Mechcables Godspeed Custom-Sleeved USB Cable

Mechcables Godspeed Custom-Sleeved USB Cable

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.8K requests
955 Sold
Product Description
From the same folks who brought you the Hana and Dasher & Dancer cables, these are designed to pair with the Godspeed keycaps. Made by hand from 28-AWG tinned copper wire, this Godspeed-themed USB cable features an aluminum Mylar wrap beneath a braided copper shielding Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
38
check
50%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
jguffey
15
May 12, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've read in the past that some people have received non-functional cables from this maker, but my run must have been good because I've had 0 problems. I've been careful with this cable (it's premium after all) so it connects my keyboard to my pc and that's it, rarely gets unplugged / replugged, and rarely moves, but it looks fantastic and works all the time.
igorstar
16
May 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good color and materials. Haven’t had any issues with it. Looks beautiful.
miglaugh
5
Jan 31, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Edit: Apparently, this cable is only for keyboards and nothing else and its features are only meant to be decorative. I'm adding back a star due to this revelation. That said, I only use it to charge my phone and will only ever use it for that, so I'm going to make people aware of the stiff and rough plastic sheathing on it in case anyone misunderstood and thinks it's just paracord on the outside. Original: Didn't expect the plastic sheath on the cable to be so stiff. Makes me concerned that with use it'll start to crack and so forth. The curly 'phone cord' part is similarly as stiff and doesn't bring any kind of springy-ness to the table. Reading other reviews I guess I should just be happy that it actually plugs into my phone.
(Edited)
THZX
5
May 17, 2019
You do know that this cable is made for keyboards right? The coiled part is mainly just for aesthetics.
maxobaxo
0
Jun 9, 2019
If course it’s only for keyboards... it was featured / sold within the mechanical keyboards community.
(Edited)
maxobaxo
0
Jun 9, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty stoked on this cable. I’m not sure why anyone is plugging it into anything other than a keyboard... mine is USB-A to USB-C, and it plugs into my mechanical keyboard just fine. I do agree it was a little stiffer than I imagined, but it’s not like I’m moving my keyboard around a ton, so that doesn’t really have much of an impact on using it. I like it! Cant wait until I get my Godspeed keycaps to match!
(Edited)
mtiffany
9
Oct 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful and non-functional
I wrote the following to mechcables@gmail.com. They didn't even bother to respond. (It's been 12 weeks since I emailed). Hello! I just opened my package of 2 Mechcables Godspeed USB cables. Both are USB-C on both ends; one is coiled, the other not. The one with the coil has a fault somewhere. It won't carry power or data. The other one seems fine. What should I do? I love your work and I want you to succeed; I'm sure that defects are just as frustrating to you as to me. Please let me know the easiest, lowest friction, best way for you to get this issue resolved. Regards, michael P.S. Drop order confirmation below. I wrote directly to you instead of to support@drop.com. Please let me know if that was the wrong thing to do!
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
JagrPuck
6
Jan 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Much like others below, received my cable and the USB C connector physically can't plug into anything. I've contacted Massdrop and was informed I needed to send it back and received a refund due to the faulty product. Couldn't be more disappointed.
EndlessOptimism
2
Jan 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The USB C cable does not plug into anything that I own. I suppose its because its 2.0 and not 3.1, but its actually ridiculous that they would even make this. The cable is really high quality too, so I'm quite disappointed. Complete waste of money.
wasmarkhere
7
Jan 8, 2019
Same issue here, the USB C cable ordered won’t fit my New Poker II USB C that has a USB C plug.
TSwizzle
5
Jun 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's really pretty, but construction was poor
I was excited to try my first custom cable, but I was met with disappointment. It worked well for 5 months or so. But then it started to short out my keyboard/usb ports on my motherboard. The heat shrink and usb c plug were also wobbly after a few months after normal use. No pulling on cable. I don't think this is a common issue, I have read other good reviews from mechcables. But be aware.
Soham
94
Jan 31, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stopped working after a year of using and moving around.
APZEL
11
May 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good quality
good quality
Showing 13 of 46