Drop + OLKB Preonic Keyboard MX Kit V3
Drop + OLKB Preonic Keyboard MX Kit V3
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.3k Sold
Product Description
The original Preonic keyboard was praised for its build quality, compact form factor, and intuitive layout—and the new version is no different. However, this time around we're offering the CNC-aluminum case in your choice of five colors, including the striking new purple colorway Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
186
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
atari.zero.tv
643
Atari Zero TV
Oct 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My absolute favorite
Easily my favorite keyboard form factor of all time. It has everything I need and nothing I don't use (and layers for things I want but don't use often). It's small enough to slip into my carry-on bag for work trips, or just in my backpack for when I'm going to chill at a coffee shop. Construction-wise, the Preonic Rev. 3 is built like a tank. Make sure you save the tiny pamphlet in the box, it has the assembly instructions. Personally, I go for the ultra-secure plate method. This uses the provided bolts and spacers to make the plate firm within the case. The plate is a hefty stainless steel plate with a tight tolerance. It will take some force to push the switches in. BE WARNED! The hotswap brackets for the switches can come off if you push too hard. I have made 4 of these model and have never had the issue, but it has been known to happen. The recommended method is to put a few switches in the plate, then line them up with the PCB, then place the remaining switches in place by putting your finger on the back of the PCB to hold the black hotswap in place while you use medium force to push the switch into the plate. This reduces the risk of popping off a hotswap. The board is programmed with QMK, but make sure when flashing it that you use the Rev 3 firmware. Rev 2 used a different micro controller and the firmware and layouts aren't compatible. I would love to do a write-up on QMK, but it's a bit complicated to set up and there are a million different things you can do with it. If you have questions, you can always ask on the OLKB subreddit (reddit/r/OLKB). Search first! Your question has probably already been asked and answered, but if you're really not sure just make a new post. People will usually help, but it's not super active so it may take a day or two to get a response. Included is a picture of my collection, which is just about a year old. I have quite a few more now...
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 11, 2019
StopItGetSomeHelp
108
Nov 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Nov 3, 2019
atari.zero.tv
643
Atari Zero TV
Nov 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Hey sorry I don't usually check comments. I have been using enjoy PBT sets here and there. They don't 100% support ortho, though. I don't think they have any sets that are specifically set up for ortho. I had to fill out my board using keys from the numpad to have the correct rows.
Nov 14, 2019
ttys0
24
Feb 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is my first orhtolinear, and three days in I'm really liking it. I'm still in the process of figuring out where I want keys to be, and am _really_ liking the MOD_T setup (i.e. left-shift on hold, enter on tap, etc). From what I can see, it looks like there is a little solder on the USB-C connector, though that piece still makes me a little nervous. I got a magnetic cable set ( https://amzn.to/2Eup4dR ) so there isn't any strain on the connector. Since I pack this from work to home and back, it's great for the convenience factor alone.
search
search

Feb 25, 2019
Loyen
54
Feb 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought this keyboard together with Coppar speed switches and some DSA keycaps from pimpmykeyboard. Coming from the Planck Rev4, this assembly felt kind of as good as that one, only easier. The packaging felt premium and good, the keyboard itself looks high quality and it feels very stable. It also included extra screws in case one of them is bad, which was nice. Switches included leave no room for extras if you are going for a full 1u keyboard, if you are going for one 2u's you are good if one breaks. The screws keeping everything in place goes a bit further than they have to be (they go through the bottom and up to the top-plate), which may cause issues with taller keycaps as the bottoms of them may be able to hit them, but with DSAs there's no issue as they are floored a bit over the screws. Overall great build experience, real easy and fun to setup. Have yet to flash anything custom to it, but seeing how easy it's been using QMK on my Planck and Idobo 75keys boards, I think that will be just as easy as always. UPDATE I had an issue with my keyboard where I would randomly get double taps (or more) per keytap. If you are also having this issue with the pre-installed firmware, try re-flashing it to see if it solves the issue (which it did for me).
(Edited)
Feb 2, 2019
matmcd
55
Jan 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
So coming from someone who’s never built a keyboard from scratch there was a bit of a learning curve. But I'm happy to say in both the process of assembly and flashing custom firmware (if you want) there are enough resources to figure it out both through the included cheat sheet and online. The build quality of all the components are extremely high qualitIy. The plate was a bit tight for my switches though and due to inexperience I ended up bending a few of them. But that isn't a huge issue (I ordered some Box Browns... Gotta love hotswapping!). All in all this is an incredibly wonderful keyboard and I couldn't give anything less than a glowing recommendation! For my wallet’s sake, I hope I haven't started an ortho addiction...
Jan 26, 2019
matmcd
55
Feb 15, 2019
bookmark_border
This set is called DSA Milkshake! It's a wonderful set. Unfortunately the group buy ended a while ago, but I think NovelKeys is going to post some extra kits sometime soon.
Feb 15, 2019
A community member
Feb 15, 2019
bookmark_border
Holy crap. I've seen pictures of a different version of DSA milkshakes around (https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/ajbisi/this_milkshake_looks_weird/) and didn't know there was a 'clean' version as well. I'll definitely keep an eye out for them. Thanks!
Feb 15, 2019
jblakeh1
16
Oct 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Crushing disappointment
For the sake of newbies, it would have been nice to know this kit is missing switches. This is not a complete keyboard. I love the way it looks but once again, a Massdrop purchase that would have benefitted from a little clarity in what I am purchasing.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 18, 2019
blatant
12
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
yeah
Nov 5, 2019
quadband
9
Nov 14, 2019
bookmark_border
To be honest it should really be a 1 star rating. The intentional omission of, “Does not include switches” really embodies the entire MassDrop philosophy: Make it seem like a good deal. They’ll never have to care as long as they have warriors such as yourself defending this shitty practice, though.
Nov 14, 2019
radmedov
135
Nov 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sold all my boards and bought 2 Preonics
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 21, 2019
boboysdadda
1
Dec 21, 2019
bookmark_border
Can I get a link to your cable please
Dec 21, 2019
radmedov
135
Jan 19, 2020
bookmark_border
It's self-made from DIY kit from https://zapcables.com/
Jan 19, 2020
NPJB
33
Sep 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome
**Update** I decided to include a printable PDF on the updated keymap - scale it down, laminate it and tape it to the bottom of the keyboard = never be without it. I would have liked for something smaller and more durable like this to have been included from OLKB instead of the flimsy paper foldout it came with but that doesn’t take away from the incredible quality of the product itself;
search
Also included another picture with the wireless mouse and the mouse mat I bought myself, also through Drop. I cleaned the mat as per the suggestion of another member and it completely took out the red cool aid stain one of my twins was kind enough to decorate it with...see separate review on the mat itself;
search
**Original** I just got this today through the VA and in short - love it! Why do I love it, few reasons; 1) size and weight - small on my desk but heavy enough to be stable, that’s a win/win for me. 2) layout of the keys - I’m a disabled veteran with use of only one and a half hand, this keyboard is again a win for me. 3) programmable - I can use macros which is a huge help (see above), yet another win for me. Even with my handicap & never done anything close to assembling my own keyboard before...had it done in 17 minutes with only ONE hiccup, the stabilization bar. Once I had looked at the pictures customers have linked to on this website, had it done in no time flat. Highly recommend this piece of kit for anyone with a computer, disabled or not...just get one!
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 26, 2019
aergonaut
22
Feb 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very pleased with the build quality overall. I purchased the purple case and my only complaint is that I wish the purple color were deeper. Assembling the board was very easy and the instructions were very clear. The board worked without a hitch after inserting my switches and plugging the board in. Programming the firmware with QMK was easy, but I'm a software engineer and have had previous experience using QMK for the Planck and ALT keyboards.
Feb 13, 2019
anikat
8
Nov 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun Keyboard - my first ortholinear
Not going to lie, I was nervous about switching to ortho. But as it's hot-swappable and a little more interesting than the GMMK, I figured I'd take the plunge at the least to try new switches and fiddle around with. A week has passed and I'm not sure if I can go back now! As a touch typist, the ortholinear layout is great because it highlights any weaknesses or bad habits that you've developed over time - I use my right hand to reach over to the left B and V keys, for example. Also, once you are used to programming the keys, at least to me it makes it a lot easier for me to remember what function keys I've programmed to what, because they are all in a simple, easy to remember grid layout. All in all, I think this is the most flexible keyboard I've ever had the privilege of trying, and if you're a touch typist, I think you would enjoy the programmability and hot swappability. The extra number row makes it a little easier as well to get into if the Planck is too intimidating :> If this keyboard was bluetooth compatible, I think this would be the absolute perfect, hands down keyboard for me of all time. Would love to see a bluetooth enabled board in the future!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Nov 15, 2019
Penski
3
Jan 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great first self-built mech
This was my first self built mech, and I got the halo trues and the XDA canvas caps with the acrylic base. Overall I very much enjoy typing on the Preonic even though it took some adjusting to the ortho layout. Only cons I’ve found are that there is a bit of Spring ping that I’m sure could be solved with lubing and dampening and there was a sizeable gouge on the case out of the box. Thankfully it’s on the bottom so I decided it’s not worth trying for a replacement.
search
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 19, 2020
GRACE031
0
May 5, 2020
bookmark_border
Hi there :) This is with the frosted acrylic case right?
May 5, 2020
Showing 28 of 254