Matt3o Nerd DSA Keycap Set
Matt3o Nerd DSA Keycap Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.3k Sold
Product Description
Show off your fluency in Russian or Elvish with these Matt3o Nerd DSA keycap sets. Each set is sculpted in the DSA profile and made through a process of dye sublimation Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
72
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
bren-square
65
Jan 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic purchase. I grew up in the early 90s and my dad read LoTR to me and my siblings as kids in the evening before bedtime so this set was an instant buy for me. It hit all the nostalgia points. My biggest and only hesitation was that this set might not live up to my expectations. But it did. It really did. I got the Elvish dual-legend with extras and novelties and am currently using them to type this review.
  • My rig right now uses a GK68 with the Elvish Dual-Legend and Halo True switches.
  • The PBT is really nice. Super smooth feel.
  • The printing is clear and concise. The creator put a lot of details into this.
My only issue with this set is that they sent them to me in little clear plastic bags jumbled up and the images on Massdrop are REALLY grainy so I couldn't figure out what keys went where. I had to go to the creators website for a clearer picture. That's not a true annoyance though, I just felt like I had to say something that could be improved. Otherwise, absolutely fantastic set that was worth the wait. I couldn't be happier.
search

OxSnipe
0
Mar 29, 2019
Can you link the creators site? I'm about to buy this for a GK64.
arrowM
13
Mar 29, 2019
https://matt3o.com/more-nerd-sets-from-your-friendly-neighborhood/ Right-click and select "View Image" to see it in hi-res
konfliicted
5
Dec 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Look Great on my Ducky Miya Pro Enchanting Purple
So these keycaps are easily the best looking keycap set for the type of board I have and they feel great. This is my first time trying a different profile and swapping to DSA didn't effect my typing speed at all and only took me a few minutes to get used to as my fingers tend to lightly hover on top of my keyboard. The only things I will note is that I got a duplicate R key which is why you see the same key for my R and T because they seem to have given me the duplicate R key and left out the T key. They look pretty similar so I can understand where the mistake comes from. Lastly there is no red Escape key like pictured above and while you can see that when looking at the additional layout images I think it would be smart not to have images showing that key in red since you don't get one at all. All and all though absolutely love the keys and just hoping to get the replacement T key that I need!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
NR-08
10
Nov 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like them
Used them for a 60% build and it turned out nicely!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
sprstvn
4
Dec 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent
search
Using them on my Iris and absolutely love them, only issue is that it was difficult sorting them all out but it was no big deal. Legends were easy to reference against the pictures.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
qleb
5
May 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great quality, received pretty quickly. The colors look great and the keycaps feel great to type on.
search
search

hema
6
Sep 5, 2020
Not seeing the 'Russian Dual Legend base kit' option like the one in your pics on drop, how did you order yours?
211212
4
May 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The keycaps are decent, unsure if fully worth the price.
search
search
Aside from these keycaps, I have PBT DSA keycaps from YMDK (same as NKPC?) (they have grayer (shown) + 9009 colorway) which bought on Amazon for $30-40 (probably can be found cheaper elsewhere) as well as a small set of closer-to-$100+ for set ABS DSA keycaps (mostly modifiers) from Signature Plastics. These are my references for comparison. In this picture, the Nerd caps are on the F9-F12 cluster, next to YMDK dyesub PBT DSA caps (alphas) and SP doubleshot ABS DSA caps (modifiers). The benefits of these keycaps is the novelty/design/styling of LOTR or Ru legend and that they look very nice on top of smoothly-lit RGB boards in part because they let a lot of light bleed through..
  • They feel more slippery than the cheaper YMDK PBT keycaps -- leading to more typos as am somewhat a sloppy typer and might hit sides of keys often. Update: But the cupping feels a little nicer/deeper, but might just be me, have since added stronger springs to switches and typing at 100wpm with these, up from 80 before.
  • They let quite a bit more light bleed through though appear to have same thickness as other caps. Not sure why this is -- it does like great on my keyboard with transitioning lighting; maybe the PBT on these caps is less dense somehow? Neither YMDK nor ABS SP caps let any noticeable light through.
  • Like some have mentioned, the printing on the red keys (modifiers etc) isn't amazing; in part I think it might be the choice of cyrillic fontface used, though am not well versed in which fontfaces are available out there. The red ink on the white caps also is not that pretty on some keys but it is less noticeable. Black legends on white keys seem to have turned out the best and most pleasant to look that. Due to how (subjectively) bad the red keys look to me, have swapped out the red modifiers for the ABS ones from SP. But ultimately I made too many typos because of the slipperiness of the Nerd alpha keys, so then removed the Nerd alpha keys as well.
  • These DSA keycaps also are dissimilar from sets from other companies in that they have crossbars at the top of the switch, likely for structural support. I thought this was nice at first. But the first issue is that this results in the caps being ~2mm taller than other DSA keycaps especially when mounted on BOX switches (or any other switch with a partial or full 'box' around the stem, like many Outemus) partly due to the presence of these cross bars, which makes mixing keys from this set with keys from another set not work well (more applicable if you have box, outemu, etc. switches which have a little partial "box" around the system, but 1mm or so difference with other caps on regular switches persists as well). This somewhat threw a wrench into my plan to couple the alpha keys with different modifiers, esp. on an older cheaper keyboard that has outemu 'half-box' switches.
  • One benefit of the crossbars is that is simpler to add a small (1.5mm) o-ring and not need to double up o-rings if want to add them. The downside is I feel these caps need the o-rings because the sound when bottoming out is a pretty annoying 'scritch' which I think is a result of the keycap crossbar hitting the top of the switch housing.
  • These caps are not nearly as tight around the stem of switches as others to the point that you can easily take them off with your fingers with little effort without needing a keycap puller. If add 2.5mm (large) size o-rings to the keys, the result is hilarious in that the key will literally jump off a (outemu blue) switch if you depress it quickly enough. 1.5mm o-rings work fine though.
  • Lastly, both spacebars (regular + bigger size) that come with the set were warped (bad quality control?).
These aren't terrible caps, but I can see why they are on sale and believe they should be further discounted. Then again with base set you get enough for a full keyboard, so not terrible either. UPDATE: Edited above a tiny bit more and increased rating to 4. I find myself going back to these caps here and there when I want a DSA set because I like their feel and shine-through-ness. They definitely feel lighter than some other caps.. but this is a positive for me because it helps bring out the tactility of the cheaper speed copper switches I have on current board.. until maybe try out holy pandas or something. Still pretty unhappy about their slight incompatibility with other DSA caps (mm or two of height difference, even on non-box-switches) though since not a fan of the red modifiers.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Xander51
2
Aug 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Put the Cyrillic keys on my old das keyboard to practice Russian. The color looks great using just the white and reds. Really appreciate the mono Cyrillic set. Спасибо!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Zombieff
2
Nov 18, 2019
And they don't ship to Russia. Ironic.
makaaberi
7
Apr 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Near perfect. Would have liked a couple of caps in different sizes to match my Katana60 -layout, but other than that, love it. Great quality.
search

sturgissw
82
Oct 17, 2019
Nice casual Weyland-Yutani bag brag. :)
makaaberi
7
May 25, 2020
Thanks. I made it out of an old hoodie of mine. 😁
ckj1337
2
Mar 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
First DSA PBT set for me and I must say it is gorgeous. Looks great, feels great - lovely to have proper ISO keys for once! (hint: |\) The only thing I have retroactively noticed is that the red White Tree of Gondor cap pictured as ESC is nowhere to be seen in any of the kits, and that it would be nice to have a hashtag key :)
Tiondar
34
Apr 1, 2019
Same here, loved the feeling and that so much needed ISO Layout option, but in my case the major problem was missing the 6u spacebar, while having the 1,5u full bottom row. It's not present as an option even in the child sets. I've already found a replacement, but would have been so nice having one in the set
infinitymdm
117
May 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Great Gift
OK, first off a bit of background: At my university, the head of the electrical and computer engineering department is a huge lord of the Rings fan. He owns all the movies, all the collectibles, and even designed his own tabletop strategy game based around different combat scenarios from LOTR, with hand-painted figures and beautiful board. When I saw these, I knew he would love them too. I pitched the idea to my classmates and started collecting money. With a bunch of $5 donations, we got him these keycaps (in elvish dual-legend) and an entry-level mechanical keyboard. We presented it to him near the end of the semester. He now uses this keyboard in his office so he can show it off to students.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 17 of 87