shopping_cart
Mitchell & Johnson JP1 Headphones

Mitchell & Johnson JP1 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
372 requests
·
491 Sold
Product Description
From Mitchell & Johnson, an exciting new hi-fi company out of London, the JP1 allows you to enjoy the sound of an electrostatic headphone without having to own a specialized electrostatic amplifier. It does this with an electret driver, which works like an electrostatic driver but is permanently charged using a special diaphragm that can store and utilize this charge in everyday use Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
26
check
29%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Rebehle420
43
Jan 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
i actually cant put these down, i love them. Im going to upgrade the pads because they were squished at the bottom, but these are definitely my favorite pair of headphones right now.
jonRock
149
Jan 31, 2019
I feel the same way. I've been using them every day. Great headphones. I've been using Ainur Sauron MKIII and ViPER4Android FX on my phone, and I got them sounding pretty good with all genres. I have a Hidizs AP80 dap on the way and it has that MSEB tuning on it. Looking forward to using the AP80 with these and making an MSEB profile for them.
cuong_nguuyen
5
Jan 25, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive sound stage, especially the bass. The minus point is the earpads, it hurts after more than an hour of listening.
jonRock
149
Jan 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are fantastic for the price of $110. The build quality is great, the sound is great, but the packaging is terrible. Mine arrived with the bottom of both ear pads smashed and permanently damaged. Luckily swapping to different pads was easy. I put a thicker pair on them and they sound better and are more comfortable. The included carrying case is too small, even for the default pads. The build quality feels nice and they look premium. They are pretty comfortable for long sessions with a pad swap. The included cable is decent enough. The sound is great. It's smooth, detailed, and natural. They are a bit bass heavy though. They sound fantastic with electronic music, but they may sound a bit warm in other genres. I can tell when the electret drivers are doing their work because they sound life-like at times. The instrument separation is great. Sounds come from all directions. I used them for gaming and they were great. These headphones need a decent dac/amp to reach their full potential. They are very picky when it comes to the dac/amp. They don't sound amazing from my phone, but they still sound good. Overall, I'm very pleased with my purchase. They are absolutely worth the $110. I wouldn't pay the retail price of $600 for them though. They seem to be worth twice the Massdrop asking price though. Overall, I'd give the sound an 8/10 (with the pad swap), build quality an 8.5/10, and the value at the price I paid for them a 9/10.
ersen
0
Jan 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The headphones burned and I'm very happy and satisfied right now. The headphones needs high resolution. I started listening to music with the iPhone 6s apple Music, and I had a wonderful experience.
(Edited)
jonRock
149
Jan 17, 2019
Really? Please elaborate. Have you tried swapping out the pads? I really like them. I can see why some people wouldn't like the sound though. It's a unique sound signature. With EQ though, you could pretty much make them sound however you want since they respond well to EQ. If you make your EQ look like the inverse of the frequency response that's on the back of the box, it should sound more neutral.
(Edited)
maccski
8
Jan 22, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A few weeks in and the more I listen to them, the more I like them. Whether it’s down to burn-in or me acquiring a taste for them I don’t know (or care). Initially I didn’t like the mids – I found them to be muddy and canned. Almost like they were coming out of a plastic bucket. After more than 100 hours of use, the plastic bucket effect (or my perception thereof) seems to have matured into a fairly detailed, warm mid-tone. Early on I tweaked the EQ into a 'w' shape, pushing the mids down a little, leaving the 1K as is. Now when I switch off the EQ the difference is less pronounced. The lows seem controlled & smooth and the highs are clear and never harsh. I listen to a wide variety of genres (including alternative/indie, jazz, classical, electronic, post-punk) in ALAC format on an Astell&Kern AK Jr. Lower bitrate recordings are not tolerated well by these headphones and come out sounding two-dimensional.   I A/B tested them against my Audio Technica ATH-M50S’s and the M&J’s seemed to tie the soundstage together better – filling in areas that were not there with the AT’s. This was most apparent on a hi-res recording of crowd noise from a stadium concert. The AT's sparkled more, but there was more “meat” and more layering to the sound on the M&J’s.   Build is OK and the wood cups are stunning. I'm not crazy about the short proprietary cable, the apparent lack of adjustability in the size, the insubstantial earpads, and overly snug case. I tried the Brainwavz earpads recommended in other posts. They added air and breadth to the soundstage, but at the cost of a huge mount of low end – not worth the trade-off for me. I also found them less comfortable than the stock earpads due to the headphones sitting very low on my head and the pads pressing against my neck below my ears. Maybe I have a freakishly shaped head. So I switched the Brainwavz to my Audio-Technica’s where I experienced none of the sound or comfort issues – I guess I’ll keep ‘em on the AT’s...which now look even awesomer.   A word of caution for Canadians - a $109 USD drop turns into almost $200 Canadian with exchange, shipping and duty. Had I paid full retail (over $900 Canadian with tax *gasp*) I would want them to sound unbelievable off the bat with no EQ and I would probably still be less than enthused. However, for $200 Canadian I’m actually quite happy and enjoying getting to know them.
(Edited)
psheldon
2
Feb 10, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent headphones, they were a little dull when I first tried them but they are opening up beautifully as they burn in. Sound stage and presence is great, revealing plenty of detail. Bottom end is tight without losing too much extension. The one great disappointment though is the ear pads, they simply have no resistance and squash flat as soon as you put them on, making for an uncomfortable experience after about half an hour of listening. I'll be replacing them (thanks to others here for their suggestions) but this shouldn't be necessary on a pair of headphones with an RRP like these had. Not so bad given the Massdrop price, thankfully.
jackson.cw.wong
9
Jan 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty good quality for the price imo. I'm running this with a micro amp and micro DAC from HeadRoom, haven't tried it on it's own so it may make a big difference? I do agree with most that the ear pads aren't great, I don't think I have big ears but even for me, after wearing for a few hours it's not that comfortable. The sound leakage may also be quite significant compared to other headphones, but it's not THAT bad. For certain songs it sounds amazing, for me the biggest thing I noticed was when listening to some cello solos, the chills are strong on this one.
BrettP
47
Jan 26, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am glad I took a chance on these. The build quality and materials (except the earpads) are very sturdy and beautiful. Like others have stated, a small area of the ear pads were crushed do to the tight fit in the case. Not to worry, on a reviewer's recommendation I already had upgraded replacement pads ready: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01HG4ZLFQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o08__o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 With the upgraded pads these are comfortable (not Beyer level comfort but let's face it, nothing compares to Beyers for comfort). Clamp force is firm but not overly so like Senn hd6XX. Again, I give the nod to Beyer Premium Versions for having the most comfortable clamp force (bare minimum) Cloth cable is nice short length and does not twist up like stock Senn and Beyer cables. I agree with other reviewers that these have a definite warm sound signature. EQ treble if that is your preference then they will be closer to Senn 6XX sound signature. At this price point (plus $15 for upgraded pads) you can't go wrong. With cherry cups, metal and leather headband, compact folding for travel in a custom case are you kidding me? No brainer. Get 'em while you can.
(Edited)
mcabriel
177
Sep 23, 2019
what upgraded pads you bought for jp1?
Daredevil6611
7
Mar 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If u want a real review of this headphones read this link. I agree 100% with this guy. https://diyaudioheaven.wordpress.com/headphones/measurements/mitchell-johnson-jp1-dj/
Arrr
2
Jan 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Muddy mid. It Like have a tend in front of mid section. Burned in for aprox 30 hours. 100 $ IS The real Price. I prefer Philips Fidelio X2
Daredevil6611
7
Mar 23, 2019
Agree 100%
Showing 14 of 32