Massdrop x NuForce EDC3 In-Ear Monitors
Massdrop x NuForce EDC3 In-Ear Monitors
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
6.5k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Following the success of the Massdrop x NuForce EDC, named The Absolute Sound’s 2017 Earphone of the Year, we’re excited to announce its big brother: the EDC3. This new IEM swaps the original’s single dynamic driver for three balanced armatures per ear, and the lightweight housing is entirely translucent to showcase the drivers within Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
272
check
74%
would recommend to a friend
search
onoduras
46
Nov 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
*UPDATED, SEE BOTTOM OF POST* I've owned my EDC3's for just over 5 months now, and I use them nearly every day. They are extremely comfortable, easy to drive, and possess a reasonably strong bass (unlike most BA IEMs). The flat response is difficult to enjoy at first if you're used to a more V-shaped sound, but over time I've come to greatly enjoy the level of nuance these babies provide to any kind of music. I can EQ a small bass bump to give things a bit more punch and they handle that with ease and no distortion even at high volume. I listen to a very wide range of music, focused on metal/rock and extreme metal but also a lot of psychedelic trance, ambient and whatever else strikes my fancy. I use these for gaming and for listening to audio books in bed. For music with bass and speedy sounds, they deliver punch and clarity. With audio books or quieter music, the bass is not overblown nor are the treble frequencies shrilly harsh. The sound reproduction is always smooth and balanced, even when driven to the limit of amplification. Sound stage is reasonably open with good stereo, though obviously not quite to the level of over-ears. The driver units are decently sound-isolating on their own, but not so much that if your music is off you can't hear some sound around you. With music on, at a good volume - you're in your own world. On the bus, using the foam tips, I can't hear anything but music. It's wonderful to not have to rely on heavy and loud music every morning for blessed isolation. I use the RadSone ES100 as the primary DAC, amp, and EQ for these, but they work just fine from my Kindle or S9+ or whatever else I plug them into. I found the braided cable to be a little loose for my taste so I twisted them up tighter, but that made them stiff - that's my fault, just don't do as I did! Aside from that I am very happy with the cable. It doesn't tangle too much or get stuck on things. Pretty much what you want from a braided cable. For the price, I can't think of anything negative with these. Perhaps you could find fault with the joint where the wires go into the drivers: it has a unique shape that makes it awkward to use custom cables with them. These are the most comfortable IEM's I've ever worn, and I find the fit to be solid. They never come loose and I can even let them hang from their ear loops when I need to talk someone, without worrying they'll flop off when I turn my head. (NOTE: I also own the EDC. Compared to the EDC3, the EDC has boomy, overpowered bass that unpleasantly muddies the mid-range and flattened/reduced treble response. The EDC3 has crisp, full highs; encompassing, strong mids; and smooth, extensive bass. If all you care about is bass and more bass then the EDC3 is not for you.) UPDATE: My EDC3's died a few months ago so I had to engage NuForce for warranty replacement. There were some communication issues as emails from support ended up being lost in spam filters, but otherwise I got a new, retail box set of IEMs in about 3 weeks. I definitely recommend calling them, the response is MUCH faster. Being without them for a few weeks really tripped me out so I'll probably get a spare set soon.
(Edited)
Nov 11, 2018
GLRTV
9
Nov 18, 2018
bookmark_border
I use the ES100 with them as well, great combo. They do take EQ very well (the ES100's onboard EQ is very practical) and can be modeled to you taste.
Nov 18, 2018
WonderWoofy
10
Apr 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I maintain low expectations with headphone purchases, as I spent quite a bit of time as an audiophile with several top-of-the-line sets of cans. Being spoiled by that experience, I always assume IEMs like these NuForce EDC3s will be acceptable, if not pretty decent. But with these, the reviews were spot on and these may be the best quality in-ear headphones I've ever owned actually! Now I'd like to find an IEM Bluetooth cable that is compatible with these types of connections. I'd purchased the much cheaper IEMs a while back and was impressed enough to buy such a BT cable for those. But while they sound good, these NuForce headphones just put those others to absolute shame almost (they're still better than 95% of what most folks are fine with using, so I don't want to imply that I'm dissatisfied with the others at all). tl;dr Great headphones. 10/10 would buy again next time I'm looking for new headphones!
Apr 2, 2019
boatboy-srq
20
Jul 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This would have been a five-star review but for two things.
1) My library includes a lot of early digital recordings. Most early direct-to-digital audio was starved for bass. It's not that it wasn't there, just that you had to EQ for it: the same detail was present but the levels were way off what the equivalent vinyl could produce. I suspect a lot of the nostalgia for vinyl comes from that early impression of digital audio as treble-heavy. Regardless, it's something I have to tune for - and something I watch for when auditioning new equipment. The EDC3s need a lot of bass EQ to produce the kind of audio from those old recordings that match the newer - even the remastered versions of the old recording - tracks.
2) My EDC3s arrived just days after my Tin Audio T2s, and about the same time I read about the "bass hack" for those IEMs. Comparing the two is surprisingly easy: while the T2s are less comfortable and less sound-isolating, I could detect very little difference between them out-of-the-box: the same bright, forward staging is present and the mid- and treble detail is comparable. Once a little tape goes over the inboard vent of the T2s, though, it's all done: the T2 goes bass-heavy - and the EDC3s, especially when playing an 80s to early 90s all digital recording, just can't keep up without a lot of help from the EQ.
I'm very happy with my purchase, and I don't feel that I got a bad deal on the EDC3s at all. And when they're playing something recorded or remastered within the last 15 years or so they're excellent. The packaging and the complete kit are also impeccable, and well worth the price tag. My one gripe is that, when listening to recordings of a certain type, age and mastering style, they come up wanting.
I used both IEMs with an iPod Classic 160 6gen, A SanDisk Sansa Clip and a Shanling M3s, playing MP3, AAC and FLAC files. All players were set to either flat EQ or a bass-enhanced mode depending on the material and session.
Jul 21, 2018
boatboy-srq
20
Sep 17, 2018
bookmark_border
Yes. The EDC3s are crystal-clear, but there's no bass presence. The T2s, while they're brighter unmodified, become bass monsters once fiddled with. EQ'd, mind you, the EDC3s produce some amazing bass, so it isn't as if they can't handle the mix - they're just not tuned for it by default.
As I mentioned, I'm something of a special case because so much of my library is early-digital mastering which is bass-starved, and having a pair of 'buds that fill that gap without fiddling with EQ is a great help.
Sep 17, 2018
gemmoglock
59
Sep 17, 2018
bookmark_border
I see, thanks for sharing :)
Sep 17, 2018
Izzat
23
Jul 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lets start with sound Its has 3BA per ear, its accurate, fast, tight, clear Reviews are done on just my pixel 2 with no EQ tinkering Bass: Accurate, too accurate in fact, it doesn't decay like a dynamic driver would, does not hit as hard a dynamic driver would. No bleeding. Mids: Clear and accurate, if i have any complaint, it would be sometimes vocal sounds like their singing amongst the instruments instead of in front. But this is probably a physical limitation of IEM since i am comparing it to an HD25-1 ii. Highs: Inoffensive, non fatiguing, one of the biggest plus since i bought this for travel and extended listening. Soundstage is small and intimate, potentially making vocal sound drowned out by the instruments if not the the excellent separation and imaging. You can pick out the instrument sound and direction easily. Others Comfort is amazing, i can wear it all day. Most times after buying the bluetooth cable for it, i just wear it without listening to anything, since i appreciate the silence. Stock cable are light enough that it doesn't irritate the sensitive part back of my ears. The silicone tips are great too. Build quality is MEH The shell opened up not long after i bought it, fixed it with glue at the slot-in points. Luckily it happened at home. was not a big deal. The two stock cable broke, the braided cable just popped while i was sitting in front of the PC, the smooth cable got really loose and barely hold its shape above the ear. Bought myself a better cable and a bluetooth cable to fix it. Also, the 2-pin connector can get a bit loose, the upgrade cable i bought for it didnt have parallel pins but it made the connection tighter, it turned out alright. Not recommended way to fix this it to slightly pinch the the two pins together, but i wouldn't know how one would do this with the shrouded stock cable Recommended upgrades, Spin-fit CP800 really helped with sound quality, it gave it more space and also better comfort. if you're into foam, Comply T-100 is what you want. For cable upgrade, you'd need the standard 2-pin 0.78mm connector cable, TRN BT10 is amazing on it, i've been using it when i jog, when i cook, washing my car, you get what i mean, the bluetooth cable brought this IEM to a whole new level since both the IEM and BT10 cable are super light.
(Edited)
Jul 27, 2019
edddd
9
Mar 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These IEMs are not to my liking at all. They admittedly are very clear and precise, but all in the very top end. The mid and low range sounds incredibly muddy. So much though that I initial thought I might have a defective pair.  If you like a wide range of music styles, these certainly aren't for you. Perhaps if you only like classical music or quiet acoustic then these might be for you. They are however incredibly comfortable!
Mar 14, 2019
onoduras
46
Apr 7, 2019
bookmark_border
I listen to heavy music almost exclusively and I have been very happy with the clarity and punch. Contact NuForce directly to set up a warranty exchange if Massdrop won't exchange them for you.
Apr 7, 2019
revisionary
23
Apr 16, 2019
bookmark_border
I've had a similar experience, so I'm confused by all the reviews praising the all around balance of these iems. The bass is pretty recessed to me. I'm no bass-head, but I know what a kick drum sounds like, and it's weak with the foam tips. The silicone tips are nothing but treble.
Apr 16, 2019
Julian_Hughes
13
Jun 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All the reviews commenting on poor build quality and product failure are very relevant. It's hardly unusual for a product to have problems when first manufactured and then be improved, but it seems that the Nuforce EDC3s have all the same faults now as when they launched a couple of years ago. My EDC3s arrived with a faulty right side earpiece out of the box. Fortunately Massdrop's customer service and warranty is excellent and I received a replacement pair very promptly. The replacement pair works but I can't help wondering for how long. Anyway, to comment on the working pair: The comfort is excellent. These are a really snug and comfortable fit for me, very much like Shure SE series. The cables are fine in terms of length and lack of noise. I like that there is a sliding keeper as well as a velcro tidy. However on one side the earpiece has a good snug fit with the cable but on the other earpiece it is *amazingly* tight, being difficult to remove and terrifyingly difficult to fit, with bent pins always seeming likely. The accessories are good. The small hard case is excellent, offering genuine convenience and protection. The foam ear tips are very good. It's good to have a cable with a mic/control button and another plain cable with a bit more length. The sound is decent. The lack of bass that many people criticise is apparent. A flat bass response is good in a loudspeaker. In an IEM it is maybe reasonable in theory but pretty unsatisfying in practise. Live music and loudspeakers move air; the bass isn't just a tone, it's also a physical experience. Headphones, especially IEMs, can't do this so a small bass boost is a very good way to give the same impression. In my opinion the totally neutral and flat response is a mistake because it offers an unnatural experience. Fortunately the EDC3s are easily capable of benefiting from equalisation. I use a parametric EQ to give a Low Shelf 3 dB boost at 90 Hz with a Q factor of 0.7, and this restores a little bit of feel and there is zero added distortion. The rest of the frequency range needs no correction. Aside from the bass issue I feel that the EDC3s are very nice to listen with. They grow on you. They commit no crimes and offer a very detailed and enjoyable sound. I think the soundstage is fine. Probably this depends on how well matched the left and right side drivers are so I suspect the variety of impressions offered on this subject in other reviews says as much about Nuforce's quality control as anything else. These are never going to sound rich and vibrant like a really good headphone or dynamic driver IEM, and I don't think they are quite as good as the (dual balanced armature) Shure SE425, but the Shures cost twice as much. The EDC3s are more easily driven to good volume levels by a smartphone than any other good quality headphone or IEM I've tried. Assuming you get a pair that works and continues to work then I think the EDC3s are very good value, very easy to live with and a great buy. But I'd hesitate to recommend them due to the numerous complaints of defects, including my own experience of the same. 2019 October 20 edit: After 5 months of daily use I like these more and more. There is no denying that they do need equalisation. That is a deficiency, but the other side of the coin is that the EDC3s do respond really well to this; they don't suffer from distortion or imbalances so a little adjustment to the frequency response is hugely beneficial. Usually my attitude to headphones/IEMs requiring correction is "buy something else" because usually there are other issues which defy correction, but the EDCs do genuinely sound excellent with a moderate bass boost and the mids tamed a little. I now tend to use these in preference to my Vsonic GR07 BE IEMs. I like them more now after *a lot* of listening than I did initially.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jun 1, 2019
Rethinking
6
Mar 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have honestly purchased better sounding IEMs at a gas station. The sound is entirely in the upper range with little to no depth or richness. There is almost a complete lack of soundstage. I have made purchases that I have been thrilled with from Massdrop but because of the no return policy, this one makes me rethink if future purchases are worth the risk.
Mar 4, 2019
jabell1013
0
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
This comment isn’t even helpful. At all
Dec 1, 2019
jabell1013
0
Dec 1, 2019
bookmark_border
I’m not sure this is even helpful
Dec 1, 2019
truffle
4
Dec 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
sounds good yet I feal that they broke to quickly
I have had bad experiences with edc iems braking first my originals and now the edc 3. I got a replacemet for eatch yet I am left with a bad tase in my mouth after this consistent problem.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 16, 2019
WILLxLOVE
157
Jun 24, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My review echos a few other reviewers. For 3 BA IEMs that received such wide acclaim (apparently) I don't get them. They sound worse than my 60$ Monster sport ear buds I wear to exercise (before they were bought or whatever by beats). They' re shrill, with no apparent depth at all. They came nicely packaged with two cables and a case with tips, which is why this scored as high as it did.
Not a fan.
Jun 24, 2018
MrPinkEye
5
Mar 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
IEMs are my go to for office use. I feel weird wearing giant cans in an office environment. I pair these with a Schiit Fulla 2 connected to a Macbook Pro, which humorously enough shows up as "I'm Fulla Schiit" on the Mac. These are leaps and bounds better than budget IEMs. The Fulla might be overkill for these, but I get too much line noise on the Mac's built in audio and wanted a quality combo DAC/AMP. I've had expensive (though not audiophile quality) IEMs in the past, but these are the first I've tried with multiple drivers. Now I don't think I'll ever go back to single driver. I still use my bluetooth headphones for podcasts and audiobooks on my phone, but switch to these when audio quality is on my mind. My Samsung Galaxy S8 can drive these just fine. I did immediately ditch the earpieces for Comply Comfort Plus foam tips (TSX-100), which I get delivered every 3 months through Amazon Subscribe & Save. The Comply tips are much more comfortable than silicon for all day use, and the foam tips that came with these are pretty sad in comparison (knocking off 1 star for that).
Mar 14, 2019
Showing 19 of 332
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order