MDG Engraved Opalite Polyhedral Dice Set
MDG Engraved Opalite Polyhedral Dice Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
214 Sold
Product Description
As much a work of art as a set of functional dice, this polyhedral set is made from opalite with engraved Arabic numerals on each side. When the light hits the dice at different angles, it changes colors Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
12
search
mivox
32
Mar 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The set I received was engraved, and I haven't noticed any of the numbers being off center. Guess I got lucky, from the looks of some other reviews? I'm quite happy with them. (I was amused to learn "opalite" is actually just a fancy sort of glass, but I didn't really expect a handful of gemstones at that price.)
search
search
search

(Edited)
Mar 17, 2019
Techtombusd
2
Oct 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Painted and not engraved like promised. d12 looks like a countdown die, not randomized numbers. Numbers are off-center and it is annoying to look at on my table.
Oct 11, 2018
Ares78
1012
Oct 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks good. Shapes aren’t perfect. Don‘t roll onto a hard surface (they feel fragile).
search

search

search

search
Oct 2, 2018
Curby
75
Sep 19, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased in the drop that ended August 28, 2018. It's a mixed bag, but mostly positive. See the pictures. First of all, the numbers are indeed engraved. Note the thin letters with rough edges (printed letters have thicker strokes and cleaner edges) and the label describing the set as engraved. Unfortunately, there are some small problems with the dice. Note the surface blemish on the 18 face of the D20. Thankfully the surfaces, edges, and corners are mostly in good order. Unfortunately, these aren't the only problems.
search
Several faces are engraved off-center. Note the magenta lines showing the centers of the faces below. These are the most off-center engravings shown as examples. There are 2-3 other faces similarly off-center, and the rest were better-centered.
search
Lastly, the faces on the D12 are curiously regular and ordered. Note the Chessex D12s, which have a better "mix." This might not affect fairness, but fair dice usually distribute their faces more randomly. I haven't checked the other dice as carefully, but they might exhibit this layout as well.
search
Conclusion? Pretty good dice for the price. Not perfect by any means, but they have engraved faces as advertised, and there aren't any glaring problems. If the minor issues shown here aren't deal-breakers for you, I encourage you to get them! With better quality control this could easily be a 5-star product, but as it stands it's a solid 4 and a good buy.
Hope this helps! If it does, feel free to hit that thumbs up icon. :)
Sep 19, 2018
Iakoben
1
Jul 16, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I read the reviews and expected the numbers numbers not to be engraved, sure that's a bit of false advertising but it's also kind of visible in the banner photo. I was still excited when the dice arrived but was quickly disappointed by how off-center the numbers were. At 54$ shipped, this is really unacceptable.
search

search
Jul 16, 2018
Karams
1
Jun 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not engraved as promised.
Jun 23, 2018
misterbreadrum
8
Jun 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not guaranteed to be engraved.
Jun 21, 2018
BorealForestWitch
0
Jun 19, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Everything was shipped well and intact, but the dice were painted, not engraved.
Jun 19, 2018
Karams
1
Jun 19, 2018
bookmark_border
The ones I received were painted also.
Jun 19, 2018
misterbreadrum
8
Jun 21, 2018
bookmark_border
Push for a refund. This should be a cut and dry case, there's another drop that specifies not engraved and is cheaper than this one.
Jun 21, 2018
JeffWilder
23
Apr 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got these to pair with the engraved Blue Sandstone dice, and the pairing is amazing. It's a really gorgeous "night and day" theme. One thing that was a nice bonus -- though I don't know if it's just my set, or across all sets -- is that the d10 is significantly more transparent than the rest of the set, including the d00. It's a nice unexpected contrast when rolling percentiles.
No problems with chipping or cracking over several weeks. I'm reasonably careful with both sets, but I'm not handling them gingerly or anything. I do roll them, often together, in a leather dice tray.
All in all, big thumbs up for the engraved set.
Apr 27, 2018
Xaverie
0
Apr 15, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The dice arrive indivicually wrapped in a 7-compartment pill-type case and that's how I prefer to store them. These are absolutely beautiful, with no flaws in the stone or engraving. The light shines gorgeously through them and the engraved numbers are very easy to read. These are my show dice, not ones I play with often, but they feel substantial and smooth to roll. A nice treat for your dice collection.
Apr 15, 2018
Showing 12 of 14
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
14 OF 14 POSTS
Feb 27, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order