Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
SMSL SU-8s DAC

SMSL SU-8s DAC

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
451 requests
·
1k Sold
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
Drop + Audio-Technica Carbon VTA Turntable
add
Drop + HIFIMAN HE5XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
Product Description
The SMSL SU-8s is an excellent audiophile DAC—providing incredible audio performance without all the extras that muddy the experience. In essence, the goal is to provide listeners with SMSL’s industry-leading audio performance without the spec sheet diving and research time usually required Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
76
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
SnowFoxx
23
Aug 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Small + Strong + Midrange Performer.
Source: FLAC, Apple Music, MQA from Win10 Desktop and MacBook M1 Headphone: Drop Hifiman HE4XX, HD58X, HD6XX AMP: Drop + THX AAA One Pros:-
  • Compact size with sturdy build. (smaller than my expectation)
  • Bluetooth and came with complete accessories.
  • Details and transparent, high offer excellent resolution.
  • Low end can be impactful depends devices that you gonna pair.
  • Dynamic presentation.
Cons:-
  • Roller over sensitive (nitpicking)
  • Remote control just provide basic function, plasticky cheap feeling.
  • If you're looking for warm or tube sound this is not for you.
  • Nothing really at this price point.

search
search
search
search



check
Would recommend to a friend.
junki
327
Aug 2, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simply unbeatable value at Drop's $180 price point
This uses the newest TOTL D/A chip from ESS Sabre specifically for the 2-ch audiophile market. It's provably/measurably among the top 20 most transparent DACs on the market, and it offers wonderful QoL features such as having one button on the remote control that toggles output between RCA single-ended and XLR balanced, which is incredibly convenient for me to toggle between my powered desktop speakers and headphone amplifier. Amazing kit. Super glad I jumped on this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Abqslim
9
Aug 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
At $180, the SU-8S is an excellent deal.
Prior to this device I was using an Audioengine D1 DAC/Amp, connected to my laptop by USB, and the DAC to my HPA by RCA. I easily drove my Senn HDXXs, but I always thought that there was probably something missing from the sound. There was no space. I now have the SMSL connected to a Monoprice THX 887 by balanced XLR, using the balanced headphone connection to the Senns. Certainly clearer and more expansive sound than the D1. The downside is, now that I know what kind of sound quality I can get with $200 cans and a comparably priced DAC, there's no way I can resist finding out what level of SQ I can get out of a $400 DAC and headphones of a similar price. And Drop inevitably gets more of my money.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
miketm
2
Aug 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
PRICE/SOUND CAN'T BE BEAT!!!!
I REALLY wanted to hear MQA and judge for myself what it sounded like. I figured with the cost of this unit, I'd get a taste of it and if I didn't like it, well it wouldn't break the bank. WELL.....I'm SHOCKED at how great this sounds for the price. The Bluetooth is THE BEST I've heard so far when streaming from my iPhone. The REAL magic happens though when I hook up my laptop via USB and listen to TIDAL MQA....WOW!!!! Was NOT expecting what I was hearing especially at such a low price. I have it hooked up via balanced interconnects to my amp, and again just blown away how good this sounds for how little I paid. In my opinion? Can't go wrong. Oh...and I've NEVER been a fan of digital and have always (and never abandoned) vinyl. BUT....with this new little device? Digital finally has my approval.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Malario
2
Aug 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have had a religious experience
I have been using 58x, THX One AAA amp, and a Schiit Fulla 2 (DAC only) and I believed this was a great setup. The music was clean and had no distortion. When I replaced the Schiit Fulla with the Su-8s, I couldn't stop crying. For the first time ever I had soundstage, imaging, balanced details, and heard entire instruments/sounds that I didn't know were in sounds I've heard a hundred times, maybe thousands... I was crying because this system is everything I was looking for and now I can say I'm happy with my system, it's mine and at my home.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
allsmilesb
106
Aug 17, 2022
MalarioI understood the theory of hifi but never experience hifi for myself. When I got a dac, few amps,iem and headphones that are consider audiophile my ears were blessed and I can never go back. lol
(Edited)
code9200
11
Oct 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A great complement to the Drop THX AAA 789
This DAC seems to fit nicely into my desktop setup with my THX 789. It has very good build quality, the screen looks great, I just wish I could turn it off when not in use. It has a plethora of options to connect to making this an all in one. I don't like the remote, it feels cheap and flimsy and sometimes it doesn't listen when I press the buttons. About the sound quality, I can't complain, I rate it as very good. His signature is flat and feels transparent, and many details can be seen.
search

I can definitely recommend it, even more so knowing its price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Natblida
10
Sep 12, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds clean
To be honest i haven’t tested many dacs but this by far is so good and sounds great specially TIDAL MQA 😍😍
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jutriana
1
Sep 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent DAC
At this price is really unbeatable. I'm using it connected to a RPI4 and a Wiim Mini going to my receiver.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
uncledunker
0
Aug 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great dac. nice and clean
Everything works flawlessly. Bluetooth works great as well. I have mine connected to an SP200 via XLR cables. The remote takes a sec to figure out how to get it working. Gotta press "C" on the remote first before using it. My only complaint is that the DAC has 3 rubber feet on the bottom spread out into the shape of a triangle rather than at the 4 corners. This causes the unit to wobble a bit sometimes if you have an amp on top and are changing settings or something.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BlooKazoo
277
Aug 19, 2022
uncledunkerDid yours not come with the extra 2 feet? Mine had 2 in the box that i put on the rear corners to stabilize it
creimes77
27
Aug 20, 2022
uncledunkerI buy the Sorbothane Hemisphere Bumpers for my smaller lighter items that tend to move around easier, they range in size and Durometer(Load Capacity) and are a bit sticky so your gear won't slide around. https://www.isolateit.com/collections/hemispheres-bumpers They are sold on Amazon as well
Joe501
5
Aug 17, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wide seperation
Wide seperation, good resolution with mqa
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 90
Related Products