SMSL AD18 Bluetooth Stereo & Headphone DAC/Amp
SMSL AD18 Bluetooth Stereo & Headphone DAC/Amp
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
28 Sold
Product Description
A compact, versatile DAC/amp for powering your entire audio setup, the SMSL AD18 supports a wide range of inputs, including USB, optical, coaxial, auxiliary, and Bluetooth 4.2. Connect it to your computer and use it to drive your headphones with an amp or to power your passive speakers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
68
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
HavasuFlash
0
Jan 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Despite being packed with a card showing the unit passed all the QC steps the unit arrived with no audio output to the speakers......headphones worked fine. As the unit comes with no warranty my only option was to return to Drop....great customer service on their part.
(Edited)
Jan 14, 2020
jugtree
77
Jan 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Super addition for my bedroom office
Connected via mini USB (to USB-C), BT Optical in, the SMSL AD18 works very well. I've not spent enough time listening via headphones, but connected to ELAC B6.2 (Debut 2.0) this baby sings. No sub connected at this point. Really loving this thing. The included power supply has a bit of a ring or hum. To be clear, neither the speakers nor headphones make this noise, but rather it comes right out of the P/S. It's been a buy week, but hopefully I can find some time to test via different to outlets, power/surge bars to see if it's the P/S of something else. If you have any ideas, let me know. the ring/hum is very slight, but now that I've heard it, I can't un-hear it. -1 star for P/S
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 7, 2020
EdwardHopper
11
Jan 4, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great little unit
Does exactly what I wanted it to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 4, 2020
tardx
2
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Neat little amp
I bought this mainly to revive a pair of ancient Goodmans Mezzo 2 speakers that had spent 20 years collecting dust in my basement. I have the amp and speakers across the room from my laptop, connected via Bluetooth. The sound quality of the combo is amazing, and adjusting volume via the remote is easy. My only niggle is the UI, which could be simpler, but overall I'm very pleased.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 5, 2019
AUTigerFan
101
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for my home office
Replaced my Yamaha receiver and cheap BT receiver. Connects easily to my iPhone 8, iPad Air 2, and Mac Pro 5,1. Like that it does NOT auto connect to paired devices. Great sound from my Polk bookshelf speakers. Great value.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 9, 2019
AUTigerFan
101
Dec 24, 2019
bookmark_border
Previous purchase was installed in my home office. Just purchased another to put in my work office - to connect to my iPhone 8, iPad Air 2, and another Mac Pro 5,1. Will first connect to my spare Bose 101s or Baby Advents before I decide to buy a new set of speakers.
Dec 24, 2019
kghaddon
9
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
very good little amp
I have several smsl amps around the house and all have worked very well. I recently dumped my soundbar for a pair of C-Notes from Parts Express and a subwoofer. I went with this model because it has decent power, a subwoofer "out" port and bluetooth to play spotify from my cell phone. SMSL's build quality continues to improve. The amp is excellent for the money.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 23, 2019
claynpotter
1
Sep 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Powerful sound and work nicely with my laptop as a DAC.
Powerful sound with enhance bass. I'm using it with my 20 years old bookshelf speaker and it sounds amazing. No driver needed to use as PC DAC. Just plug in to USB port and you are good to go. One thing I don't like about this unit is that you have to manually switch between headset from speaker (or vice versa) - you would expect, if you plug in headset, it'll switch over to headset from speaker automatically.... Works nicely with my Audio-Technica headset.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 19, 2019
rwooters
5
Aug 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great little box
Using it with small sofa-side speakers over Bluetooth from my iPhone 8s. Good clarity without having to crank the volume.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 28, 2019
RyanPin
74
Aug 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic, powerful, but volume in finicky
I purchased at the beginning of the summer and replaced the entire sound setup that I had for my classroom. I was using computer speakers that were connected to a subwoofer and I thought it sounded good. Once I got this system installed, I couldn’t believe how clean the sound is now in my classroom. Such a small package with powerful and clean sound. My only complaint is the volume knob. It’s digital volume which will go up and distinctive increments. That’s not the issue, it’s just that every once in a while it jumps two to three steps or doesn’t register a turn. Not the worst thing in the world. Only complaint so far. Highly recommended
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 6, 2019
MrCharlz
6
May 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This was exactly what I was looking for in a desktop speaker amp. It has all the features I wanted and a few nice-to-haves that I wouldn't have thought to ask for. When looking for an upgrade over my previous amp, the Dayton Audio DTA3116HP, I wanted something that kept the banana connectors and headphone output, while adding a built-in DAC and outputs for a powered sub-woofer, all without being enormous or outrageously expensive. The AD18 ticks all of these boxes and then keeps on going, including Bluetooth 4.2 w/NFC pairing and a full-featured remote. It does have some quirks, like the "1" volume level that produces no sound despite also having a level 0 and the generic remote (w/SMSL branding) that includes function-less buttons. For me, these are minor faults for something that under-promises and over-delivers in every other area especially at this price point.
May 6, 2019
MrCharlz
6
Oct 30, 2019
bookmark_border
Update: From day one I had weird issues with a ticking/clicking sound on the headphone output. It would happen at any volume level and regardless of input (USB, analog, optical, Bluetooth) but it never affected the speakers. I spent a lot of time troubleshooting and trying to see if anyone was having similar issues to no avail. Eventually I just gave up and reverted to using the on-board audio from my PC when using headphones. Recently I reworked some of the network hardware around my desk and the issue seems to have gone away. My guess is that the power line network adapter that I removed (Netgear PLP1200) was causing enough interference in the power to affect the headphone output's amplifier. My suggestion would be to make sure you have relatively clean power running to this amp to avoid/resolve audio issues.
(Edited)
Oct 30, 2019
Showing 12 of 84
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
84 OF 84 POSTS
Feb 25, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest