Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Singxer SA-1 Balanced Headphone Amplifier
$599

Singxer SA-1 Balanced Headphone Amplifier

bookmark_border
$599
106 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
5,990
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 58X Jubilee Headphones
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
15
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
rspector
1
Nov 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Okay as is but requires DC mod for full use
My unit had issues right out of the package. Also requires DC mod for full enjoyment. I didn’t do the mod as that voids warranty.
adorama
28
Oct 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
awesome sound
much better than THX-789, nice upgrade
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Diego_Ros
4
Sep 21, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
WATCH OUT!!
search
I got a defective unit, that can happen. The problem is that when I return it, it's already been more than 20 days since the defective amplifier arrived and they don't want to refund me. According to Drop they still cannot verify that it arrived at their warehouse, but the tracking number indicates that it was received many days ago. I contact an executive and she only answers with evasibas. Unfortunately this is not something economical and I already feel that I lost my money! Be careful there!
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
randy_huff
0
Jul 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing sound for the price.
The only thing I would change is the overall output volume for harder to drive headphones. Drives my AKG240’s at 5 o’clock and would love just a bit more. Tested with Dan Clark Open X, Hifiman edition xs, and the Fostex T40RP v1.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
nonintv
1
Sep 16, 2022
have you tested the edition xs on the balanced out?
skidmata
85
Feb 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Does exactly what I expected, nice feel to volume knob
I'm pretty much an objectivist, so I pre-cleared my purchase by reading specs and technical reviews first. Because the xlr and rca outputs are both active when in preamp mode I can run my 2:2 (two mains, two subs) stereo setup with this as my preamp as well as my headphone amp in my home office. Normally I go passive for preamps, but this isn't adding any distortion or noise that humans can hear. I use both the rca and xlr inputs as well, with the xlr dedicated to music and rca for the computer. I've been using the 4pin xlr for headphones, I haven't listened to iem's or anything with it. I'm using Hifiman Anandas. The volume knob has a nice solid resistive feel to it. Sound is transparent (to me).
ndgns
216
Jan 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
so moosical
The holidays allowed for some recent upgrading with 3 new HPs in the last couple of months, a complimentary amp upgrade only seemed fitting, so after a little research, i decided on the SA-1. After switching out my THX789 which has been my main amp for 2 years, the first thing i noticed was how smooth and transparent with better imaging and depth that has been unveiled. They also share the similarly dark back-ground noise, at nearly THX levels. Though i still love the analytics and power/performance of the THX 789, i must admit i'm enjoying the music more with the SA-1s, whether critical listening or just chillin. I also found it necessary to flip the 4 gain switches under the amp to high gain when trying higher impedance cans. Singxers better flow and ease with notes exude a more fluid and naturally/rhythmically tuned sound signature, which is warmer then the 789s. In comparison the 789s over all sound a tad dryer, but comes back with a slight advantage in punch and a touch brighter quality, narrowing the performance gap. Dependent on ones preferences with music, headphones, DACs, as well as budget, and considering the close performance levels, the THX 789s remains the better value. The analog presentation of the SA-1, probably because of the caps and transistors used, provides that more organic yet precise sound signature i think i was looking for with hybrid tube amps, as i found full on tubes a bit thick. Being truly balanced and mostly Class A, the Singxers ability to emit more transparency and depth, justifies its price, and the enjoyment i'm currently experiencing
search
, its musicality.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Paullieb213
143
Sep 20, 2022
Drop THX not a better value because of the cheap internals that are used including the worst pots in the business including glued on volume knob that will become noisy in 6 months. Singxer uses high quality components that will last 5 times as long vs drop. Not many people talk about quality internals as being an important consideration.
ndgns
216
Sep 22, 2022
Hi, our definitions of VALUE, seems to be your main point of contention here? I use it in a budget context and you in a more quality one, as i think i have touched on your other points. Sorry to hear you've had some bad luck with your THX 789's. Thanks for your reply, Cheers!
johnp5000
16
Oct 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
Things I like about this amp: Doesn’t get too hot, only warm after leaving it on all night. Build quality feels solid. From balanced output, sound quality is very detailed and neutral. Things I didn’t like about this amp: It’s kind of strange, maybe only has to do with the impedance on my headphones, which are the HD800, the listenable volume is only between 3 to 5 o’clock on the volume knob. Below 3 o’clock, volume is too low.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FlyingDutchMan
38
Feb 13, 2022
How does it sound with the HD800? Does it have enough power to drive them with the proper dynamics?
Paullieb213
143
Sep 20, 2022
I have singxer using high gain balanced out and rca input 2.1v dac. Most recording are loud at 12 o'clock. Rare that i go beyond 2 oclock. Using with senn 6xx and 660x. Either an amp or dac voltage problem.
(Edited)
Neverenoughmoney
5
Oct 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Believe the hype on this unit.
Spent many months looking for something fun and not clinical to listen to on my Celestee's and LCD c2's. Had been using the headphone out in my Hilo Lynx which is a very flat DA and wanted something more rounded and full. The singxer is that for me. Robust sounding, tight bass and a just an overall more musically pleasing presentation of the material. The hi and low z switches are great too. Hi Z definitely smoothes out the transients and offers a slightly more mellow experience. I think it's a nice bonus. I don't mind the gain switches on the bottom I have kept in low gain and haven't had to run it past 11 o'clock with my headphones. I looked at the rebel amp as well but really needed a balanced connection here so for me this is the best option under $1,000 I had found.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
lexterminator
32
Feb 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent amplifier
Excellent amplifier ! I am using the SA-1 along with SDA-6 DAC. Pairing with Beyerdynamic T1 .3 headphones. Using the low gain setting since the headphones are 32ohm. Very musical, smooth and detailed amplifier. Compared to Violectric V200 the SA-1 is more detailed and musical. Bass control and soundstage width is better on the V200 but the SA-1 is not far behind. Excellent build quality. This is serious stuff. Make sure you use the balanced jack to get the best out of the SA-1. The single-ended connexion provides a darker sound and soundstage is reduced. With a balanced input and balanced headphones cable, the sound is more neutral and detailed plus the soundstage is bigger. Very impressive. Highly recommended and great value !
check
Would recommend to a friend.
matts19
5
Jun 3, 2022
Hello, I am torn between V200 and SA-1. But I am only going to be using single-ended (unbalanced) only. In this case, which amp would be more forgiving with bad recordings that sound harsh ? Thanks!
Chessman47
115
Feb 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding sound quality
Compared to the Topping A90, the Singxer SA-1 is better-sounding. I like the A90, but it can exhibit just a bit of a high-frequency edge with classical music. With the SA-1, I'm extremely happy with the sound quality, which is warm, inviting, and exceptional for the price of this unit. Sound is especially great with balanced output. I appreciate the inclusion of a 4.4mm balanced output, and a high-low impedance switch. For my headphones, Low-Z is the correct setting. In pre-amp mode, there is no choice for fixed output. The volume knob controls the level. My only complaint is that the high-low gain switches are underneath the unit. To change the gain, you must power off the amp, and change all four switches beneath the unit. This is a minor inconvenience. At low-gain, this amp has plenty of power for any of my headphones, including a Meze Empyrean and Dan Clark Ether 2.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
DeepSpaceus
69
Oct 28, 2021
The old K240 is very good. It is resolving and has a very balanced FR. It is not so comfortable because it has fairly thin vinyl pads that will go flat over time (old 80's technology). I don't know how the newer versions stack up to the old. The new ones have a detachable cable, the old one does not. I have not heard the new ones so I don't know how they sound and what the differences are. The new ones are very cheap in price compared to when I bought them. They were over $200 back in the late 80s (which is more like $400 in today's dollars)
How does it play with tubes?
Showing 35 of 40
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
40 OF 40 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order