NYM96 Barebones Mechanical Keyboard
NYM96 Barebones Mechanical Keyboard
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
852 Sold
Product Description
This 96-key mechanical keyboard strikes a perfect balance between a fullsize and tenkeyless board. It’s got everything you need—including function keys, arrows, and a numpad—but it doesn’t waste an inch of space Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
29
check
79%
would recommend to a friend
search
ifrese
1
Oct 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Its a tank
This keyboard is great. Super heavy which makes it feel super solid and stable as a whole. After typing on this, I won't buy another keyboard without a metal case. My other keyboards feel hollow in comparison. I bought mine as a kit several months ago. Assembly was easy and haven't had any issues so far. I used gateron brown switches and a cheap set of keycaps from aliexpress. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32915999416.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.758b4c4dNdi5vg

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 28, 2019
Neuron1681
8
Oct 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Software problems after a month
Yesterday, my numpad enter key began acting as if it were stuck and manually unusable. Today, the same issue popped up with the right arrow key. Idk if this is a soldering problem (me) or a software issue (the manufacturer) but I'll update the stars if the issue is fixable but so far it looks like I'm SOL on using this keyboard. Aside from that the casing is great quality. The cable is only 3 feet so it's a bit short, but easily replacable. The Type-C slot is massive given the size of the actual port. Also beware of the awk keycap sizes you'll need to find. Also there's a few red LED's on the underside of the PCB for some reason. They don't evenly cover the PCB so it's like the bottom half of my keyboard is backlit and the top portion is dark.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 15, 2019
jasonbot
3
Sep 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Big chonk
This is a solid piece of office equipment. The aluminum chassis means this isn’t going anywhere on the desk. My customization needs thus far have been very modest and I’ve been able to do them in the operating system, but knowing that I could do some QMK black magic to the included numpad opens up a lot of possibilities. I’m using a relatively shallow keycap profile on top, and that and the large open area creates a bit of a metallic echo. I may put in larger caps or some rings to quiet it down, but overall this is a pretty good buy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 21, 2019
muggy
49
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great quality and value
This was my first mech build coming from a CM Quickfire TK, it was much more affordable than some of the other custom options out there. I saw some complaints about damaged cases from delivery - I got mine in excellent condition, no dents or scuffs of any kind. They put bubble wrap around the keyboard, but it doesn't cover the ends. It's all in a fitted cardboard box, I supposed if you dropped it on the ends on something hard it could mess it up, but it seems difficult to me. Still, a little extra bubble wrap probably could have made it extra safe. I did have one of the stabilizers pop out and break some of the clips, they come installed on the PCB. It comes with a spare. I installed mostly GMK stabilizers, but left one of the stock stabs in. The difference after clipping/lubing isn't too much but I do prefer the GMK. Setup wasn't too bad after I figured out the right download, it's easy to customize. The PCB has different options it takes a little positioning to make sure you have things right. The LED's from the bottom of the board actually do leak up through my keycaps a bit if I turn them on, maybe it's more noticeable on the silver case? It helped with some of the acoustics that I added some of the foam layers from the packaging behind the PCB inside the case. This helps to support the USB port a bit too. I lubed the Gateron yellows I added to my order, and I love the end result. The keyboard feels and sounds fantastic. The case is as heavy as others would have you believe, it's a tank of a keyboard. Included USB cable feels like one of those charging cables you get off of Amazon, but it matches my setup. Just wish it was a little longer for how my computer is positioned. Would recommend to anyone looking for the "96" layout (this is 99 keys in the layout I chose).
search

Sep 17, 2019
cheeseandcereal
15
Sep 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall this keyboard is great. The PCB was thought out extremely well, and is highly extensible to various different key size layouts on the bottom row, as well as support for a few different options for the higher rows as well, including iso support if desired. The PCB was also high quality, really no complaints on the pcb-side except the usb-c port, which is not supported very well. All stress to the usb c port goes directly to the dainty surface mount soldering of the usb-c port, and with the way the case is layed out, it's extremely easy to torque the cable. Some sort of re-inforcement like hard foam or putty or something is highly recommended. Additionally, there are under-mounted LEDs, which cannot be seen at all. It probably would've been better just to leave them out, as they do literally nothing. The stabilizers that come with the board aren't great, but also aren't terrible. I would HIGHLY recommend lubing them, as I tested without lubing first, and there was pretty significant rattle in some keys, particularly the space bar on one side which made it very annoying. After lubing they work great, it's just unfortunate that they're the PCB push-pin type, as they are prone to breaking (as one of mine did in shipping). Fortunately, they shipped with an extra stabilizer. The case is amazing and one of the heaviest/sturdiest cases I've ever seen for a keyboard besides some custom-milled ones I've seen people make. The keyboard literally feels like 2 bricks jammed together, which is awesome. Programming the board with QMK is easy, just use the melody96 templates, then there's nothing else unexpected. Overall, would highly recommend. Only true bummer is the poorly supported usb-c port, which can be remedied manually.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 16, 2019
Cgr31337
2
Sep 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good value of money
Overall I'm very satisfied with this keyboard. However there are still some negative aspects that doesn't let me give five stars. The packaging isn't very good. My box was dropped somewhere (during delivery?) and the corner of case has quite a big damage. Also I'm not very satisfied with included switches (MX brown). Not even sure if they are genuine as the caps don't fit as well as to my second keyboard. I even broke one key and opened switch when removed keycap. Based on how hard was it to push caps on the keys, I'm quite sure that removing caps will open many switches, if not break them. Can't believe that Cherry's tolerance is so bad. Also most of them had strongly bent pins. Not a big problem however but looked like some sort of low quality batch. Included screws are not magnetic and it is quite tricky to insert them without loosing them between PCB and switch plate. USB-C socket is not supported well and based on other reviews it could easily break. I'll try to be careful and not move cable too much. Positive is the PCB design. It can be easily customized, support ISO layout (which is generally not available). RGB backlight is not visible and is useless with this case. Removing it from firmware gives some memory for other features. I used QMK Melody96 settings with my own keymap and it works as intended. I'm not sure if there are separate LEDs for CapsLock and NumLock as I don't need any of them.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 3, 2019
Thumps22
23
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
i like the tkl you made hahaha
Oct 21, 2019
bhgemini
12
Sep 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love this board. Some QC issues at the factory or shipper (ding/scratch)
I love this board and just finished it. I paid to have it built with Box Reds, but had to lube the stabs myself. It is so quiet and with the think PBT keycaps sounds like a dream. I saw where someone had an issue with the USB C port detaching from the PCB, so I decided to cut a small piece of rubber, and 3M tape it in place to support the cable and port. I just ordered a kit from AE with the hotswap PCB and can't wait to have one at home and at the office. There is a long but thin scratch on the back and a ding in the top, that I may cover with a sticker or something. Looks like a solder iron or something else small, but heavy was dropped on it.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 1, 2019
ShibaInu
65
Aug 31, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Terrible Quality Control
The aluminum case came with visible scratches and dents. The PCB shipped with the stabilizers mounted--glad it made it through shipping without damages. I didn't receive the USB cable or screws to install the PCB into the case. I'm very disappointed in my purchase. I do not recommend.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 31, 2019
fdisk
1
Aug 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic until some time passed.
Initially I was impressed with the heft and feel of this thing. In fact, I still am. I unfortunately have to give it 1 stars ultimately however because there is a glaring flaw with the USB-C port hole. It's huge and doesn't support the USB-C port. The USB-C port sits on the under side of the PCB, and unfortunately the only thing attaching this port to the PCB is some weak pins and soldering points. Overtime, since the USB-C port is not supported by the case itself, the weight of a USB cable WILL 100% of the time break the USB-C port from the PCB, eventually. Repairing the USB-C port if severed from the PCB is not and easy soldering job like soldering keyboard switches is.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 22, 2019
fdisk
1
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
Hi. Glad I could help. That fix sounds like it would have helped, thanks for that. I ended up buying a replacement PCB. I haven't had the opportunity to put it in yet, but for some additional support, next time I am going to use some epoxy and apply it underneath and around the USB-C port. I think I will try to fit something in there to support it more as well.
Sep 4, 2019
bhgemini
12
Sep 4, 2019
bookmark_border
Did you get the new hot swap pcb? The second one I bought I decided to get the hot swap for $45, since it was only about $10 more. Good luck on your build
Sep 4, 2019
loercase
63
Jul 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great keyboard for value
I bought this preassembled with Gateron Yellows. They're a bit scratchy so they should probably be lubed; I should have thought of that first, so you should probably assemble this yourself. That might also take care of the terrible stabilizer rattle the pre-assembled has. Pros: Price, weight (solid!), condensed form factor, moddability. Cons: Some QC issues (came with a small dent in one corner and a scratch in another - maybe transport damage?), very short cable, very heavy keyboard, very rattly spacebar/backspace/shift and other stabilized keys, and it doesn't come with keycaps (ignore the photos!). Overall good, but definitely not as nice a board as my Massdrop ALT. I definitely will be rebuilding it to lube the keys and band-aid mod the stabilizers, after that it should be good to go.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 7, 2019
Showing 14 of 57
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
57 OF 57 POSTS
Jan 27, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest