet.) along with a creaking noise anytime the right monitor is inserted or light squeezing pressure is applied. At this point I am tempted to just get a full refund due to this being the second time I am having issues. Now, my construction quality issues may just be because I do use these every day for 6 hours intermittently through out the day and tend to gently wrap them in my hand and store them in my pocket while in class or when driving to and from school and home. Which I admit might be the cause of some wear, but it shouldn't cause the failure of the connection point on the monitors making them unusable in such a short amount of time, especially since I have only changed cables five times since April 8th, 2019. (I counted the total number of times just in-case something similar to what happened to the first happened again.) *TLDR Overall though, these beat my Sennheiser HD 4.50 BTNCs HANDS DOWN in sound quality and noise isolation with the large foam tips. The isolation is so good in fact, it even beats the BTNCs when Noise Guard is active. If it weren't for my quality issues in regards to the construction, these would be, by far, the best piece of personal audio equipment I have ever had.
May 14, 2019
Mikes_Vices
1
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
**Disclaimer** My first set of audio equipment that isn’t “off the shelf” and I’m just an “average Joe”, not a pro audio expert. :-) If 5* is excellent, and 3* is average, I’d say 4* good. **Audio Quality** Some of the bass (sub-bass?) initially sounded a little distorted, but after a bit of use (burn in?) it seems to have leveled out. Best in-ears that I have owned so far, providing decent isolation on public transit, good separation between instruments, and are powered just fine through my iPhone7 w/ Apple 3.5-to-Lightning DAC. My source audio, as of now, is just Apple Music. **The story so far...** My last set of buds were the now discontinued SkullCandy Titans, which were unfortunately cut by medics when I was hit by a car on my motorcycle. While recovering I started using EarPods but they let too much background noise in for me. I got some silicone tips for them, and while they isolated a little better, they muddied up the bass significantly. I figured it was time to look into some legit gear. Being a beginner, I didn’t want to spend a lot for something that I wasn’t sure of. Limited mobility from the accident meant “no running around to test equipment”. I knew I wanted in-line controls, and that some different tips to try would be nice. Also, this set was going to be for “on-the-move”, so had to be somewhat sturdy. While researching, I saw plenty of great options and received many recommendations, but the EDC3 seemed to check all the boxes for what I wanted as a noob (various tips to try, a couple of cables [one w/ in-line], and even a simple case), all for a reasonably low price point of $99 and I wasn’t going to be waiting a month or two to get them. So far, I am extremely happy with the purchase.
search

May 2, 2019
Fussy
3
Apr 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent value. I find them comfortable and they sound much better than the other headphones I've owned around $50. Versus my old Westone UM1s, there is greater warmth to the sound.
Apr 29, 2019
Showing 10 of 292
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
292 OF 292 POSTS
Jun 16, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest