OHTO Fountain Pen (3-Pack)

OHTO Fountain Pen (3-Pack)

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
88 requests
4.2k Sold
Product Description
Since 1929, Tokyo-based company OHTO has been making inexpensive, high-quality pens that are a pleasure to write with. On this drop, you’ll find a variety of entry-level fountain pens that range from modern to pocket-size Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
12
search
close
S_V_Listener
9
Feb 1, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Updated 7/29/2019. One of the pens are three star, one is a two star, one is a one star. I was expecting something closer to the Pilot Metropolitan in performance and quality, but the Metropolitan is a better writer and better made, as well as a lighter pen. The clip on the blue Dude was a little loose, and the nib on the Jazz took some adjustment. Other than the styling, nothing especially exciting to write about. There are some better Indian pens in the same price range. The Jazz broke, the threaded part that holds the nib to the body separated from the nib assembly. See photo. Note, this pen has not been used very much since last September, maybe 1 week a month.
search
Also, as others have mentioned, I did not receive one of the six packs of cartridges. The two blue pens had a single blue cartridge in them, and the Black pen had no cartridge in it. I received one box of six black cartridges.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
DocRadar
24
Dec 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrid Customer Service: Crap Pens. Bad Drop. I was giving Ohto a second chance. I'd gotten a Dude in the past, great design, didn't write even after nib adjustments. These pens were cheaply made and arrived defective. Here's my real beef. I repeatedly tried to engage Massdrop customer service and they've totally ignored me. Nothing. I've followed their recommended procedures. Nothing. Once you pay, they're done with you.
(Edited)
Carm
12
Nov 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Write smoother than Lamy Safari and ALs. Like the metal bodies. Section is smooth.
Welshman59
0
Nov 9, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This was a great deal. The pens are a pleasure to write with. For the price ( basically three for the price of one) it was a steal.
skspurling
0
Nov 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good quality cartridge pens.
mns68
10
Oct 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I received the silver Dude , Brown Giza and red Jazz ...Nibs for Dude and Giza look of F to M size while for Jazz it was clear M size , Giza was very dry pen while Jazz was juicy , no variation in writing ...Giza writing was fussy and skippy... the reverse writing was possible with all of them but scratchy .... From writing point of view I like Jazz very much and to less extent Dude and from quality point of view I like Giza and Dude although Jazz looks beautiful but quality was remarkably poor I am missing converters with these FP ... the thing that I don't like and unfortunately I don't know if these FP accept standard international converters !? I hope someone has an answer I was very much disappointed that package did not have the 6 blue and 6 black ink cartridges that were promised to be
search
included in the drop and I don't have explanation for this !! I am giving 4 stars for the quality of writing but as Total I will give only 3 stars for the above mentioned reasons
traviegotswag
1
Oct 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Have yet to try writing with this pen, but it's surprising that the pens I received (both the Dude) came with a lot of scratches. My guess is that the pen were defective in the first place, and that there was no quality inspection done. Not sure if other buyers had the same problem, but buy at your own risk!
search
search

neoire
3
Oct 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My order was Dude, Jazz, and Tasche.
The ink flow is dramatically different among the three pens. The Jazz is, in my opinion, completely unusable; the ink simply pours out of that thing. On cheap paper, the feathering makes lines three to four times as thick as my other pens. On ink resistent papers, little drops of ink puddles actually form.
The Tasche is on the other end of the spectrum. You can feel the ink drying up after writing a few words at normal pace, and lines are visibly thinner, skipping at places. I have to wait a bit before continuing.
So really the Dude is the only usable pen I got out of this bunch. For the price, my Metropolitan is miles ahead of the Dude. Plus the inconsistency in quality of the pens means I can't trust any of them, even the working one.
As other reviewers pointed out too, the package didn't come with extra ink that was promised. Certainly the ink isn't the main point of the drop, but its omission just adds a little more to the disappointment.
javiersp15
4
Oct 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I would consider myself a newbie when it comes to fountain pens, so ordering 3 pens for this price seemed like a bargain. I previously ordered 20 ohto fude ball pens from massdrop and had an OK experience so I decided to give OHTO fountain pens a try after watching sbrebrown's review. These are my overall thoughts:
I ordered: - 1 blue jazz - 1 silver dude - 1 brown giza. In the picture I put a Lamy Safari and Ensso minimalist fountain pen for scale.
In the description of the drop it is stated you will receive the 3 pens, black ink cartridges in each pen, 6 black cartridges and 6 blue cartridges. That is a lie, it only came with 4 black cartridges.
Finish: - the silver dude looks the best (it dide come with minor scratches) - the blue jazz looks to shinny and not in a good way. -the worst looking by far is the brown giza. Tries to be high end but seems too fake and cheap. Keep it mind they are all aluminum pen. They have a good feel but aren't heavy at all. NONE of the nibs are label so you won't know for sure if you got what you ordered. My order doesn't state the size of nib. I swear I ordered 2 medium and 1 broad but can't tell.
Writing experience: - the silver dude is by far the best writing pen. Out of the box it works great, good feedback but a little scratchy. The grip section is also very comfortable. - the blue jazz is ok to write. Out of the box it started writing but has a tendency to skip a little in fast writing. - the brown gize is a complete DUD. As soon as I removed the cap I noticed the nib and feed were not aligned and when you looked it from the side the weren't touching themselves. I removed both the cap and feed at least 3 ties so I could tried to aligned them but the nib keeps separating from the nib. It seems to me that the nib is too long and flexible and under writing the pressure you apply forces them to separate. Basically I've given up on this pen.
Overall, this is a very mehhh drop. I bought these pens to be workhorse pens, always filled with black or blue pen to keep around for signature in legal documents (where I can't use my other inks and pens) but if you consider that you don't get the additional inks and in my case 1 out of 3 pens don't work, then the value just isn't there. I now have 2 cheap pens that cost me $20 each (when you add the international shipping).
Matt_D
0
Oct 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My pens arrived today... I did not receive the 6 Blue and 6 Black cartridges that were supposed to be included!
search
traviegotswag
1
Oct 25, 2018
Me too, I've just emailed Massdrop to enquire, will update you guys as soon as I hear from them.
traviegotswag
1
Oct 26, 2018
For those who did not receive the cartridges, drop Massdrop an email. You'll probably get an email template reply from either Matt or Damian telling you that they will offer a 20% refund.
Showing 14 of 16
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
16 OF 16 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest