QSP Puffin S35VN Frame Lock Knife
QSP Puffin S35VN Frame Lock Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
94 Sold
Product Description
A mid-sized folder built with premium materials, the QSP Puffin is a handsome manual-opening knife you can take anywhere with ease. This titanium frame lock boasts a strong 3-inch S35VN blade that deploys manually via thumbstud or thumb hole depending on the model you choose Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
14
check
85%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
MJC7
38
Oct 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice looking and functional EDC with one fixable issue.
This is my initial review of the QSP Puffin Carbon Fiber TI- thumb stud two tone.  Fit and Finish: The fit and finish is excellent. The centering is right on. No sharp edges and the craftsmanship great. Lockup is good.  Deployment: The action is excellent . Snappy opening with the thumb studs and a smooth but not fully drop shut closing action.  Ergonomics: Overall the ergos are great and the Puffin is very comfortable in your hand. I don’t feel any hot spots as I have used it. It is not very grippy but locks into my hand well. I have medium size hands. It is not particularly thin but that gives you a nice grip. Size: This is perfect for an EDC folder. Carry: The clip and carry works well but you need to make sure it is secured. I switched the blade for left hand carry and thought it was secured. It began sliding around as I saw in one review. Some blue Loctite seem to solved the problem. I did let is sit for 24 hours before using it again.  However, carrying it a few days later the clip came off. I was lucky to find it. It am used red Loctite and that seems to have solved the problem, but people need to be aware if it (not a ideal fix but it worked) and the may want to address it in future versions. It carries well in the pocket. It is not big or heavy that helps. Blade: I love the design and S35V is good to go all day. The blade has very nice edge that slices very, well. It handles many EDC task well but it is not designed to be a hard use knife. It came paper cutting sharp out of the box. The thumb studs are in the slicing path. However their placement does make for good and comfortable deployment so I think it is worth the trade off. The only marking on the blade arethe QSP logo and S35VN. The top of the blade is crowned so there are not sharp edges. Appearance: I think the Puffin is a really classy looking knife. I love my carbon fiber version and the overall look is great. The silver and black just look good. I like the two tone blade and the carbon fiber is very nicely done.  Value: This is a good value at $129.  Overall: This is a great looking blade and a perfect size for EDC. It is highly recommend pending more long term use. 
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Byrdman8115
4
Jul 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful knife
The fit and finish on the one I received is beautiful. I got the one with thumb studs and I like everything about it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
1004014638
25
Jul 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice overall
I like this one. I chose the version with the opening cutout and am very happy with the fit and finish as well as the action.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FischStu
1
Jun 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got this to replace my former EDC (kershaw emerson cqc-1k) that had developed a bit of wobble in the blade after many years of carry. Took me a while to get used to opening it one handed (thumb stud version) and cut myself a few times before I got the hang of it. This thing was SHARP out of the box. Action was a touch rough before break-in, but a dab of gun oil and constant playing with it as one does with just about any new knife has smoothed it out considerably. Overall very satisfied.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
CurtBH
1
May 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Close but not quite
Picked up the thumbslot (for lack of a better word) version The Good For the price point, fit and finish is excellent. Razor sharp out of the box Great size and weight for EDC type knife The Bad A little concerned about a pocket clip that is only secured with one screw. Can totally see the pocket clip rotating out one day down the road. The Ugly Has a thumbslot, but cannot be opened one handed for the life of me. Combination of too low profile a blade geometry and a little bit of a detent issue. Installed a Kwik Stud on it and it fires open smoothly, so it’s predominantly a geometry issue. Would leave the Kwik Stud on, but it looks stupid and there is marginally enough steel between the thumbslot and the back of the blade for it to grab on too, and it would most likely come off. It seems counterintuitive to offer a ball bearing pivot with a blade you can’t open with one hand. I guess the lesson there is order the thumb stud version, but it shouldn’t be.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jxion
5
May 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Disappointed
The knife is clean and looks sleek. Comes sharp and stylish but the design flaw tells a different story. The pocket clip is secured with 2 star screws on opposite sides and the first day I wore it (without any cutting or use I might add) it came loose and would not unscrew on the side that secures the pocket clip. I tried to tighten each opposite screw and there remains enough play in the threads to bring the pocket clip loose. What. The. Actual. Eff. How was this thought through!?!
search
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
GTam
2
May 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Received my QSP Puffin (thumbstud version). Initial impression, very well made. Size is perfect for me and ergos are great. Razor-sharp out of the box. Action is a bit "gritty" when closing but I'm hoping it will wear in after some time. Blade centering was dead on. Really good looking knife. Overall a great purchase. Only minor issues are the "grittiness" and lockup is 50-60% from the start.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Omniseed
1824
Apr 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stellar work from QSP
Well I ordered the pretty blacked-out model, hoping that I would have a better time with the opening aperture than several reviewers seemed to, because the knife looked so good otherwise and the price is tight. Turns out I have no trouble with index flicking the knife open, the black finish looks like a well done DLC, the carbon fiber is excellent and with a great matte finish, the backspacer and clip have a nice sky blue ano, and they are both perfectly done. The backspacer is simple but completely flush andthe pocket clip rides low and has good retention and clearance for fabric. Also there are some lightening pockets milled out of both scales. All in all my first hour with this leaves me with a great opinion of QSP and/or whoever their OEM is. They did a fantastic job with both this and the Pelican, which does have an even better drop-shut level of action. Because of their build quality and price point/niche, plus their usually good+ designs, they're going to end up multiplying in my collection.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Cerinth
3
Apr 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
nice, solid knife
smooth action and good centering. solid lockup.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sharpenedblade0
25
Apr 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
QSP knives weren’t really on my radar, but if this is an example of what their workmanship is like, they’re definitely on my radar now! The action, materials, fit and finish are all on point! A few sharp edges on some of the milling here and there but nothing that ruins the overall experience of the knife.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Omniseed
1824
May 3, 2020
No, I need to get a new phone but I should have a flood of new shots for a month or so after I get one. Which will be soonish. I got a few really cool things in recent weeks and I have something outrageous on the way from Russia.
(Edited)
Awesome! Can’t wait to see what you get!
Showing 28 of 32
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
32 OF 32 POSTS
Oct 20, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest