SOTO StormBreaker Multi-Fuel Stove
SOTO StormBreaker Multi-Fuel Stove
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
73 Sold
Product Description
Designed to handle all your backcountry cooking needs, the SOTO StormBreaker stove provides a powerful, evenly distributed flame and folds down into a compact form for easier storage. It’s designed to burn white gas or propane/isobutane fuel canisters without needing different jets, so you won’t have to swap any pieces out before use Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
5
search
ltmule28
0
Jun 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I liken this stove to my favorite knife, - it just feels good to use. From the moment I pulled it out of the box through it’s continued use, I am consistently impressed. This stove has a quality of design and workmanship that makes it’s use a pleasure. The solid construction that makes satisfying clicks on each connection and it’s easy use the StormBreaker could not be better. The ability to use canisters and white gas is huge plus for convenience just as not having to prime the stove with a fireball that singes eyebrows. This stove even allows conversations while in use, - which is most of the time a huge plus! The flame control gives the ability to boil water quickly but then give a consistent low flame for easy simmering. Upon packing the small and compact size makes it easy to store and pack. Overall a superior piece of equipment that I am sure to use for many years to come. 
Jun 8, 2019
jmk451
85
Apr 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm a little disappointed in the Soto Stormbreaker stove compared with the Primus OmniFuel. The OmniFuel is admittedly a true multi-fuel stove, while this Soto Stormbreaker is a effectively a dual-fuel (canister gas or liquid "white gas" only). Nonetheless ... there are a number of features about the Soto Stormbreaker that I like, but, alas, a few that don't work for me. I tested the Stormbreaker using liquid MSR stove fuel (white gas) at my home, not in the field or at altitude. Read on for my pros and cons. Pro:
  • Preheating loop/generator
  • Wind-resistant burner shape
  • Sturdy, positive lock on legs/potstand
  • Good fuel bottle stand with positive valve lock
  • Flexible fuel hose
  • Easy to light
  • Wide flame
  • Fuel bottle pressure indicator (or, perhaps, "out-dicator")*
  • Fuel valve has setting for clearing fuel line
  • Quieter than my OmniFuel (without OmniDawg silencer)**
Con:
  • Idiosyncratic wide-mouth fuel bottles only
  • Lots of pump strokes needed to bring fuel bottle to pressure
  • Not as quiet as my OmniFuel with OmniDawg silencer
  • Fuel bottle pump/valve assembly appears complex
  • Stove/burner assembly appears difficult to disassemble and clean
Having an indicator to tell me when the fuel bottle is sufficiently pressurized is a great idea. But it took significantly more pump strokes to activate the indicator than I expected; more than are needed for either my OmniFuel or my old Coleman Exponent. I did not try the Soto Stormbreaker with canister fuel. I love that the stove doesn't need priming (just like my old Coleman Exponent doesn't) – but note that it does need to burn some extra fuel at start in order to warm up. In my opinion, the greatest thing about the Stormbreaker besides the concave burner head shape is the way the fuel line can be positively cleaned out during normal operation before shutting down. Just set the fuel valve to "Air", and the flow of fuel from the bottle is shut off, with only pressurized air from inside the bottle flowing through the fuel line. This cleans residual fuel from the line line before turning the stove off. My Primus OmniFuel can do something similar (by flipping the fuel bottle over), but the shape of the OmniFuel's fuel pump sometimes makes the fuel bottle lean to one side, causing me to question whether the fuel line is getting fully cleaned out. The action of the Soto Stormbreaker is hard to get wrong and inspires confidence. The last two "Con" points are my perception, which stems partly from operating the stove with liquid fuel and partly from the instructions. While the stove feels solid, it doesn't feel very field-maintainable to me. In summary: The combination of pumping, field maintainability, and dual-fuel rather than true multi-fuel make this Soto Stormbreaker into more of a ... (wait for it) ... Dealbreaker.* ____________________ *Reviewer assumes no liability for possible mental anguish caused by puns.

**Things that are louder than an OmniFuel with no silencer include: jet aircraft, rocket launches, and volcanic eruptions.
(Edited)
Apr 29, 2019
StuartBarry
4
Apr 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
fast boil, and the plug and play dual fuel feature is great. Down side is the pump feels low quality and does not seem to get pressure. Furthermore it takes 150 pumps to pressurise.. c/w an MSR which takes about 40-50 pumps. I reckon the priming of the MSR is less hassle than the 100 extra pumps the SOTO requires.
Apr 21, 2019
leetrial
0
Apr 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It was the best of the stoves I used.
Apr 17, 2019
Radiosugge
0
Feb 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High quality, works well, but lower power on gas bottle.
search

Feb 26, 2019