SouthOrd 8/9 Piece Lockpick Sets
SouthOrd 8/9 Piece Lockpick Sets
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
6.9k Sold
Product Description
What began as a marketing experiment in the late 1980s has become the country’s number-one lock pick manufacturer. Now the most recognized name in the industry, SouthOrd takes pride in producing long-lasting stainless steel tools fabricated entirely in the United States Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
52
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
UnixRonin
89
May 7, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
There are many, many lockpick sets out there on the market. Most of them differ only in minor details: a different pouch, a different number of picks, subtle variations in the shapes of some of the picks, variations in fit and finish.
The SouthOrd set isn't noticeably different in design or in its pouch than any of the others out there. But there are two important details that distinguish it from the general run of the mill. The first is that the SouthOrd picks are better finished than many — smoothly polished with no raw stamped edges. It should go without saying that this makes them work more smoothly and go in and out of a lock more smoothly.
The second important detail is that they are stainless steel.
Why is this important? Well, two reasons. First, it enables SouthOrd to make the picks slightly thinner, which means that they will slip into more easily into narrow or space-constrained locks. But the second is that one of the mechanical properties of stainless steels is that they are very tough. This means that stainless picks are more resistant to breaking. Oh, you can still break one off, I'm sure. But you have to be more careless and abuse the pick more to do it.
So if you're a security geek, give this set a try. Of course, don't use them on any lock you don't own or have permission to play with.
May 7, 2018
Vindaloo
2
Sep 26, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very happy with the 9 piece C801 version. It's a great set.
The finish looks nicer in reality than on the photos. They're shiny and ready to use straight away. No need to sand rough/sharp edges.
The selection of picks in the 9 piece set is in my opinion much better than the 8 piece set as you get 3 kinds of hooks which are the most useful tools.
Its slimline profile is suitable for modern locks with narrow or paracentric keyways.
That said, being slimline they are thinner than the other set. Beginners tend to apply too much force and end up bending picks. For those the more sturdy 8 piece set might be more suitable. Then again, you'll need a slim set at some point anyway if you want to progress.
The case is nice too: straight stitches, no dangling threads or misalinged layers of leather.
Sep 26, 2018
TheOmegaCarrot
110
Oct 13, 2018
bookmark_border
Since the drop is over, you can't see the price anymore. What was the price for the C801?
Oct 13, 2018
Vindaloo
2
Oct 16, 2018
bookmark_border
It was $22 when I bought it about two drops ago.
Oct 16, 2018
JasonHough
14
Jul 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It's fine for what it is, but now that I've gotten into the hobby a bit I wish I'd spent a bit more for a better kit.
Jul 21, 2018
JDKelley
20
Dec 31, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm a security consultant - which means I get paid to break into places, then tell the owners how I did it. Commercial & residential. This makes a nice carryaround kit to keep in my pocket for the occasional hurryup residential evaluation. SouthOrd gear has always been good to me, and I like the fact that it's made of CRES, and not merely spring steel.
Dec 31, 2018
AndrewFalcon
1
Feb 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I agree with the other reviewers. Well made, Nicely finished. I got both the 8 and 9 piece sets, and have already covered the cost of them [in avoided locksmith fees for both me and some friends] .
Feb 9, 2019
Maxinux
12
May 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great pick set for beginners.
May 1, 2018
Jackhilton
0
May 1, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
May 1, 2018
Stubs
0
May 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really do like this set. The quality, and the finish are superb. Even the case is of good quality. The picks slide really nicely, and the size is just right. I am pleased with this purchase.
May 2, 2018
mossyjoules
0
Mar 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well made, beautiful, and functional
Mar 23, 2019
Moongoon8998
0
Jul 10, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good product
Good build quality
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 10, 2020
Showing 12 of 54
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order