Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 58X Jubilee Headphones
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 58X Jubilee Headphones
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1160
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
26.9k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
In 1991, Axel Grell joined Sennheiser and designed the HD 580 Precision: the headphone that would launch a much-loved series—and the peak of the company’s audiophile headphones for more than 25 years. Four years later, to mark its 50th anniversary, Sennheiser released the HD 580 Jubilee, which would later become the HD 600 and lead to the HD 650 ... Read More
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1,160 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
steme
1
May 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The 58X are great sounding. Just as comfortable as the 600 and 650 of course. Workmanship: Fit+Finish are excellent as always from Sennheiser. The only possible improvement could be done to the cable. It's a bit short and ends in a 1/8 inch jack, which slips easily out of the 1/4 inch adapter. A true HIFI cable should end in a proper 1/4 inch jack right away imho. But overall: for the price it's a fantastic product! Thank you.
May 18, 2019
naytmare
0
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Effing love it, wish headphones of these caliber gets cheaper though, these one included
May 17, 2019
Zaphain
0
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are badass. I am coming from an original Sennheiser PC360 G4ME headset and decided that instead of getting another headset I'd take a chance and get these and a ModMic 5. These are definitely really REALLY good and audibly better than what I had. Couldn't be happier.
May 17, 2019
NiteHawk
0
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Actual Rating: 4.35. Great set for casual listening. With a AAA THX dac/amp... This ain’t no fugazy, forget about it. Dirac fanculo, forget about it. Replace the pads, those are one level above garbaj.
May 16, 2019
Schonplayer
0
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are great for almost everything, not to hard to drive, good low end. The highs are a little less lively compared to the 6xx. If you love classical and Jazz I would recommend the 6xx instead with an amp. For everything else these are great. Paired with a Fiio Btr3 a good wireless solution for roaming around the house listening to your favorite tunes or watching a movie.
(Edited)
May 16, 2019
p804
0
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Terrific value. Very thankful to the support team who were very helpful and fast both answering and fixing an issue with shipping
May 15, 2019
ThisisSam
0
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Works well off of my one+6 and even better off my laptop.
May 15, 2019
LtDanNewLegs
10
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
JUST got these yesterday (about a week and a half to ship to Canada, cost an extra $30 Cdn COD) and holy crap these are good. I currently have a pair of HD 2.0 Momentum noise cancelling Senns that I love, but these just KILL those. I know, kind of apples/oranges, but I do love the sound of the 2.0's. Using these with a Micca Origen 2 Dac/Amp. Just an awesome sounding starter set overall. If you're thinking whether or not to get these, check out the ZReview on Youtube, where Zeos clearly points out that these are the EXACT SAME PARTS as Sennheiser's new HD660 headphones, that go for over $500 US. Dive in. You won't regret it.
May 15, 2019
Scmark
1
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones by far have the best sound and detail of any that I have listened to at anywhere near this price point. They even sound great plugged into your phone. A can't miss purchase.
May 15, 2019
ZBDON
0
May 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Way better than my Hyper Cloud Alphas Core and Alphas my only complaint it basically all plastic so I hope they don't break.
(Edited)
May 15, 2019
umur
0
May 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing sound quality for the price.
May 14, 2019
mikeflow
15
May 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I think I good good value for my dollar, perhaps not as outstanding as many reviews suggest but I have relatively few complaints. Disclaimer: I am NOT an audiophile, just an average guy who did a ton of research before buying his first "good" set of cans. Pros:
  • Comfortable (almost shockingly so) after loosening the clamping force a little. Largely due to how lightweight they are.
  • Sounds really good with a V shaped EQ to my ears and a USB DAC (I have a cheap Creative Sound Blaster Recon 3D module)
  • I feel like I got reasonable/good value for the $160 USD I paid
  • Cable is substantial and feels of high quality, I am confident it will last a long time
  • In general the build quality manages to be both lightweight while still feeling substantial and reasonably durable if a bit "plasticy".
Cons:
  • Without the EQ settings, I was not blown away. As a result these are basically "for desktop use only".
  • The sound leakage, I know should be expected... It's way worse than I expected though lol. When gaming I can hear my computer fans and it is a little annoying. Also you could NEVER use these in a cubicle enviroment without driving your co-workers nuts.
  • I know that there's no indication officially that these are the same as the HD660s, but several youtube videos suggest that they are effectively the same. I can tell you for sure that these are not worth $550. Perhaps one of the reasons I chose these over the HD6XX was that perception of value where the HD660s is a couple hundred more than the HD650 at retail. I'm a little underwhelmed but that might just be the expectation management talking.
  • This is my fault for buying open back, but I really was expecting more bass.
  • The headband finish is pretty bad, looks like rattlecan black on an unprepped surface. I understand that this headphone is a bargain relative to the one it's based on and cost savings are important but its still not exactly a cheapo walmart pair of cans at $160 USD.
Notes:
  • I am happy with my purchase, at $160 I feel I paid a reasonable price for a decent pair of headphones, I would do it again.
  • These definitely "burned in" after about 30 hrs of playback, I use them almost daily now for a few hours at a time and they sound subjectively better now than when new.
  • If you buy these, plan to keep them attached to a computer/an amp in a quiet room where you won't bother others or be bothered by sound leakage almost equivalent to just using a tiny bluetooth speaker.
  • I feel no urge to buy another pair of open back headphones at any point. I will probably buy a closed back pair at some point in the not too distant future for commuting/work and bass that kicks me in the teeth.
(Edited)
May 13, 2019
Knuxr
1
May 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have always been interested in quality headphones and with the Jubilee's I took my first true dive into the audiophile crowd. These headphones are a clear step above everything I have owned in the past, with the likes of the MX50 and Cloud II being in those ranks. The clarity and detail I am able to discern with these are insane. Listening to music I have heard hundreds of times before I am hearing parts that I never knew was there. If you're on the fence about getting the Jubilee's, just take the dive, for the price these just cannot be beat.
May 13, 2019
Vkwp
0
May 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good for symphony listening. Hope ear pads use material that could be cleaned with wet towel. Hope Drop recommends replacement ear pads that are easy to clean.
May 12, 2019
GGlover
0
May 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Had a set of the original HD580s until the plug sockets stopped working (well known issue I was told, guess that was the only part of the cans that weren't over-engineered). Looked at the costs of having them repaired and it was just too high to justify it. THEN I saw these beauties and ordered them right away. Granted it had been a few years since I had listened to anything through my 580s but these 58Xs have everything I loved about them and more. I may have forgotten exactly what the originals sounded like but I'll never forget how they made me smile while listening to them.... Long story short, these also make me smile.
(Edited)
May 12, 2019
focuseddrive
0
May 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First pair of "real" audiophile headphones. Completely blows my old pair of headphones out of the water.
(Edited)
May 11, 2019
acurran
5
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Reposting a comparison I made between these and the 558s. Overall these are a great upgrade to the 558 that I am enjoying even more now than I was when I wrote this. I just upgraded from the 558 to the 58x. I have been using the 558 for the last 5 years. 58x Pros: -Bass is significantly stronger and cleaner. I have a Fiio e10k and the 58x has more bass than the 558 with the bass boost on without the reduction in clarity. -Treble is more present and cleaner. I am hearing details in songs that I never noticed before. Sibilance is about the same or maybe slightly stronger than the 558. I am very sensitive to sibilance and it's not an issue. -Much better overall clarity and instrument separation. I have noticed that dialogue in tv and movie scenes with lots of background noise is easier to understand even with louder bass noise in the background. I have also noticed that the direction of sounds seems easier to discern, especially sounds that are coming from behind you. Everything just seems cleaner and more distinct. 58x Cons: -Somewhat smaller soundstage. Honestly, it's not too much narrower and I don't even really notice it other than immediately after I switch from the 558. After a minute or two I get used to it and start appreciating the extra clarity. On the other hand, when I switch from the 58x to the 558 it just sounds hollow and lifeless in comparison. Overall I find myself appreciating the extra clarity within the soundstage more than inaccurate width of the 558. -THE CLAMP. My only real complaint. I've bent the metal part of the headband and have been leaving the headphones stretching overnight on the box it came with for the last several nights. It's finally getting pretty comfortable, though the earpad material isn't quite as soft. If the 558 is a 10 on comfort, I'd say the 58x starts at a 3 and is at about an 8 right now. I think it will get up to a 9 after another night or two of stretching. To be fair, the 558 had quite a bit of clamp out of the box, but not this bad. Overall, I'm really happy with the upgrade. It did sound a bit congested at first, but you quickly get used to the smaller soundstage. The one thing I haven't done yet is play games with it, so the smaller soundstage could be a problem there. Based on my experience with movies, the extra clarity and ability to pinpoint the direction of sounds will be more than worth the trade off. Final note regarding source power: I use literally the exact same volume on my phone and e10k as I did with the 558. I honestly can't tell a difference in volume, so don't worry about the higher impedance. Some updates since writing this comparison about a week ago: -I prefer the 58x to the 558 for gaming due to the precise imaging and overall sound quality improvements. -Comfort is steadily improving. I have stretched the 58x on the box it came in every night and will probably continue to do so for at least a few more days. Probably at a solid 8.5 right now.
May 9, 2019
KoukalPuffs
0
May 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these. Amazing for entry level cans!
May 8, 2019
Zenithan
5
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I had read many of the reviews saying that the exterior pieces were looked and feel cheap, but I can say that at least coming from non-audiophile headphones neither is true. I was using a Corsair headset and while it might look nicer in some aspects I like the build quality and look of these more. As for the sound, coming from a "gaming" headset these sound fantastic, I had never understood quite what a headphone soundstage was until I put these on and turned on a song for the first time. The bass really didn't take a loss coming from the Corsair set either. They work fantastic without an amp as well, so you can plug them straight into the onboard sound of your PC. All in all if you are wanting to use these for gaming, get them.
May 7, 2019
bbleezy23
2
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am a glasses wearer and I recently purchased the HD58X (5.6.2019). Read many reviews that spoke to the high comfort level, however they come out of the box extremely clampy, however after stretching them out slightly the comfort improves a bit. I previously owned Bose QC 35 and these are FAR less comfortable out of the box. Does that mean I wouldn't buy them? Not at all, just want to temper expectations. You will definitely want to follow instructions online somewhere on how to soften the material. The exterior material is noticeably cheap, most likely to get these headphones down to the list price, however the sound quality is superb. I have paired it with the GSX 1000 and the Modmic 5 and it looks great and sounds great. 4.5/5 Stars
May 7, 2019
SimonLiu
6
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I currently own a pair of Audio Technica ATH-M50X's which were an amazing pair of headphones, but I wanted a pair of open back headphones as the M50X's were a bit closed off for my taste and music I listened to. I heard a lot of praise about the HD 58X's from different tech/audiophile enthusiasts. As a student, I needed to purchase a pair of headphones that didn't completely drain my wallet like the HD 6XX's. The HD 58X's from what I heard also didn't require a beefy amp to play from which was a huge plus as I couldn't afford a nice amp/DAC. When I got the HD 58X's and tried them on, they were really comfortable and surprisingly light for their size. Listening to them off my Focusrite Scarlet Solo (it's the best thing I've got for now lol) was an absolute joy as the soundstage and clarity increased quite a bit compared to my M50X's. These cans have some killer sound for the value. One thing I will point out as many others have also already, is that these are now manufactured in Romania for some reason. It was sort of a letdown to see that on the box, but then again, I am certainly no audiophile who could tell the difference in sound quality. If you are looking for a new pair of headphones that sound incredible and won't break the bank, look no further than the HD 58X Jubilee's. P.S. Huge shoutout to Z Reviews who really influenced my decision in buying these!
May 7, 2019
Joksan24
0
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The sound quality is amazing. The soundstage is also great for movies and music. Well worth the price.
May 7, 2019
NickMimi
3
May 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I’m not much of a “headphone guy”, I have always had a pair of cheap headphones around for the occasional need. “Zeos”, from Z-reviews with his stupidly long but immensely enjoyable, enthusiastic and mostly down to earth informative reviews finally got me to buy some. The HD58xx were my first “good” headphones. I now own 5 very different headphone amps and 6 sets of “ears”. At under $200 I could not be any happier and I genuinely enjoy my “massdrop Jubilee’s”. I can’t speak to all the technical jargon, nor the fancy sound signature words. What I can say is that these headphones are a stupidly good value for my hard earned dollars. I will say that about my $100, $800, and my $1500 sets. I NEED to feel like I am getting good value for my money. For some of us it falls down to dollars and cents to quality and value. I am one of those consumers. I will haggle to get an extra dollar off an item I want and will walk away and forget about any product that I don’t feel gives me value for my money. YMMV but I don’t feel any casual listener will feel cheated or shorted with the Jubilee’s and the value to performance ration they provide.
May 5, 2019
st_cornelus
15
May 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones in price range. Slightly better then hd 599, a little more clearer overall . I recommended it.
May 4, 2019
iDerp69
0
May 7, 2019
bookmark_border
I wonder how much better the HD 599 is than the 598. I have the 598, and upgraded to these. I love the sound of the 598: it's a damn good headphone that produces the largest soundstage of any headphone I've heard... but these 58X Jubilees kind of blow it out of the water for music... feels like a solid "20%" upgrade in overall sound clarity. The bass is super tight and punchy while not at all being over-pronounced, which I love for rock and metal music. The mids and uppers feel like a veil has been lifted :)
May 7, 2019
Neisayer
0
May 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones. Amazing sound!
May 4, 2019
heck0gecko
0
May 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are amazing! They stay comfortable on my large head, and I’m hearing parts of my favorite songs that I’ve never noticed. I would recommend them to anyone looking for high quality, valuable headphones.
May 4, 2019
colmiak
1
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
quick review vs 37x (all subjective to my use case, mainly gaming some music): pros: punchier bass, cleaner/crisper sound soundstage for gaming on par with 37x (footsteps, directional sound) prettier cons: no mic ( bought a modmic 5 that isn't fun to setup, isn't as clean/easy as 37x flip up to mute mic, will miss that) slightly harder to drive (my gsx 1000 doesn't get them as loud as my motherboard audio does, tho still plently loud) price diff is about 90- 110$ ish if you need a mic I wanted something a little better than my 37x and these are what i'd consider the marginal/decent upgrade to them. worth the price difference? probably not to most people. I'd say the 37x are an excellent deal for what you get but these are definitely that step up if you're feeling the itch for something just a little better. just be prepared to deal with a messier mic situation.
(Edited)
May 2, 2019
T4Deals
206
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these. Bought a second pair for my daughter. No problem using these on my MBP. I run them off Tidal HiFi through Sonarworks True-Fi and add my Fiio E12 Mont Blanc when I want a little extra bass and emphasis.
May 2, 2019
that_dude1122
0
May 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones, quality is great. These were my first audiophile pair of headphones, and I have to say, I love these.
May 2, 2019
Showing 31 of 2001
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,999 OF 2,001 POSTS
May 21, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest